DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/15/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 11-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraide (US Patent Publication 20160282627) in view of Tosaki (US Patent 5844530).
Regarding claim 1: Hiraide teaches (figs. 1 and 15) a head-mounted display apparatus (head mounted display 100), comprising: a display element (image display apparatus 80); a holder (frame unit 102) configured to hold the display element; a projection optical system (projection lenses 30 and light guiding element 70) configured to project an image formed on the display element; and a case (105d exterior members) configured to house the projection optical system in a positioned state, wherein the holder includes a support frame (frame 107) that supports the display element.
Hiraide does not teach and with a base plate coupled to an upper portion of the support frame and extending in a direction intersecting the support frame, and an end portion of the support frame is inserted into the case through an insertion opening formed at the case, and the base plate is fixed to the case while covering the insertion opening.
In a similar field of endeavor, Tosaki discloses a head mounted display with a base plate (fig 5 and 6) – base plate 10a; base member 2e) coupled to an upper portion of the support frame and extending in a direction intersecting the support frame (fig. 6), and an end portion of the support frame is inserted into the case through an insertion opening formed at the case (frame 10 may be inserted into housing 2d, where the housing 2d is tube shaped with an opening on one side), and the base plate is fixed to the case while covering the insertion opening (fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the head mounted display, according to Hiraide, to include a base plate, an insertion opening and wherein the support frame is inserted into the insertion opening, as taught by Tosaki for the purposes securing the optical components and the allow for some degree of movement in adjusting the frame components (Tosaki column 9 lines 26-32).
Regarding claim 2: Hiraide and Tosaki teach the head mounted display according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hiraide does not teach wherein the base plate is positioned so as to abut on a side surface portion of the case at which the insertion opening is formed.
Tosaki further teaches wherein the base plate is positioned so as to abut on a side surface portion of the case at which the insertion opening is formed (in figure 6, the plate abuts the bottom of housing 2d). The reasons for modifying the head mounted display, according to Hiraide, with the base plate taught by Tosaki are the same reasons as stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3: Hiraide and Tosaki teach the head mounted display according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hiraide does not teach wherein a peripheral portion of the base plate is positioned so as to abut on a protrusion formed at the side surface portion of the case at which the insertion opening is formed.
Tosaki further teaches wherein a peripheral portion of the base plate is positioned so as to abut on a protrusion (holding component 2c) formed at the side surface portion of the case at which the insertion opening is formed (see figure 6). The reasons for modifying the head mounted display, according to Hiraide, with the base plate taught by Tosaki are the same reasons as stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6: Hiraide and Tosaki teach the head mounted display according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hiraide does not teach wherein the base plate extends to a front side corresponding to a light emission side of the display element.
Tosaki further teaches the base plate extends to a front side corresponding to a light emission side of the display element (in figure 6, the base plate extends in both directions). ). The reasons for modifying the head mounted display, according to Hiraide, with the base plate taught by Tosaki are the same reasons as stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7: Hiraide and Tosaki teach the head mounted display according to claim 6, as set forth above. Hiraide does not teach wherein the base plate is provided with a sealing portion that seals the insertion opening at a rear end portion on the light emission side of the display element.
Tosaki further teaches wherein the base plate is provided with a sealing portion (box type lens block 20) that seals the insertion opening at a rear end portion on the light emission side of the display element (component 20 seals an opening inn base 10a and 2e from the emission side, column 9 lines 34-36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the head mounted display, according to Hiraide, to include a sealing portion that seals the insertion opening, as taught by Tosaki, for the purposes of preventing stray light and to optimize emission (Tosaki column 9 lines 34-36).
Regarding claim 8: Hiraide and Tosaki teach the head mounted display according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hiraide does not teach wherein the base plate extends to a front side corresponding to a light emission side of the display element and an opposite rear side.
Tosaki further teaches wherein the base plate extends to a front side corresponding to a light emission side of the display element and an opposite rear side (base plate 2e extends past 2d in both directions). The reasons for modifying the head mounted display, according to Hiraide, with the base plate taught by Tosaki are the same reasons as stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9: Hiraide and Tosaki teach the head mounted display according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hiraide does not teach wherein the insertion opening has a size including an adjustment margin that tolerates movement of the support frame in a normal direction of a display surface of the display element.
Tosaki further teaches wherein the insertion opening has a size including an adjustment margin that tolerates movement of the support frame in a normal direction of a display surface of the display element (column 9 lines 29-32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the head mounted display, according to Hiraide, to allow for movement tolerance from the insertion opening, as taught by Tosaki, for the purposes of allowing for adjustments in positioning for the frame to increase the comfort of the wearer.
