DETAILED ACTION
This non-final action on the merits is in response to the application for patent received by the office 16 August 2023. Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 2 be found allowable, claim 3 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0063096 to Pitz et al. (‘096 hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, ‘096 teaches a three-dimensional-object printing apparatus comprising: a head unit including a head configured to eject liquid toward a workpiece and a drive substrate configured to generate a drive signal for driving the head (Fig 2 items 5 and 19); and a robot including a distal-end arm supporting the head unit and a distal-end joint located at the distal-end arm and enabling the head unit to rotate around a distal-end rotation axis, the robot being configured to change a position and an orientation of the head relative to the workpiece, wherein the distal-end rotation axis is located between the head and the drive substrate as viewed in an ejection direction in which the head ejects liquid (Fig 2 items 1, 19 and 13).
Regarding claim 2, ‘096 teaches the three-dimensional-object printing apparatus wherein the distal-end rotation axis is located between the head and the drive substrate as viewed in a direction parallel to the distal-end rotation axis (Fig 2 items 5, 4c and 19).
Regarding claim 3, ‘096 teaches the three-dimensional-object printing apparatus wherein the distal-end rotation axis is located between the head and the drive substrate in the ejection direction as viewed in a direction parallel to the distal-end rotation axis (Fig 2 items 5, 4c and 19).
Regarding claim 4, ‘096 teaches the three-dimensional-object printing apparatus wherein the ejection direction is parallel to a vertical axis when the distal-end rotation axis is located between the head and the drive substrate in the ejection direction as viewed in the direction parallel to the distal-end rotation axis (Fig 2 items 5, 4c and 19).
Regarding claim 5, ‘096 teaches the three-dimensional-object printing apparatus wherein the head includes a plurality of nozzles configured to eject liquid, a plurality of pressure chambers associated with the plurality of nozzles and communicating with the nozzles, and a plurality of drive elements associated with the plurality of pressure chambers and configured to change pressure in the pressure chambers, and the drive signal is a pulse signal supplied to the plurality of drive elements (paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 6, ‘096 teaches the three-dimensional-object printing apparatus wherein the head includes a plurality of nozzles configured to eject liquid, and a direction in which the plurality of nozzles is arranged intersects the distal-end rotation axis (Fig 2 items 5, 4c and 17).
Regarding claim 7, ‘096 teaches the three-dimensional-object printing apparatus wherein during a print operation in which the head ejects liquid toward the workpiece while the robot is changing the position of the head relative to the workpiece, the distal-end joint rotates around the distal-end rotation axis (paragraphs 0011 and 0034).
Regarding claim 13, ‘096 teaches the three-dimensional-object printing apparatus wherein a distance between the distal-end rotation axis and a center of gravity of the head is shorter than a distance between the distal-end rotation axis and a center of gravity of the drive substrate as viewed in a direction parallel to the distal-end rotation axis, when mass of the head is larger than mass of the substrate (Fig 2 items 5, 4c and 19 – examiner’s note: since the prior art head (5) is directly attached to the distal end effector and the substrate (19) is not, the claimed positional limitation is met by the prior art in most normal operating circumstances. See examiner’s comment elsewhere regarding intended use and relative position of robot components.).
Regarding claim 14, ‘096 teaches a three-dimensional-object printing apparatus comprising: a head unit including a head configured to eject liquid toward a workpiece and a drive substrate configured to generate a drive signal for driving the head (Fig 2 items 5, 4c and 19); and a robot including a distal-end arm supporting the head unit and a distal-end joint located at the distal-end arm and enabling the head unit to rotate around a distal-end rotation axis (Fig 1 item 2), the robot being configured to change a position and an orientation of the head relative to the workpiece, wherein the distal-end rotation axis is located between a center of gravity of the head and a center of gravity of the drive substrate as viewed in an ejection direction in which the head ejects liquid (paragraph 0034 Fig 2 items 5, 4c, and 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘096 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0201029 to Dennis R Mathis (‘029 hereafter).
Regarding claim 8, ‘096 teaches the three-dimensional-object printing apparatus wherein the robot further includes a base portion, a first arm, a second arm, and a third arm, the base portion and the first arm are coupled to each other via a first joint configured to rotate around a first axis, the first arm and the second arm are coupled to each other via a second joint configured to rotate around a second axis parallel to the first axis, the second arm and the third arm are coupled to each other via a third joint configured to rotate around a third axis parallel to the second axis, the third arm and the distal-end arm are coupled to each other via the distal-end joint configured to rotate around the distal-end rotation axis, , and the first axis and the distal-end rotation axis intersect each other (Fig 1 item 2). ‘096 does not teach an extending arm as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor roboticized printing, ‘029 teaches a robot with an arm segment that is extendable (Fig 5 item 224) for the benefit of enlarging the work-envelope of the robot. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of ‘096 with those of ‘029 for the benefit of printing within an enlarged print-envelope.
Regarding claim 9, ‘096 teaches the three-dimensional-object printing apparatus wherein the three-dimensional-object printing apparatus performs a print operation in which the head ejects liquid toward the workpiece while the robot is changing the position of the head relative to the workpiece, in a state in which the head and the drive substrate are aligned in a direction parallel to the third axis (Fig 2 items A, 4c 19). Note: the alignments of various structural elements of the claimed apparatus are regarded as a recitation of intended use of the claimed invention. Since the cited prior art is generally movable multi-axis robot, it is presumed that the prior art apparatus may be arranged in the claimed manner.
Regarding claim 10, ‘096 in view of ‘029 teaches the three-dimensional-object printing apparatus wherein an extension ratio of the third joint is 50% or more during the print operation. Note: the alignments of various structural elements of the claimed apparatus are regarded as a recitation of intended use of the claimed invention. Since the cited prior art is generally movable multi-axis robot, it is presumed that the prior art apparatus may be arranged in the claimed manner.
Regarding claim 11, ‘096 teaches the three-dimensional-object printing apparatus wherein during a print operation in which the head ejects liquid toward the workpiece while the robot is changing the position of the head relative to the workpiece, the head is not located vertically above the drive substrate (paragraphs 0011 and 0034). Note: the alignments of various structural elements of the claimed apparatus are regarded as a recitation of intended use of the claimed invention. Since the cited prior art is generally movable multi-axis robot, it is presumed that the prior art apparatus may be arranged in the claimed manner.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘096 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0256985 to Yukata Shiojiri Kobayashi (‘985 hereafter).
Regarding claim 12, ‘096 does not teach a particular spatial arrangement of drive substrate, In the related art of printing, ‘895 teaches and integrated substrate and head with a vertical orientation (Fig 2 items 18 and 24) for the benefit of forming a compact, cartridgized ejector assembly. One possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing would have been possessed to combine the teaching of ‘096 with those of ‘985 for the benefit of adapting an easily changed or replaced cartridge onto a robotic printing assembly. In adopting this combination, the ordinary artisan would necessarily meet the limitation of the three-dimensional-object printing apparatus wherein a distance between the distal-end rotation axis and a center of gravity of the head is larger than a distance between the distal-end rotation axis and a center of gravity of the drive substrate as viewed in a direction parallel to the distal-end rotation axis, when mass of the head is shorter than mass of the substrate, since the vertical configuration of the ejector/substrate assembly would place the substrate closer to the proximal end of the end-effector than the ejector.
Conclusion
/JPR/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743