DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
This is a final office action in response to applicant's arguments and remarks filed on 08/04/2026.
Status of Rejections
The objections to the drawings are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
The rejection(s) of claim(s) 2, 4 and 8 is/are obviated by applicant’s cancellation.
The rejection of claim(s) 1 and 18-20 under 35 USC 101 is/are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment.
The rejection of claim(s) 3, 5-7 and 9-17 under 35 USC 112(b) is/are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment.
All previous rejections are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
New grounds of rejection are necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Claims 1, 3, 5-7 and 9-20 are pending and under consideration for this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the period specification unit" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no previous mention of a “period specification unit” in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 9, 11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagino (WO 2019059321 A1, citations based on translation) in view of Berriah et al. (U.S. 2009/0014326), and further in view of Bouche-Pillon et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,952,298).
Regarding claim 1, Nagino teaches an operation assistance apparatus (see e.g. Paragraph 0010, lines 1-4, planning device for generating operating plan for electrolytic device) comprising:
a production amount acquisition unit which acquires a target production amount of a product produced in a predetermined period by one or more electrolyzers (see e.g. Paragraphs 0012 and 0060-0061 and Paragraph 0046, lines 4-5, acquisition unit acquiring target operating plan, i.e. predetermined hydrogen supply plan, for a predetermined future period for one or more electrolytic devices);
a production amount calculation unit which calculates a maximum production amount of the product when a part included in the one or more electrolyzers is updated, the maximum production amount being a maximum production amount of the product produced in the period by the one or more electrolyzers (see e.g. Paragraphs 0043-0045 and 0068-0069, and Paragraph 0046, lines 1-5, model generation unit predicts, i.e. calculates, electrolytic device operating behaviour, including hydrogen generation amount, for determined period, taking into account fluctuations that may occur due to maintenance, such as replacement, i.e. update, of parts, during the period);
a period specification unit which specifies the period during which the maximum production amount becomes equal to or more than the target production amount (see e.g. Paragraphs 0046, 0072, 0080 and 0083, maintenance plan generation unit generates maintenance plan for predetermined future period, including scheduling of maintenance, to be applied with the operation plan such that an amount of hydrogen generated satisfies, i.e. is greater than or equal to, the predetermined supply plan);
a cost calculation unit which calculates a cost related to functioning of the one or more electrolyzers (see e.g. Paragraphs 0022 and 0030, electricity price forecasting unit predicting, i.e. calculating, electricity rates for predetermined future periods, the electricity to be utilized by the electrolytic device),
wherein the period specification unit further specifies timing, at which the cost is minimized, in the period during which the maximum production amount becomes equal to or more than the target production amount, for performing maintenance (see e.g. Paragraphs 0037, 0046, 0072 and 0082-0083, maintenance plan generation unit supplying maintenance plan, including maintenance schedule, to operation plan generation unit to generate operating plan, based on maintenance plan, that minimizes electrolytic device hydrogen product manufacturing costs while a generated amount of hydrogen satisfies, i.e. is greater than or equal to, the predetermined supply plan).
Nagino does not explicitly teach the updated electrolyzer part being an ion exchange membrane, the performed maintenance being replacement of the ion exchange membrane, the one or more electrolyzers each including an anode chamber and a cathode chamber partitioned by the ion exchange membrane, an aqueous solution of an alkali metal chloride being introduced into the anode chamber, and an aqueous solution of an alkali metal hydroxide being discharged from the cathode chamber, and the apparatus further comprising a current supply unit which supplies each of the one or more electrolyzers with a corresponding current. Nagino does however teach the operation assistance apparatus being used with one or more hydrogen producing electrolyzers which may require maintenance for more accurate and cost-effective control (see e.g. Paragraphs 0060-0061, 0100 and 0105), with maintenance being performed, e.g. by updating the electrolyzer part, according to abnormalities and deterioration of the electrolyzer (see e.g. Paragraphs 0069 and 0073).
