DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10-30-2025 have been fully considered. As the arguments are directed towards the claims as amended, please see below.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0066010, filed December 16, 2020 in view of Roberts, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2014/0347648, published November 27, 2014.
As per claims 1 and 11, Henry discloses an electronic device comprising:
a communication circuit configured to perform data transmission and/or reception via an ultra-wide band (UWB) band and a processor (Henry, Fig. 1);
wherein the processor is configured to:
determine a first distance the location of the external electronic device based on first signals exchanged between the external electronic device and the electronic device operating in two way ranging (Henry, ¶130);
switch to a second location determination mode in response to determining the location of the external electronic device, and determine the location of the external electronic device based on a second signal received from the external electronic device (Henry, ¶121 where updated parameters are provided);
and switch from two way to one way in response to satisfying a specified condition related to the location of the external electronic device (Henry, ¶105).
Henry fails to explicitly disclose switch from the second back to the first however Henry teaches changing ranging modes based on environmental criteria (¶105) and it is within the skill of a person in the art to determine when to switch modes in order to gain the benefit of improving ranging.
Henry uses ranging but fails to explicitly state switching between on way and two way ranging.
Roberts teaches switching between two way and one way (¶70).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to switch between the two in order to gain the benefit of accounting or times the target does not respond. Examiner submits it is well within the skill of a person in the art to determine what well known and understood ranging methods to use.
As per claims 2 and 12, Henry as modified by Roberts discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to switch from one way to two way in response to a number of receptions of the second signal being a specified number of times (Henry, ¶131 using airtime efficiently and Roberts, ¶70).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the second signal count limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As per claims 3, 4, 13 and 14, Henry as modified by Roberts further discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to switch from one way to two way based on that second distance being more than a specified value (Henry, ¶105 using range criteria for the different ranging modes).
As per claims 5 and 15, Henry as modified by Roberts further discloses the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the processor is configured to control to transmit a message indicating a switch from one way to two way to the external electronic device (Henry, ¶71 where various information parameters are communicated).
As per claims 6 and 7, Henry as modified by Roberts further discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to not switch to the second location determination mode in response to not determining a location of the external electronic device in the first location determination mode and check a switching condition of the second location determination mode included in the parameter, and configure the specified condition on the basis of the switching condition of the second location determination mode (Henry, ¶89 and 104 using dedicated time periods).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to decide when to switch, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Henry in providing useful ranging information while remaining low power and expenditure.
As per claims 8 and 9, Henry as modified by Roberts further discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to, in the first location determination mode, determine a distance between the electronic device and the external electronic device based on the first signal, determine, in the second location determination mode, an amount of change in the distance between the electronic device and the external electronic device, and determine, in the second location determination mode, an amount of change in the distance and a distance between the electronic device and the external electronic device based on the distance (Henry, ¶100 where the system uses an iterative method to fine tune the range and remove errors).
Note that it has been held that a mere omission of an element and its function (determining an error value) in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646