DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-22 are subject to examination.
Claims 2 and 12 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Applicant claims in claim 1, “plurality of appliances”, which is subject to more than one = two appliances. Claims 21, 22 mentions, “the appliance” of claim 1. The claim 1 has “another appliance of the plurality of appliances”. Claims 21, 22 further mentions that the encrypted data is obtained for “a second appliance”. Since, the claims 21, 22 requires three appliances, when only two are available; it is not enabling.
Applicant is suggested:
for example, a group of appliances comprising a first appliance, a second appliance, and a third appliance. or
a collection of appliances comprising a first appliance, a second appliance, and a third appliance. or
three appliances comprising a first appliance, a second appliance, and a third appliance
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1, claims, replacing an old wireless communications module of an appliance with a new wireless communications module, …, obtaining encrypted data …. from another appliance in the plurality of appliances.
However, the specification contains, wherein the encrypted data is obtained from a main control board of the appliance, see cancelled claim 2.
The specification does not implement replacing an old wireless communications module of an appliance with a new wireless communications module, …, from “another” appliance in the claimed plurality of appliances of claim 1 (which is for example, “unknown” appliance, not connected to the local network (as claimed), dead appliance, not part of the local network, without wireless communication module (as claimed), without wireless or wired communication capability (as claimed), without software/firmware/incompatible etc.).
Such claimed “another” appliance in the claimed plurality of appliances of claim 1, cannot replace an old wireless communications module of an appliance with a new wireless communications module.
Claim 11, claims, wireless communications module of an appliance …, obtaining encrypted data …. from another appliance in the plurality of appliances.
However, the specification contains, wherein the encrypted data is obtained from a main control board of the appliance, see cancelled claim 2.
The specification does not implement wireless communications module, …, from “another” appliance in the claimed plurality of appliances of claim 11 (which is for example, “unknown” appliance, not connected to the local network (as claimed), dead appliance, not part of the local network, without wireless communication module (as claimed), without wireless or wired communication capability (as claimed), without software/firmware/incompatible etc.).
Such claimed “another” appliance in the claimed plurality of appliances of claim 1, cannot provide the encrypted data for anything.
Claim 3, 13, contains, wherein the appliance is a first appliance of a plurality of appliances connected to the local network, and wherein the encrypted data is obtained from a second appliance of the plurality of appliances.
However, the specification does not implement the obtaining of the encrypted data from both: “another” appliance in the claimed plurality of appliances of claim 1 (which is for example, “unknown” appliance, not connected to the local network (as claimed), dead appliance, not part of the local network, without wireless communication module (as claimed), without wireless or wired communication capability (as claimed), without software/firmware/incompatible etc.). and a second appliance of the plurality of appliances (additional “plurality”).
The claim 1, decrypting merely “decrypts” and cannot know which of the two obtained encrypted data to use.
Claim 4, 14, contains, receiving appliance usage history for the appliance from the remote server.
“the appliance” is subject to refer “another” appliance also.
However, the specification does not implement receiving history for “another” appliance in the claimed plurality of appliances of claim 1 (which is for example, “unknown” appliance, not connected to the local network (as claimed), dead appliance, not part of the local network, without wireless communication module (as claimed), without wireless or wired communication capability (as claimed), without software/firmware/incompatible etc.).
Claim 6, 16, contains, sending the encrypted MAC ID to a main control board of the appliance
“the appliance” is subject to refer “another” appliance also.
However, the specification does not implement the sending to the “another” appliance in the claimed plurality of appliances of claim 1 (which is for example, “unknown” appliance, not connected to the local network (as claimed), dead appliance, not part of the local network, without wireless communication module (as claimed), without wireless or wired communication capability (as claimed), without software/firmware/incompatible etc.).
Contrarily, the specification contains, the main control board and each service board forming a wireless local area network WLAN.
Claims, 3-10, 13-22 depend upon claims 1 and 11 and hence subject to the same rejections.
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, 11, recites the limitation "the plurality of appliances" in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “another” in claims 1 and 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “another” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As seen in the claim, “the plurality of appliances” refers to “plurality of appliances”, which do not exist in the claims 1 and 11. Further, “another appliance in the plurality of appliances” fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter, as all the appliance in the claimed plurality of appliances of claims 1 and 11 are subject to “another” from each other.
The cancelled claim 2, contained, wherein the encrypted data is obtained from a main control board of the appliance. However, “another appliance in the plurality of appliances”, contains “another”, which applies to all appliances of “the plurality of appliances” of the claim 1, rather a particular appliance of the “the plurality of appliances”.
Claims, 3-10, 13-22 depend upon claims 1 and 11 and hence subject to the same rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 11, 17, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al., CN 107493212 B in view of HUANG et al., CN 113273151 A, WANG et al, CN 115773623 A (Wang2) and ZHANG et al., CN 108696365 A. 2018-10-23
Referring to claim(s) 1, 11, Wang discloses A wireless communications module for an appliance, the wireless communications module being configured to: a method for replacing an old wireless communications module of an appliance with a new wireless communications module, the method comprising:
determining module 601, for determining the intelligent household appliance to be configured, intelligent home of said to-be-configured device is replacing wireless communication module of intelligent home furnishing device, 3rd para, page 11,
detecting installation of the new wireless communications module in the appliance connected to a local network;
determines the intelligent household device to be configured, intelligent home of said to-be-configured device is replacing wireless communication module of intelligent home furnishing device; connection request message sent by the intelligent home device of the terminal receives said to-be-configured, the connection request message identified in the intelligent home device comprises said to-be-configured and changing of the wireless communication module after identification of the terminal according to the connection request message. sending the altered configuration request message to the server, the changed identifier of the intelligent home device configuration request message comprises the wireless communication module to be configured, after the replacing identifier and account identifier of the application program in the terminal, so that the server update stored in the intelligent home server according to the configuration request message according to the device identification, the corresponding relationship between the wireless communication module identifier and account identifier, claim 1
the identification of the wireless communication module after the replacing, together with the identity of the intelligent furniture system to be configured and account identifier of the APP, packing to form the configuration request message, and sending it to the server. 3rd para, page 8
the wireless communication module identification replacing the target record is the identification of the after changing the change included in the configuration request message of the wireless communication module. 2nd last para, page 3.
