Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Notices to Applicant
This communication is a non-final rejection. Claims 1-2 and 4-21, as filed 01/22/2026, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority is generally acknowledged as shown on the filing receipt with the earliest priority date being 08/18/2022 .
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon and the rationale supporting the rejection would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities. The claim states “the performance the medical imaging procedure” which appears to be missing the word “of” after “performance”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2 and 4-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1
The claim(s) recite(s) subject matter within a statutory category as a process, machine, and/or article of manufacture which recite:
1. A computer-implemented method for providing a set of control commands for controlling a medical imaging system in a medical device, the computer-implemented method comprising:
providing a database storing at least one set of control commands for controlling medical imaging systems when performing medical imaging procedures;
acquiring, by a remote access device, a request from the medical device for the performance of a medical imaging procedure with the medical imaging system, wherein said request includes target procedure information describing the medical imaging procedure to be performed; and
querying, by the remote access device based on the target procedure information, whether the medical imaging procedure to be performed can be performed with any subset of control commands stored in the database;
providing, by the remote access device, the subset of control commands of the at least one set of control commands to the medical device in response to determining that the medical imagining procedure can be performed with the subset of commands; and
in response to determining that the medical imaging procedure cannot be performed with any subset of control commands of the at least one set of control commands stored in the database,
assigning a remote operator in the remote access device for remote control of the medical imaging procedure to be performed by the remote operator,
acquiring a set of remote control commands input to the remote access device by the remote operator for the performance of the medical imaging procedure to be performed, and
providing, by the remote access device, the set of remote control commands.
Claim 1 is presented as an exemplary claim but the same analysis applies to claims 13 and 14.
Step 2A Prong One
The broadest reasonable interpretation of these steps includes certain methods of organizing human activity because the italicized portions are analogous to a manual process where a supervisor technician monitors a junior technician performing an imaging exam, determines an appropriate protocol for a given imaging exam, instructs the junior technician on the steps to perform the exam where the senior technician determines this feasible, or performing the exam himself when he determines that it is not feasible for the junior to perform it (i.e., managing personnel). For example, but for the “by the remote access device” language, acquiring a request from the medical device for the performance of a medical imaging procedure with the medical imaging system in the context of this claim is analogous to steps a human would perform such as listening when a patient or provider requests an imaging exam. Additionally, determining whether an imaging procedure can be performed mentally is a mental process that a senior technician could perform mentally.
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which further narrows or defines the abstract idea embodied in the claims. For example, claims 5, 9, 11, and 17 add further abstract ideas consistent with the method of organizing human activity described with respect to claim 1 and further abstract ideas such as ascertaining a quality measure in claim 5 and determining an efficiency value in claim 9 which are mental processes because they can practicably be performed in the human mind by, for example, a supervisor imaging technician.
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception. For example, by a remote access device amounts to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, see applicant’s specification [0167], see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use such as generally stating the imaging device modality in claims 18 and 19, see MPEP 2106.05(h))
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. For example, claims 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 12, 15-16, and 20-21 recites additional limitations which amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Additionally, the additional limitations, other than the abstract idea per se amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields such as receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i), electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp., MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iii), and/or storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 10-15, 17-18, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferro (USP App. Pub. No. 2014/0003577) in view of Raman (USP App. Pub. No. 2021/0193331).
Claim interpretation – The broadest reasonable interpretation of “any subset of control commands of the at least one set of control commands” includes any selection of the stored control commands, up to and including a complete stored set. This interpretation is required by the claims’ own branching structure and by the purpose of the amended language described in the interview summary from 01/12/2026 which proposed clarifying that the claimed invention “determines that no protocol stored in the system can perform the exam” before a remote operator is assigned. The negative limitation, “cannot be performed with any subset of control commands” carries that meaning only if “any subset” includes a complete stored set. Were “subset” limited to a proper subset (i.e., excluding the whole set), a procedure performable with a complete stored protocol but not any partial selection thereof, would satisfy the negative limitation and trigger assignment of a remote operator even though a stored protocol fully performs the exam. This is contrary to the purpose of the amendment and the specification’s stated purpose of automating exams where possible and assigning a remote operator otherwise.
