DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-20 in the reply filed on 9 February 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 21 and 27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (method), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9 February 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 32 recites the limitation “masking portions comprises indicia identifying a location on the structure of the corresponding opening to which the respective pliable masking portion is sized and shaped to fit.” The limitation is indefinite as vague, because it is not clear what would NOT be considered indicia, which identifies in some way a location on a structure of a corresponding opening (intended use, NOT structural feature of the claimed tool set). Any structural feature of the masking tool set could be considered “indicia,” which in some way identifies a location on a structure of a corresponding opening to which the respective pliable masking portion is sized and shaped to fit; for example, the presence and size of threads of a certain size could be considered “indicia” that identifies a location on a structure which also complementary threads, or a washer of a given size can be considered “indicia” that identifies a location on a structure of a corresponding opening (e.g. a hole), which the washer is large enough to fit around without going through. Examiner considers any feature of the claimed apparatus or collection of apparatuses or products (i.e. “kit”) to be an “indicia” which identifies a function for its form, including “identifying a location on the structure of the corresponding opening to which the respective pliable masking portion is sized and shaped to fit.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10,12-13,15-18, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zavodnick et al. (US 2016/0356297).
Regarding Claim 1, Zavodnick et al. (US’297) teach a masking tool for masking an opening in a structure (i.e. a structure capable of masking an opening for painting or coating around the opening), wherein the opening borders a recess in the structure, the masking tool comprising: a body portion (e.g. bolt body 112) [0054,0056]; a masking portion supported by the body portion, the masking portion comprising an engagement surface (e.g. bolt head 114; lip 650; anchor nut 120,120B; faucet fixture 624), sized to fit a periphery of the opening (Figs. 4-6,8A-8C,10E,11A;[0055]); and a retention member (e.g. combination of 124A,124B, 136) extending from the body portion, the retention member being positioned to engage a surface of the recess to retain at least a portion of the body portion within the recess and to maintain the engagement surface of the masking portion against the periphery of the opening (Figs. 1,4,5,8A-8C; [0055,0061-0062]). US’297 teaches that the engagement surface of the masking portion (e.g. means, including anchor nut 120B) is made from (i.e. “comprises”) a pliable material (rubberized) [0071]. US’297 teaches a handle 330 on the body portion on an opposite side of the body portion from the retention member (Fig. 3c; [0059]). Also, the faucet fixture 624 attached to engagement surface 650 is on the body portion on an opposite side of the body portion from the retention member and can function as a handle to deploy and remove the masking tool (Figs. 6, 10B-F; [0036,0076,0078,0092]). The limitations “masking tool for masking an opening in a structure” and “wherein the opening borders a recess in the structure” are intended use recitations, not given patentable weight for the claimed apparatus, which is capable of the functions of the recited intended use.
Regarding Claim 2, US’297 teaches that the retention member is constructed to deform from a non-retaining initial configuration to a compliant retaining configuration while engaging the surface of the recess and resiliently returning towards the initial non- retaining configuration after the body portion is in an attached position (Figs. 4-5,8A-8B).
Regarding Claim 4, as shown in the rejection of Claim 1 above, US’297 teaches that the engagement surface of the masking portion (e.g. means, including anchor nut 120B) is made from (i.e. “comprises”) a rubberized (i.e. elastomeric) material [0071].
Regarding Claim 5, the pliable engagement surface of the masking portion (rubberized anchor nut 120B) is resiliently deformable against the periphery of the opening from a non-masking shape to a masking shape while the body portion is inserted into the recess in the structure.
Regarding Claim 6, the limitation “the handle is configured for manual engagement or gripping to deploy the masking tool into the opening and to remove the masking tool from the opening” recites an intended use of the claimed apparatus, not given significant patentable weight for the claimed apparatus, and the apparatus of US’297 is capable of the intended use. The limitation “opening” not a feature of the claimed apparatus.
Regarding Claim 7, in US’297, the masking is removable (capable of being removed) from within the recess by applying a force to the handle in a direction away from the structure and enabling reuse of the masking tool. Claim 7 recites an intended use, not given significant patentable weight, of the claimed apparatus, and the apparatus of US’297 is capable of the intended use.
Regarding Claim 8, US’297 teaches that the masking portion (e.g. anchor nut 120) comprises a surface defining an opening for at least partially receiving the body portion (bolt body 112) therein.
Regarding Claim 9, US’297 teaches that the masking tool further comprises opposing stop walls (e.g. threads) on the body portion to retain the masking portion (Fig. 1; [0054-0055]).
