CTNF 18/450,633 CTNF 93163 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 5/19/2026 has been entered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 4, 7-12, 14, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mancini et al (US 20110088401) in view of Boardman et al (US 20170350598 as referenced in OA dated 8/21/2024) and Shershnyov et al (US 20220003167 as referenced in OA dated 8/21/2024) . PNG media_image1.png 407 799 media_image1.png Greyscale Annotated Figure 4 of Boardman PNG media_image2.png 534 502 media_image2.png Greyscale Annotated Figure 3 of Mancini Regarding claim 1, Mancini discloses a mixing assembly (Figure 3) for a combustor (Figure 2; 26) , comprising: a pilot mixer (Figure 3; 102) including an annular pilot housing (Figure 3; 108) having a hollow interior (The annular pilot housing has a hollow interior) extending along a mixer centerline (Figure 3; 120) , a pilot fuel nozzle (Figure 3; 110) mounted in the pilot housing, an inner pilot swirler (Figure 3; 112) surrounding the pilot fuel nozzle, an annular pilot splitter (Figure 3; 116) surrounding the inner pilot swirler, and an outer pilot swirler (Figure 3; 114) surrounding the annular pilot splitter and extending between the pilot splitter and the annular pilot housing, the pilot splitter extending downstream of the pilot fuel nozzle and forming a venturi (Figure 3; 118) at a downstream end (The downstream end of the pilot splitter) of the pilot splitter; and a main mixer (Figure 3; 104) including: an annular shroud (Annotated Figure 3; labeled annular shroud) arranged radially outward of the pilot housing and surrounding the pilot housing; a main housing (Annotated Figure 3; labeled main housing) surrounding the annular shroud, the main housing having a forward end and an aft end (The left and right ends of Figure 3; 124) ; a fuel manifold (Figure 3; 106) positioned between the annular shroud and the main housing; a main swirler body (Figure 3; 124) including a plurality of vanes (Paragraph 0028) , the main swirler body surrounding the main housing such that an annular mixing channel (The annular mixing channel between the main housing and main swirler body) is defined between the main housing and the main swirler body, and being coupled to the mixer foot. Mancini does not disclose a mixer foot comprising a plurality of main fuel vanes arranged in a circumferential array about the mixer centerline and extending radially outward from the forward end of the main housing, wherein each of the plurality of main fuel vanes includes a fuel feed channel in fluid communication with the fuel manifold; the main swirler body being coupled to the mixer foot; and an annular main fuel ring extending axially aft from an aft face of each of the plurality of main fuel vanes into the annular mixing channel, wherein a radially outer end of the mixer foot extends farther radially from the main housing than the main fuel ring, wherein the main fuel ring includes a plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels each having a fuel injection port arranged through an aft-facing surface of the main fuel ring, each of the plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels being in fluid communication with a respective one of the fuel feed channels of the main fuel vanes to discharge fuel into a central portion of the annular mixing channel. However, Boardman teachesw a mixing assembly (Figure 3) for a combustor (Figure 2; 50) , comprising: a pilot mixer (The pilot mixer formed by the component listed hereafter. Paragraph 0047) including an annular pilot housing (Annotated Figure 4; labeled pilot housing) having a hollow interior (The interior of the pilot housing. Paragraph 0047) extending along a mixer centerline (Figure 4; 101) , and a pilot fuel nozzle (The nozzle formed between Figure 4; 121 and 120) mounted in the pilot housing; and a main mixer (The main mixer formed by the component listed hereafter) including: a main housing (Annotated Figure 4; labeled main housing) surrounding the pilot mixer, the main housing having a forward end (The left third of the main housing) and an aft end (The right third of the main housing) ; a mixer foot (Annotated Figure 4; labeled foot) comprising a plurality of main fuel vanes (Figure 3; 114 are vanes) arranged in a circumferential array (The circumferential array of Figure 3; 114) about the mixer centerline and extending radially outward from the forward end of the main housing; a main swirler body (Figure 4; 104 and the portion of 102 that is not part of the mixer foot or fuel ring) including a plurality of vanes (Figure 3; 105) , the main swirler body surrounding the main housing such that an annular mixing channel (Figure 4; 116) is defined between the main housing and the main swirler body, and being coupled to the mixer foot; and an annular main fuel ring (Annotated Figure 4; labeled ring) extending axially aft from an aft face (The aft face of Figure 4; 14) of each of the plurality of main fuel vanes into the annular mixing channel, wherein a radially outer end (The radially outer end of the mixer foot) of the mixer foot extends farther radially from the main housing than the main fuel ring, wherein