Regarding claim 1, Ferro discloses: A computer-implemented method for providing a set of control commands for controlling a medical imaging system in a medical device (“the invention provides a modularly deployable diagnostic imaging kiosk that allows patients in impoverished, remote, or underdeveloped locations to receive professionally supervised diagnostic imaging procedures,” [0025]), the computer-implemented method comprising:
--providing a database storing at least one set of control commands for controlling medical imaging systems when performing medical imaging procedures (“prepared scripts related to diagnostic imaging procedures,” [0072]; preset procedure section in [0077]);
--acquiring, by a remote access device, a request from the medical device for the performance of a medical imaging procedure with the medical imaging system, wherein said request includes target procedure information describing the medical imaging procedure to be performed (patient specifying which imaging procedure as part of scheduling process in [0051]; “The patient is then presented with instructions related to the diagnostic imaging procedure (step 520). For example, the instructions that are presented are based on one or more diagnostic imaging procedure instruction signals received from the remote technician's workstation,” [0054]; “the appointment book is shown which includes an orders-to-schedule table 1255 and an appointments confirmation table 1260,” [0075]; “The appointment book button 1230 is configured to allow the remote technician to review scheduled diagnostic procedures for one or more kiosks, the patient's information, and the like,” [0076]);
--providing, by the remote access device, a subset of control commands of the at least one set of control commands to the medical device [in response to determining that the medical imaging procedure can be performed with the set of control commands] (scripted instructions and manual remote configuration for a particular imaging exam in [0074]-[0078]).
--assigning a remote operator in the remote access device for remote control of the medical imaging procedure to be performed by the remote operator (when the remote technician's workspace is available, the workstation is placed in a queue of workstations to await a call from a kiosk.),
--acquiring a set of remote control commands input to the remote access device by the remote operator for the performance of the medical imaging procedure to be performed (manual control selection 1275 such as “X-ray tube voltage” in [0078]; 530/535 in FIG. 7; FIG. 16; “execute button 1105” in [0074]”), and
--providing, by the remote access device, the set of remote control commands input to the remote access device as the set of control commands to the medical device (manual control selection 1275 such as “X-ray tube voltage” in [0078]; 530/535 in FIG. 7; FIG. 16; “execute button 1105” in [0074]”.
Ferro does not expressly disclose but Raman teaches: wherein the providing of the set of control commands includes:
--querying, by the remote access device based on the target procedure information, whether the medical imaging procedure to be performed can be performed with a set of control commands stored in the database (receiving target procedure information as a modality worklist entry in [0015], determining the medical imaging procedure therefrom (FIG. 7 steps 710-715), and determining whether the procedure maps to a scan protocol stored in the “procedure-to-protocol mapping library”; at step 720, determining if previously scanned, and at step 750, each recommended protocol stored in the mapping database; suitability determination at FIG. 8 step 810);
--in response to determining that the medical imaging procedure can be performed with providing the stored at least one set of control commands as the set of control commands to the medical device (Yes in 720 leads to selecting protocols in 745, 760, and 765 in FIG. 7); and
--in response to determining that the medical imaging procedure cannot be performed any with subset of control commands the at least one set of control commands stored in the database, (No in 720 and 750 leads to a manual workflow; same with 810-No and 815/820 in FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the remote control imaging workflows in an imaging Kiosk as taught by Ferro to include the branching logic depending on whether the study can be performed automatically or not as taught by Raman because automating exams where possible while allowing for manual examination where needed would improve the efficiency of the system and imaging quality (Raman [0049]).
Regarding claim 2, Ferro discloses: wherein the database is arranged in the remote access device (“variety of prepared scripts related to diagnostic imaging procedures,” [0072]; preset procedure 1270; FIG. 16; server 85 in a datacenter in [0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Ferro further discloses: wherein the set of remote control commands induce, in the medical device, at least one of at least one visual-based instruction or at least one audio-based instruction for an operator for the performance the medical imaging procedure to be performed (“The instructions are presented by an avatar representing the remote technician and include combinations of audio, pictures, video, and the like. For example, instructions include the remote technician providing voice instructions, an image of the position where the patient should be standing, and a video or animation of the patient moving into the correct position,” [0054]); and
--the computer-implemented method further includes logging at least one operator action performed by the operator based on the set of remote control commands, on the medical imaging system, determining, by the remote access device, at least one further set of control commands based on the at least one operator action, and storing, by the remote access device, the at least one further set of control commands in the database (“The sounds, images, and videos that are displayed to the patient on the internal display 315A are controlled by the remote technician over the network. In some embodiments, the kiosk 65 includes footprints on the floor of the kiosk 65 to assist the patient in identifying the correct location to stand. The remote technician uses the first and second cameras to view the kiosk 65 and ensure that the patient is properly positioned. In some embodiments, the viewing directions of the first and second cameras are substantially orthogonal to one another to provide the remote technician with multiple vantage points from which to view the patient and ensure proper positioning,” [0054]).
