DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20 and 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 20 and 21 recite limitations to “STC” and “IIC” which is not clear as to what they are in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application No. US 2019/0126595 to Chen et al. in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. US 2009/0041987 to Schitter.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an assembly with an upper surface (fig. 2: 10, 12, 14, 18) with a top having an embossed texture [0036], an acoustical section [0023] (20) secured to the bottom of the upper surface by an adhesive layer [0046], the acoustical layer having a cell structure with a closed cell honeycomb structure [0048]. However, a locking system with first and second coupling parts is not disclosed. Schitter discloses a panel assembly with first and second locking parts being tongue and grooves with upper tongue with first upper groove receiver positioned adjacent a second upper groove receiver (see marked figure of Schitter below) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen by adding such structure in order to connect a plurality of components where a larger surface is needed. Regarding embossing depth, Chen discloses the basic claim structure of the instant application but does not disclose specific dimensions of embossing as in this claim. Applicant fails to show criticality for specifically claimed dimensions, therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to use the dimensions such as specified in these claims as a mere design choice as deeper embossing provides better grip for applications needing such grip, or less for applications needing less.
Regarding claim 2, the upper surface is a polymeric rigid core (18 [0037], [0038]).
Regarding claim 3, PVC is disclosed for the backing layer ([0038] – [[0040]).
Regarding claims 4-10, 12-14, 16 and 17, Chien in view of Schitter discloses the basic claim structure of the instant application but does not disclose specific dimensions of materials such as thicknesses, weights, densities, particle sizes. Applicant fails to show criticality for specifically claimed dimensions, therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chien in view of Schitter to use the dimensions such as specified in these claims as this would have been an obvious design choice for particular applications which may require a stronger or weaker product, a more costly or less costly product, etc.
Regarding claim 11, the PVC resin is not explicitly disclosed as a suspension grade resin. However, the Applicant should note that this is a type of polymer produced by suspension polymerization of vinyl chloride monomer. This is a means of making and the claims are drawn to the final product. As this type of material is widely used in construction, automotive and medical industries, this would have been obvious at the time of filing to use this particular method of making the PVC.
Regarding claim 15, the upper section has a rigid core layer as recited in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, the first coupling part has a protrusion extending over the second upper groove receiver (see marked figure).
Regarding claim 19, the second coupling part includes a lower tongue, a first lower groove receiver, a second lower groove receiver and a protrusion receiver (see marked figure)
Regarding claims 20-22, Chen discloses the basic claim structure of the instant application but does not disclose specific dimensions of STC, IIC, or adhesive application rates and acoustical layer thicknesses. Applicant fails to show criticality for specifically claimed dimensions, therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to use the dimensions such as specified in these claims as an obvious design choice where acoustic resistance is more needed, or less needed depending upon the intended application where more or less privacy is needed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/13/26 have been fully considered but they are moot under new grounds of rejections necessitated by the Applicant’s amendment of 2/13/26. The Applicant argues the structure of Thiers and amends the claims to obviate this reference which necessitated the new rejection above. Regarding new claims 20-22, these are addressed in the new office action above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BASIL S KATCHEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633