DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Examiner acknowledges the amendment to the title filed on May 19, 2026. The objection to specification in the previous Office Action filed on February 19, 2026 is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITO et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2015/0060832 A1, hereinafter, “ITO”), prior art of record, in view of Sakakibara et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2023/0180532 A1, hereinafter, “Sakakibara”), prior art of record.
Regarding claim 1, ITO discloses a display device (see ITO, FIG. 3) comprising:
a base (102, FIG. 3);
a plurality of pixel circuits (130+146+142c, FIG. 3; FIG. 3 shows one typical pixel and FIG. 1 shows a plurality of pixels) disposed on the base (102);
an insulating layer (150, FIG. 3) which covers the base (102) and each of the pixel circuits (130+146+142c);
a plurality of apertures (apertures for 156, FIG. 3) formed in the insulating layer (150), at respective locations overlapping of the pixel circuits (130+146+142c. overlapping 146);
a plurality of display elements (126, FIGs. 1 and 3) driven and controlled respectively by the pixel circuits (130+146+142c, FIGs. 2 and 3); and
a partition (152, FIG. 3) disposed on the insulating layer (150) to partition the display elements (126) from each other (FIGs. 1 and 3),
wherein
each of the display elements (126) comprises:
a lower electrode (148, ¶ [0041]) disposed above the insulating layer (150) and connected to the pixel circuit (130+146+142c) through the aperture (FIG. 3);
an organic layer (162, ¶ [0048]) disposed in the aperture and covering the lower electrode (148, FIG. 3); and
an upper electrode (164, ¶ [0049]) covering the organic layer (162, FIG. 3),
the lower electrode (148) and the organic layer (162) are in contact over an entire surface of the aperture (FIG. 3),
the organic layer (162) and the upper electrode (164) are in contact over the entire surface of the aperture (FIG. 3), and
a peripheral portion of the lower electrode (148) is covered by the partition (152, FIG. 3).
ITO is silent regarding that the partition partitions the organic layer of one of the display elements from the organic layer of an adjacent one of the display elements.
Sakakibara, however, discloses a display device (see Sakakibara, FIG. 5), comprising a partition (BK, FIG. 5) partitions an organic layer (REML, ¶¶ [0002] and [0069]) of one of the display elements (R, FIG. 5) from an organic layer (GEML, FIG. 5) of an adjacent one of the display elements (G, FIG. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to form ITO’s organic emitting layer in segments and the partition partitions the organic layer of one of the display elements from the organic layer of an adjacent one of the display elements, as taught by Sakakibara, since it is an alternative design to minimize crosstalk among the display elements.
Regarding claim 4, ITO discloses a display device (see ITO, FIG. 3) comprising:
a base (102, FIG. 3);
a plurality of pixel circuits (130+146+142c, FIG. 3; FIG. 3 shows one typical pixel and FIG. 1 shows a plurality of pixels) disposed on the base (102);
an insulating layer (150, FIG. 3) which covers the base (102) and each of the pixel circuits (130+146+142c);
a plurality of apertures (apertures for 156, FIG. 3) formed in the insulating layer (150), at respective locations overlapping of the pixel circuits (130+146+142c. overlapping 146); and
a plurality of display elements (126, FIGs. 1 and 3) driven and controlled respectively by the pixel circuits (130+146+142c, FIGs. 2 and 3),
wherein
each of the display elements (126) comprises:
a lower electrode (148, ¶ [0041]) disposed above the insulating layer (150) and connected to the respective pixel circuit (130+146+142c) through the aperture (FIG. 3);
an organic layer (162, ¶ [0048]) disposed in the aperture and covering the lower electrode (148, FIG. 3); and
an upper electrode (164, ¶ [0049]) covering the organic layer (162, FIG. 3),
the lower electrode (148) and the organic layer (162) are in contact over an entire surface of the aperture (FIG. 3), and
the organic layer (162) and the upper electrode (164) are in contact over the entire surface of the aperture (FIG. 3).
ITO is silent regarding that the organic layer of one of the display elements is spaced apart from the organic layer of an adjacent one of the display elements, and a peripheral edge of the lower electrode is covered by and in contact with the organic layer.