Regarding claim 7, Ferro discloses: receiving a medical image data set as an outcome of the medical imaging procedure; and adapting the set of control commands provided to the medical device based on the medical image data set (the technician at the remote facility receives the images as shown in camera views #1 and #2 in FIG. 15 and then adapts the imaging unit based thereon as described in [0077]-[0078]; 535/536 in [0055]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 10, Ferro does not expressly disclose but Raman teaches: wherein the database is arranged in the medical device and stores sets of control commands specific to the medical device (“can protocols specific to imaging modalities at a given medical device (e.g., hospital),” [0052]; “In additional or alternative embodiments, the selection counts may be specific to a patient, a subset of similar patients, or a medical device, such that the intelligent automated protocoling system may generate customized protocol recommendations,” [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the medical device specific control commands of Raman within the remote imaging kiosk of Ferro because this would improve the efficiency of the system and imaging quality by making protocols more narrowly-tailored to the machine and facility (Raman [0049]).
Regarding claim 11, Ferro discloses: wherein the target procedure information includes one or more of: an element specifying a body part of a patient to be mapped with the medical imaging procedure; an element specifying a diagnostic context of the medical imaging procedure, an element specifying different individual procedure steps to be performed within the medical imaging procedure, an element specifying the medical imaging system to be used within the medical imaging procedure, or an element specifying a complexity level of at least one of the medical imaging procedure or individual procedure steps of the medical imaging procedure (patient indicating which diagnostic imagine procedure to conduct and schedule in [0051]).
Regarding claim 12, Ferro discloses: wherein the medical imaging system includes one or more of: a medical imaging device; a radiology information system; a picture archiving and communication system; a treatment scheduling system; a patient positioning system, or an injection device for substance administration to a patient (FIG. 5; “. The kiosk includes a first housing module and a second housing module. The first housing module is configured to house, among other things, a diagnostic imaging system (e.g., an X-ray system). The second housing module is configured to house electronics associated with the operation, control, and networking of the kiosk. The electronics include, for example, a primary controller, an X-ray controller, an X-ray generator, an internal display controller, an external display controller, a router, and a digital radiology (“DR”) module,” [0005]).
Claims 13 and 14 are substantially similar to claim 1 and are rejected with the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 15, Ferro discloses: wherein the database is arranged outside the medical device (wide area networks in [0028] and [0030]; “The kiosk is also configured to connect to one or more local, regional, national, or international health information networks or databases where patient data and test results are capable of being stored and accessed. For example, by connecting to the health information networks or databases, the kiosk is able to authenticate the identity of a patient, validate the patient's use of the kiosk, and control payments for the diagnostic imaging procedures. The kiosk's connections to the health information networks or databases also enable medical information to be displayed and medical records to be updated and transmitted using various forms of media,” [0025]).
Regarding claim 17, Ferro does not expressly disclose but Raman teaches: wherein the adapting comprises at least one of: adapting at least one set of control commands stored in the database; or adding a further set of control commands to the database based on the adapted set of control commands ( “It will be appreciated that other remote devices (not shown at FIG. 2) may have access to the master protocol library, such that the remote device may be configured to periodically update the master protocol library by adding, removing, substituting, or otherwise altering the scan protocols stored in the master protocol library,” [0045]; 735 in FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the adapted control commands of Raman within the remote imaging kiosk of Ferro because this would improve the efficiency of the system and imaging quality by allowing protocols to be gradually improved over time (Raman [0049]).
Regarding claim 18, Ferro discloses: wherein the medical imaging device is one of an X-ray device, a computed tomography device, a magnetic resonance imaging device, a positron emission tomography device, an ultrasound device or a radiotherapy device (“The first housing module is configured to house, among other things, a diagnostic imaging system (e.g., an X-ray system),” [0005]).
Regarding claim 21, Ferro does not expressly disclose but Raman teaches: wherein the providing the set of control commands to the medical device provides the set of control commands automatically without user interaction (“the intelligent automated protocoling system 234 may automatically recommend, select, and translate the scan protocols for initiating the scan session upon receiving an input including the medical data (e.g., a MWL entry, a local procedure ID, etc.),” [0042]).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Claims 6, 8, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferro (USP App. Pub. No. 2014/0003577) in view of Raman (USP App. Pub. No. 2021/0193331) and Viswanathan (USP App. Pub. No. 2006/0270927).