the main fuel ring includes a plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels (Figure 4; 110) each having a fuel injection port (The outlet of Figure 4; 110) arranged through an aft-facing surface (The aft facing surface of the fuel ring) of the main fuel ring, each of the plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels to discharge fuel into a central portion (Annotated Figure 4; central portion) of the annular mixing channel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mancini to include a mixer foot comprising a plurality of main fuel vanes arranged in a circumferential array about the mixer centerline and extending radially outward from the forward end of the main housing; the main swirler body being coupled to the mixer foot; and an annular main fuel ring extending axially aft from an aft face of each of the plurality of main fuel vanes into the annular mixing channel, wherein a radially outer end of the mixer foot extends farther radially from the main housing than the main fuel ring, wherein the main fuel ring includes a plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels each having a fuel injection port arranged through an aft-facing surface of the main fuel ring, each of the plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels to discharge fuel into a central portion of the annular mixing channel as taught by and suggested by Boardman in order to promote mixing of fuel and air (Paragraph 0037, The modification uses the fuel manifold of Mancini to feed a similar fuel injector having a lobed mixing of Boardman). Mancini in view of Boardman does not teach wherein each of the plurality of main fuel vanes includes a fuel feed channel in fluid communication with the fuel manifold; each of the plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels being in fluid communication with a respective one of the fuel feed channels of the main fuel vanes. However, Shershnyov teaches a mixing assembly (Figure 3) for a combustor (Figure 1; 1200) , comprising: a main mixer (The main mixer formed by the component listed hereafter) including: a main housing (Figure 4; 1612) , the main housing having a forward end and an aft end (The forward and aft ends of the main housing) ; a fuel manifold (Figure 4; 1651) positioned between a pilot housing (Figure 4; 1411) and the main housing; a mixer foot (Figure 4; 1622) comprising a plurality of main fuel vanes (Figure 4; 1622 is a vane as shown in Figure 10. Paragraph 0098) arranged in a circumferential array (The circumferential array of Figure 4; 1622) about a mixer centerline (The centerline of Figure 3; 1600) and wherein each of the plurality of main fuel vanes includes a fuel feed channel (Figure 4; 1672) in fluid communication with the fuel manifold; an annular main fuel ring (Figure 4; 1613), wherein the main fuel ring includes a plurality of fuel injection ports (Figure 8; 1630 on 1613); wherein the main fuel ring includes a plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels (Figure 4; 1653 and Figure 8; 1630 on 1613. A fuel ring fuel feed channel is Figure 4; 1653 and an instance of Figure 8; 1630 on 1613. Each instance of Figure 8 ;1630 on 1613 form a different fuel ring feed channel) each having a fuel injection port (Figure 8; 1630 on 1613), each of the plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels being in fluid communication with a respective one of the fuel feed channels of the main fuel vanes (The vane having the fuel feed channel that supplies fuel to the fuel injection port). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mancini in view of Boardman wherein each of the plurality of main fuel vanes includes a fuel feed channel in fluid communication with the fuel manifold; each of the plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels being in fluid communication with a respective one of the fuel feed channels of the main fuel vanes as taught by and suggested by Shershnyov in order to feed fuel ports that efficiently mix the fuel and air, and easily mix fuel from the struts (Paragraph 0113, The modification has the fuel manifold of Mancini feeding fuel ports in the main fuel ring and struts. Swirl guides and fuel ports are added to the foot of Boardman). Regarding claim 2, Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov teaches the invention as claimed. Mancini does not disclose wherein the main fuel ring is positioned in the central portion of the annular mixing channel. However, Boardman teaches wherein the main fuel ring is positioned in the central portion of the annular mixing channel (The main fuel ring is in the central portion) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mancini wherein the main fuel ring is positioned in the central portion of the annular mixing channel as taught by and suggested by Boardman in order to promote mixing of fuel and air (Paragraph 0037, This is the same modification as claim 1). Regarding claim 4, Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov teaches the invention as claimed. Mancini in view of Boardman does not teach wherein at least one of the plurality of main fuel vanes includes a plurality of mixer foot fuel injection ports in fluid