Berriah teaches a system for evaluating damage of a plurality of cells in an electrolyser, i.e. electrolytic devices (see e.g. Abstract), the electrolyser producing hydrogen (see e.g. Paragraph 0026), wherein maintenance actions such as replacement of ion exchange membranes may be performed for damaged membrane cells (see e.g. Fig. 1a, cation selective membrane 14 of membrane cell to be replaced; Paragraphs 0026 and 0071), the cells each include an anode chamber and a cathode chamber partitioned by the ion exchange membrane (see e.g. Fig. 1a, membrane cell 11 including anode compartment 12 and cathode compartment 13 separated by membrane 14; Paragraph 0025, lines 1-4), and an aqueous solution of an alkali metal chloride is introduced into the anode chamber and an aqueous solution of an alkali metal hydroxide is discharged from the cathode chamber (see e.g. Fig. 1, NaCl filling anode compartment 12 and generated NaOH exiting cathode compartment 13; Paragraph 0025, lines 5-7, and Paragraph 0026, lines 2-5), and the system further including a current supply unit which supplies a corresponding current to each of the cells (see e.g. Paragraph 0040, lines 8-13, current controlling device varying current supplied to each cell, particularly up to an optimum value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the operation assistance apparatus of Nagino to be utilized with the electrolyser system of Berriah, including an ion exchange membrane partitioning anode and cathode chambers which receive and discharge the above-mentioned aqueous solutions as well as a current supply unit supplying the electrolyzer(s), and thus perform maintenance by replacing, i.e. updating, the ion exchange membrane of the electrolyzer(s) as a particular suitable hydrogen-producing electrolytic device system for which maintenance is required that can benefit from the more accurate and cost-effective control provided by the operation assistance apparatus. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Modified Nagino does not explicitly teach a current calculation unit which calculates the corresponding current which is supplied to each of the one or more electrolyzers and at which a production amount of the product produced in the period by the one or more electrolyzers is maximized, a power amount consumed in the period by the one or more electrolyzers is minimized, mass of an alkali metal chloride, which is introduced into the anode chamber and is contained in the aqueous solution of the alkali metal hydroxide discharged from the cathode chamber, is minimized, or mass of oxygen contained in chlorine discharged from the anode chamber is minimized. Berriah does however teach the supplied current being an optimum maximum value, which depends on the electrolyser design (see e.g. Berriah Paragraph 0040, lines 8-1, and Paragraph 0073), as well as the desire to maximize the production rate of the electrolyser (see e.g. Berriah Paragraph 0006, lines 8-12).
Bouche-Pillon teaches an electrolytic cell (see e.g. Abstract) comprising computing means which send set points of various signals, including current values resulting from a corrective coherence calculation and one or more criteria such as maximum production, to controllers such that the electrolytic cell may be operated at maximum efficiency (see e.g. Col. 1, line 66-Col. 2, line 7, and Col. 4, lines 30-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of modified Nagino to comprise a computing means which calculates the current to be supplied to the electrolyzers such that a production rate, i.e. product production amount, is maximized as taught by Bouche-Pillon as a suitable means of determining the desired optimum maximum current value for maximized production rate for the electrolyzers such that they may operate at maximum efficiency. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding claim 3, Nagino as modified by Berriah and Bouche-Pillon teaches the one or more electrolyzers including a plurality of electrolyzers (see e.g. Nagino Paragraphs 0060, lines 1-2, multiple electrolytic devices),
the plurality of electrolyzers each including the anode chamber and the cathode chamber partitioned by the ion exchange membrane (see e.g. Berriah Fig. 1a, membrane cell 11 including anode compartment 12 and cathode compartment 13 separated by membrane 14; Paragraph 0025, lines 1-4),
the current calculation unit calculating the corresponding current for each of the plurality of electrolyzers, the corresponding current being supplied to a corresponding one or the plurality of electrolyzers such that the production amount of the product produced in the period by the plurality of electrolyzers is maximized (see e.g. Bouche-Pillon Col. 1, line 66-Col. 2, line 7, and Col. 4, lines 30-45, computing means which calculates current values for maximum production), and
the current supply unit supplying each of the plurality of electrolyzers with the corresponding current corresponding thereto as calculated by the current calculation unit (see e.g. Berriah Paragraph 0040, lines 8-13, current controlling device varying current supplied to each cell).
Regarding claim 9, Nagino as modified by Berriah teaches an electrolyzer specification unit which specifies an electrolyzer, of which current efficiency of the electrolyzer is the lowest, among the plurality of electrolyzers (see e.g. Berriah Paragraphs 0042-0043, 0057 and 0059, damage evaluation module classifies each cell based on damage, particularly based on a cell current efficiency).
Regarding claim 11, Nagino as modified by Berriah and Bouche-Pillon teaches the current calculation unit calculating the corresponding current, at which a total production amount of the product by the plurality of electrolyzers in the period is maximized, supplied to each of the plurality of electrolyzers (see e.g. Berriah Paragraph 0006, lines 8-12, Paragraph 0040, lines 8-1, and Paragraph 0073, given optimal current value supplied to each cell to maximize production rate of the electrolyser; see e.g. Bouche-Pillon Col. 4, lines 36-40, current values calculated for maximum production).
Regarding claim 18, modified Nagino teaches an operation assistance system comprising the operation assistance apparatus according to claim 1; and the one or more electrolyzers (see e.g. Fig. 1, planning device 100 with one or more electrolytic devices 1000; Paragraphs 0010 and 0060).
