DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 02/05/2026 and Information Disclosure Statements filed on 26 December 2024.
Claims 1-3,5-7,21-23,25-30 and 32-36 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 26 December 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/05/2026 have been entered. The claims have been
amended, canceled, and added as follows:
Claims are amended: 1,21,28.
Claims cancelled: 4, 24, 31.
Claims are Previously presented: 22-23, 25, 26-27, 29-30, 32-33.
Claims are added: 34-36.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/05/2026, Remark Pages 7-8, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant arguing that Lin and Won fail to teach “transition, upon completion of the power cycle, the second SIM out of the limited service camped state”. Examiner respectfully disagree with applicant. Won teaches that the MS/UE deletes stored “not allowed” restriction information when the MS is switched off ¶[0257], [0276], [0327]. Under Broadest reasonable interpretation, “perform a power cycle” encompasses switching the device off and then back on, and clearing the stored restriction upon switch-off necessarily results in the UE no longer being constrained by the prior restricted/limited condition after restart, as the limitation.
Based on the above reasons, the examiner maintains prior art rejection based on previously cited art.
Claim Objections
Claim 36 is objected to because of the following informalities: I. Claim 36 mentioned “the UE” lacks clear antecedent basis, because Claim 28 is drafted as “An apparatus, processor and does not expressly introduce “UE” as a claim term. II. Unclear terminology multiple MSIM instances, claim 1, 21, 28 define “multiple-subscriber identity module (MSIM) mode”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1, 6, 21, 26, 28, and 33, 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (WO 2021232174 A1) in view of Won et al (US 20210258857A1). With regarding claim 1. A wireless device, comprising: a first radio and a second radio; at least one processor coupled to the first radio and the second radio and configured to cause the wireless device to (See FIG. 3-5 and [0008], ¶[0050], [0045], Claim 10 and 14. Disclosed one or more processors and the memory configured with radio-access technologies): transmit, using a first SIM associated with the first radio, a first attach request to a network node to (See FIG. 3 and ¶[0007][0042], [0050], [0069]-[0072] Disclosed first Base stion (BS) via a first subscription associated with a first SIM of the UE, and first request with a first RAT); transmit, using a second SIM associated with the second radio, a second attach request to the network node (See FIG. 4-5 and ¶[0042], [0045], [0047], [0050], [0053], [0055]-[0056]. Disclosed UE transmit a registration request for the second SIM to LTE for the second subscriber); receive, operating in a multiple-subscriber identity module (MSIM) mode, an attach reject message from the network node, wherein the attach reject message comprises an attach reject cause code (See FIG. 4-5 and ¶[0047], [0050], [0053], [0055] Disclosed Multi-SIMs operations and it explanation in some aspects of the present disclosure, the UE 120 may take action to disable SA mode of operation for a second SUB2 of UE after receiving a rejection for the first SUB.); transition, based at least in part on reception of the attach reject message, the second SIM to a limited service camped state(See ¶[0025], [0053], [0055] Disclosed In some aspects of the present disclosure, the UE 120 may take action to disable SA mode of operation for a second subscription (SUB2) of the UE 120. ); disable the second radio; transition to a single-SIM mode (See ¶[0045], [0055] Disclosed the UE 120 may take action to disable SA mode of operation for a second subscription(SUB2) of the UE); and communicate with the network node, wherein the communications are associated with the first SIM (See ¶[0045], [0053]-[0054], Claim 17. Disclosed related to communicating with network node where communications are associated with the first SIM.). Lin may not explicitly disclose perform a power cycle; and transition, upon completion of the power cycle, the second SIM out of the limited service camped state.
