Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic of Korea on12/15/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 10-2022-0175664 and 10-2022-0175663 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/15/23 and 7/7/26 are considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 8/15/23 has been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “for conduct a refrigerant flow” should be “for a refrigerant flow” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 12 states “a cooling fin” and in claim 14, there is more than “a cooling fin,” i.e. “a second cooling fin,” it is unclear how one fin became two. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claims Analysis
The first and second direction is considered broad, since the interpretation of the first direction is defined as the orientation of the largest surfaces of the battery, but the specifics of that orientation remains board. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner will interpret the first direction as any direction of the battery in respect to the largest surfaces of the battery and the second surface is perpendicular to that direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by q (CN108879023).
Regarding claim 1, the Qingfeng reference discloses a battery assembly comprising a cell stack including a plurality of battery layers of battery cells, each battery layer including a plurality of battery cells arranged in a row such that largest surfaces of the battery cells are oriented in a first direction, one or more cooling plates (6-1 to 6-5) disposed in the cell stack, each cooling plate disposed between two adjacent battery layers of battery cells in the cell stack and configured to cool battery cells in the cell stack, and one or more adhesive members (thermally conductive silicone) disposed with respect to the one or more cooling plates. Each adhesive member disposed between a cooling plate and one of the plurality of battery layers of battery cells and configured to engage the cooling plate to the one of the plurality of battery layers of battery cells to conduct heat from the one of the plurality of battery layers of battery cells to the cooling plate , wherein each battery layer includes at least one battery row including a plurality of battery cells arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, the Qingfeng reference discloses wherein a first side of the cooling plate is fixed to one battery layer of the plurality of battery layers and a second side of the cooling plate is fixed to another battery layer of the plurality of battery layers through the adhesive member, wherein the one battery layer, the cooling plate, and the other battery layer are arranged in the first direction (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, the Qingfeng reference discloses wherein each battery layer includes two or more battery rows, wherein each battery row is disposed in a third direction, perpendicular to the first and second directions (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, the Qingfeng reference discloses wherein each battery cell includes a first side surface, a second side surface, and a third side surface, and wherein the first side surface includes an area larger than the second side surface and the third side surface (fig 1).
Regarding claim 5, the Qingfeng reference discloses the first direction is perpendicular to the first side surface, and the second direction is perpendicular to the second side surface (fig.1).
Regarding claim 6, the Qingfeng reference discloses the battery cell includes a prismatic secondary battery having a hexahedral shape.
Regarding claim 7, the Qingfeng reference discloses wherein the battery cell includes electrode terminals disposed on the third side surface.
Regarding claim 8, the Qingfeng reference discloses wherein each battery layer includes a first battery row and a second battery row, wherein the first battery row and the second battery row are coupled to each other in the second direction, wherein the first battery row and the second battery row include surfaces that are oriented in opposite directions and include electrode terminals of the first battery row and electrode terminals of the second battery row.
Regarding claim 9, the Qingfeng reference discloses wherein the adhesive member includes a thermally conductive adhesive (thermal conductive silicone; “silicone glues).
Regarding claim 10, the Qingfeng reference discloses the cooling plate includes a cooling passage structured to provide a passage.
It is noted that the claim have “intended use” language such as “for conduct a refrigerant flow” and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 11, the Qingfeng reference wherein the cooling plate includes a connector connected to the cooling passage, wherein the connector has a shape extending in the first direction (channels or 3, 4-2, 4-1)
Regarding claim 15, the Qingfeng reference discloses a battery assembly comprising a cell stack including a plurality of battery cells, each battery cell including a first side surface, a second side surface, and a third side surface, wherein the plurality of battery cells is arranged to form different battery layers that form the cell stack; and a cooling plate disposed between different battery layers and configured to cool the cell stack, wherein the different battery layers are disposed in a first direction perpendicular to the first side surface, wherein each battery layer includes a plurality of battery rows, and each battery row includes two or more of the plurality of battery cells arranged in a row in a second direction perpendicular to the second side surface, wherein the plurality of battery rows is disposed in a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, the Qingfeng reference discloses a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery assemblies, each battery assembly including a cell stack that includes a plurality of battery layers, each battery layer including a plurality of battery cells arranged in a row such that largest surfaces of the battery cells are oriented in a first direction, a cooling plate disposed between the plurality of battery layers and configured to cool the cell stack, and an adhesive member disposed between the cooling plate and the battery layer and configured to fix the cooling plate to the plurality of battery layers, wherein each battery layer includes at least one battery row including a plurality of battery cells arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction. A pack housing structured to accommodate the plurality of battery assemblies; and a supplier including a pipe structured to provide a passage.
It is noted that claim has “intended use” language such as “refrigerant,” for intended use of the pipe and the supplier and “for supply of refrigerant to the cooling plate included in each battery assembly” it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding 17, the Qingfeng reference discloses wherein each cooling plate includes a cooling passage structured to provide a passage and a connector connected to the cooling passage, wherein the connector (wall connecting the water tank and cooling passage) is coupled to the pipe in the first direction (claim 1, Fig. 1).