Regarding claim 6, Ferro discloses the set of control commands is provided as the set of remote control commands and not as a stored set of control commands (e.g., [0054]). Ferro does not expressly disclose but Viswanathan teaches: determining a complexity level of the medical imaging procedure to be performed based on the target procedure information; and in response to the complexity level being above a threshold value, providing the set of control commands as the set of remote control commands and not as a stored set of control commands (determining a “complexity score” for a given imaging procedure and doing the procedure manually or with remote navigation depending on the operator’s threshold score in [0034]; “A threshold is established for the facility of 85. Since the score is above the threshold, the system might recommend that the procedure be performed with the assistance of a remote navigation system,” [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the complexity scoring and associated workflow determinations of Viswanathan within the automated and manual imaging kiosk of Ferro and Raman because this would ensure that the imaging procedure can be done accurately and efficiently by automating when possible (Viswanathan [0059]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 8, Ferro discloses: wherein the medical imaging procedure to be performed includes a plurality of different procedure steps (steps in the imaging procedure described in [0077]-[0078]). Ferro does not expressly disclose but Viswanathan teaches:
and the computer-implemented method further includes determining a complexity level for each procedure step based on the target procedure information, and for each respective procedure step, ascertaining whether the complexity level exceeds a threshold value, and wherein for the respective procedure step, the set of control commands is provided only in response to the complexity level of the respective procedure step not exceeding the threshold value (determining a “complexity score” for a given imaging procedure and doing the procedure manually or with remote navigation depending on the operator’s threshold score in [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the complexity scoring and associated workflow determinations of Viswanathan within the automated and manual imaging kiosk of Ferro and Raman because this would ensure that the imaging procedure can be done accurately and efficiently by automating when possible (Viswanathan [0059]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 20, Ferro discloses: wherein the medical imaging procedure to be performed includes a plurality of different procedure steps (steps in the imaging procedure described in [0077]-[0078]).
Ferro does not expressly disclose but Viswanathan teaches: the computer-implemented method further includes determining a complexity level for each procedure step based on the target procedure information, and for each respective procedure step, ascertaining whether the complexity level exceeds a threshold value, and wherein for the respective procedure step, the set of control commands is provided only in response to the complexity level of the respective procedure step exceeding the threshold value (determining a “complexity score” for a given imaging procedure and doing the procedure manually or with remote navigation depending on the operator’s threshold score in [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the complexity scoring and associated workflow determinations of Viswanathan within the automated and manual imaging kiosk of Ferro and Raman because this would ensure that the imaging procedure can be done accurately and efficiently by automating when possible (Viswanathan [0059]-[0060]).
Additionally, it can be seen that each element is taught by either Ferro, Raman, or Viswanathan. Viswanathan’s complexity analysis does not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Ferro such as the kiosk with x-ray imaging components and imaging protocols with multiple steps. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Ferro, Raman, and Viswanathan since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Claims 5, 9, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferro (USP App. Pub. No. 2014/0003577) in view of Raman (USP App. Pub. No. 2021/0193331) and Buelow (USP App. Pub. No. 2021/0244376).
Regarding claim 5, Ferro further discloses re-capturing based on the quality of the captured image rather than a quality measure of the operator (i.e., [0055]). Buelow teaches: ascertaining a quality measure of the at least one operator action by the remote access device, wherein the determining and the storing of the at least one further set of control commands are based on the ascertaining (tracking protocol adherence of an operator in FIG. 4 and [0039]; protocol deviation in [0041]-[0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the operator quality scoring workflows of Buelow within the imaging kiosk of Ferro and Raman because this would make the imaging process more efficient and repeatable (Buelow [0042]).
Regarding claim 9, Ferro discloses: receiving an operator action in the medical device when performing an imaging procedure and receiving procedure information describing the imaging procedure (video feeds in kiosk in [0073]).