However, in analogous art, Won disclose a power cycle; and transition, upon completion of the power cycle, the second SIM out of the limited service camped state (See ¶[0257], [0276], [327], [0138], [0242], [0243], [0137], [0441]. Disclosed MS is switched off and deleting stored “not allowed” restrictions upon switch-off is a reset/clear mechanism that enables the device to resume attempting normal access modes after the restart, i.e., to move out of the restricted or limited condition.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Won to modify Lin teaching. Lin teaches a multi-SIM UE (DSDS/DSDA) performing network registration/attach-type attempts and receiving a rejection(cause indicating 5GS service not allowed), and then taking coordinated action across subscriptions to avoid repeated failed attempts and conserve power and also teaches that after repeated the sim can be treated as invalid/restricted until a switch-off event. Won teaches that the stored restriction information is deleted when the MS is switched off, enabling normal access behavior after restart. This combination teaches reduces repeated failed attempts and power drain while providing a clear reset-based recovery path. With regarding Claim 6, Lin and Won disclose the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the wireless device to: receive, on the first SIM, an attach accept message from the network node (See ¶[0054], [0008], ¶[0050], [0045]. Disclosed receiving acceptance messages after successful registration. Specifically that after transmitting a registration request to an LTE cell for the first subscription, UE may receive a register accept message 522, allowing the UE 112 to register with LTE for communication in block 524 while in an NSA mode of operation for the first SUB); transition, based at least in part on performing a successful registration procedure, to a registered idle state(See ¶[0054], [0094]. Disclosed the UE being allowed to register with LTE for communication in block while in an NSA mode of operation for the first subscription. After receiving the accept message.); Lin may not explicitly disclose receive, on the second SIM, an authentication request from the network node; transmit, on the second SIM, an authentication response to the network node; and receive, on the second SIM, an authentication reject message from the network node; wherein the second SIM is transitioned to the limited service camped state based at least in part on reception of the authentication reject message. However, in analogous art, Won disclose receive, on the second SIM, an authentication request from the network node(See ¶[0113]-[0014], [0206]. Disclosed receiving authentication requests in multi-SIM devices. And the complete authentication exchange between UE and network, stating the network can or shall return a service reject message to the UE 102 after authentication attempts.); transmit, on the second SIM, an authentication response to the network node (See ¶[0113]-[0014], [0206]. Disclosed the UE’s response to authentication request, the service request message, which is part of the authentication/response process where the UE responds to network authentication challenges.); and receive, on the second SIM, an authentication reject message from the network node (See ¶[0165], [0243]-[0244]. Disclosed such a rejection message, received in response to a request from the UE 102 for provisioning of services, from the AMF 108, may include a cause value of #27.) wherein the second SIM is transitioned to the limited service camped state based at least in part on reception of the authentication reject message (See ¶[0166], [0243]-[0244]. Disclosed the UE can or shall set the 5GS update status to 5U3 roaming not allowed and can or shall enter the state 5GMM-REGISTERED.LIMITED-SERVICE in response to authentication rejection messages with specific cause values.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Won to modify Lin teaching. Lin teaching Dual-SIM device to include transitioning to a limited service camped state and disabling the second radio upon receiving a rejection message, and Won teaches transitioning to a limited service state following authentication rejection, the UE can or shall set the 5GS update status to 5U3 ROAMING NOT ALLOWED. This combination ensure the receiving registration accept messages and transitioning to registered states on the first SIM, while won provides specific teachings regarding authentication requests, responses, rejection messages, and transitioning to limited service states on the second SIM based on those rejections.
With regarding claim 21. Lin disclosed a method, comprising: transmitting, using a first subscriber identity module (SIM) associated with a first radio, a first attach request to a network node (See FIG. 3-5 and [0007]-[0008], ¶[0050], [0042]-[0045], [0069]-[0072], Claim 10 and 14. Disclosed one or more processors and the memory configured with radio-access technologies), first Base stion (BS) via a first subscription associated with a first SIM of the UE, and first request with a first RAT); transmit, using a second SIM associated with the second radio, a second attach request to the network node (See FIG. 4-5 and ¶[0042], [0045], [0047], [0050], [0053], [0055]-[0056]. Disclosed UE transmit a registration request for the second SIM to LTE for the second subscriber); receive, operating in a multiple-subscriber identity module (MSIM) mode, an attach reject message from the network node, wherein the attach reject message comprises an attach reject cause code (See FIG. 4-5 and ¶[0047], [0050], [0053], [0055] Disclosed Multi-SIMs operations and it explanation in some aspects of the present disclosure, the UE 120 may take action to disable SA mode of operation for a second SUB2 of UE after receiving a rejection for the first SUB.); transition, based at least in part on reception of the attach reject message, the second SIM to a limited service camped state(See ¶[0025], [0053], [0055] Disclosed In some aspects of the present disclosure, the UE 120 may take action to disable SA mode of operation for a second subscription (SUB2) of the UE 120. ); disable the second radio; transition to a single-SIM mode (See ¶[0045], [0055] Disclosed the UE 120 may take action to disable SA mode of operation for a second subscription(SUB2) of the UE); and communicate with the network node, wherein the communications are associated with the first SIM (See ¶[0045], [0053]-[0054], Claim 17. Disclosed related to communicating with network node where communications are associated with the first SIM.). Lin may not explicitly disclose perform a power cycle; and transition, upon completion of the power cycle, the second SIM out of the limited service camped state.