It is noted that claim has “intended use” language such as “refrigerant,” for intended use of the pipe and “for the refrigerant” it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 18, the Qingfeng reference discloses wherein the connector includes an inlet structured and an outlet structured, wherein the pipe includes an inflow passage connected to the inlet, an outflow passage connected to the outlet, and a connection passage connecting the inflow passage and the outflow passage to each other.
It is noted that claim has “intended use” language such as “refrigerant,” for intended use of the pipe and “to supply the refrigerant to the cooling passage,” and “to discharge the refrigerant from the cooling passage,” it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over q (CN108879023) in view of Mengyan (CN205621775).
Regarding claim 12 and 13, the Qingfeng reference discloses the claimed invention above and further incorporated herein. The Qingfeng reference is silent in disclosing a cooling fin disposed between two or more of the battery cells included in the cell stack and wherein the cooling fin is in contact with the cooling plate. However, the Mengyan reference discloses a cooling fin disposed between two or more of the battery cells included in the cell stack and wherein the cooling fin is in contact with the cooling plate. The Mengyan reference discloses that the fins greatly improves the cooling effect and temperature uniformity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of cooling fins disposed between two or more of the battery cells included in the cell stack and wherein the cooling fin is in contact with the cooling plate disclosed by the Mengyuan reference for the cooling plate comprising disclosed by the Qingfeng reference in order to provide efficient cooling to the battery system.
In alternative, claims 16-18 can be rejected under 103 as being unpatentable over Qingfeng (CN108879023) in view of Ogaki (US 11075417).
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qingfeng (CN108879023) in view of Ogaki (US11,075,417).
Regarding claim 16, the Qingfeng reference discloses a vehicle battery pack comprising a plurality of battery assemblies, each battery assembly including a cell stack that includes a plurality of battery layers, each battery layer including a plurality of battery cells arranged in a row such that largest surfaces of the battery cells are oriented in a first direction, a cooling plate (combination of 6-1 to 6-6) disposed between the plurality of battery layers and configured to cool the cell stack. An adhesive member (silicone) disposed between the cooling plate and the battery layer and configured to fix the cooling plate to the plurality of battery layers, wherein each battery layer includes at least one battery row including a plurality of battery cells arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction. The Qingfeng reference discloses a pack housing structured to accommodate the plurality of battery assemblies; and a refrigerant (antifreeze) to the cooling plate included in each battery assembly to enhance heat exchange and temperature of the batteries. The q may be silent in specifying a refrigerant supplier including a refrigerant pipe structured to provide a passage for supply of refrigerant to the cooling plate. However, the Ogaki reference also discloses a refrigerant supplier including a refrigerant pipe structured to provide a passage for supply of refrigerant to the cooling area of the battery assembly. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a refrigerant supplier (Fig. 1, tank) including a refrigerant pipe structured (line 16) to provide a passage for supply of refrigerant to the cooling area of the battery assembly (A3) for continuous heat exchange disclosed for the Ogaki reference for the a refrigerant (antifreeze) line to the cooling plate disclosed by the Qingfeng reference to provide continuous heat exchange for a battery of a vehicle requiring a longer duration of battery usage and heat exchange.
Since, claim 16 recites multiple compounds in an alternative manner. Thus as long as one of the compounds are disclosed by the prior art such as a refrigerant pipe structured (line 16) to provide a passage for supply of refrigerant to the cooling area of the battery assembly, it is unnecessary to address the rest of the claimed limitations such as or a passage for discharge of the refrigerant from the cooling plate.
Regarding claim 17, the Qingfeng reference in view of the Ogaki reference (herein referred to as the modified q reference) discloses wherein each cooling plate includes a cooling passage structured to provide a passage for the refrigerant and a connector (plate inlet) connected to the cooling passage, wherein the connector is coupled to the refrigerant pipe in the first direction.
Regarding claim 18, the modified Qingfeng reference discloses wherein the connector includes an inlet structured to supply the refrigerant to the cooling passage and an outlet structured to discharge the refrigerant from the cooling passage, wherein the refrigerant pipe includes an inflow passage connected to the inlet, an outflow passage connected to the outlet, and a connection passage connecting the inflow passage and the outflow passage to each other.
Regarding claim 19, the modified Qingfeng reference discloses the refrigerant pipe is connected to a pump (17) configured to supply the refrigerant.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qingfeng (CN108879023) in view of Ogaki (US11,075,417) in further view of Shinya et al. (JP2004-22252)
Regarding claim 20, the modified Qingfeng reference discloses the claimed invention and the pump is inherently a pressure pump that is at the upstream side of the inflow passage but is silent in disclosing a suction pump coupled to a down stream side of the outflow passage. However, Shinya et al. reference disclose a suction pump (110) coupled to a downstream side of the outflow passage in order to cool the battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a suction pump coupled to a downstream side of the outflow passage disclosed by the Shinya reference for the battery cooling configuration disclosed by the modified Qingfeng reference in order to provide an efficient thermal battery system for a vehicle.
Conclusion
/Helen Oi K CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752