Ferro does not expressly disclose, but Buelow teaches: ascertaining a comparison control command dataset by querying the database based on the procedure information describing the imaging procedure (protocol adherence in [0041]-[0042]);
--determining an efficiency value of the operator action based on a comparison between the operator action and the comparison control command dataset by the remote access device; and providing the efficiency value (“FIG. 4 shows a graph for one aspect (e.g., field of view, inhalation, rotation, etc.) of adherence to the scan protocol. The information is aggregated over a large number of scans. Each bar represents exams performed by one specific operator. A height of a bar indicates the percentage of protocol-adherent cases performed by this operator,” [0039]; “In this example, information can be visually presented in the dashboard and/or otherwise conveyed to a user to instruct the trainee and/or provide feedback to the trainee. The information may indicate a suggestion to assist the trainee with performing a scan,” [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the operator quality scoring workflows of Buelow within the imaging kiosk of Ferro and Raman because this would make the imaging process more efficient and repeatable (Buelow [0042]).
Regarding claim 16, Ferro further discloses: wherein the determining and the storing of the at least one further set of control commands are performed only when a quality measure meets a quality criterion (tracking protocol adherence of an operator in FIG. 4 and [0039]; protocol deviation in [0041]-[0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the operator quality scoring workflows of Buelow within the imaging kiosk of Ferro and Raman because this would make the imaging process more efficient and repeatable (Buelow [0042]).
Claim 19 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferro (USP App. Pub. No. 2014/0003577) in view of Raman (USP App. Pub. No. 2021/0193331) and Haberland (USP App. Pub. No. 2017/0147782).
Regarding claim 19, Ferro does not expressly disclose but Haberland teaches: wherein the injection device is a contrast medium injector (“The imaging device may also have a contrast agent injection device, for example a contrast agent injector. A contrast agent injection device, for example a contrast agent injector, may—in accordance with a contrast agent injection protocol—for example, dispense a defined amount of contrast agent at a defined time, over a defined period, with a defined flow rate and/or a defined flow rate course,” [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the injector of Haberland within the imaging kiosk of Ferro and Raman because this would allow the kiosk to handle more types of imaging procedures.
Additionally, it can be seen that each element is taught by either Haberland, Raman, or Ferro. The injector device of Haberland does not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Ferro and Raman such as the kiosk with x-ray imaging components. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Haberland with the teachings of Ferro since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Response to arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/22/2026 have been fully considered and are discussed below.
Regarding the subject matter ineligibility rejections, Applicant argues that the claimed invention is not directed to a method of organizing human activity (Step 2A Prong One) because “expanding the ‘following rules or instructions’ example provided by the MPEP to include determining whether a procedure can be performed automatically by following ‘rules or instructions’, as proposed by the Examiner, would effectively reduce any claimed algorithm to a method of organizing human activity”. Remarks page 11. This is not persuasive. The rejection does not solely rely on the claims reciting certain methods of organizing human activity, but also mental processes such as a supervisor technician’s evaluation of whether available protocols cover a requested scan.
Applicant argues that the claimed invention integrates any abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A Prong Two) by improving the technology of remote medical imaging by relieving operator workload and enabling faster processing. Remarks pages 12-13. This is not persuasive. The Examiner first considers whether the specification describes a technical improvement in non-conclusory detail and then whether the claimed invention reflects that detail. Here, [0028] sets forth administrative benefits such as relieving operator workload, processing requests “more quickly,” and “a more efficient and resource-saving method). Unlike Desjardins where the claim reflected a specific change to how the machine-learning model operates, claim 1 recites the outcome of the result, i.e., route to stored commands if possible, else assign a person and relay commands, using generic computers with no particular technical mechanism that changes how the imaging system operates. Automating manual processes to make them faster or less burdensome is not a technical improvement.
Applicant separately argues that claim 7’s “receiving a medical image data set” and “adapting the set of control commands…based on the medical image data set” confer a technological improvement and go beyond generic computer components. This is not persuasive. Receiving an image data set is insignificant extra-solution data gathering and adapting the set of control commands based on the image is further evaluation and judgment recited at the level of the result with no claimed mechanism for how the adaptation is technically achieved. The specification’s statement that retroactive adaptation “enables the quality of the sets of control commands to be systematically improved” in [0059] describes a general quality that results from using the claimed business logic rather than a specific technical improvement reflected in the claims.
Regarding the prior art rejections, Applicant generally asserts that the claims are not obvious in view of the prior art. These conclusory statements are not persuasive for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
Prior art cited but not relied upon herein includes Raman ‘271 (US20180140271A1) which describes a “partial match” workflow in, e.g., [0008].
/JOSHUA B BLANCHETTE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624