Wang does not disclose, which Huang discloses,
obtaining encrypted data comprising a wireless network identifier and a wireless network password of the local network; decrypting the encrypted data to determine the wireless network identifier and the wireless network password;
the intelligent device 118 after receiving the encrypted SSID and password using the corresponding key to decrypt to obtain SSID and password. 1st para, page 8
establishing connection with a remote server through the local network using the wireless network identifier and the wireless network password.
At step 328, the server 116 may associate the first identifier of the smart device 118 with the user management account. after the association is successful, allowing the user management account to access the smart device 118, such as allowing the user management account of remote control (e.g., remotely opening the smart device 118 when the company is working), or receiving a message notification from the smart device 118 (e.g., when the company works; home balcony outdoor weather sensing system real-time monitoring outdoor weather condition, rain and snow weather can be linked with the window pushing device automatically closing window and sending message to the user).
communication module 910 may include a wireless communication module and/or a wired communication module, such as a Wi-Fi module, a Bluetooth module, an infrared module, a GPRS module, Ethernet communication module and so on in one or more, can be used for receiving and sending information, further can be the received information to the processor 920; or, sending the signal generated by the processor 920, last para, page 17,
sending the SSID and/or password to the intelligent device; starting the camera and recording the intelligent device to execute at least one operation process and generating a first file; sending the first file to the server; receiving the association success notification sent by the server, the association success notification indicates that the server successfully associates the intelligent device with the user management account, 4th para, page 4,
intelligent device management system 100 further comprises a wireless router 112. The intelligent device can communicate via the wireless router 112 (e.g., the bulb 102 communicates with the switch 104 through the wireless router 112). The intelligent device also can communicate with each other via a network (such as network 114). through the network 114, the intelligent device can communicate with the server 116, and to communicate with the mobile terminal 110. Of course, the intelligent device and the mobile terminal 110 may also be directly in communication (e.g., by Wi-Fi, NFC, Bluetooth and other short-distance communication technology). In some embodiments, the mobile terminal 110 and the smart device 118 may also employ other wireless communication technology (e.g., ZigBee, infrared) to communicate. Correspondingly, the mobile terminal 110 and the intelligent device 118 can be connected to the network 114 through other types of intelligent home gateway (e.g., ZigBee gateway), so as to communicate with the server 116., 1st para, page 6,
Examples of network 114 may include a local area network (LAN) and a wide area network (WAN), such as the Internet. The communication network 114 may be implemented using any known network protocol, including various wired or wireless protocols, such as Ethernet, Universal Serial Bus (USB), Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM), Enhanced Data for GSM Environment (EDGE), Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA); time division multiple access (TDMA), long term evolution (LTE), fifth generation mobile communication (5G), Bluetooth, wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) any other suitable communication protocol, 3rd para, page 6
The mobile terminal 110 is capable of communicating via a Wi-Fi network provided by the router 112. The mobile terminal 110 is capable of communicating with the server 116 via the network 114 via the router 112. For example, the user can communicate with the server 116 through the network 114 through the mobile terminal 110 to observe the image captured by the home intelligent camera. before returning to the home, the user can control the air conditioner to be adjusted to a suitable temperature by the mobile terminal 110. 4th para, page 6,
In some embodiments, the smart device 118 can establish a temporary Wi-Fi network after starting up, namely, intelligent device 118 in the access point (AP) mode. the mobile terminal 110 is in the station (STA, station) mode, mobile terminal 110 connected with the intelligent device 118 of the temporary Wi-Fi network to form a local area network. mobile terminal 110 through the temporary Wi-Fi network sends the Wi-Fi network SSID and password to the intelligent device 118. 3rd last para, page 7.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Wang to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing encryption and decryption of data including wireless network identifier and a wireless network password of the local network. The encryption and decryption would enable securing the communication data. Without the associated key others would not be able to access the data, 1st para, page 8.
HUANG discloses wherein the encrypted data (as rejected above). Wang and Huang do not disclose, which Wang2 discloses, obtained from a main control board of the appliance.
( writing the SSID and password of the router in the detection program in the WiFi module. when the distribution network detection process starts to perform distribution network test to the WiFi module, the WiFi module indication lamp displayed by the display panel is in the flickering state. then the WiFi module automatically attempts to connect the router according to the written SSID and password, if the connection is successful, the WiFi module will feed back to one connection success signal of the main control board, at this time, the WiFi module indicates that the lamp changes from the flickering state to the normally-bright state, and the WiFi module indicates that the distribution network detection process is qualified; if the connection fails, the WiFi module will feed back to a connection failure signal of the main control board, at this time, the WiFi module indicator lamp changes from the flickering state to the normal-dark state, 3rd para, page 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Wang to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing communication with the main control board of the appliance. The information stored in the main control board of the appliance would be available and would be updated for connection by a device. The update would ensure that the last information is stored in the board of the appliance so that the device can operate successfully, 1st para, 3rd para, page 5.