Regarding claim 19, Nagino teaches an operation assistance method (see e.g. Paragraph 0010, lines 1-4, generation of operating plan for electrolytic device) comprising:
acquiring, by a production amount acquisition unit, a production amount by acquiring a target production amount of a product produced in a predetermined period by one or more electrolyzers (see e.g. Paragraphs 0012 and 0060-0061 and Paragraph 0046, lines 4-5, acquisition unit acquiring target operating plan, i.e. predetermined hydrogen supply plan, for a predetermined future period for one or more electrolytic devices);
calculating, by a production amount calculation unit, a maximum production amount of the product when a part included in the one or more electrolyzers is updated, the maximum production amount being a maximum production amount of the product produced in the period by the one or more electrolyzers (see e.g. Paragraphs 0043-0045 and 0068-0069, and Paragraph 0046, lines 1-5, model generation unit predicts, i.e. calculates, electrolytic device operating behaviour, including hydrogen generation amount, for determined period, taking into account fluctuations that may occur due to maintenance, such as replacement, i.e. update, of parts, during the period);
specifying, by a period specification unit, a period during which the maximum production amount becomes equal to or more than the target production amount, in the predetermined period (see e.g. Paragraphs 0046, 0072, 0080 and 0083, maintenance plan generation unit generates maintenance plan for predetermined future period, including scheduling of maintenance, to be applied with the operation plan such that an amount of hydrogen generated satisfies, i.e. is greater than or equal to, the predetermined supply plan);
calculating, by a cost calculation unit, a cost related to functioning of the one or more electrolyzers (see e.g. Paragraphs 0022 and 0030, electricity price forecasting unit predicting, i.e. calculating, electricity rates for predetermined future periods, the electricity to be utilized by the electrolytic device); and
further specifying, by the period specification unit, a timing at which the cost is minimized, in the period during which the maximum production amount becomes equal to or more than the target production amount (see e.g. Paragraphs 0037, 0046, 0072 and 0082-0083, maintenance plan generation unit supplying maintenance plan, including maintenance schedule, to operation plan generation unit to generate operating plan, based on maintenance plan, that minimizes electrolytic device hydrogen product manufacturing costs while a generated amount of hydrogen satisfies, i.e. is greater than or equal to, the predetermined supply plan).
Nagino does not explicitly teach the updated electrolyzer part being an ion exchange membrane, the one or more electrolyzers each including an anode chamber and a cathode chamber partitioned by the ion exchange membrane, an aqueous solution of an alkali metal chloride being introduced into the anode chamber, and an aqueous solution of an alkali metal hydroxide being discharged from the cathode chamber, and the method further comprising supplying, by a current supply unit, each of the one or more electrolyzers with a corresponding current. Nagino does however teach the operation assistance method being used with one or more hydrogen producing electrolyzers which may require maintenance for more accurate and cost-effective control (see e.g. Paragraphs 0060-0061, 0100 and 0105), with maintenance being performed, e.g. by updating the electrolyzer part, according to abnormalities and deterioration of the electrolyzer (see e.g. Paragraphs 0069 and 0073).
Berriah teaches a system for evaluating damage of a plurality of cells in an electrolyser, i.e. electrolytic devices (see e.g. Abstract), the electrolyser producing hydrogen (see e.g. Paragraph 0026), wherein maintenance actions such as replacement of ion exchange membranes may be performed for damaged membrane cells (see e.g. Fig. 1a, cation selective membrane 14 of membrane cell to be replaced; Paragraphs 0026 and 0071), the cells each include an anode chamber and a cathode chamber partitioned by the ion exchange membrane (see e.g. Fig. 1a, membrane cell 11 including anode compartment 12 and cathode compartment 13 separated by membrane 14; Paragraph 0025, lines 1-4), and an aqueous solution of an alkali metal chloride is introduced into the anode chamber and an aqueous solution of an alkali metal hydroxide is discharged from the cathode chamber (see e.g. Fig. 1, NaCl filling anode compartment 12 and generated NaOH exiting cathode compartment 13; Paragraph 0025, lines 5-7, and Paragraph 0026, lines 2-5), and the system further including a current supply unit which supplies a corresponding current to each of the cells (see e.g. Paragraph 0040, lines 8-13, current controlling device varying current supplied to each cell, particularly up to an optimum value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the operation assistance method of Nagino to be utilized with the electrolyser system of Berriah, including an ion exchange membrane partitioning anode and cathode chambers which receive and discharge the above-mentioned aqueous solutions as well as a current supply unit supplying the electrolyzer(s), and thus perform maintenance by replacing, i.e. updating, an ion exchange membrane of the electrolyzer(s) as a particular suitable hydrogen-producing electrolytic device system for which maintenance is required that can benefit from the more accurate and cost-effective control provided by the operation assistance method. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Modified Nagino does not explicitly teach calculating, by a current calculation unit, the corresponding current which is supplied to each of the one or more electrolyzers and at which a production amount of the product produced in the period by the one or more electrolyzers is maximized, a power amount consumed in the period by the one or more electrolyzers is minimized, mass of an alkali metal chloride, which is introduced into the anode chamber and is contained in the aqueous solution of the alkali metal hydroxide discharged from the cathode chamber, is minimized, or mass of oxygen contained in chlorine discharged from the anode chamber is minimized. Berriah does however teach the supplied current being an optimum maximum value, which depends on the electrolyser design (see e.g. Berriah Paragraph 0040, lines 8-1, and Paragraph 0073), as well as the desire to maximize the production rate of the electrolyser (see e.g. Berriah Paragraph 0006, lines 8-12).