However, in analogous art, Won disclose a power cycle; and transition, upon completion of the power cycle, the second SIM out of the limited service camped state (See ¶[0257], [0276], [327], [0138], [0242], [0243], [0137], [0441]. Disclosed MS is switched off and deleting stored “not allowed” restrictions upon switch-off is a reset/clear mechanism that enables the device to resume attempting normal access modes after the restart, i.e., to move out of the restricted or limited condition.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Won to modify Lin teaching. Lin teaches a multi-SIM UE (DSDS/DSDA) performing network registration/attach-type attempts and receiving a rejection(cause indicating 5GS service not allowed), and then taking coordinated action across subscriptions to avoid repeated failed attempts and conserve power and also teaches that after repeated the sim can be treated as invalid/restricted until a switch-off event. Won teaches that the stored restriction information is deleted when the MS is switched off, enabling normal access behavior after restart. This combination teaches reduces repeated failed attempts and power drain while providing a clear reset-based recovery path. With regarding Claim 26, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 26 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 6, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
With regarding claim 28, Lin disclosed an apparatus, comprising: a processor configured to, when executing instructions stored in a memory, perform operations comprising: (See FIG. 3-5 and [0008], ¶[0050], [0045], Claim 10 and 14. Disclosed one or more processors and the memory configured with radio-access technologies): transmit, using a first SIM associated with the first radio, a first attach request to a network node to (See FIG. 3 and ¶[0007][0042], [0050], [0069]-[0072] Disclosed first Base stion (BS) via a first subscription associated with a first SIM of the UE, and first request with a first RAT); transmit, using a second SIM associated with the second radio, a second attach request to the network node (See FIG. 4-5 and ¶[0042], [0045], [0047], [0050], [0053], [0055]-[0056]. Disclosed UE transmit a registration request for the second SIM to LTE for the second subscriber); receive, operating in a multiple-subscriber identity module (MSIM) mode, an attach reject message from the network node, wherein the attach reject message comprises an attach reject cause code (See FIG. 4-5 and ¶[0047], [0050], [0053], [0055] Disclosed Multi-SIMs operations and it explanation in some aspects of the present disclosure, the UE 120 may take action to disable SA mode of operation for a second SUB2 of UE after receiving a rejection for the first SUB.); transition, based at least in part on reception of the attach reject message, the second SIM to a limited service camped state(See ¶[0025], [0053], [0055] Disclosed In some aspects of the present disclosure, the UE 120 may take action to disable SA mode of operation for a second subscription (SUB2) of the UE 120. ); disable the second radio; transition to a single-SIM mode (See ¶[0045], [0055] Disclosed the UE 120 may take action to disable SA mode of operation for a second subscription(SUB2) of the UE); and communicate with the network node, wherein the communications are associated with the first SIM (See ¶[0045], [0053]-[0054], Claim 17. Disclosed related to communicating with network node where communications are associated with the first SIM.). Lin may not explicitly disclose perform a power cycle; and transition, upon completion of the power cycle, the second SIM out of the limited service camped state.
However, in analogous art, Won disclose a power cycle; and transition, upon completion of the power cycle, the second SIM out of the limited service camped state (See ¶[0257], [0276], [327], [0138], [0242], [0243], [0137], [0441]. Disclosed MS is switched off and deleting stored “not allowed” restrictions upon switch-off is a reset/clear mechanism that enables the device to resume attempting normal access modes after the restart, i.e., to move out of the restricted or limited condition.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Won to modify Lin teaching. Lin teaches a multi-SIM UE (DSDS/DSDA) performing network registration/attach-type attempts and receiving a rejection(cause indicating 5GS service not allowed), and then taking coordinated action across subscriptions to avoid repeated failed attempts and conserve power and also teaches that after repeated the sim can be treated as invalid/restricted until a switch-off event. Won teaches that the stored restriction information is deleted when the MS is switched off, enabling normal access behavior after restart. This combination teaches reduces repeated failed attempts and power drain while providing a clear reset-based recovery path. With regarding Claim 33, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 33 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 6, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
With regarding Claim 35, Lin and Won disclosed the apparatus of claim 28, Won disclosed wherein the attach reject message is integrity protected (See ¶[0138], [0142], [0243], [0247]. Disclosed rejected messages that are successfully integrity checked by the NAS(integrity protected).)