Wang, Wang2 and Huang do not disclose, which ZHANG discloses, another appliance in the plurality of appliances (
each service board of communication equipment receiving main control board sending the SSID and password. 9th para, page 7.
control the back board by the main control board for sending the authentication information to each service board 12th para, page 3.
the communication device transmitting the WIFI request to the main control plate controlling each service board before the communication device can control main control board and the service board by the first mode to acquire authentication information, or communication device control main control board and the service board through the second mode to acquire authentication information, wherein the authentication information comprises a service set identification SSID and password of the main control board. 6th para, page 5
main control board control the SSID and password sent to each service board para 8, page 7.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Wang to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing communication with the main control board. The information stored in the main control board of the appliance would be available. The information would be used by other entities associated with the main control board for communication, 6th para, page 5.
Referring to claim(s) 21, 22, HUANG discloses wherein the appliance is a first appliance of a plurality of appliances connected through Bluetooth communications (1st para, page 6), and wherein the encrypted data is obtained (ZHANG, 6th para, page 5) from a second appliance of the plurality of appliances (Huang, intelligent device 118 represents a plurality of intelligent device, such as bulb 102 in FIG. 1, switch 104, socket 106, sound box 108. hereinafter, the intelligent device 102, 104, 106 and 108 and other intelligent device (such as television, washing machine, fan, air conditioner, a safety system and so on) are collectively referred to as " intelligent device ", 2nd last para, page 5).
Referring to claim(s) 7, 17, Huang discloses wherein the wireless network identifier is a service set identifier (SSID), sending the SSID and/or password to the intelligent device, 4th para, page 4
Referring to claim(s) 7, 17, Huang discloses wherein the wireless network identifier is a service set identifier (SSID), sending the SSID and/or password to the intelligent device, 4th para, page 4
Claim(s) 3, 3, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG in view of HUANG, wang2, ZHANG and HANKYUL et al, KR 20200086829 A.
Referring to claim(s) 3, 3, HUANG discloses wherein the appliance is a first appliance of a plurality of appliances connected to the local network, and wherein the encrypted data is obtained from a second device (as rejected in claim 1). Wang, wang2, ZHANG and Huang do not disclose, which HANKYUL discloses, appliance of the plurality of appliances.
(The apparatus for registering a home appliance according to embodiments of the present invention receives authentication information for wireless network connection of a plurality of home appliances from a mobile terminal. The authentication information received by the home appliance registration device from the mobile terminal may be encrypted information. The mobile terminal searches for a network (meaning an AP or a wireless router) to be registered in the home appliance using a Wi-Fi method. The mobile terminal selects a network to be registered in the home appliance among the searched networks. The mobile terminal may encrypt authentication information for network connection through a shared key value and transmit it to the home appliance registration device. Here, the authentication information may include encryption information or an SSID (Unique Key Value), 1st para, page 8.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Wang to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing an appliance among multiple appliances. Each appliance would be registered and connected over network. One of the registered application would be connected with the Wifi, which would enable a mobile terminal to remotely operate the appliance, 1st para, page 8.
Claim(s) 9, 10, 19, 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG in view of HUANG, wang2, ZHANG and DAN et al., CN 107168739 A
Referring to claim(s) 9, 10, 19, 20, HUANG, wang2, ZHANG and Wang do not disclose, which Dan discloses, at least one of manufacturing date, software version, or board settings of the wireless communications module, determining that the software version is not a latest software version; and initiating an update of the new wireless communications module to the latest software version (
wireless communication module firmware updating method, storing the firmware version number of a currently used wireless communication module, when the firmware upgrading instruction obtained wireless communication module inquiring the firmware version number of the currently used wireless communication module, obtaining the local firmware version number, 6th para, page 2
wireless communication module of the firmware version number comprises a product type of the firmware version, major version number of firmware version, the sub-version number of firmware version and firmware version. product number of the wireless communication module with many kinds, of different product types, corresponding to different types of wireless communication module, 4th para, page 2
step 104: the local firmware version number returned by the receiving server of the server stored in the matched upgrading firmware version number, displaying the upgrade firmware version number, 2nd para, page 6,
Specifically, upgrading the firmware version number can be several firmware version number of each upgrading comprises upgrading firmware version of product type, main edition number of upgrading firmware version, upgrade the versions of firmware version number and upgrading the firmware version number. the number of upgrade firmware version number stored in the server to the local firmware version number matches the update the firmware version number of the same number, 3nd para, page 6,
step 106: obtaining the upgrade firmware version number of the selected instruction, is downloaded from the server and obtain the selected instruction of upgrading firmware version number corresponding to the wireless communication module firmware file.
acquires the user to upgrade the respective firmware version number of the selected instruction, when obtains the user to upgrade a firmware version number of the selected instruction, the machine according to the obtained upgrade firmware version number selection instruction generates a download request to the server, downloading from the server to the upgrade firmware version number corresponding to the wireless communication module firmware file, 5th para, page 6,
step 108, the wireless communication module firmware downloaded file deployed in the wireless communication module.
detecting downloading of wireless communication module firmware file stored on the server of the obtaining step of wireless communication module the selected firmware file to the corresponding instruction for upgrading the firmware version number, last para, page 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Wang to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing updating a software of the appliance/device. The appliance/device with a latest version of downloaded software from server would provide latest features that would be available to a mobile device for remote operations, 5th para, page 6.