Regarding Claim 10, in US’297, indicia (e.g. “signs, indications, or distinguishing marks”) of a location on the structure of an opening and recess to be masked include, for example, any or all of the components of the combination of structures attached together, including a bolt, threads, anchor nut, and retention wings, which would indicate positioning the structure through a opening and recess and the apparatus is capable of the function of the recite intended use, not given patentable weight for the claimed apparatus.
Regarding Claim 12, US’297 teaches that the body portion (bolt body 112) comprises a segment from which the retention member extends to position and secure the body portion within the recess in the structure (Figs. 5,8B).
Regarding Claim 13, US’297 teaches a masking tool for masking an opening in a structure (i.e. a structure capable of masking an opening for painting or coating around the opening), wherein the opening borders a recess in the structure, the masking tool comprising: a body portion, comprising a segment capable of being inserted into the recess in the structure to position and secure (i.e. capable of positioning and securing) the body portion within the recess in the structure; a masking portion supported by the body portion, the masking portion comprising an engagement surface sized to fit (i.e. “capable of fitting” or “whose size is capable of fitting”) a periphery of the opening; a retention member extending from the body portion, the retention member being positioned to engage a surface of the recess to retain at least a portion of the body portion within the recess and to maintain the engagement surface of the masking portion against the periphery of the opening; and the retention member constructed to resiliently deform from a non-retaining initial configuration to a compliant retaining configuration while engaging the surface of the recess and resiliently returning towards the initial configuration after the body portion is in an attached position (see rejections of Claims 1 and 2 above for citations and mapping of claim terms to structures in US’297). US’297 teaches that the engagement surface of the masking portion (e.g. means, including anchor nut 120B) is made from (i.e. “comprises”) a pliable material (rubberized) [0071]. US’297 teaches that the masking tool further comprises opposing stop walls (e.g. threads) on the body portion to retain the masking portion (Fig. 1; [0054-0055]). US’297 teaches that the masking portion (e.g. anchor nut 120) comprises a surface defining an opening for at least partially receiving the body portion (bolt body 112) therein.
Regarding Claim 15, as shown in the rejection of Claim 1 above, US’297 teaches that the engagement surface of the masking portion (e.g. means, including anchor nut 120B) is made from (i.e. “comprises”) a rubberized (i.e. elastomeric) material [0071].
Regarding Claim 16, the pliable engagement surface of the masking portion (rubberized anchor nut 120B) is resiliently deformable against the periphery of the opening from a non-masking shape to a masking shape while the body portion is inserted into the recess in the structure.
Regarding Claim 17, in US’297, the faucet fixture 624 is on the body portion on an opposite side of the body portion from the retention member and can function as a handle, capable of being used to deploy and remove the masking tool (Figs. 6, 10B-F; [0036,0076,0078,0092]).
Regarding Claim 18, in US’297, the body portion is removable (capable of being removed) from within the recess by applying a force to the handle in a direction away from the structure and enabling re-use of the masking tool.
Regarding Claim 33, the limitation “the surface or component of the recess comprises stop plates positioned within the recess” is an intended use, not given patentable weight for the claimed masking tool, of which the claimed limitation is not a structural feature. The masking tool of US’297 is capable of the intended use.
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-10,12-13,16-18, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thomson (US 6,745,805).
Regarding Claim 1, Thomson (US’805) teach an article (binder clip) capable of being used as a masking tool for masking an opening in a structure, wherein the opening borders a recess in the structure, the masking tool comprising: a body portion (combination of first and second arms 30, 40, or portion 82) (Fig. 1; col. 3, lines 47-66); a masking portion supported by the body portion (clip portion 20), the masking portion comprising a pliable engagement surface (compare, for example, Figs. 27 and 13, which show that the wide portion of clip 20 must flex for retention member to deform), sized to fit a periphery of the opening (wide end of clip portion 20; see, for example, bottom of Fig. 4 below reference number 22) (col. 3, lines 51-53); and a retention member (37 and/ or 38,48) extending from the body portion (Figs. 1-4; col. 3, lines 56-61; col. 4, lines 11-13), the retention member being capable of being positioned to engage a surface of the recess to retain at least a portion of the body portion within the recess and to maintain the engagement surface of the masking portion against the periphery of the opening; and a handle on the body portion on an opposite side of the body portion from the retention member (e.g. first arm end 32 with recess 34 (Fig. 1, 3, 30; col. 3, lines 58-65).
Regarding Claim 2, US’805 teaches the retention member is constructed to deform (open for clipping) from a non-retaining initial configuration to a compliant retaining configuration while engaging the surface of the recess and resiliently returning towards the initial non- retaining configuration after the body portion is in an attached position (Fig. 27).
