DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weinberger et al. (US 11,203,009).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 7, 10
Weinberger discloses a composition made by dispersing activated carbon (i.e., porous carbonaceous particle) and manganese oxide (i.e., metal oxide with formula MnO, MnO2 or Mn3O4) in water and adding acetic acid (i.e., first compound with a carbonyl group and a reducing agent) and sodium carbonate (example 17). Under such conditions the first compound and the metal oxide would be supported on the activated carbon.
Weinberger discloses that the compositions are useful for removing formaldehyde (i.e., second compound) (abstract).
Regarding claim 2
The temperature of absorption/desorption is a property of the composition, and as the composition of the reference reads directly on the claimed invention it would also be expected to have the same properties. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding claim 9
Weinberger does not disclose these metals in the composition.
Regarding claim 12
Weinberger discloses coating the slurry of the catalyst onto an aluminum substrate (i.e., solid substrate) and placed into an unpurified air stream (Example 17).
Regarding claim 13
Weinberger discloses that the catalyst may be in a housing (column 3, lines 42-56).
Regarding claim 14
The removal recovery ratio is a property of the composition, and as the composition of the reference reads directly on the claimed invention it would also be expected to have the same properties. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding claims 15, 17-18
Weinberger discloses calcining the catalyst (Column 16, lines 31-46). Weinberger also discloses that the catalyst can remove ozone (Claim 1), and as there is ozone in the air, it would be expected that some ozone would be absorbed on the catalyst before calcining.
Regarding claim 16
Weinberger discloses that the calcining temperature may be 250 C, and the time may be about 1 hour (Column 16, lines 31-46).
Regarding claim 19
Weinberger discloses drying the composition (Column 16, lines 31-46).
Although Weinberger does not disclose the order of mixing, it has been held that selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results, see MPEP 2144.04, section C, and also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946), and In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930).
Regarding claim 20
Weinberger discloses drying at about 90C (which reads on or makes obvious 100 C) from about 2 minutes to 8 hours (Column 16, lines 31-46).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 8 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art fairly teaches or suggest the limitations of these claims in combination with the limitations of the base claim(s) from which they depend.
Conclusion
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734