Bouche-Pillon teaches an electrolytic cell (see e.g. Abstract) comprising computing means which send set points of various signals, including current values resulting from a corrective coherence calculation and one or more criteria such as maximum production, to controllers such that the electrolytic cell may be operated at maximum efficiency (see e.g. Col. 1, line 66-Col. 2, line 7, and Col. 4, lines 30-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Nagino to comprise calculating, with a computing means, the current to be supplied to the electrolyzers such that a production rate, i.e. product production amount, is maximized as taught by Bouche-Pillon as a suitable means of determining the desired optimum maximum current value for maximized production rate for the electrolyzers such that they may operate at maximum efficiency. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding claim 20, Nagino teaches a non-transitory, computer readable medium having recorded thereon an operation assistance program that, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to execute operations (see e.g. Paragraphs 0010, 0133 and 0138, non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums, such as DVD-ROM, IC card, hard disk drive RAM or ROM, comprising program to be executed by CPU of a computer to implement inventive method of generating an operation plan for an electrolytic device) comprising:
acquiring a production amount by acquiring a target production amount of a product produced in a predetermined period by one or more electrolyzers (see e.g. Paragraphs 0012 and 0060-0061 and Paragraph 0046, lines 4-5, acquisition unit acquiring target operating plan, i.e. predetermined hydrogen supply plan, for a predetermined future period for one or more electrolytic devices);
calculating a maximum production amount of the product when a part included in the one or more electrolyzers is updated, the maximum production amount being a maximum production amount of the product produced in the period by the one or more electrolyzers (see e.g. Paragraphs 0043-0045 and 0068-0069, and Paragraph 0046, lines 1-5, model generation unit predicts, i.e. calculates, electrolytic device operating behaviour, including hydrogen generation amount, for determined period, taking into account fluctuations that may occur due to maintenance, such as replacement, i.e. update, of parts, during the period);
specifying the period during which the maximum production amount becomes equal to or more than the target production amount, in the predetermined period (see e.g. Paragraphs 0046, 0072, 0080 and 0083, maintenance plan generation unit generates maintenance plan for predetermined future period, including scheduling of maintenance, to be applied with the operation plan such that an amount of hydrogen generated satisfies, i.e. is greater than or equal to, the predetermined supply plan);
calculating, by a cost calculation unit, a cost related to functioning of the one or more electrolyzers (see e.g. Paragraphs 0022 and 0030, electricity price forecasting unit predicting, i.e. calculating, electricity rates for predetermined future periods, the electricity to be utilized by the electrolytic device); and
further specifying, by a period specification unit, a timing at which the cost is minimized, in the period during which the maximum production amount becomes equal to or more than the target production amount (see e.g. Paragraphs 0037, 0046, 0072 and 0082-0083, maintenance plan generation unit supplying maintenance plan, including maintenance schedule, to operation plan generation unit to generate operating plan, based on maintenance plan, that minimizes electrolytic device hydrogen product manufacturing costs while a generated amount of hydrogen satisfies, i.e. is greater than or equal to, the predetermined supply plan).
Nagino does not explicitly teach the updated electrolyzer part being an ion exchange membrane, the one or more electrolyzers each including an anode chamber and a cathode chamber partitioned by the ion exchange membrane, an aqueous solution of an alkali metal chloride being introduced into the anode chamber, and an aqueous solution of an alkali metal hydroxide being discharged from the cathode chamber, and the operations further comprising supplying, by a current supply unit, each of the one or more electrolyzers with a corresponding current. Nagino does however teach the operation assistance program being used with one or more hydrogen producing electrolyzers which may require maintenance for more accurate and cost-effective control (see e.g. Paragraphs 0060-0061, 0100 and 0105), with maintenance being performed, e.g. by updating the electrolyzer part, according to abnormalities and deterioration of the electrolyzer (see e.g. Paragraphs 0069 and 0073).
