CTNF 18/450,355 CTNF 88637 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This Office action is in response to Application No. 18/450,355 to Corfas assigned to Storedot Ltd., Herzeliya, Israel, filed 08/15/2023 and published as 20230/0395896 on 12/07/2023. This application is a continuation-in-part (CIP) of U.S. patent application 17/454,617, filed 11/11/2021 which in turn is a continuation-in-part (CIP) of U.S. patent application 17/304,647 filed 6/23/2021 which claims priority from U.S. provisional patent 62/705,362, filed 06/23/2020. Application 17/454,617 also claims the benefit of U.S. provisional patent 63/199,744, filed 01/21/2021; and U.S. provisional patent 63/198,786, filing date 11/12/2020. Thus, having a priority date of 11/12/2020. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement, IDS, submitted on 11/05/2023 has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered by the examiner. A duly initialed and signed copy is attached herewith. Accordingly, information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by Examiner. Drawings The drawings filed on 08/15/2023 are acceptable for examination purposes. Objection to the Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The specification discloses, “frame insolating elements” ( Instant Specification paragraph 0087, 0094, 0096, 0097). Further it discloses “frame insolating elements such as first insulating side wall 722 and second insulating side wall 726 (emphasis added).” ( Instant Specification paragraph 0097). It seems that the word “insolating” is a typo error and the correct word is “insulating” as indicated in the same sentence in paragraph [0097] of the instant specification , “…frame insolating elements such as first insulating side wall 722 and second insulating side wall 726.” (emphasis added) . Appropriate correction is required. The instant specification also discloses, “Frame conductive elements such as a first conductive sidewall 721 , second conductive sidewall 722 …” Further it is also stated “Frame isolating (sic) elements such as first insulating sidewall 722 and second insulating sidewall 726 ” ( Instant Specification paragraph 0097). This is an error wherein the reference number 722 is given to two different elements, namely, “the second conductive side wall” and “first insulating sidewall”. Further in the drawing in Fig. 21 the second conductive sidewall is given the reference number 727 . Appropriate correction is required. Objection to the Claims 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, 7, 10, 19, 20 recite, “…frame insolating elements…”. Looking for a guidance from the instant specification, the specification discloses “…frame insolating elements such as first insulating side wall 722 and second insulating side wall 726.(emphasis added) ” ( Instant Specification paragraph 0097). The drawing in Fig. 18 also shows “first insulating sidewall 722” and “second insulating sidewall 726”. Therefore, the word “insolating” seems to be a type error wherein the word “insulating” is erroneously written as “insolating” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsutsumi (U.S. PG Publication 2015/0132637) in view of Villanueva et al . (U.S. PG Publication 2020/0339010) Regarding Claim 1 , 10, 20 Tsutsumi discloses a battery and a method to provide the battery (Tsutsumi paragraph 0008), the battery including an electrode block 21 includes an electrode group 23 having a stacked structure with a positive electrode 23 a , a negative electrode 23b , and a separator 23 c interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; lid members disposed on two ends of the electrode group in the stacked direction (Tsutsumi Fig. 1B, 5, paragraph 0009, 0026, 0076) and outer jacket 32 for housing the electrode block (Tsutsumi Fig. 8, paragraph 0026) that function as a current collector terminal (Tsutsumi paragraph 0027), which is, therefore conductive, and a lid member 24 , 64 that has an insulating property (Tsutsumi Fig. 7, paragraph 0087, 0100); The housing of the battery including the outer jacket 32 that is conductive, and the lid member 24 , 64 that has insulating property is considered equivalent to the frame, the outer jacket is equivalent to the frame conductive element, and the lid is equivalent to the frame insolating (sic) that is insulating element. Thus, the disclosed battery has a similar structure to the claimed battery and is considered equivalent to the structural battery. The battery has a pair of inner space (Tsutsumi Fig .1B, 5) equivalent to the first inner space and a second inner space. Tsutsumi discloses the electrode block has a through hole 25 in the center (Tsutsumi Fig. 1B, 5), but is silent that the through hole is fluid conductive path. Villanueva discloses battery pack wherein battery cells are arranged within a battery pack (Villanueva Fig. 11, paragraph 0016) and a battery thermal management system and method (Villanueva paragraph 0030, 0037). The battery pack has inner space pairs (Villanueva Fig. 9C), equivalent to the first inner space and second inner space, and a heat exchanger between the first inner space and second inner space (Villanueva Fig. 9C), wherein working fluid such as water, a water/glycol mixture, a refrigerant, fluid coolant, and any other suitable fluid exchange heat between the battery pack and /or the heat exchanger (Villanueva paragraph 0032) and the working fluid circulating through the heat exchanger (Villanueva Fig. 9, paragraph 0032). The heat exchanger is considered equivalent to the fluid conductive path. The first inner space is located at one side of the heat exchanger, and the second inner space is located at another side of the heat exchanger (Villanueva Fig. 9C). Villanueva discloses that battery cells transferring heat via a circulating working fluid reduces the need for conductive heat transfer between cells of a battery pack (Villanueva paragraph 0053). