DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Particularly, the NTCRSM including the steps of receiving the information about the user via a software installed on the wireless device, wherein the software application is not configured to manage a cellular connectivity state of the wireless device. Applicant has stated that [0026], [0035]-[0039], [0045], & [0053] provide for these features however it is not so.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of claim 2, namely “wherein the information about the user comprises information corresponding to a calendar application”, claim 9, namely “receiving the information about the user via a software installed on the wireless device, wherein the software application is not configured to manage a cellular connectivity state of the wireless device” and The features of claim 16, namely “wherein hysteresis timer is dynamically determined based on the activity that being performed by the user and data regarding one or more previous times in which the user engaged in the activity”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (2018/0329075) hereinafter “Wu” and Lee et al. (2021/0339773), hereinafter “Lee”.
As to claim 1, Wu discloses A method for managing a cellular connectivity state of a wireless device in relation to aquatic activity performed using the wireless device, the method comprising, at the wireless device:
determining that the wireless device is submerged underwater (see [0004] “…configured to: determine that the sensor signal is indicative of the mobile device being under water”,);
in response to determining that the wireless device satisfies a threshold depth (see [0004] “… and trigger an action…”, [0034] “… determining a relationship of the mobile device 12 to water, e.g., under water, a depth under water, et.”, [0049] “… indicating that the mobile device has been below a non-zero threshold depth of water in addition to a timer exceeding a threshold amount of time.”):
starting a depth timer ([0049] “… trigger a timer…””),
It is noted that the claim language:
“wherein the wireless device:
terminates the depth timer whenever the wireless device no longer satisfies the threshold depth, and
restarts the depth timer whenever the wireless device satisfies the threshold depth after the depth timer is terminated”
is implied (see [0035]-[0051] however not explicitly stated by Wu. The examiner considers that there are only two options, run continuously or stop and restart accordingly and that either would provide acceptable results. Before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to specifically have the device the wireless device:
terminates the depth timer whenever the wireless device no longer satisfies the threshold depth, and
restarts the depth timer whenever the wireless device satisfies the threshold depth after the depth timer is terminated as it would have been obvious to try. ; and
in response to identifying that the depth timer has lapsed:
deactivating a baseband component of the wireless device
Wu fails to explicitly recite that the “deactivating” is “to prevent the baseband component from attempting to establish a cellular connection”
Note that [0010] provides for a synonymous usage of SPS signals and “a wireless communication signal” and provides for a “cellular” transceiver 38” in [0026]. [0034] provides for the sensor 36 being “a cellular signal receiver of the transceiver 38”. Before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wu by deactivating the transceiver 38 to prevent the baseband component from attempting to establish a cellular connection for the purpose of power savings.
Wu further discloses
and based on determining that the wireless device is no longer submerged underwater (([0045]: “mobile device 12 has moved from being below water to being above water”), starting a hysteresis timer, wherein the wireless device restarts the hysteresis timer whenever the wireless device becomes re-submerged underwater ([0045]: “…either immediately or after some amount of time”) and
in response to identifying that the hysteresis timer has lapsed: activating the baseband component of the wireless device to enable the baseband component to establish the cellular connection (see [0045] “…turn the receiver of the SPS unit 42 ON”).
In an analogous art, Lee discloses wherein a length of the hysteresis timer is dynamically determined based on at least one of information about a user of the wireless device or an activity (gaze of user) that is being performed by the user. See [0114]-[0119]. Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dynamically a length of the hysteresis timer based on at least one of information about a user of the wireless device or an activity (gaze of user) that is being performed by the user for the purpose of allowing for variances among users.
As to claim 2, (Currently Amended) The combination of Wu and Lee disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the information about the user comprises information corresponding to a calendar application doesn’t carry weight as it is in a contingent limitation and is also nonfunctional.
Nonetheless, the examiner takes official notice that before the instant invention it was notoriously well known in the art information about the user comprises information corresponding to a calendar application. Before the instant invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to receive information about a user such that information about the user comprises information corresponding to a calendar application for the purpose of simplifying user input / data gathering.
As to claim 3, Wu and Lee disclose The method of claim 1, Wu further discloses wherein determining that the wireless device is submerged underwater comprises analyzing information that includes at least one of: motion information, sound information, pressure information, light information, moisture information, temperature information, or location information. See [0054] “pressure”
As to claim 7, Wu and Lee disclose The method of claim 1, Wu further disclose wherein the wireless device comprises a wearable wireless device (smart watches) that is waterproof or water resistant. See [0003] It is noted that Wu doesn’t explicitly recite that the device is a smart watch but only suggests or implies that the device be a smartwatch and all smart watches are inherently at least “water resistant”. Before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Wu to a smartwatch that is waterproof or water resistant for the purpose of easily securing the device in the water / applying to a device that could be easily secured during water activities as suggested in [0003]. See also [0021]-[0022].
As to claims 8-10, 14, and 15-17, which correspond to claims 1-3 and 7, in addition Wu discloses mobile terminal 12 with processor 30 and memory 32. See Fig. 2. Additionally, to the receiving step of claim 9 the examiner takes official notice that before the instant invention it was notoriously well known in the art to receive information about a user via a software application not configured to manage a cellular connectivity state installed on a wireless device. Before the instant invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to receive information about a user via a software application not configured to manage a cellular connectivity state installed on a wireless device for the purpose of simplifying user input / data gathering. Additionally, to the hysteresis of claim 16 the examiner takes official notice that before the instant invention it was notoriously well known in the art to use one or more previous times in which the user engaged in the activity. Before the instant invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use one or more previous times in which the user engaged in the activity for the purpose of tailoring the activity to a particular user.
Claim(s) 4-6, 11-13, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu and Lee as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Nayak et al. (2022/0346031) hereinafter “Nayak”.
As to claim 4, the combination of Wu and Lee discloses The method of claim 3, is silent yet in an analogous art Nayak discloses wherein:
analyzing the information comprises providing the information to a machine learning engine that has been trained at least in part using prior information gathered from wireless devices in relation to being submerged underwater and/or being involved in aquatic activity, and
the machine learning engine indicates whether the wireless device is submerged underwater.
See [0096] which provide for the use of a (relevantly) trained machine learning to aid a power saving operation.
Before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Wu wherein analyzing the information comprises providing the information to a machine learning engine that has been trained at least in part using prior information gathered from wireless devices in relation to being submerged underwater and/or being involved in aquatic activity, and the machine
learning engine indicates whether the wireless device is submerged underwater for the purpose of staying up-to-date with the latest technology.
As to claim 5, the combination of Wu, Lee, and Nayak disclose The method of claim 4, wherein the machine learning engine further indicates whether a user of the wireless device is engaged in an activity that includes at least one of: a swimming activity, a snorkeling activity, a free diving activity, or a scuba diving activity. Wu discloses indication of swimming (see [0006],[0008],[0010],[0021],[0022]. Given the modification applied to claim 4, it is considered that machine learning would be applied to indicate the activity.
As to claim 6, the combination of Wu, Lee, and Nayak discloses The method of claim 5, Wu discloses wherein the threshold depth, the depth timer, and/or the hysteresis timer are assigned respective values based on the activity. See [0050] wherein the threshold depth is based on an activity.
Claims 11-13 and 18-20, correspond to claims 4-6, in addition Wu discloses mobile terminal 12 with processor 30 and memory 32. See Fig. 2.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LESTER G. KINCAID
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2649
/LESTER G KINCAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649