Berriah teaches a system for evaluating damage of a plurality of cells in an electrolyser, i.e. electrolytic devices (see e.g. Abstract), the electrolyser producing hydrogen (see e.g. Paragraph 0026), wherein maintenance actions such as replacement of ion exchange membranes may be performed for damaged membrane cells (see e.g. Fig. 1a, cation selective membrane 14 of membrane cell to be replaced; Paragraphs 0026 and 0071), the cells each include an anode chamber and a cathode chamber partitioned by the ion exchange membrane (see e.g. Fig. 1a, membrane cell 11 including anode compartment 12 and cathode compartment 13 separated by membrane 14; Paragraph 0025, lines 1-4), and an aqueous solution of an alkali metal chloride is introduced into the anode chamber and an aqueous solution of an alkali metal hydroxide is discharged from the cathode chamber (see e.g. Fig. 1, NaCl filling anode compartment 12 and generated NaOH exiting cathode compartment 13; Paragraph 0025, lines 5-7, and Paragraph 0026, lines 2-5), and the system further including a current supply unit which supplies a corresponding current to each of the cells (see e.g. Paragraph 0040, lines 8-13, current controlling device varying current supplied to each cell, particularly up to an optimum value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the operation assistance program of Nagino to be utilized with the electrolyser system of Berriah, including an ion exchange membrane partitioning anode and cathode chambers which receive and discharge the above-mentioned aqueous solutions as well as a current supply unit supplying the electrolyzer(s), and thus perform maintenance by replacing, i.e. updating, an ion exchange membrane of the electrolyzer(s) as a particular suitable hydrogen-producing electrolytic device system for which maintenance is required that can benefit from the more accurate and cost-effective control provided by the operation assistance program. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Modified Nagino does not explicitly teach calculating, by a current calculation unit, the corresponding current which is supplied to each of the one or more electrolyzers and at which a production amount of the product produced in the period by the one or more electrolyzers is maximized, a power amount consumed in the period by the one or more electrolyzers is minimized, mass of an alkali metal chloride, which is introduced into the anode chamber and is contained in the aqueous solution of the alkali metal hydroxide discharged from the cathode chamber, is minimized, or mass of oxygen contained in chlorine discharged from the anode chamber is minimized. Berriah does however teach the supplied current being an optimum maximum value, which depends on the electrolyser design (see e.g. Berriah Paragraph 0040, lines 8-1, and Paragraph 0073), as well as the desire to maximize the production rate of the electrolyser (see e.g. Berriah Paragraph 0006, lines 8-12).
Bouche-Pillon teaches an electrolytic cell (see e.g. Abstract) comprising computing means which send set points of various signals, including current values resulting from a corrective coherence calculation and one or more criteria such as maximum production, to controllers such that the electrolytic cell may be operated at maximum efficiency (see e.g. Col. 1, line 66-Col. 2, line 7, and Col. 4, lines 30-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the operations of modified Nagino to comprise calculating, with a computing means, the current to be supplied to the electrolyzers such that a production rate, i.e. product production amount, is maximized as taught by Bouche-Pillon as a suitable means of determining the desired optimum maximum current value for maximized production rate for the electrolyzers such that they may operate at maximum efficiency. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Claims 5-6, 10 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagino, Berriah and Bouche-Pillon, as applied to claims 3 above, and further in view of Yorozu (JP H0874082 A, citations based on translation).
Regarding claims 5, modified Nagino teaches all the elements of the apparatus of claim 3 as stated above. Nagino as modified by Berriah and Bouche-Pillon further teaches the current calculation unit calculating the corresponding current at which the production amount of the product is maximized (see e.g. Berriah Paragraph 0006, lines 8-12, Paragraph 0040, lines 8-1, and Paragraph 0073, given optimal current value supplied to each cell to maximize production rate of the electrolyser; see e.g. Bouche-Pillon Col. 4, lines 36-40, current values calculated for maximum production). Modified Nagino does not explicitly teach a power amount acquisition unit which acquires a power amount for each of the plurality of electrolyzers to produce the product, and the current being calculated when the power amount is less than a predetermined power amount. Berriah does however teach the desire to control energy consumption of the electrolyzers (see e.g. Berriah Paragraph 0006, lines 8-12), as well as the current being decreased from the optimal current value to zero when identified as damaged when below a certain voltage level for a given current, i.e. correlated to power amount, and shut down for maintenance (see e.g. Berriah Paragraph 0040, lines 8-13). Nagino additionally teaches the desire to minimize costs based on electricity charges and operating data of the electrolyzers (see e.g. Nagino Paragraphs 0017 and 0022-0024).