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the battery of Tsutsumi (Tsutsumi Fig. 1B, 5, paragraph 0009, 0076) by the disclosure of Villanueva and to have made the inner through hole of the Tsutsumi also a fluid heat exchanger as disclosed by Villanueva, equivalent to the claimed fluid conductive paths, for the benefit disclosed by Villanueva wherein battery cells transferring heat via a circulating working fluid reduces the need for conductive heat transfer between cells of a battery pack (Villanueva paragraph 0053). According to the MPEP such a modification is considered the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP 2143 I C). The battery of Tsutsumi has a pair of inner space (Tsutsumi Fig .1B, 5) equivalent to the first inner space and a second inner space, and where the first inner space is located at one side of the through hole, and the second inner space is located at the other side of the through hole (Tsutsumi Fig. 1B, 5) wherein the through hole as modified by Villanueva is equivalent to the claimed fluid conductive path. The battery of Tsutsumi also has a pair of electrode groups 23 considered equivalent to the cell core on both sides of the through hole (Tsutsumi Fig. 1B, 5), wherein the through hole of Tsutsumi is as modified by Villanueva. Tsutsumi discloses the first cell core include an electrode group having a stacked structure with a positive electrode 23 a , a negative electrode 23 b , and a separator 23 c interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (Tsutsumi Fig. 1B, 5, paragraph 0009, 0076), the positive electrode and the negative electrodes are considered equivalent to the first type-one electrodes, and type -two electrodes, wherein the first type-one electrode and type-two electrodes, i.e., the positive electrode 23 a and negative electrode 23 b are disposed on opposite sides of the holder 22 a and 22b (Tsutsumi Fig. 1B, 5) equivalent to the frame. The second electrode body, equivalent to the second cell core, also has a similar structure like the first electrode body equivalent to the first cell core but disposed in the second inner space (Tsutsumi Fig. 1B, 5). The first type electrode is exposed to a first frame conductive element 22aa, 27 aa, and exposing the type-two electrode to a second frame conductive element (Tsutsumi Fig .1b, 5). The second electrode body, equivalent to the second cell core, has a similar structure and configuration to the first electrode body, equivalent to the first cell core, and are type-one extrude and type-two electrodes exposed to a second frame conductive elements 22 ba, 27 ba (Tsutsumi Fig. 1B, 5). The holding members 22 aa, 27 aa and 22 ba, 27 ba are equivalent to the first frame, second frame, third frame, and fourth frame (Tsutsumi Fig. 1B, 5). Tsutsumi discloses the battery has positive terminals are negative terminals (Tsutsumi Fig. 8, paragraph 0114) considered equivalent to the one or more coupling elements. PNG media_image1.png 944 772 media_image1.png Greyscale Tsutsumi Fig. 5 (Battery having a pair of cell cores accommodated in inner space pairs) equivalent to the structural battery reproduced below) PNG media_image2.png 606 447 media_image2.png Greyscale Structural battery of instant invention Fig. 18 Regarding claim 2 and 14 the positive terminals and negative terminals are for electrical connection of the electrodes (Tsutsumi paragraph 0150) and are equivalent to the tabs. Regarding claim 3, 4, 15 and 16 Tsutsumi discloses the first cell core include an electrode group having a stacked structure with a positive electrode 23 a , a negative electrode 23 b , and a separator 23 c interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (Tsutsumi Fig. 1B, 5, paragraph 0009, 0076 ), the positive electrode and the negative electrodes are considered equivalent to the type-one electrodes, and type-two electrodes, or inversely can also be considered equivalent to the type-two electrode and type-one electrode respectively. Regarding claim 5 and 17 Tsutsumi discloses the battery has through hole, and as modified by Villanueva, is considered equivalent to the fluid conductive path, and the disclosed inner space is a single pair inner space, and the cell core pair is a single core pair (Tsutsumi Fig. 1B, 5,). Regarding claim 6, 18 Tsutsumi discloses the housing, equivalent to the frame has holding member 27 a provided to cover the electrode group and the lid members (Tsutsumi paragraph 0010) and may be formed of one metal plate (Tsutsumi paragraph 0010); thus, the holding member 27 a is conductive, and is equivalent to the frame conductive element; and in one embodiment consist of a vertical side walls 22 aa , 27 aa and horizontal conductive elements 22 ab, 27 ab (Tsutsumi Fig. 5, paragraph 0022). Regarding claim 7 and 19 Tsutsumi discloses the electrode block has a through hole 25 in the center (Tsutsumi Fig. 1B, 5), and as modified by the heat exchanger of Villanueva (Villanueva paragraph 0032) is considered equivalent to the thermal conductive path, and is located between horizontal conductive elements 27 ba and the insulating lid (Tsutsumi Fig. 1B, 5, 6A). Regarding claim 8 Tsutsumi discloses the through hole (Tsutsumi Fig. 1B, 5) as modified by Villanueva runs along a length of two sets of electrodes of the first type-one electrode and the second type-two electrodes (Tsutsumi Fig. 1B, 5). Regarding claim 9 Tsutsumi discloses one through hole as modified by Villanueva is equivalent to the fluid conductive path; and the inner space pair are a single pair (Tsutsumi Fig. 1, 5). Tsutsumi also discloses multiple cells (Tsutsumi Fig. 8) and thus have core cell pairs (i.e. more than one pair) and fluid conductive paths (i.e. more than one fluid conductive paths). Regarding claim 11, 12 and 13 Tsutsumi also discloses the battery is charged and discharged (Tsutsumi paragraph 0155), wherein the discharging of the battery is equivalent to an operation comprising supplying power from the battery. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OMAR M KEKIA whose telephone number is (571)270-5918. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00am-5:00 pm,. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, NIKI BAKHTIARI can be reached at 571-272-3433. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /OMAR M KEKIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1722/NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/450,355 Page 2 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/450,355 Page 3 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/450,355 Page 4 Art Unit: 1722