DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Currently, claims 1-9, 11-18 and 20 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 12, and 20 are amended. Claims 10 and 19 are canceled.
Response to Arguments / Amendments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are rendered moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PFAFF et al. (US 20240314305, hereinafter PFAFF) in view of JANG et al. (US 20210409727 , hereinafter JANG).
Regarding Claim 1, PFAFF in view of JANG discloses an intra prediction method, applied to a decoder ([0019] method for decoding a predetermined block of a picture using intra-prediction) and comprising:
decoding a bitstream to determine an intra prediction mode parameter of a current block ([0019] decoding a predetermined block of a picture using intra-prediction using one of a first set of intra-prediction modes);
determining a first mode index and a second mode index of the current block ([0019], deriving a MPM list index from the data stream which points into the list of most probable intra-prediction modes onto a predetermined intra-prediction mode and deriving a further index from the data stream which indicates a predetermined matrix-based intra-prediction mode out of a second set of matrix-based intra-prediction modes) when the intra prediction mode parameter indicates that an intra weighted combined prediction mode is used for determining an intra prediction value of the current block ([0101], Combined mode estimation: conventional and ALWIP modes use a shared Hadamard candidate list for full RD estimation, i.e. the ALWIP mode candidates are added to the same list as the conventional (and MRL) mode candidates based on the Hadamard cos; [0324] FIG. 8, improved ALWIP prediction based on a first matrix-vector product and a second matrix-vector product);
constructing a most probable mode (MPM) list for the current block ([0019], forming a list of most probable intra-prediction modes on the basis of intra-prediction modes and deriving a most probable mode (MPM) list index from the data stream which points into the list of most probable intra-prediction modes onto a predetermined intra-prediction mode);
determining a first intra prediction mode and a second intra prediction mode of the current block according to the first mode index, the second mode index, and the MPM list, wherein the first intra prediction mode and the second intra prediction mode are two different intra angular prediction modes ([0019], deriving a further index from the data stream which indicates a predetermined matrix-based intra-prediction mode out of a second set of matrix-based intra-prediction modes by computing a matrix-vector product between a vector derived from reference samples in a neighbourhood of the predetermined block and a predetermined prediction matrix associated with the predetermined matrix-based intra-prediction mode and list of most probable intra-prediction modes is formed on the basis of intra-prediction modes using when neighbouring blocks neighbouring the predetermined block are predicted by any of the angular intra prediction modes);
determining a weight matrix derivation mode of the current block, and determining a weight matrix for the current block according to the weight matrix derivation mode ([0373]-[0376], specifying the intra prediction mode applying matrix-based intra prediction samples and applying weight matrix derived by invoking the matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) weight matrix derivation for specifying the intra prediction mode; [0453], FIG. 13A, prediction matrix 516 for scaling the weight associated with the one or more corresponding matrix component of the prediction matrix 516) and
determining a first prediction value of the current block according to the first intra prediction mode, and determining a second prediction value of the current block according to the second intra prediction mode ([0010], using list of most-probable intra-prediction modes with a high variety of angular intra-prediction modes increasing the likelihood for the intra-prediction mode for the predetermined block. Furthermore, matrix-based intra-prediction modes form a separate second set of intra-prediction modes, for example, not considered for the list of most-probable intra-prediction modes; [0388], FIG. 12, block 18 is predicted using one of a first set 508 of intra-prediction modes comprising a DC intra prediction mode 506 and angular prediction modes 500): and
PFAFF does not explicitly disclose obtaining a prediction value of the current block by weighting the first prediction value and the second prediction value with the weight matrix.
JANG teaches obtaining a prediction value of the current block by weighting the first prediction value and the second prediction value with the weight matrix ([0007], determining whether Position Dependent intra Prediction Combination (PDPC) or Un-equal Weight Prediction (UWP) of the current block is performed, deriving weights for a target sample of the current block when the UWP is performed on the current block and deriving a prediction sample of the target sample by a weighted sum of the reference samples of the target sample based on the weights; [0123] FIG. 7, the PDPC, derives a prediction sample of the current block by a weighted sum of at least one reference sample derived according to the intra prediction mode among unfiltered reference samples and the temporary prediction sample ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of intra weighted combined prediction mode for determining an intra prediction value as taught by JANG ([0007]) into the encoding/decoding system of PFAFF in order to enable selectively performing the UWP and the PDPC intra predictions based on specific condition so as to improve intra prediction efficiency and overall coding efficiency (JANG, [0316]).
Regarding Claim 2, PFAFF in view of JANG discloses the method of claim 1, PFAFF discloses further comprising: wherein constructing the MPM list for the current block comprises: constructing the MPM list based on a prediction mode of a neighbouring block of the current block and the weight matrix derivation mode ([0455] FIG. 14 , using intra-prediction, configured to signal a set-selective syntax element 522 in a data stream 12 which indicates whether the predetermined block 18 is to be predicted using one of a first set 508 of intra-prediction modes signal a further index 540 in the data stream 12 which indicates a predetermined matrix-based intra- prediction mode 3200 out of a second set 520 of matrix-based intra-prediction modes 510 by computing a matrix-vector product 512 between a vector 514 derived from reference samples 17 in a neighbourhood of the predetermined block 18 and a predetermined prediction matrix 516 associated with the predetermined matrix-based intra-prediction mode 3200 so as to obtain a prediction vector 518, and predicting samples of the predetermined block 18 on the basis of the prediction vector 518).