With regarding Claim 36,Won disclosed the apparatus of claim 35, wherein when the UE is not configured to use timer T3245, the UE remains in the limited service camped state on multiple MSIM instances until a power- cycle is performed (See ¶[0216], [0257], [0304], [0383]. Disclosed restrictions remain “until switching off (power cycle) for multiple subscriber entries (MSIM), distinct from timer expiry).
Claims 2, 5, 22, 25, 29, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin and Won et al. as applied to claim 1/21/28 above , and further in view of Niemi et al (US 20200275506 A1).
With regarding Claim 2, Lin and Won disclose the wireless device of claim 1,
Lin and Won may not explicitly disclose wherein the attach reject cause code is an Attach Reject Cause #6 associated with an illegal mobile equipment (ME).
However, in analogous art, Niemi disclose wherein the attach reject cause code is an Attach Reject Cause #6 associated with an illegal mobile equipment (ME) (See ¶[0052]-[0053], [0085] Disclosed the reject message may be a registration reject message may include a reject cause indicative of illegal UE, illegal mobile equipment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Niemi to modify Lin and Won teaching. Lin teaching Dual-SIM device to include transitioning to a limited service camped state and disabling the second radio upon receiving a rejection message, and Niemi teaches the reject cause may refer to the EMM cause with a value of #6. This combination of Lin and Niemi teachings improves the switch between subscribes. With regarding Claim 5, Lin and Won disclose the wireless device of claim 1, Lin and Won may not explicitly disclose wherein the attach reject message is non-integrity protected. However, in analogous art, Niemi disclose wherein the attach reject message is non-integrity protected (See ¶[0005], [0051], [0049]-[0050], [0080]-[0083]. Disclosed handling of non-integrity protected reject message in wireless communications, there may be situations where a UE a non-integrity-protected reject message from a 5GS over one access while it’s registered with the 5GS over another access.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Niemi to modify Lin and Won teaching. Lin teaching Dual-SIM device to include transitioning to a limited service camped state and disabling the second radio upon receiving a rejection message, and Niemi teaches that non-integrity protected reject messages are a recognized scenario in cellular communications standards and describes specific UE behaviors for handling such messages. This combination ensure the wherein the attach reject message is non-integrity protected. With regarding Claim 22, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 22 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 2, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 25, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 25 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 5, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 29, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 29 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 2, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 32, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 32 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 5, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
Claims 3, 7, 23, 27, 30 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin and Won et al. as applied to claim 1/21/28 above , and further in view of Lee et al (US 20120142308 A1).
With regarding Claim 3 Lin and Won disclose the wireless device of claim 1, Lin and Won may not explicitly disclose wherein the limited service camped state provides emergency services for the wireless device. However, in analogous art, Lee disclose wherein the limited service camped state provides emergency services for the wireless device (See FIG. 2 and ¶[0008]-[0011], [0029]-[0032]. Disclosed a device that maintains emergency call capability even when normal services are unavailable. And the second sim card on camping capable of performing the communication service, the controller detects the attempt of the emergency call transmission.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee to modify Lin and Won teaching. Lin teaching Dual-SIM device to include transitioning to a limited service camped state and disabling the second radio upon receiving a rejection message, and Lee teaches the process for automatically switching to a different SIM card capable of performing a communication service and transmitting the emergency call. This combination solves automatically switching to different switching to a different SIM card capable of performing a communication service and transmitting the emergency call. With regarding Claim 7, Lin and Won disclose the wireless device of claim 6, Lin and Won may not explicitly disclose wherein the first SIM provides emergency services and normal services based at least in part on being in the registered idle state. However, in analogous art, Lee disclose wherein the first SIM provides emergency services and normal services based at least in part on being in the registered idle state (See ¶[0008]-[0011], [0027]. Disclosed techniques for ensuring emergency call capability in multi-SIM devices, and when an emergency call is generated in a state where the SIM card, which has been selected by the user and activated, cannot perform the communication service.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee to modify Lin teaching. Lin teaching Dual-SIM device to include transitioning to a limited service camped state and disabling the second radio upon receiving a rejection message, and Lee teaches the emergency services capability. This combination would yield the result of a more robust multi-SIM device that can provide both normal communication service and emergency services through the first SIM when it is in a registered idle state. With regarding Claim 23, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 23 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 3, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 27, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 27 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 7, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 30, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 30 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 3, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 34, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 34 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 7 , and is rejected under the same reasoning.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIVAKRISHNA VALLAMDASU/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468