Claim(s) 8, 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG in view of HUANG, wang2, ZHANG, BRITT, 20190118767 and JP 2022043284 A.
Referring to claim(s) 8, 18, Wang, wang2, ZHANG and Huang do not disclose, which Britt discloses, determining that an old device of the appliance has been replaced with a new device; and initializing the device with encrypted data from a current wireless communications module (
[0096] In another implementation, the if there is a problem with an electronic device such as a washer, refrigerator, HVAC system, etc, the collected data may include an indication of a part that needs to be replaced. In such a case, a notification may be sent to a technician with a request to fix the problem.
[0098] At 801, an IoT device which is out of range of the IoT hub periodically collects data (e.g., opening of the refrigerator door, food items used, etc). At 802 the IoT device periodically or continually checks for connectivity with a mobile device (e.g., using standard local wireless techniques for establishing a connection such as those specified by the BTLE standard). If the connection to the mobile device is established, determined at 802, then at 803, the collected data is transferred to the mobile device at 803. At 804, the mobile device transfers the data to the IoT hub, an external service and/or a user. As mentioned, the mobile device may transmit the data immediately if it is already connected (e.g., via a WiFi link).
[0104] Embodiments which use public/private key pairs will first be described, followed by embodiments which use symmetric key exchange/encryption techniques. In particular, in an embodiment which uses PKI, a unique public/private key pair is associated with each IoT device 101-102, each IoT hub 110 and the IoT service 120. In one embodiment, when a new IoT hub 110 is set up, its public key is provided to the IoT service 120 and when a new IoT device 101 is set up, it's public key is provided to both the IoT hub 110 and the IoT service 120. Various techniques for securely exchanging the public keys between devices are described below. In one embodiment, all public keys are signed by a master key known to all of the receiving devices (i.e., a form of certificate) so that any receiving device can verify the validity of the public keys by validating the signatures. Thus, these certificates would be exchanged rather than merely exchanging the raw public keys.
[0127] A method for integrating a new IoT device into a network is illustrated in FIG. 14.
[0276] Once the initial provisioning is complete, the IoT service 120 is no longer required and the IoT hub 110 and IoT device 102 can communicate using their own key pair (which may be an asymmetric key pair or a symmetric key pair as described above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Wang to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing replacement of a device for upgrade. The new device would require a software which would be provided of the old device with a latest version. The new device would support functionality which old device would not provide, para 98, 104.
Wang, Britt, wang2, ZHANG and Huang do not disclose, which JP 2022043284 A discloses old main control board replaced with new main control board (
the setting information stored in the setting storage unit 174 and the base information stored in the base storage unit 175 initially operate the RAM clear and mode setting switch 830 to initialize the RAM of the main control board 80. Even if it is converted, it will not be erased (it will not be initialized). That is, it is excluded from the initialization operation. The setting information stored in the setting storage unit 174 can be changed by performing a predetermined setting change operation, but the base information stored in the base storage unit 175 can be changed. , The operator cannot change (initialize) arbitrarily unless an abnormality occurs, 2nd last para, page 66
On the other hand, when the power is turned on for the first time (after manufacturing), when the power is turned on for the first time after replacing the main control board 80, or when there is an abnormality in the setting information of the setting storage unit 174, any setting information is stored. It is considered not to be displayed, and the value indicating the game mode is not displayed. Further, the value of [----] is displayed on the information display unit 88, and the game mode is set unless one of the game modes is selected by pressing the RAM clear / mode setting switch at least once, 2nd para, page 68.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Wang to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing replacement of the board for upgrade. The board would require a software/firmware which would be provided of the old device with a latest version. The new board would support functionality which old board would not provide, para 66, 68.
Claim(s) 8, 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG in view of HUANG, wang2, ZHANG, Guo et al., CN 113865171 and JP 2022043284 A.
Referring to claim(s) 8, 18, Wang and Huang do not disclose, which Guo discloses, determining that an old device of the appliance has been replaced with a new device; and initializing the device with encrypted data from a current wireless communications module (
the server sends the upgrading instruction to the main control board through the WIFI module, the main control board responds to the upgrading instruction, stopping the control of the ice making system, and erasing the application program data stored in the OTA function area, when determining that the erasing is finished, sending the preparation completion instruction to the server through the WIFI module, making the server send the program firmware to the WIFI module, 1st para, page 3,
a main control board, which is connected with the ice making system; a wireless communication module, which is connected with the server and the main control board, for realizing the connection of the main control board and the mobile terminal through the server, enabling the main control board to pass through the server, wireless communication module to obtain the control instruction sent by the mobile terminal, and controlling the ice making system operation based on the control instruction, or upgrading the application program carried in the main control board. Claim 1.
wherein when the program firmware in the server is updated to the high version, the server interacts with the main control board through the WIFI module to obtain the version information of the application program loaded in the main control board. Hence, the version information is provided to the main control board during interaction. when the server determines that the version of the application program is lower than the version of the updated program firmware in the server based on the version information, the server sends the prompt information for inquiring whether the user is upgrading the application program to the mobile terminal, and receiving the result information fed back by the mobile terminal, if the result information represents that the user agrees to upgrade, the server controls the main control board to upgrade the application program through the WIFI module, claim 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Wang to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing replacement of a device for upgrade. The new device would require a software which would be provided of the old device with a latest version. The new device would support functionality which old device would not provide, claim 6.
