DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 12, there appear to be missing subject matter that is essential to the invention. As described in Fig. 1 and associated text, the original disclosure provides measuring device 25 which is essential for detecting the internal pressure and motor torque, both detected parameters being used to control and change the torque characteristic curve. Without such feature, it is unclear how to make and use the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CH 650168 to Oberg et al. (“Oberg”; machine translation provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, Oberg discloses a method for operating a device for the dewatering and volume reduction of material to be pressed, the method including the following steps:
- introducing the material to be pressed into a pressing arrangement that includes a screw shaft (see Description on p. 1 and p. 3, first para. of translation describing dewatering sludge, which manifestly includes introducing the sludge to be pressed and dewatered),
- driving a screw shaft (11) of the pressing arrangement at a rotational speed by means of a drive motor (17),
- expelling an existing liquid out of the material to be pressed by means of the screw shaft (note the screw centrifuge of Oberg is designed to dewater sludge, see Description and p. 3, first para.),
- detecting a torque applied by the drive motor (note pulse generator 22 and transducer 28 are provided to detect and transfer screw drive torque to computer 20),
- detecting an internal pressure prevailing within the pressing arrangement (note pressure measuring device 28 which directly correlates pressure of the pressing arrangement), and
- controlling the rotational speed of the screw shaft on the basis of the torque along a torque characteristic curve, wherein the torque characteristic curve is changed on the basis of the internal pressure (see translation at para. bridging pp. 3-4; see also last two para. of p. 4)
Regarding claim 12, Oberg further discloses a device for the dewatering and volume reduction of material to be pressed, comprising:
a pressing arrangement (see apparatus of Fig. 1) configured to perform a compacting operation that compacts the material to be pressed during operation of the device,
a screw shaft (see shaft part of auger 11) rotatably supported within the pressing arrangement;
wherein during the compacting operation, an internal pressure is generated within the pressing arrangement by means of rotation of the screw shaft and, in this way, liquid present in the material to be pressed is expelled out of the material to be pressed (intended use of the apparatus; note pressing operation to dewater sludge at p. 3, first para.),
a drive motor (17) configured and disposed to transmit a torque onto the screw shaft, and
a control unit (20), which has a torque controller configured for controlling the rotational speed of the screw shaft on the basis of the torque along a torque characteristic curve (see para. bridging pp. 3-4);
wherein the control unit is designed to change the torque characteristic curve on the basis of the internal pressure (see para. bridging pp. 3-4).
Regarding claims 14-15, Oberg further discloses at least one measuring device (see sensors 21 and 22 and operations thereof) configured for measuring the rotational speed, the torque and/or the internal pressure and wherein the control unit includes a pressure controller configured and disposed for controlling the rotational speed of the screw shaft on the basis of the internal pressure along a pressure characteristic curve, wherein the control unit is designed to change the pressure characteristic curve on the basis of the torque (see computer operations based on torque, pressure, and other variables at pp. 3-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-11, 13, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oberg.
Regarding claims 2-11, 13, Oberg discloses monitoring multiple variables (such as pressure and torque) along a torque characteristic curve to control the rotational speed of the screw shaft but does not expressly disclose the details of the torque characteristic curve, rotational speeds, or pressures as recited in claims 2-10. Absent a showing of unexpected/unpredictable results, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to optimize the torque and pressure as desired in order to achieve the desired dewatering effect of the screw centrifuge, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05(II) regarding Obviousness and Routine Optimization.
Regarding claim 16, Oberg discloses various characteristic curves including pressure and torque (p. 3, first para.), and changing torque based on various characteristic curves including pressure determined from device 28 (see para. bridging pp. 3-4).
Regarding claims 17-18, see Routine Optimization above.
Regarding claim 19, Oberg discloses wherein the rotational speed is increased when the internal pressure is increasing (see speed and pressure being proportion in 2nd to last para. on p. 3).
Conclusion
Joseph L. Perrin, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Joseph L. Perrin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711