DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/5/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 newly recites “the conductive trace being disposed on the first surface… the conductive plate being disposed on the second surface in the first region.”. Note that applicant elected species I, which is the embodiment shown in Fig. 2. Fig. 2 clearly shows the conductive trace and the conductive plate are on the same surface. Thus, the newly added limitation is considered as new matter.
Claims 13 and 15 depends on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taguchi (US 9,867,274).
Regarding claim 1, Taguchi discloses a circuit board assembly (Fig. 2), comprising:
a conductive plate (15, Fig. 2; col. 2, lns. 51-64: “… wiring layer 15 of the circuit board 10 is made of conductive plate or foil that is thicker than each of the wiring layers 32… may bear a higher current than the circuit 33…”) configured to carry a current (col. 5, lns. 3-11: “…wiring 15 for high current is suitable…”); and
a circuit board (30, Fig. 2) comprising a substrate (no reference number, but can be one of the insulating/dielectric layer alternating with the wiring layers 32 in PCB 30 shown in Fig. 2) and a conductive trace (top 33, Fig. 2), wherein the circuit board comprises a first surface (top surface of 30 in Fig. 2) and a second surface (bottom surface of 30 in Fig. 2) that are disposed opposite to each other, the conductive trace being disposed on the first surface (33 on top surface of 30 as shown in Fig. 2), the conductive plate being fastened to the circuit board in a first region (region of 30 for 10) that comprises a portion of the second surface (10 on bottom surface of 30 as shown in Fig. 2), the conductive plate being disposed on the second surface in the first region (10 fastened to 30 by 41 and 43 as shown in Fig. 2); and a current-carrying capacity of the conductive plate is greater than that of the conductive trace (col. 2, lns. 51-64: “…wiring layer 15… may bear a higher current than the circuit 33…”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taguchi, and further in view of Dünsbier (US 10,488,441).
Regarding claim 13, Taguchi teaches the circuit board assembly according to claim 1. Taguchi does not teach wherein a thickness of the conductive plate is greater than or equal to 0.3 mm. However, Dünsbier teaches a thickness of a conductive plate (high current conductor 5, Fig. 4) is greater than or equal to 0.3 mm (col. 2, lns. The high current conductor… preferred …. a thickness of at least 0.5mm.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a thickness of the conductive plate is greater than or equal to 0.3 mm in Taguchi, as taught by Dünsbier, in order to provide high current capacity and prevent overheating.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taguchi, and further in view of Langner et al. (US 2019/0235588).
Regarding claim 15, Taguchi teaches the circuit board assembly according to claim 1. Taguchi does not explicitly teach an electronic device, comprising a housing and wherein the circuit board assembly is fastened in the housing. However, Langner teaches an electronic device (1, Fig. 1), comprising a housing (2, Fig. 1) and a circuit board assembly (4, Fig. 1), wherein the circuit board assembly is fastened in the housing (4 is fastened in 2 by screws 7 as shown in Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an electronic device, comprising a housing and wherein the circuit board assembly is fastened in the housing in Taguchi, as taught by Langner, in order to protect and secure the circuit board assembly inside a housing of an electronic device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 13 and 15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841