Wang, Guo, wang2, ZHANG and Huang do not disclose, which JP 2022043284 A discloses old main control board replaced with new main control board (
the setting information stored in the setting storage unit 174 and the base information stored in the base storage unit 175 initially operate the RAM clear and mode setting switch 830 to initialize the RAM of the main control board 80. Even if it is converted, it will not be erased (it will not be initialized). That is, it is excluded from the initialization operation. The setting information stored in the setting storage unit 174 can be changed by performing a predetermined setting change operation, but the base information stored in the base storage unit 175 can be changed. , The operator cannot change (initialize) arbitrarily unless an abnormality occurs, 2nd last para, page 66
On the other hand, when the power is turned on for the first time (after manufacturing), when the power is turned on for the first time after replacing the main control board 80, or when there is an abnormality in the setting information of the setting storage unit 174, any setting information is stored. It is considered not to be displayed, and the value indicating the game mode is not displayed. Further, the value of [----] is displayed on the information display unit 88, and the game mode is set unless one of the game modes is selected by pressing the RAM clear / mode setting switch at least once, 2nd para, page 68.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Wang to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing replacement of the board for upgrade. The board would require a software/firmware which would be provided of the old device with a latest version. The new board would support functionality which old board would not provide, para 66, 68.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 14, 15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG in view of HUANG, Zhang CN 116028074 A, wang2, ZHANG and CHEN et al., 20210336855.
Referring to claim(s) 4, 5, 14, 15, HUANG, wang2, ZHANG and Wang discloses wherein the encrypted data comprises of the old wireless communications module, the method further comprising: decrypting the encrypted data to determine the information of the old wireless communications module; communicating the information of the old wireless communications module to the remote server, as rejected in claim 1. Wang and Huang do not disclose, which Zhang2 discloses, receiving appliance usage history for the appliance from the remote server (
after determining the target household appliance of the factory time earlier than the target time, it also can obtain the target time in the target household appliance operation data by a plurality of ways. wherein, the operation data can include the use frequency of each original function of the user to the target household appliance. For example: the target household appliance can pass through the log mode, recording the operation data of the target household appliance in the target period, and can locally store or send the log to the cloud server to store. the target household appliance locally stores the log, function updating device can send request query target household appliance target household appliance operation data of the query household appliance, and can receive the target household appliance returned by the target time in target household appliance operation data of the query, sixth para, page 9.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Wang to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing communication of the appliance with the server. The information stored in the appliance would be available for the server for backup or to provide another appliance for use. The log information would enable troubleshooting of appliance, sixth para, page 9.
HUANG, Zhang2, wang2, ZHANG and Wang do not disclose, which Chen discloses media access control identifier (MAC ID), sending a request to the remote server to replace the MAC ID of the old wireless communications module with a MAC ID of the new wireless communications module.
[0017] Hereinafter, the detail of Step S218 is described. Basically, the server 10 searches network addresses by way of the Address Resolution Protocol (ARP). The server 10 queries one of the network addresses based on ARP to request a MAC address of the network device corresponding to this network address. If there is no such network device existing, the server 10 would not receive any response. On the other hand, if a specified network device responds to the query with its MAC address, the server 10 would receive the MAC address and updates the MAC address recorded in the ARP Table and corresponding to the specified network address with the received MAC address. Meanwhile, the server 10 compares the newly updated MAC address with the MAC address included in the parameter set 100 to identify whether the specified network device is the network device 14 or not. Upon finding the network device 14, the flow proceeds from Step S220 to S202 to restart the establishment of connection. If the network device 14 is found after all the network addresses included in the specific network segment are checked, the flow proceeds from Step S220 to Step S212, i.e. issuing and sending the second warning signal to the manager. Desirably but not necessarily, the current network address of the network device 14 is stored into the parameter set 100 for possible restarting later.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Wang to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing replacement of MAC ID. Each appliance have MAC ID, and when replacing the appliance the old MAC ID would be needed to be replaced with a MAC ID of a new appliance. With a new MAC ID the new appliance would be able to communication with a mobile phone or the server. The mobile server would be able operate the appliance using the new MAC ID, para 17.
Claim(s) 6, 16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG in view of HUANG, Zhang, CHEN, wang2, ZHANG2, JIANG et al., WO 2022152171 A1, and LIU, CN 106656481 B.
Referring to claim(s) 6, 16, HUANG, Wang, wang2, ZHANG2, CHEN do not disclose, which JIANG discloses, the MAC ID of the new wireless communications module; and sending the MAC ID (
the first unique identification information includes the MAC address of the first wireless communication module, and the second unique identification information includes the MAC address of the second wireless communication module. Therefore, after acquiring the unique identification information, the second electronic device can directionally connect to the wireless communication module indicated by the unique identification information, 4th para, page 4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Wang to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing MAC ID of the new wireless communications module. The MAC ID would uniquely identify the module for communication of the appliance with the server or mobile device. The new module would provide latest features to a mobile user for operating the appliance using the MAC ID, 4th para, page 4.
HUANG, Wang, wang2, ZHANG2, CHEN JIANG do not disclose, which Wang2 discloses, obtained from a main control board of the appliance.