communication with the respective one of the fuel feed channels of the main fuel vanes. However, Shershnyov teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of main fuel vanes includes a plurality of mixer foot fuel injection ports (Figure 8; 1640 on 1622) in fluid communication with the respective one of the fuel feed channels of the main fuel vanes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mancini in view of Boardman wherein at least one of the plurality of main fuel vanes includes a plurality of mixer foot fuel injection ports in fluid communication with the respective one of the fuel feed channels of the main fuel vanes as taught by and suggested by Shershnyov in order to feed fuel ports that efficiently mix the fuel and air, and easily mix fuel from the struts (Paragraph 0113, This is the same modification as claim 1). Regarding claim 7, Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov teaches the invention as claimed. Mancini does not disclose wherein the main fuel vanes are oriented to produce a swirl to a flow of air passing through the main fuel vanes. However, Boardman teaches wherein the main fuel vanes are oriented to produce a swirl to a flow of air passing through the main fuel vanes (Functional Language, 114 swirls a flow of air passing through 114) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mancini wherein the main fuel vanes are oriented to produce a swirl to a flow of air passing through the main fuel vanes as taught by and suggested by Boardman in order to promote mixing of fuel and air (Paragraph 0037, This is the same modification as claim 1). Regarding claim 8, Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov teaches the invention as claimed. Mancini does not disclose wherein an aft portion of the main fuel ring includes a plurality of corrugations. However, Boardman teaches wherein an aft portion (The aft portion of the main fuel ring) of the main fuel ring includes a plurality of corrugations (The plurality of corrugations at the aft portion shown in Figure 3) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mancini wherein an aft portion of the main fuel ring includes a plurality of corrugations as taught by and suggested by Boardman in order to promote mixing of fuel and air (Paragraph 0037, This is the same modification as claim 1). Regarding claim 9, Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov teaches the invention as claimed. Mancini further discloses wherein the main swirler body includes a radial-inflow swirler (Figure 4; 144). However, Mancini does not disclose wherein the radial-inflow swirler positioned radially outboard of the main fuel ring. However, Boardman teaches wherein the main swirler body includes a radial-inflow swirler (Figure 3; 104) positioned radially outboard of the main fuel ring. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mancini wherein the radial-inflow swirler positioned radially outboard of the main fuel ring as taught by and suggested by Boardman in order to promote mixing of fuel and air (Paragraph 0037, This is the same modification as claim 1). Regarding claim 10, Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov teaches the invention as claimed. Mancini does not disclose wherein the main fuel vanes are oriented to produce a swirl to a flow of air passing through the main fuel vanes. However, Boardman teaches wherein the main fuel vanes are oriented to produce a swirl to a flow of air passing through the main fuel vanes (Functional Language, 114 swirls a flow of air passing through 114) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mancini wherein the main fuel vanes are oriented to produce a swirl to a flow of air passing through the main fuel vanes as taught by and suggested by Boardman in order to promote mixing of fuel and air (Paragraph 0037, This is the same modification as claim 1). Regarding claim 11, Mancini discloses a combustor (Figure 2; 26) for a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 10) , comprising: an annular inner liner (Figure 2; 78) having an inner liner upstream end and an inner liner downstream end (The left and right end of Figure 2; 78) ; an annular outer liner (Figure 2; 76) spaced apart from the annular inner liner and having an outer liner upstream end and an outer liner downstream end (The left and right end of Figure 2; 76) ; and a mixing assembly (Figure 3; 100) disposed at the inner liner upstream end and the outer liner upstream end, the mixing assembly comprising: a pilot mixer (Figure 3; 102) including an annular pilot housing (Figure 3; 108) having a hollow interior (The annular pilot housing has a hollow interior) extending along a mixer centerline (Figure 3; 120) , a pilot fuel nozzle (Figure 3; 110) mounted in the pilot housing, an inner pilot swirler (Figure 3; 112) surrounding the pilot fuel nozzle, an annular splitter (Figure 3; 116) surrounding the inner pilot swirler, and an outer pilot swirler (Figure 3; 114) surrounding the annular splitter and extending between the pilot splitter and the annular pilot housing, the pilot splitter extending downstream of the pilot fuel nozzle and forming a venturi (Figure 3; 118) at a downstream end (The