DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Adams does not disclose that the capacitor is charged to the second voltage when the potentially shockable rhythm is maintained for a threshold validation time. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As seen in figures 4a-4c, in step 56/58/60, a potentially shockable rhythm is detected. In order for the capacitor to be charged to the second voltage in step 92H/78F/66F, the rhythm must first be confirmed in step 88/74/62. Therefore, the rhythm must be maintained for however long it takes to detect the rhythm in step 56/58/60 and then be confirmed in step 88/74/62. This time period is considered a “threshold validation time.” The rejections are still considered proper.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not necessarily use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations that invoke 112(f) are:
“a support structure” in claim 1, which covers any structure disclosed in par. 0030 of the original specification;
“control circuitry” in claims 1 and 11, which covers the structure recited in claims 9 and 18, respectively;
“a measurement circuit” in claims 2 and 12, which is disclosed as an ECG sensor in par. 0073 of the original specification;
“a Rhythm Recognition Detector (RRD) module” in claims 8 and 17, which is disclosed as embedded logic in par. 0092 of the original specification; and
“means for enabling” in claim 15, which is disclosed as a cancel switch in par. 0104 of the original specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-12, 14-20, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Medema (US 2019/0076666) in view of Adams et al. (US 5,449,377, hereinafter Adams).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 16, 18-20 and 26, Medema discloses a defibrillator as seen in figure 1. A wearable support structure 170 has WCD circuitry as seen in figure 2, including a power source 240, a charger 250 (par. 0053), an energy storage module/capacitor 252 necessarily having a rated voltage, output circuitry 257, control circuitry 230 and therapy electrodes 204 and 208. The control circuitry is configured to implement a charging scheme to charge the capacitor to a voltage (par. 0053, 0064). Medema discloses a sensor 209 and a measurement circuit 220 so that the WCD/RRD circuitry can detect and confirm a heart arrhythmia and charge the capacitor to an appropriate level as described above to deliver a shock (par. 0044-0048). However, Medema is silent as to charging the capacitor to a first intermediate voltage below the rated voltage and charging the capacitor to a second voltage greater than the rated voltage.
Attention is directed to the secondary reference of Adams, which also discloses a defibrillator, and thus is analogous art with Medema. Adams discloses that the capacitor of the defibrillator is charged to a first voltage 110 or 112 that is below the rated voltage and then the capacitor is charged to a second voltage 124 that is above the rated voltage upon detection of a shockable arrhythmia (Col. 15, line 59-Col. 16, line 10). Figures 4a-4c show that a shockable ventricular arrhythmia is detected at step 62/74/88 and, in response, the capacitor is charged to an intermediate voltage in step 66A/78A/92B. If the detected arrhythmia remains, then the capacitor will later be overcharged to a voltage above the rated voltage of the capacitor in step 66F/78F/92H (see abstract, Col. 5, line 13-Col. 6, line 25). As seen in figures 4a-4c, in step 56/58/60, a potentially shockable rhythm is detected. In order for the capacitor to be charged to the second voltage in step 92H/78F/66F, the rhythm must first be confirmed in step 88/74/62. Therefore, the rhythm must be maintained for however long it takes to detect the rhythm in step 56/58/60 and then be confirmed in step 88/74/62. This time period is considered a “threshold validation time.” The rejections are still considered proper. In figure 4a, the intermediate voltage is maintained until the arrhythmia is confirmed at step 96. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Medema to use the charging scheme of Adams in order to apply countershocks of increasing voltage to best ensure therapy success (Col. 4, line 29-Col. 5, line 10 for motivation).
Regarding claims 4, 5, 7, 14, 15, 22 and 23, Medema discloses confirming the shockable rhythm and providing a human perceptible warning that delivery of shock is imminent. A user can then cancel the shock based on the warning, or else the capacitor is charged and a shock is delivered is no cancellation is received (par. 0067-0069).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Medema and Adams in view of Crook et al. (US 2023/0285761, hereinafter Crook)
Medema, as modified above, discloses the applicant basic invention, but is silent as to determining the health of the capacitor based on charging time and/or self-discharge rate. Attention is directed to the Crook reference, which also discloses a defibrillator with an energy storage capacitor (par. 0006, 0146, 0152, 0154), and thus is analogous art with Medema. Crook discloses that the health of the capacitor can be determined by tracking charging time of a long period of time (see title, abstract, par. 0056 0080, 00134). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Medema to determine that the health of the capacitor by tracking charging time of the capacitor of a long period of time as taught by Crook in order to determine a failure state of the battery before performance of the device suffers (par. 0005-0008 for motivation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 24 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796