Sakakibara, however, discloses a display device (see Sakakibara, FIG. 5), wherein an organic layer (REML, ¶¶ [0002] and [0069]) of one of the display elements (R, FIG. 5) is spaced apart from the organic layer (GEML, FIG. 5) of an adjacent one of the display elements (G, FIG. 5), and a peripheral edge of a lower electrode (C, ¶ [0093]) is covered by and in contact with the organic layer (REML/GEML, FIG. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to form ITO’s organic layer of one of the display elements spaced apart from the organic layer of an adjacent one of the display elements, and a peripheral edge of the lower electrode covered by and in contact with the organic layer, as taught by Sakakibara, since it is an alternative design to minimize crosstalk among the display elements.
Regarding claim 5, ITO in view of Sakakibara discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein a peripheral portion of the lower electrode (148) is covered by the organic layer (162, FIG. 3), and the lower electrode (148) and the upper electrode (164) are not in contact with each other (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 6, ITO in view of Sakakibara discloses the display device of claim 5, wherein the organic layer (162) includes at least a first organic layer (a light emitting layer, ¶ [0048]) and a second organic layer (a hole transport layer, ¶ [0048]) including at least one functional layer (the light emitting layer).
ITO is silent regarding that the peripheral portion of the lower electrode (148), a peripheral portion of the first organic layer (the light emitting layer of 162) and a peripheral portion of the second organic layer (the hole transport layer of 162) each has a forward tapered shape.
Sakakibara, however, discloses a display device (see Sakakibara, FIG. 5), wherein a peripheral portion of a lower electrode (C, FIG. 5), a peripheral portion of a first organic layer (EML, FIG. 5) and a peripheral portion of a second organic layer (HTL, FIG. 5) each has a forward tapered shape (FIG. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to form ITO’s peripheral portion of the lower electrode, a peripheral portion of the first organic layer and a peripheral portion of the second organic layer each has a forward tapered shape, as taught by Sakakibara, since it is an alternative design to separate the pixels and minimize crosstalk.
Regarding claim 7, ITO in view of Sakakibara discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein the peripheral portion of the lower electrode (Sakakibara’s C) is covered by at least the peripheral portion of the second organic layer (covered from plan view, Sakakibara’s FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 8, ITO in view of Sakakibara discloses the display device of claim 7, wherein the upper electrode (ITO’s 164 in FIG. 3 and Sakakibara’s A in FIG. 5) is disposed over the plurality of display elements (ITO’s 126 in FIG. 3 and Sakakibara’s R/G/B in FIG. 5).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITO et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2015/0060832 A1, hereinafter, “ITO”), prior art of record, in view of Sakakibara et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2023/0180532 A1, hereinafter, “Sakakibara”), prior art of record, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nishimura et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2018/0294428 A1, hereinafter, “Nishimura”), prior art of record.
Regarding claim 2, ITO in view of Sakakibara discloses the display device of claim 1.
ITO is silent regarding that the partition (152) is formed into a grid pattern in plan view.
However, it is well-known that partition is formed into a grid pattern since pixels are in a matrix in a display. For example, Nishimura discloses a display device (see Nishimura, FIG. 3), wherein partition (122X+522Y, ¶ [0133]) is formed into a grid pattern in plan view (¶ [0133] and FIG. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to form ITO’s partition into a grid pattern, as taught by Nishimura, in order to separate the matrix of pixels and minimize crosstalk.
Regarding claim 3, ITO in view of Sakakibara discloses the display device of claim 1.
ITO is silent regarding that the partition is formed into a stripe shape in plan view.
However, it is well-known that partition is formed into a stripe shape. For example, Nishimura discloses a display device (see Nishimura, FIG. 3), wherein partition (122X+522Y, ¶ [0133]) is formed into a stripe shape in plan view (¶ [0133] and FIG. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to form ITO’s partition into a stripe shape, as taught by Nishimura, in order to separate the matrix of pixels and minimize crosstalk.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIA L CROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892