Regarding Claim 3, PFAFF in view of JANG discloses the method of claim 1, PFAFF discloses further comprising: determining wherein constructing the MPM list for the current block comprises: constructing the MPM list based on a prediction mode of a neighbouring block of the current block, a preset angular prediction mode set ([0390] The list 528 of most probable intra-prediction modes is formed such that the list 528 of most probable intra-prediction modes is free of the DC intra prediction mode 506 in case of neighbouring blocks 524 and 526 exclusively being predicted by any of the angular intra prediction modes 500 and positioned/arranged in the list 528 of most probable intra-prediction modes if at least one neighbouring block 524 or 526 is predicted using an angular intra prediction mode 500. The list 528 of most probable intra-prediction modes may also be free of the DC intra prediction mode 506 if both neighbouring blocks 524 and 526 are predicted using an angular intra prediction mode 500.), and the weight matrix derivation mode ([0373]-[0376], matrix-based intra prediction samples and applying weight matrix derived by invoking the matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) weight matrix derivation for specifying the intra prediction mode; [0453], FIG. 13A, prediction matrix 516 for scaling the weight associated with the one or more corresponding matrix component of the prediction matrix 516); wherein constructing the MPM list based on the intra prediction mode of the neighbouring block of the current block, the preset angular prediction mode set([0390] The list 528 of most probable intra-prediction modes is formed such that the list 528 of most probable intra-prediction modes is free of the DC intra prediction mode 506 in case of neighbouring blocks 524 and 526 exclusively being predicted by any of the angular intra prediction modes 500 and positioned/arranged in the list 528 of most probable intra-prediction modes if at least one neighbouring block 524 or 526 is predicted using an angular intra prediction mode 500. The list 528 of most probable intra-prediction modes may also be free of the DC intra prediction mode 506 if both neighbouring blocks 524 and 526 are predicted using an angular intra prediction mode 500), and
the weight matrix derivation mode comprises: determining a first candidate mode according to the prediction mode of the neighbouring block; determining a second candidate mode according to the weight matrix derivation mode ([0373]-[0376], matrix-based intra prediction samples and applying weight matrix derived by invoking the matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) weight matrix derivation for specifying the intra prediction mode; [0453], FIG. 13A, prediction matrix 516 for scaling the weight associated with the one or more corresponding matrix component of the prediction matrix 516); and
constructing the MPM list based on the first candidate mode, the second candidate mode, and the preset angular prediction mode set ([0290], derivation of the MPMs may be performed using the intra-modes of the above and the left PU such as using three fixed tables map_angular_to_alwip.sub.idx, idx∈{0,1,2} that may assign to each conventional intra prediction mode predmode Angular an ALWIP mode)
Regarding Claim 4, PFAFF in view of JANG discloses the method of claim 3, PFAFF discloses further wherein: determining the first candidate mode according to the prediction mode of the neighbouring block comprises: determining the prediction mode of the neighbouring block as the first candidate mode when the neighbouring block is a normal intra prediction block and the prediction mode of the neighbouring block is an intra prediction mode ([0073], one intra-prediction mode according to which the intra-prediction signal for a block of a predetermined size of the picture is determined by applying a first template of samples which neighbours the current block onto an affine linear predictor called Affine Linear Weighted Intra Predictor (ALWIP); [0290] Here, the derivation of the MPMs may be performed using the intra-modes of the above and the left PU as follows. There may be tables, e.g. three fixed tables map_angular_to_alwip.sub.idx, idx∈{0,1,2} that may assign to each conventional intra prediction mode predmode Angular an ALWIP mode); or determining the second candidate mode according to the weight matrix derivation mode comprises: determining a boundary line angle index according to the weight matrix derivation mode; and determining the second candidate mode according to the boundary line angle index ([0083], a matrix resulting in an emulation of an angular mode: an envelope would be excluded from the ALWIP definition and like a hill leading obliquely from top to bottom along a direction in the P/Q plane and the planar mode and the 65 directional prediction modes would have different envelopes; [0373]-[0376], matrix-based intra prediction samples and applying weight matrix derived by invoking the matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) weight matrix derivation for specifying the intra prediction mode; [0453], FIG. 13A, prediction matrix 516 for scaling the weight associated with the one or more corresponding matrix component of the prediction matrix 516)
Regarding Claim 11, PFAFF in view of JANG discloses the method of claim 1, PFAFF discloses further comprising: prediction modes in the MPM list are each an intra angular prediction mode ([0279] Here, the derivation of the MPMs may be performed using the intra-modes of the above and the left PU as follows. There may be tables, e.g. three fixed tables map_angular_to_alwip.sub.idx, idx∈{0,1,2} that may assign to each conventional intra prediction mode predmode.sub.Angular an ALWIP mode)
Regarding Claim 12-13 Encoding method claims 12-13 of using the corresponding decoding method claimed in claims 1-3. Hence the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Regarding Claims 20, Apparatus claims 20 of using the corresponding method claimed in claims 1. Hence the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9 and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL D FEREJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487