Yorozu teaches an operation method for managing an alkali chloride electrolytic plant having a plurality of electrolytic cells (see e.g. Paragraph 0001, lines 1-2), particularly for detecting abnormalities in the cell and ion exchange membrane and optimizing the priority of membrane replacement (see e.g. Paragraph 0001, lines 5-8), wherein a power consumption amount for each cell is calculated based on the cell voltage and current by a process computer and compared to a standard value, allowing ranking of the electricity costs among the cells to determine the most economical order for ion exchange membrane replacement (see e.g. Paragraph 0013, lines 6-10 and 14-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of modified Nagino to have a process computer for calculating a power consumption amount for each electrolyzer as taught by Yorozu to allow ranking of the electricity costs among the cells to determine the most economical order for ion exchange membrane replacement, where cells below a certain power amount, i.e. indicated as damaged as described by Berriah, would not be supplied with the calculated product maximizing current.
Regarding claim 6, Nagino as modified by Yorozu teaches an electrolyzer specification unit which specifies an electrolyzer, of which the power amount is maximum, among the plurality of electrolyzers (see e.g. Yorozu Paragraph 0013, lines 6-10 and 14-16, process computer ranking the electricity costs, correlated to calculated power amount, of the cells from largest, i.e. maximum, to smallest).
Regarding claim 10, modified Nagino teaches all the elements of the apparatus of claim 3 as stated above. Nagino as modified by Berriah and Bouche-Pillon further teaches the current calculation unit calculating the corresponding current at which the production amount of the product produced in the period by the plurality of electrolyzers is maximized (see e.g. Berriah Paragraph 0006, lines 8-12, Paragraph 0040, lines 8-1, and Paragraph 0073, given optimal current value supplied to each cell to maximize production rate of the electrolyser; see e.g. Bouche-Pillon Col. 4, lines 36-40, current values calculated for maximum production). Modified Nagino does not explicitly teach this corresponding current being calculated when the mass of the alkali metal chloride contained in the aqueous solution of the alkali metal hydroxide discharged from the cathode chamber or the mass of the oxygen contained in chlorine discharged from the anode chamber is less than a predetermined mass. Berriah does however teach the current being decreased from the optimal current value to zero when identified as damaged and shut down for maintenance (see e.g. Berriah Paragraph 0040, lines 8-13), as well as that detection of a given compound in the cell by appropriate sensor may be used to classify damage, oxygen evolution in the anode compartment as opposed to the expected chlorine being an exemplary indication of damage (see e.g. Berriah Paragraphs 0029, 0031 and 0084).
Yorozu teaches an operation method for managing an alkali chloride electrolytic plant having a plurality of electrolytic cells (see e.g. Paragraph 0001, lines 1-2), particularly for detecting abnormalities in the cell and ion exchange membrane and optimizing the priority of membrane replacement (see e.g. Paragraph 0001, lines 5-8), wherein a measured increase in oxygen concentration at a chlorine outlet is indicative of deterioration of the ion exchange membrane (see e.g. Paragraph 0009, lines 9-12, and Paragraph 0010, lines 9-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of modified Nagino to have the optimal current for maximized production for each electrolyzer calculated and supplied only when a mass of oxygen contained in chlorine discharge from the anode chamber is less than a predetermined concentration as taught by Yorozu as an additional suitable indication of membrane damage in the electrolyzer. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding claim 15, Nagino, as modified above, does not explicitly teach a deterioration speed acquisition unit which acquires a deterioration speed of the ion exchange membrane in each of the plurality of electrolyzers, wherein the electrolyzer specification unit specifies an electrolyzer, of which the ion exchange membrane is to be updated, among the plurality of electrolyzers on a basis of the deterioration speed of the ion exchange membrane.
Yorozu further teaches various calculated values indicative of membrane deterioration in each cell being monitored by the process computer (see e.g. Yorozu Paragraph 0001, lines 5-8, Paragraph 0011, lines 1-4, and Paragraph 0017, lines 1-4) and a rate of change in these values being used as criterion for determining an abnormal cell in which the membrane should be replaced or repaired, allowing for early detection of abnormalities and performance of the membrane-correcting measures before they can lead to a liquid leakage problem (see e.g. Yorozu Paragraph 0011, lines 5-7 and 10-15, and Paragraph 0017, lines 5-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of modified Nagino to comprise a process computer monitoring various calculated values indicative of membrane deterioration in each electrolyzer and utilizing a rate of change in these values, i.e. deterioration speed, as a criterion for determining an abnormal electrolyzer in which the membrane should be repaired or replaces, i.e. updated, as taught by Yorozu to allow for early detection of abnormalities and performance of the membrane-correcting measures before they can lead to a liquid leakage problem.