Regarding claim 11: Hiraide and Tosaki teach the head mounted display according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hiraide further teaches wherein a light-shielding plate (figure 7A stop ST) is arranged on a light emission side of the display element (fig 7A), and the light-shielding plate is fixed so as to be gripped by a plurality of protrusions formed at the support frame (paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 12: Hiraide and Tosaki teach the head mounted display according to claim 1, as set forth above. Hiraide further teaches wherein the case includes a container-shaped main body (exterior members 105d make up a container shaped body) including a bottom plate member and a side wall, and a cover that forms a housing space by covering an inside of the main body (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 13: Hiraide and Tosaki teach the head mounted display according to claim 12, as set forth above. Hiraide further teaches wherein the projection optical system includes a first optical member (Lenses LL1- LL3) arranged on a light emission side of the display element, and a second optical member (Light guiding optical member 70) arranged on a light emission side of the first optical member and configured to bend an optical path by a reflection surface (reflects off of reflection surface S15, figure 9B; paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 16: Hiraide teaches (figs. 1 and 15)an optical unit (head mounted display 100), comprising: a display element (image display apparatus 80); a holder (frame unit 102) configured to hold the display element; a projection optical system (projection lenses 30 and light guiding element 70) configured to project an image formed on the display element; and a case (105d exterior members) configured to house the projection optical system in a positioned state, wherein the holder includes a support frame (frame 107) that supports the display element.
Hiraide does not teach and with a base plate coupled to an upper portion of the support frame and extending in a direction intersecting the support frame, and an end portion of the support frame is inserted into the case through an insertion opening formed at the case, and the base plate is fixed to the case while covering the insertion opening.
In a similar field of endeavor, Tosaki discloses a head mounted display with a base plate (fig 5 and 6) – base plate 10a; base member 2e) coupled to an upper portion of the support frame and extending in a direction intersecting the support frame (fig. 6), and an end portion of the support frame is inserted into the case through an insertion opening formed at the case (frame 10 may be inserted into housing 2d, where the housing 2d is tube shaped with an opening on one side), and the base plate is fixed to the case while covering the insertion opening (fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the head mounted display, according to Hiraide, to include a base plate fixed to an upper portion of the case at an insertion opening and wherein the support frame is inserted into the insertion opening, as taught by Tosaki for the purposes securing the optical components and the allow for some degree of movement in adjusting the frame components (Tosaki column 9 lines 26-32).
Claims 4-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraide (US Patent Publication 20160282627) in view of Tosaki (US Patent 5844530), and further in view of Takagi (US Patent Publication 20200310139 – cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 4: Hiraide and Tosaki teach the head mounted display according to claim 1, as set forth above. Neither Hiraide or Tosaki mention how the holder and case are held together; neither teach wherein the case includes an adhesive material application portion that holds an adhesive material that couples the holder and the case.
In a similar field of endeavor, Takagi teaches the case includes an adhesive material application portion (fig. 8 - ES or AH) that holds an adhesive material that couples the holder and the case (paragraph [0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the head mounted display, according to Hiraide and Tosaki, to include an adhesive layer connecting the case and the holder, for the purposes of securing the components together while allowing for some degree of flexibility and adjustment with high adhesive strength (Takagi [0044]).
Regarding claim 5: Hiraide, Tosaki and Takagi teach the head mounted display according to claim 4, as set forth above. Neither Hiraide or Tosaki teach wherein the adhesive material application portion is formed in a stepped shape at a position of the case where a peripheral portion of the base plate is arranged.
Takagi further teaches an adhesive that is malleable, and can take any shape needed (paragraphs [0043]- [0044]), so the shape of the adhesive can be stepped. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the adhesive be a stepped shape connecting the case and holder to have better adhesive strength and flexibility (Takagi [0046]).
Regarding claim 10: Hiraide and Tosaki teach the head mounted display according to claim 1, as set forth above. Neither Hiraide or Tosaki teach the display element is fixed by an adhesive material to two support regions formed inside the support frame and extending in parallel.
In a similar field of endeavor, Takagi teaches wherein the display element is fixed by an adhesive material (adhesive material is wrapped around image element 80, paragraph [0043]) to two support regions (protruding portions PR) formed inside the support frame and extending in parallel (fig. 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the head mounted display, according to Hiraide and Tosaki, to include protruding portions with adhesive to fix the support frame, for the purposes of securing the optical elements (Takagi [0044]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art taken singularly or in combination fail to anticipate or suggest all of the limitations of claims 14 and 15, including with all other limitations:
With regards to claim 14 wherein the head mounted display has the insertion opening formed at the cover, and an emission surface of the second optical member is exposed to an emission opening formed at the bottom plate member of the main body (Hiraide teaches an emission surface and an emission opening, however, neither Hiraide or Tosaki teach wherein the insertion opening is formed at the cover or wherein the emission opening is formed at the bottom plate member);
Claim 15 is dependent on claim 14, in such a manner where a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102 or §103 would be appropriate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Beck (US Patent Publication 20080239523), Thurber (US Patent Publication 20150253574) and Thurber (US Patent Publication 20160011423) all disclose head mounted displays with some structural similarities to the claimed invention, but do not disclose all of the limitations of the claimed invention.
/ANNA SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 09/09/2025
/RICKY L MACK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872