DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 and 15-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding these claims generally, each claim recites a number of days “wear time adhesive”. As best understood by the examiner, this term does not have an accepted definition in the art. The examiner notes that the applicant provides a possible definition (see e.g. paragraph 35 of applicant’s specification), but this definition is only conditionally applied and therefore does not extend into the claims. The examiner will interpret these limitations as an intended result which does not substantively limit the claim scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pre-Grant Publication 6,242,665 to Malowaniec (Malowaniec hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Malowaniec teaches an on-body medical device (1) comprising a skin-facing surface (visible side in Fig. 1) and an adhesive layer (2) comprising a stronger adhesive (4) around the periphery and a weaker adhesive (3) within the periphery, wherein the stronger adhesive is as much as 16 (1600%) times as strong as the weaker adhesive (see col. 2, ln. 46-53).
Regarding claims 5-7, as best understood by the examiner, the adhesives taught by Malowaniec are suitable for wear for the claimed durations and therefore anticipate these claims.
Regarding claim 8, the bandage taught by Malowaniec is suitable for delivering medicaments, such as antibiotic ointments, which are applied thereto prior to placement on a patient.
Regarding claim 11, Malowaniec teaches a hole in the adhesive layer (at pad 5) and that the stronger adhesive (4) is positioned around a perimeter of the hole, spaced from the hole by the weaker adhesive layer (3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pre-Grant Publication 2011/0160654 to Hanson et al. (Hanson) in view of Malowaniec.
Regarding claim 1, Hanson teaches a medical device (12) comprising a skin-facing surface (22), and adhesive layer (paragraph 115) secured to the skin-facing surface. Hanson does not teach varying adhesive strength areas. Malowaniec teaches an on-body medical device (1) comprising a skin-facing surface (visible side in Fig. 1) and an adhesive layer (2) comprising a stronger adhesive (4) around the periphery and a weaker adhesive (3) within the periphery, wherein the stronger adhesive is as much as 16 (1600%) times as strong as the weaker adhesive (see col. 2, ln. 46-53). Malowaniec teaches that this provides decreased skin stress and pain (col. 2, ln. 6-21). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to use stronger peripheral and weaker internal adhesives with the patch of Hanson in order to lessen skin stress and pain in the use thereof.
Regarding claim 2, Hanson teaches a needle (58) inserted into an opening in the skin of the patient (paragraph 101) and an opening in the adhesive (see Fig. 4) surrounding it.
Regarding claim 3, Hanson teaches that a stronger adhesive may be used around the needle site (paragraph 280).
Regarding claim 4, considering Hanson in light of Malowaniec, it would have been obvious to use a stronger (as taught by Hanson, paragraph 280) adhesive weaker than the perimeter adhesive (4 of Malowaniec) in order to maintain the decreased skin stress and pain of Malowaniec while reinforcing the needle stick itself.
Regarding claims 5-7, as best understood by the examiner, the adhesives taught by Hanson and Malowaniec are suitable for wear for the claimed durations and therefore anticipate these claims.
Regarding claim 8, Hanson teaches a medicament delivery device (12).
Regarding claim 9, Hanson teaches an insulin pump (12).
Regarding claim 10, Hanson teaches a surface (22) on a housing (20).
Regarding claim 11, Hanson teaches that a stronger adhesive may be used around the needle site (paragraph 280).
Claim(s) 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pre-Grant Publication 2014/0323941 to Lee et al. (Lee) in view of Malowaniec.
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches an on-body medical device (e.g. 500, 600) comprising a housing (601) having a skin-facing surface (500) and an adhesive layer (503) comprising islands (e.g. 107, see paragraph 24) devoid of the adhesive. Lee does not teach varying adhesive strength areas. Malowaniec teaches an on-body medical device (1) comprising a skin-facing surface (visible side in Fig. 1) and an adhesive layer (2) comprising a stronger adhesive (4) around the periphery and a weaker adhesive (3) within the periphery, wherein the stronger adhesive is as much as 16 (1600%) times as strong as the weaker adhesive (see col. 2, ln. 46-53). Malowaniec teaches that this provides decreased skin stress and pain (col. 2, ln. 6-21). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to use stronger peripheral and weaker internal adhesives with the device of Lee in order to lessen skin stress and pain in the use thereof.
Regarding claim 13, as shown in Fig. 1, Lee teaches that the islands (107) are periodically spaced apart (by ridges 105).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches a grid (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 15-16, as best understood by the examiner, the adhesives taught by Malowaniec are suitable for wear for the claimed durations and therefore render these claims obvious.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson in view of Malowaniec as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee.
Hanson teaches a medical device (12) comprising a skin-facing surface (22), and adhesive layer (paragraph 115) secured to the skin-facing surface.
Hanson does not teach varying adhesive strength areas. Malowaniec teaches an on-body medical device (1) comprising a skin-facing surface (visible side in Fig. 1) and an adhesive layer (2) comprising a stronger adhesive (4) around the periphery and a weaker adhesive (3) within the periphery, wherein the stronger adhesive is as much as 16 (1600%) times as strong as the weaker adhesive (see col. 2, ln. 46-53). Malowaniec teaches that this provides decreased skin stress and pain (col. 2, ln. 6-21). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to use stronger peripheral and weaker internal adhesives with the patch of Hanson in order to lessen skin stress and pain in the use thereof.
Hanson further does not teach islands of stronger adhesives, though Hanson teaches that a stronger adhesive may be used around the needle site (paragraph 280). Lee teaches islands (bumps 300) of silicone adhesive (paragraph 6) for attaching a medical device to the skin of a patient. Lee teaches that the use of such bumps allows for hydrocolloids to be exposed (paragraph 6) so as to improve skin health during use and reduce irritation on removal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide the adhesive of Hanson as bumps as taught by Lee in order to improve health and reduce irritation. Thus provided, the adhesive of Malowaniec would surround the islands of Lee when both are applied to Hanson. As is shown by all three references, selection of adhesive strength and arrangement is a result effective variable determining the effect of the medical device on a user, in particular on the skin of the user. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to arrive at the claimed relative adhesive strengths as the mere optimization of the adhesive strengths chosen in the apparatus of Hanson (see MPEP 2144.05 II) to maximize user skin health and minimize pain.
Regarding claims 18-19, Lee teaches that the islands are spaced apart in a grid (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 20, Hanson teaches a needle (58) inserted into an opening in the skin of the patient (paragraph 101) and an opening in the adhesive (see Fig. 4) surrounding it.
Conclusion
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 5 February 2026