Regarding claim 16, Nagino as modified by Yorozu teaches, when a deterioration speed of one ion exchange membrane among ion exchange membranes including the ion exchange membrane in each of the plurality of electrolyzers is equal to or higher than a predetermined deterioration speed, the electrolyzer specification unit specifies the electrolyzer having the one ion exchange membrane (see e.g. Yorozu Paragraph 0011, lines 5-7 and 10-15, when rate of change of deterioration-indicating values reaches 10% increase or double, cell determined to be abnormal and in need of membrane replacement/repair).
Regarding claim 17, Nagino as modified by Yorozu teaches the production amount calculation unit calculating the maximum production amount of the product when the one ion exchange membrane specified by the electrolyzer specification unit is updated (see e.g. Nagino Paragraphs 0043-0045 and 0068-0069, and Paragraph 0046, lines 1-5, model generation unit predicts, i.e. calculates, electrolytic device operating behaviour, including hydrogen generation amount, for determined period, taking into account fluctuations that may occur due to maintenance, such as replacement, i.e. update, of parts, during the period; see e.g. Yorozu Paragraph 0011, lines 5-7 and 10-15, membrane to be replaced/repaired in identified abnormal cell), and the period specification unit further specifies the period during which the maximum production amount becomes equal to or more than the target production amount (see e.g. Nagino Paragraphs 0046, 0072, 0080 and 0083, maintenance plan generation unit generates maintenance plan for predetermined future period, including scheduling of maintenance, to be applied with the operation plan such that an amount of hydrogen generated satisfies, i.e. is greater than or equal to, the predetermined supply plan).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagino, Berriah, Bouche-Pillon and Yorozu, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Traini et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,015,345).
Regarding claim 7, modified Nagino teaches all the elements of the apparatus of claim 6 as stated above. Nagino as modified by Yorozu further teaches the power amount acquisition unit acquiring the power amount in total in the plurality of electrolyzers (see e.g. Yorozu Paragraph 0013, lines 6-10, power consumption calculated for all cells, i.e. providing a total). Modified Nagino does not teach the electrolyzer specification unit specifying the electrolyzer, of which the power amount is maximum, when the power amount in total in the period is minimum. Yorozu does however teach the electrolyzer with the maximum power having the priority for damaged membrane replacement (see e.g. Yorozu Paragraph 0013, lines 6-10).
Traini teaches a method for identifying defective ion exchange membranes in chlor-alkali electrolyzers (see e.g. Abstract), wherein measurement for said identification is done under substantially reduced current load without interrupting the current, i.e. minimized power amount, to allow for detection of the defective membranes with a high degree of reliability (see e.g. Col. 6, lines 52-56, and Col. 7, lines 13-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of modified Nagino to have the electrolyzer specification unit specify the electrolyzer of which the power amount is maximum, and thereby indicated to have the priority for damaged membrane replacement, when the total current load is substantially reduced but not interrupted, i.e. power amount minimized, as taught by Traini to allow for detection of the defective membranes with a high degree of reliability.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagino, Berriah and Bouche-Pillon, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Guo et al. (CN 111926343 A, citations based on translation).
Regarding claim 12, modified Nagino teaches all the elements of the apparatus of claim 3 as stated above. Nagino as modified by Berriah further teaches an electrolyzer specification unit (see e.g. Berriah Paragraph 0042, damage evaluation module classifies each cell based on damage), wherein
the production amount calculation unit further calculates the production amount of the product produced in the period by each of the plurality of electrolyzers (see e.g. Nagino Paragraphs 0043-0045 and 0068-0069, and Paragraph 0046, lines 1-5, model generation unit predicts, i.e. calculates, electrolytic device operating behaviour, including hydrogen generation amount, for determined period), and
the electrolyzer specification unit specifies an electrolyzer, of which the ion exchange membrane is to be updated, among the plurality of electrolyzers (see e.g. Berriah Paragraphs 0053 and 0069-0071, cells classified as damaged subject to maintenance actions such as membrane replacement, i.e. update).
Modified Nagino does not explicitly teach the production amount acquisition unit further acquires a production amount of the product produced in the period by each of the plurality of electrolyzers, and the electrolyzer, of which the membrane is to be updated, being specified on a basis of the production amount of the product acquired by the production amount acquisition unit and the production amount of the product calculated by the production amount calculation unit. Nagino does generally teach the product amount acquisition unit acquiring parameters related to the electrolyzers (see e.g. Nagino Paragraph 0012, lines 6-8), and Berriah additionally teaches that sensors may be provided to measure the presence of a given compound in an electrolyzer (see e.g. Berriah Paragraph 0040, lines 1-7), and specification of the electrolyzer for which the membrane is to be replaced may be done based on current efficiency (see e.g. Berriah Paragraphs 0042-0043, 0057 and 0059, damage evaluation module classifies each cell based on damage, particularly based on a cell current efficiency).