Regarding Claim 3, US’805 teaches wherein the retention member is formed in a design selected from a plurality of alternative design 64a or 64e(clipping protrusions) (Figs. 8A, 8E).
Regarding Claim 5, US’805 teaches that the engagement surface of the masking portion is resiliently deformable against the periphery of the opening from a non-masking shape to a masking shape while the body portion is inserted into the recess in the structure, since the wide portion of clip 20 must flex for retention member to deform (compare, for example, Figs. 27 and 13).
Regarding Claim 6, US’805 teaches a handle (circular arm ends 32,42 with first and second inserts 50, 60) on the body portion on an opposite side of the body portion from the retention member, the handle capable of manual engagement or gripping to deploy the masking tool into an opening and to remove the masking tool from the opening (not a feature of the claimed apparatus, but an intended use, not given patentable weight) (Figs. 1, 17, 30; col. 3, lines 61-65).
Regarding Claim 7, US’805 teaches that the body portion is removable from within the recess by applying a force to the handle in a direction away from the structure and enabling reuse of the masking tool (col. 5, lines 13-21).
Regarding Claim 8, the masking portion comprises a surface defining an opening for at least partially receiving the body portion therein (projections 37 fit in retention members 38, which include a surface of the masking portion defining an opening for projections 37).
Regarding Claim 9, US’805 teaches opposing stop walls (e.g. arms 30,40 with bowed portions 82,92) on the body portion to retain the masking portion (Figs. 10,13) (col. 3, line 65 to col. 4, line 4).
Regarding Claim 10, US’805 teaches indicia (leather, including any of cowhide, sharkskin, lambskin and different colors, to which significance can be imparted) on at least one of the body portion and the masking portion of a location on the structure of an opening and recess to be masked (col. 5, lines 31-41).
Regarding Claim 12, US’805 teaches that the body portion comprises a segment 37 from which the retention member (e.g. at 38) extends to be capable of positioning and securing the body portion within the recess in the structure.
Regarding Claim 13, US’805 teaches a masking tool (binder clip) for masking an opening in a structure, wherein the opening borders a recess in the structure (i.e. a structure capable of masking an opening for painting or coating around the opening), the masking tool comprising: a body portion to position and secure the body portion within the recess in the structure (see Claim 1 above for citations); a pliable masking portion supported by the body portion, the pliable masking portion comprising an engagement surface sized to fit a periphery of the opening (id.) and a surface defining an opening for at least partially receiving the body portion therein (projections 37 fit in retention members 38, which include a surface of the masking portion defining an opening for projections 36,37) (Figs. 1-2; col. 3, lines 56-58; col. 4, lines 11-19); a retention member extending from the body portion, the retention member being positioned to engage a surface of the recess to retain at least a portion of the body portion within the recess and to maintain the engagement surface of the masking portion against the periphery of the opening (id.); and the retention member constructed to resiliently deform from a non-retaining initial configuration to a compliant retaining configuration while engaging the surface of the recess and resiliently returning towards the initial configuration after the body portion is in an attached position (See rejection of Claim 2 above for citations).
Regarding Claim 16, US’805 teaches that the engagement surface of the masking portion is resiliently deformable against the periphery of the opening from a non-masking shape to a masking shape while the body portion is inserted into the recess in the structure, since the wide portion of clip 20 must flex for retention member to deform (compare, for example, Figs. 27 and 13).
Regarding Claim 17, US’805 teaches a handle (circular arm ends 32,42 with first and second inserts 50, 60) on the body portion on an opposite side of the body portion from the retention member, the handle for engagement to deploy and remove the masking tool (Figs. 1, 17, 30; col. 3, lines 61-65).
Regarding Claim 18, US’805 teaches that the body portion is removable from within the recess by applying a force to the handle in a direction away from the structure and enabling reuse of the masking tool (col. 5, lines 13-21).
Regarding Claim 33, the limitation “the surface or component of the recess comprises stop plates positioned within the recess” is an intended use, not given patentable weight for the claimed masking tool, of which the claimed limitation is not a structural feature. The masking tool of US’805 is capable of the intended use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zavodnick et al. (US 2016/0356297).