( writing the SSID and password of the router in the detection program in the WiFi module. when the distribution network detection process starts to perform distribution network test to the WiFi module, the WiFi module indication lamp displayed by the display panel is in the flickering state. then the WiFi module automatically attempts to connect the router according to the written SSID and password, if the connection is successful, the WiFi module will feed back to one connection success signal of the main control board, at this time, the WiFi module indicates that the lamp changes from the flickering state to the normally-bright state, and the WiFi module indicates that the distribution network detection process is qualified; if the connection fails, the WiFi module will feed back to a connection failure signal of the main control board, at this time, the WiFi module indicator lamp changes from the flickering state to the normal-dark state, 3rd para, page 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Wang to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing communication with the main control board of the appliance. The information stored in the main control board of the appliance would be available and would be updated for connection by a device. The update would ensure that the last information is stored in the board of the appliance so that the device can operate successfully, 1st para, 3rd para, page 5.
HUANG, Wang, wang2, ZHANG2, CHEN, Zhang, CHEN, JIANG, do not disclose, which Liu discloses encrypting MAC ID (
For example, a pattern as shown in FIG. 12, the intelligent terminal is an intelligent household appliance as an example, when the access of internet of things, it can send secure connection request to the cloud server by way of the wireless connection, wherein the security request comprises a first encryption data and home public key. wherein the first encrypted data by encrypting the MAC address of the first random number R1 and the intelligent household electrical appliance to use cloud obtained public key. the cloud server after receiving the secure connection request, can do decryption operation to the secure connection request to obtain corresponding plaintext information, namely the first random number R1, the MAC address and the terminal public key of the intelligent home device. the cloud server is further operable to generate a second random number according to R2, and then obtained using the terminal public key and second random number of the first random number R1 is encrypted according to R2 to obtain the second encrypted data, and sending to the intelligent household electrical appliance. the intelligent terminal after receiving the second encrypted data, it can use household private key to decrypt the second encrypted data, and after the decryption is successful, sending the encrypted mobile memory based on password authentication passing information to the cloud server, 1st para, page 15
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Wang to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing encrypted MAC ID. Each appliance has MAC ID, and when replacing the appliance the old MAC ID would be needed to be replaced with a MAC ID of a new appliance. With a new encrypted MAC ID the new appliance would be able to communication with a mobile phone or the server in a secure manner. The mobile server would be able operate the appliance using the encrypted MAC ID, which would require a key to access the communicated information, 1st para, page 15.
Pertinent References:
ZHENG et al., CN 111556493 A
Specifically, the secure communication device comprises a gain antenna, a built-in full-network wireless communication module, a security encryption module, comprising a serial port and a network port, supporting the 2 G/3G/4G communication. RS485 bus transmission can adopt RS232/485 bus dividing concentrator, the power distribution terminal through serial port R232/485 transmission of data centralized distribution, finishing the function of data replication and forwarding, 2nd last para, page 4, First, the secure communication device itself wireless communication module is replaced by the 4 G secure communication device; the data transmission is finished by the 4 G secure communication device; at the same time, the virtual data center further needs to deploy the secure communication gateway, ensuring that the data can be correctly decrypted. The solution needs the operator matched industrial 4 G with fixed IP SIM card, network transmission is special network for the operator to divide. at the same time, requiring the distribution network automation data centre data receiving device with analyzing ability of 4 G communication data, can finish upgrading and encrypted transmission of the distribution network wireless communication; In addition, the terminal data service will be interrupted during the debugging phase of the communication link, last para, page 4.
Response to Arguments
Remarks/Arguments filed 7/7/25, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, rejection of claims 1, 3-11, 13-22 is maintained.
Regarding the remarks for the amended claims, the rejections are updated accordingly. Please refer to the updated rejections for the amended limitations.
Regarding, Huang fails to teach transmission of encrypted data concerning local network information from an intelligent device to a wireless communication module.
However, Huang is relied upon for Huang discloses,
obtaining encrypted data comprising a wireless network identifier and a wireless network password of the local network; decrypting the encrypted data to determine the wireless network identifier and the wireless network password;
the intelligent device 118 after receiving the encrypted SSID and password using the corresponding key to decrypt to obtain SSID and password. 1st para, page 8
establishing connection with a remote server through the local network using the wireless network identifier and the wireless network password.
At step 328, the server 116 may associate the first identifier of the smart device 118 with the user management account. after the association is successful, allowing the user management account to access the smart device 118, such as allowing the user management account of remote control (e.g., remotely opening the smart device 118 when the company is working), or receiving a message notification from the smart device 118 (e.g., when the company works; home balcony outdoor weather sensing system real-time monitoring outdoor weather condition, rain and snow weather can be linked with the window pushing device automatically closing window and sending message to the user).
