Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-18 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “a selected one of the plurality of commissure attachment features” in line 2. It is unclear if this is the same “a selected one of the plurality of commissure attachment features” as recited in claim 1 lines 6-7 or a separate and distinct selected one of the plurality of commissure attachment features. Dependent claim 6 is likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alkhatib (WO 2021/080653 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Alkhatib teaches a prosthetic heart valve system (figs 1A-1C), comprising:
a stent (102, stent, fig. 2) having a plurality of commissure attachment features (116, commissure attachment feature, fig. 2);
a cuff coupled to the stent (4506, cuff, fig. 28A);
a plurality of leaflets (4508, leaflet, fig. 28), the cuff and the plurality of leaflets forming a valve assembly; and
a plurality of patches (4545 at 4535, the partial layer at the leaflet tab, fig. 28), each of the plurality of patches being disposed about a selected one of the plurality of commissure attachment features and coupled thereto (¶ [0107] explains the leaflets are attached at commissure attachment features and fig. 28A shows the patch is disposed where the leaflet is coupled to the stent at the commissure attachment feature), the plurality of leaflets being coupled to the plurality of patches (fig. 28A, sutured through grommets 4590, ¶ [0176]).
Regarding claim 2, Alkhatib further teaches the plurality of patches and the cuff are unitary (¶ [0112-0114]).
Regarding claim 3, Alkhatib further teaches the plurality of leaflets are coupled directly to the plurality of patches (fig. 28A).
Regarding claim 4, Alkhatib further teaches the plurality of leaflets are indirectly coupled to the commissure attachment features via the plurality of patches (fig. 28A).
Regarding claim 7, Alkhatib further teaches each of the plurality of commissure attachment features includes eyelets (fig. 2, ¶ [0107]) and the plurality of patches are coupled to the commissure attachment features at the eyelets (¶ [0107]).
Regarding claim 8, Alkhatib further teaches each of the plurality of patches is coupled to the selected one of the plurality of commissure attachment features via a suture pattern formed by a single suture strand (¶ [0125]).
Regarding claim 9, Alkhatib further teaches the single suture strand further couples each of the plurality of patches to two of the plurality of leaflets (¶ [0125]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alkhatib in view of Lane (US 4,501,030 A).
Regarding claim 5, Alkhatib fails to teach the patches wrap around a commissure attachment feature. However, Lane teaches a heart valve that includes each of the plurality of patches (63, fig. 17) is wrapped around a selected one of the plurality of commissure attachment features (fig. 17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the patches of Alkhatib to include wrapping around a commissure attachment feature as taught by Lane in order to fully protect the leaflets from the commissure attachment feature and since it is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 6, Alkhatib further teaches each of the plurality of patches forms a continuous inner layer on an inner diameter surface of the selected one of the plurality of commissure attachment features (figs. 28-28A).
Conclusion
/T.M.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/YASHITA SHARMA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774