Regarding Claim 31, US’297 teaches a masking tool set for masking openings in a structure, the masking tool set comprising: a body portion comprising a retention member configured to engage a surface or component of a recess bordering an opening in the structure to retain at least a portion of the body portion within the recess; and a pliable masking portion, comprising an engagement surface sized and shaped to fit a periphery of a corresponding opening in the structure and a surface defining an opening configured to at least partially receive the body portion, wherein the body portion is configured to be coupled to a pliable masking portion. See rejection of Claim 1 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as anticipated by US’297 above for citations. US’297 fails to teach a plurality of pliable masking portions. However, a plurality of pliable masking portions, each pliable masking portion of the plurality of pliable masking portions comprising an engagement surface sized and shaped to fit a periphery of a corresponding opening in the structure and a surface defining an opening configured to at least partially receive the body portion, wherein the body portion is configured to be coupled to different pliable masking portions of the plurality of pliable masking portions, represents a prima facie obvious duplication of parts. MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. For example, the claim is met whether by duplicating a masking tool, which would provide multiple bodies and multiple pliable masking portions (e.g. means, including anchor nut 120B), which are capable of being used with another of a plurality of bodies or by duplicating a pliable masking portion. Duplicating a component would also have been an obvious modification for providing replacement parts.
Regarding Claim 32, in US’297, indicia (e.g. “signs, indications, or distinguishing marks”) of a location on the structure of an opening and recess to be masked include, for example, any or all of the components of the combination of structures attached together, including a bolt, threads, anchor nut, and retention wings, which would indicate positioning the structure through a opening and recess and the apparatus is capable of the function of the recite intended use, not given patentable weight for the claimed apparatus. The phrase “identifying a location on the structure of the corresponding opening to which the respective pliable masking portion is sized and shaped to fit” is an intended use, not given patentable weight for the claimed kit; the masking tool is anticipated (Claim 1), and the claimed masking tool set (Claim 31) is obvious and capable of the intended use (see rejection of Claim 31 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument concerning the rejection of Claims 1 and 13 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as anticipated by US’297 that US’297 does not disclose each and every limitation (Remarks, p. 8), US’297 discloses every claimed structural limitation of the claimed apparatus. The prior art need not disclose a recited intended use. Applicant has not provided particularized arguments as to which claimed feature(s) he considers not taught in US’297.
In response to Applicant’s argument concerning the rejection of Claims 1 and 13 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as anticipated by US’805, Claims 1 and 13 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as anticipated by US’297 that US’805 does not disclose each and every limitation (Remarks, p. 8), US’805 discloses every claimed structural limitation of the claimed apparatus. The prior art need not disclose a recited intended use. Applicant has not provided particularized arguments as to which claimed features he considers not taught in US’805.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 34, the prior art of record fails to teach a retention member, which includes a plurality of resilient clips in addition to every other limitation.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cotten (US 2009/0107383) (A seacock (capable of being used as for masking an opening in a structure), wherein the opening borders a recess in the structure, the masking tool comprising: a body portion; a masking portion supported by the body portion, the masking portion comprising an pliable engagement surface sized to fit a periphery of the opening; and a retention member extending from the body portion, the retention member being positioned to engage a surface or component of the recess to retain at least a portion of the body portion within the recess and to maintain the pliable engagement surface of the masking portion against the periphery of the opening; and a handle on the body portion on an opposite side of the body portion from the retention member)
Ball (CA 2931863) (includes a masking tool set (drain plug) for masking openings (i.e. capable of masking openings) in a structure, the masking tool set comprising: a body portion comprising a retention member configured to engage a surface or component of a recess bordering an opening in the structure to retain at least a portion of the body portion within the recess; and a pliable masking portion, the pliable masking portion comprising an engagement surface sized and shaped to fit a periphery of a corresponding opening in the structure and a surface defining an opening configured to at least partially receive the body portion)
Ali (US 11,391,027) (drain strainer, capable of being used as a mask, including a body portion comprising a body portion comprising a retention member configured to engage a surface or component of a recess bordering an opening in the structure to retain at least a portion of the body portion within the recess; and a pliable masking portion, the pliable masking portion comprising an engagement surface sized and shaped to fit a periphery of a corresponding opening in the structure and a surface defining an opening configured to at least partially receive the body portion, and clips to retain the apparatus in a hole)
Sudhoff et al. (US 5,747,904) a masking tool (drain plug, capable of masking) an opening in a structure, wherein the opening borders a recess in the structure, the masking tool comprising: a body portion to position and secure the body portion within the recess in the structure comprising a segment configured to be inserted into the recess in the structure; a masking portion supported by the body portion, the pliable masking portion comprising an engagement surface sized to fit a periphery of the opening and a surface defining an opening for at least partially receiving the body portion; a retention member (clips) extending from the segment of the body portion, the retention member being positioned to engage a surface or component of the recess to retain at least a portion of the body portion within the recess and to maintain the engagement surface of the pliable masking portion against the periphery of the opening; and the retention member constructed to resiliently deform from a non-retaining initial configuration to a compliant retaining configuration while engaging the surface or component of the recess and resiliently returning towards the initial configuration after the body portion is in an attached position)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXANDER M WEDDLE
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/ALEXANDER M WEDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712