communication module 910 may include a wireless communication module and/or a wired communication module, such as a Wi-Fi module, a Bluetooth module, an infrared module, a GPRS module, Ethernet communication module and so on in one or more, can be used for receiving and sending information, further can be the received information to the processor 920; or, sending the signal generated by the processor 920, last para, page 17,
sending the SSID and/or password to the intelligent device; starting the camera and recording the intelligent device to execute at least one operation process and generating a first file; sending the first file to the server; receiving the association success notification sent by the server, the association success notification indicates that the server successfully associates the intelligent device with the user management account, 4th para, page 4,
intelligent device management system 100 further comprises a wireless router 112. The intelligent device can communicate via the wireless router 112 (e.g., the bulb 102 communicates with the switch 104 through the wireless router 112). The intelligent device also can communicate with each other via a network (such as network 114). through the network 114, the intelligent device can communicate with the server 116, and to communicate with the mobile terminal 110. Of course, the intelligent device and the mobile terminal 110 may also be directly in communication (e.g., by Wi-Fi, NFC, Bluetooth and other short-distance communication technology). In some embodiments, the mobile terminal 110 and the smart device 118 may also employ other wireless communication technology (e.g., ZigBee, infrared) to communicate. Correspondingly, the mobile terminal 110 and the intelligent device 118 can be connected to the network 114 through other types of intelligent home gateway (e.g., ZigBee gateway), so as to communicate with the server 116., 1st para, page 6,
Examples of network 114 may include a local area network (LAN) and a wide area network (WAN), such as the Internet. The communication network 114 may be implemented using any known network protocol, including various wired or wireless protocols, such as Ethernet, Universal Serial Bus (USB), Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM), Enhanced Data for GSM Environment (EDGE), Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA); time division multiple access (TDMA), long term evolution (LTE), fifth generation mobile communication (5G), Bluetooth, wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) any other suitable communication protocol, 3rd para, page 6
The mobile terminal 110 is capable of communicating via a Wi-Fi network provided by the router 112. The mobile terminal 110 is capable of communicating with the server 116 via the network 114 via the router 112. For example, the user can communicate with the server 116 through the network 114 through the mobile terminal 110 to observe the image captured by the home intelligent camera. before returning to the home, the user can control the air conditioner to be adjusted to a suitable temperature by the mobile terminal 110. 4th para, page 6,
In some embodiments, the smart device 118 can establish a temporary Wi-Fi network after starting up, namely, intelligent device 118 in the access point (AP) mode. the mobile terminal 110 is in the station (STA, station) mode, mobile terminal 110 connected with the intelligent device 118 of the temporary Wi-Fi network to form a local area network. mobile terminal 110 through the temporary Wi-Fi network sends the Wi-Fi network SSID and password to the intelligent device 118. 3rd last para, page 7.
Wang fails to disclose any transmission of stored or recorded local network information from a main control board to a new wireless communication module.
In response to Remarks/Arguments that the references fail to show certain features of claimed invention, it is noted that the features upon which Remarks/Arguments relies, “transmission of stored or recorded local network information from a main control board to a new wireless communication module”, are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The First inquiry must be into exactly what the claims define. See In re Wilder, 166 USPQ 545, 548 (CCPA 1970).
Regarding, Under the teachings of Wang2, the local network information would be stored in the wireless communication module, not a main control board. As mentioned above, Applicant states that the stored or recorded local network information from a main control board. Since, the main control board merely stores the information, every device/hardware which would store and provide such information meets the limitations. Mere including the main control board would not make the claim subject matter novel. Else, someone may replace main control board with further something else that can store the information and would overcome the claimed subject matter.
In response to Remarks/Arguments that the references fail to show certain features of claimed invention, it is noted that the features upon which Remarks/Arguments relies, “In contrast, the claimed invention involves the sharing of encrypted data often including local network information from a main control board of an appliance in the plurality of appliances without necessary involvement of a mobile terminal.”, are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The First inquiry must be into exactly what the claims define. See In re Wilder, 166 USPQ 545, 548 (CCPA 1970).
Regarding, Under the claimed invention, the replacement of the wireless communication module is the sole trigger to enact the method of obtaining local network information; the claims 1 and 11 contains comprising.
What the claim merely accomplishes is:
A method for replacing an old wireless communications module of an appliance with a new wireless communications module, the method comprising:
Also, the replacing an old wireless communications module of an appliance with a new wireless communications module, never happens in the claims 1 and 11.
Obtaining stored information for a device/hardware that stores the information is not novel, rather well-known in the art.
Wang discloses A wireless communications module for an appliance, the wireless communications module being configured to: a method for replacing an old wireless communications module of an appliance with a new wireless communications module, the method comprising:
determining module 601, for determining the intelligent household appliance to be configured, intelligent home of said to-be-configured device is replacing wireless communication module of intelligent home furnishing device, 3rd para, page 11,
detecting installation of the new wireless communications module in the appliance connected to a local network;
determines the intelligent household device to be configured, intelligent home of said to-be-configured device is replacing wireless communication module of intelligent home furnishing device; connection request message sent by the intelligent home device of the terminal receives said to-be-configured, the connection request message identified in the intelligent home device comprises said to-be-configured and changing of the wireless communication module after identification of the terminal according to the connection request message. sending the altered configuration request message to the server, the changed identifier of the intelligent home device configuration request message comprises the wireless communication module to be configured, after the replacing identifier and account identifier of the application program in the terminal, so that the server update stored in the intelligent home server according to the configuration request message according to the device identification, the corresponding relationship between the wireless communication module identifier and account identifier, claim 1
the identification of the wireless communication module after the replacing, together with the identity of the intelligent furniture system to be configured and account identifier of the APP, packing to form the configuration request message, and sending it to the server. 3rd para, page 8
the wireless communication module identification replacing the target record is the identification of the after changing the change included in the configuration request message of the wireless communication module. 2nd last para, page 3.
Wang does not disclose, which Huang discloses,
obtaining encrypted data comprising a wireless network identifier and a wireless network password of the local network; decrypting the encrypted data to determine the wireless network identifier and the wireless network password;
the intelligent device 118 after receiving the encrypted SSID and password using the corresponding key to decrypt to obtain SSID and password. 1st para, page 8
establishing connection with a remote server through the local network using the wireless network identifier and the wireless network password.