Guo teaches a method for determining the optimal operating cycle for an ion exchange membrane electrolyzer (see e.g. Paragraph 0001), wherein a current efficiency is calculated by an actual product output of the electrolyzer over a theoretical product output (see e.g. Paragraphs 0032-0036), decrease in said current efficiency being indicative of aging of the ion exchange membrane and performance decline (see e.g. Paragraph 0009, lines 5-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of modified Nagino to have the product amount acquisition unit acquire an actual product amount of each of the electrolyzers and use it with the theoretical product amount calculated by the production amount calculation unit to specify the electrolyzer with the membrane to be replaced as taught by Guo as an alternate suitable means of determining an electrolyzer current efficiency for evaluation of the membrane age and performance. MPEP § 2143(I)(B) states that “simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results” may be obvious.
Regarding claim 13, Nagino as modified by Berriah and Guo teaches the electrolyzer specification unit specifying an electrolyzer, in which the production amount of the product acquired by the production amount acquisition unit is minimum, among the plurality of electrolyzers (see e.g. Berriah Paragraphs 0042-0043, 0057 and 0059, damage evaluation module classifies each cell based on damage, particularly based on a cell current efficiency, lower efficiency indicating more damage; see e.g. Guo Paragraph 0032-0036, actual production amount proportional to current efficiency, and thereby minimum when current efficiency is minimum).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagino, Berriah, Bouche-Pillon and Yorozu, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Karren et al. (U.S. 2019/0263691).
Regarding claim 14, modified Nagino teaches all the elements of the apparatus of claim 6 as stated above. Nagino as modified by Berriah further teaches an aqueous solution of an alkali metal chloride being discharged from the anode chamber (see e.g. Berriah Fig. 1a, diluted aqueous solution of NaCl exiting anode compartment 12; Paragraph 0025, lines 5-6), the operation assistance apparatus further comprising a pH acquisition unit which acquires a pH of the aqueous solution of the alkali metal chloride (see e.g. Berriah Paragraph 0031 and Paragraph 0040, lines 3-6, measurement of pH of solution in anodic compartment of the cell), wherein the electrolyzer specification unit specifies an electrolyzer, of which the ion exchange membrane is to be updated, among the plurality of electrolyzers on a basis of the pH of the aqueous solution of the alkali metal chloride acquired by the pH acquisition unit (see e.g. Berriah Paragraphs 0029, 0032 0071 and 0084, pH sensor measurement indicative of membrane damage can be used for classification of the cell according to damage level, and thus determine if maintenance by membrane replacement is required).
Modified Nagino does not explicitly teach the pH acquisition unit measuring the pH of the aqueous solution of the alkali metal chloride introduced into the anode chamber and the pH of the aqueous solution of the alkali metal chloride discharged from the anode chamber.
Karren teaches a system using an electrolytic cell (see e.g. Abstract) wherein sensors such as one or more pH sensors may be placed at inlets and/or outlets of the cell in order to monitor the pH of electrolyte in, for example, the anode compartment (see e.g. Paragraph 0015, lines 11-12, Paragraph 0129 and Paragraph 0130, lines 1-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of modified Nagino to have the pH acquisition unit measure a pH of the alkali metal chloride solution at the inlet and outlet of the anode chamber as taught by Karren as a suitable configuration for monitoring solution pH in a chamber of an electrolytic cell. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 18, filed 08/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 1, 19 and 20 under 35 USC 103 over Nagino in view of Berriah, particularly regarding the combination of references not teaching all the limitations of the amended claims, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nagino, Berriah and Bouche-Pillon, as previously applied to claims 3-4.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not all persuasive.
On pages 18-19, Applicant argues that there is no teaching or suggestion in Nagino regarding specifying a timing of minimized operation cost during a period when the maximum production amount is equal to or more than the target production amount, as Nagino merely provides that the operation plan generation unit is preferably designed to generate an operation plan that minimizes hydrogen production costs. This is not considered persuasive. Nagino teaches the maintenance plan generating unit generating a plan including a maintenance schedule, i.e. specification of timing, for a specific period (see e.g. Paragraph 0072, lines 4-6, and Paragraphs 0081-0082), and the operation plan generating unit generating an operating plan based on, i.e. including, this maintenance plan/scheduled maintenance, that reduces/minimizes hydrogen production costs while satisfying specific conditions (see e.g. Paragraph 0083), specifically producing a hydrogen amount that satisfies a predetermined supply plan, i.e. target amount (see e.g. Paragraphs 0044 and 0046, conditions to be met in generating the plan including ensuring the amount of hydrogen generated satisfied plan), thereby indicating that, in the overall operation of the planning device, the maintenance is scheduled/timed such that hydrogen production costs are minimized in a period in which a target production amount will be at least met.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1795
/LUAN V VAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1795