DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/12/2024 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and a copy with initials is attached herewith.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 8/16/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-6 and 17-20) in the reply filed on 6/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search and examination of all of the claims could be made without serious burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because: The inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper. Therefore, claims 1-6 and 17-20 are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kamath et al (US 20240128498 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kamath discloses a lithium ion cell comprising a lithium metal anode that includes a current collector and a lithium metal layer; a cathode having a lithium intercalation material such as lithium cobalt oxide; and a solid-state electrolyte (SSE) having a lithiophilic layer on a surface of the SSE, wherein the lithiophilic layer includes a metal oxide [Abstract; paragraph 0007-0008, 0010, , 0012, 0014-0015, 0027, 0029-0033, 0035-0037, 0041-0042, 0044-0047, 0058].
Regarding claim 2, Kamath teaches that the lithium ion cell is a (anode-free (hostless) cell wherein lithium metal is plated on the current collector during charge of the lithium ion cell to define a plated lithium layer between the current collector and the lithiophilic layer [paragraph 0027, 0029-0030].
Regarding claim 3, Kamath teaches that the lithiophilic layer has a thickness of between 5 Å to 1 μm (0.5 nanometers to 1000 nanometers) [Abstract; paragraph 0014, 0035].
Regarding claim 4, Kamath teaches that the metal oxide may comprise an oxide of one or more metals including Ti, Ni, Zn, Sn, Si and/or Al, such as titanium dioxide, nickel oxide, zinc oxide, tin oxide, silica, or alumina [paragraph 0014].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamath et al (US 20240128498 A1) as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Kamath teaches providing a lithiophilic layer on a surface of the solid-state electrolyte (SSE) [paragraph 0005,-0007, 0010]. Although, it is not explicit that the SSE is lithiophobic, however, to prevent the surface of the SSE from lithophobic properties, Kamath teaches lithiophilic layer on the surface of the solid-state electrolyte (SSE) and would have been obvious.
12. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamath et al (US 20240128498 A1) as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Badding et al (US 20240097196 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kamath remains silent that the SSE is a garnet-type SSE that includes a composition comprising lithium, lanthanum, oxygen, and one of zirconium, niobium, or tantalum. However, Badding teaches that solid-state batteries (SSBs) (e.g., SS lithium (Li) metal batteries based on inorganic solid-state electrolytes (SSEs) (such as garnet-type SSE)) have attracted much attention due to their high safety, improved energy density, high ionic conductivity, and stability against Li metal. Badding further teaches that the solid-state electrolyte comprises lithium, lanthanum, zirconium, and oxygen [paragraph 0026, 0053]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
13. Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al (US 20240030453 A1) in view of Kamath et al (US 20240128498 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Zeng discloses a vehicle comprising an anode-free lithium ion battery pack and a propulsion system configured to receive electric power from the lithium ion battery [Abstract; paragraph 0027-0030, 0046]. Zeng remains silent about the details of the lithium ion battery as claimed. However, Kamath discloses a lithium ion cell comprising a lithium metal anode that includes a current collector and a lithium metal layer; a cathode having a lithium intercalation material such as lithium cobalt oxide; and a solid-state electrolyte (SSE) having a lithiophilic layer on a surface of the SSE, wherein the lithiophilic layer includes a metal oxide and wherein lithium metal is plated on the current collector during charge of the lithium ion cell to define a plated lithium layer between the current collector and the lithiophilic layer [Abstract; paragraph 0005-0008, 0010, , 0012, 0014-0015, 0027, 0029-0033, 0035-0037, 0041-0042, 0044-0047, 0058]. Although, it is not explicit that the SSE is lithiophobic, however, to prevent the surface of the SSE from lithophobic properties, Kamath teaches lithiophilic layer on the surface of the solid-state electrolyte (SSE) and would have been obvious.
Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 18, Kamath teaches that the lithiophilic layer has a thickness of between 5 Å to 1 μm (0.5 nanometers to 1000 nanometers) [Abstract; paragraph 0014, 0035].
Regarding claim 19, Kamath teaches that the metal oxide may comprise an oxide of one or more metals including Ti, Ni, Zn, Sn, Si and/or Al, such as titanium dioxide, nickel oxide, zinc oxide, tin oxide, silica, or alumina [paragraph 0014].
14. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al (US 20240030453 A1) in view of Kamath et al (US 20240128498 A1) as applied in claim 17 and further in view of Badding et al (US 20240097196 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Zeng/Kamath remains silent that the SSE is a garnet-type SSE that includes a composition comprising lithium, lanthanum, oxygen, and one of zirconium, niobium, or tantalum. However, Badding teaches that solid-state batteries (SSBs) (e.g., SS lithium (Li) metal batteries based on inorganic solid-state electrolytes (SSEs) (such as garnet-type SSE)) have attracted much attention due to their high safety, improved energy density, high ionic conductivity, and stability against Li metal. Badding further teaches that the solid-state electrolyte comprises lithium, lanthanum, zirconium, and oxygen [paragraph 0026, 0053]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
/MUHAMMAD S SIDDIQUEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723