At step 328, the server 116 may associate the first identifier of the smart device 118 with the user management account. after the association is successful, allowing the user management account to access the smart device 118, such as allowing the user management account of remote control (e.g., remotely opening the smart device 118 when the company is working), or receiving a message notification from the smart device 118 (e.g., when the company works; home balcony outdoor weather sensing system real-time monitoring outdoor weather condition, rain and snow weather can be linked with the window pushing device automatically closing window and sending message to the user).
communication module 910 may include a wireless communication module and/or a wired communication module, such as a Wi-Fi module, a Bluetooth module, an infrared module, a GPRS module, Ethernet communication module and so on in one or more, can be used for receiving and sending information, further can be the received information to the processor 920; or, sending the signal generated by the processor 920, last para, page 17,
sending the SSID and/or password to the intelligent device; starting the camera and recording the intelligent device to execute at least one operation process and generating a first file; sending the first file to the server; receiving the association success notification sent by the server, the association success notification indicates that the server successfully associates the intelligent device with the user management account, 4th para, page 4,
intelligent device management system 100 further comprises a wireless router 112. The intelligent device can communicate via the wireless router 112 (e.g., the bulb 102 communicates with the switch 104 through the wireless router 112). The intelligent device also can communicate with each other via a network (such as network 114). through the network 114, the intelligent device can communicate with the server 116, and to communicate with the mobile terminal 110. Of course, the intelligent device and the mobile terminal 110 may also be directly in communication (e.g., by Wi-Fi, NFC, Bluetooth and other short-distance communication technology). In some embodiments, the mobile terminal 110 and the smart device 118 may also employ other wireless communication technology (e.g., ZigBee, infrared) to communicate. Correspondingly, the mobile terminal 110 and the intelligent device 118 can be connected to the network 114 through other types of intelligent home gateway (e.g., ZigBee gateway), so as to communicate with the server 116., 1st para, page 6,
Examples of network 114 may include a local area network (LAN) and a wide area network (WAN), such as the Internet. The communication network 114 may be implemented using any known network protocol, including various wired or wireless protocols, such as Ethernet, Universal Serial Bus (USB), Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM), Enhanced Data for GSM Environment (EDGE), Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA); time division multiple access (TDMA), long term evolution (LTE), fifth generation mobile communication (5G), Bluetooth, wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) any other suitable communication protocol, 3rd para, page 6
The mobile terminal 110 is capable of communicating via a Wi-Fi network provided by the router 112. The mobile terminal 110 is capable of communicating with the server 116 via the network 114 via the router 112. For example, the user can communicate with the server 116 through the network 114 through the mobile terminal 110 to observe the image captured by the home intelligent camera. before returning to the home, the user can control the air conditioner to be adjusted to a suitable temperature by the mobile terminal 110. 4th para, page 6,
In some embodiments, the smart device 118 can establish a temporary Wi-Fi network after starting up, namely, intelligent device 118 in the access point (AP) mode. the mobile terminal 110 is in the station (STA, station) mode, mobile terminal 110 connected with the intelligent device 118 of the temporary Wi-Fi network to form a local area network. mobile terminal 110 through the temporary Wi-Fi network sends the Wi-Fi network SSID and password to the intelligent device 118. 3rd last para, page 7.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Wang to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing encryption and decryption of data including wireless network identifier and a wireless network password of the local network. The encryption and decryption would enable securing the communication data. Without the associated key others would not be able to access the data, 1st para, page 8.
HUANG discloses wherein the encrypted data (as rejected above). Wang and Huang do not disclose, which Wang2 discloses, obtained from a main control board of the appliance.
( writing the SSID and password of the router in the detection program in the WiFi module. when the distribution network detection process starts to perform distribution network test to the WiFi module, the WiFi module indication lamp displayed by the display panel is in the flickering state. then the WiFi module automatically attempts to connect the router according to the written SSID and password, if the connection is successful, the WiFi module will feed back to one connection success signal of the main control board, at this time, the WiFi module indicates that the lamp changes from the flickering state to the normally-bright state, and the WiFi module indicates that the distribution network detection process is qualified; if the connection fails, the WiFi module will feed back to a connection failure signal of the main control board, at this time, the WiFi module indicator lamp changes from the flickering state to the normal-dark state, 3rd para, page 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Wang to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing communication with the main control board of the appliance. The information stored in the main control board of the appliance would be available and would be updated for connection by a device. The update would ensure that the last information is stored in the board of the appliance so that the device can operate successfully, 1st para, 3rd para, page 5.
Wang, Wang2 and Huang do not disclose, which ZHANG discloses, another appliance in the plurality of appliances (
each service board of communication equipment receiving main control board sending the SSID and password. 9th para, page 7.
control the back board by the main control board for sending the authentication information to each service board 12th para, page 3.
the communication device transmitting the WIFI request to the main control plate controlling each service board before the communication device can control main control board and the service board by the first mode to acquire authentication information, or communication device control main control board and the service board through the second mode to acquire authentication information, wherein the authentication information comprises a service set identification SSID and password of the main control board. 6th para, page 5
main control board control the SSID and password sent to each service board para 8, page 7.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Wang to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing communication with the main control board. The information stored in the main control board of the appliance would be available. The information would be used by other entities associated with the main control board for communication, 6th para, page 5.
facilitate subsequent transmission of local network information without further user input
a method for replacing an old wireless communications module of an appliance with a new wireless communications module
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARESH N PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496