downstream end of the pilot splitter) of the pilot splitter; and a main mixer (Figure 3; 104) including: an annular shroud (Annotated Figure 3; labeled annular shroud) arranged radially outward of the pilot housing and surrounding the pilot housing; a main housing (Annotated Figure 3; labeled main housing) surrounding the annular shroud, the main housing having a forward end and an aft end (The left and right ends of Figure 3; 124) ; a fuel manifold (Figure 3; 106) positioned between the annular shroud and the main housing; a main swirler body (Figure 3; 124) including a plurality of vanes (Paragraph 0028) , the main swirler body surrounding the main housing such that an annular mixing channel (The annular mixing channel between the main housing and main swirler body) is defined between the main housing and the main swirler body, and being coupled to the mixer foot. Mancini does not disclose a mixer foot comprising a plurality of main fuel vanes arranged in a circumferential array about the mixer centerline and extending radially outward from the forward end of the main housing, wherein each of the plurality of main fuel vanes includes a fuel feed channel in fluid communication with the fuel manifold; the main swirler body being coupled to the mixer foot; and an annular main fuel ring extending axially aft from an aft face of each of the plurality of main fuel vanes into the annular mixing channel, wherein a radially outer end of the mixer foot extends farther radially from the main housing than the main fuel ring, wherein the main fuel ring includes a plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels each having a fuel injection port arranged through an aft-facing surface of the main fuel ring, each of the plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels being in fluid communication with a respective one of the fuel feed channels of the main fuel vanes to discharge fuel into a central portion of the annular mixing channel. However, Boardman teaches a combustor (Figure 2; 50) for a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 10) , comprising: an annular inner liner (Figure 2; 52 and 58) having an inner liner upstream end (Figure 2; 58) and an inner liner downstream end (The downstream end of Figure 2; 52) ; an annular outer liner (Figure 2; 54 and 60) spaced apart from the annular inner liner and having an outer liner upstream end (Figure 2; 60) and an outer liner downstream end (The downstream end of Figure 2; 54) ; and a mixing assembly (Figure 3 and Figure 8; 88. Paragraph 0051) disposed at the inner liner upstream end and the outer liner upstream end, the mixing assembly comprising: a pilot mixer (The pilot mixer formed by the component listed hereafter. Paragraph 0047) including an annular pilot housing (Annotated Figure 4; labeled pilot housing) having a hollow interior (The interior of the pilot housing. Paragraph 0047) extending along a mixer centerline (Figure 4; 101) , and a pilot fuel nozzle (The nozzle formed between Figure 4; 121 and 120) mounted in the pilot housing; and a main mixer (The main mixer formed by the component listed hereafter) including: a main housing (Annotated Figure 4; labeled main housing) surrounding the pilot mixer, the main housing having a forward end (The left third of the main housing) and an aft end (The right third of the main housing) ; a mixer foot (Annotated Figure 4; labeled foot) comprising a plurality of main fuel vanes (Figure 3; 114 are vanes) arranged in a circumferential array (The circumferential array of Figure 3; 114) about the mixer centerline and extending radially outward from the forward end of the main housing; a main swirler body (Figure 4; 104 and the portion of 102 that is not part of the mixer foot or fuel ring) including a plurality of vanes (Figure 3; 105) , the main swirler body surrounding the main housing such that an annular mixing channel (Figure 4; 116) is defined between the main housing and the main swirler body, and being coupled to the mixer foot; and an annular main fuel ring (Annotated Figure 4; labeled ring) extending axially aft from an aft face (The aft face of Figure 4; 14) of each of the plurality of main fuel vanes into the annular mixing channel, wherein a radially outer end (The radially outer end of the mixer foot) of the mixer foot extends farther radially from the main housing than the main fuel ring, wherein the main fuel ring includes a plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels (Figure 4; 110) each having a fuel injection port (The outlet of Figure 4; 110) arranged through an aft-facing surface (The aft facing surface of the fuel ring) of the main fuel ring, each of the plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels to discharge fuel into a central portion (Annotated Figure 4; central portion) of the annular mixing channel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mancini to include a mixer foot comprising a plurality of main fuel vanes arranged in a circumferential array about the mixer centerline and extending radially outward from the forward end of the main housing; the main swirler body being coupled to the mixer foot; and an annular main fuel ring extending axially aft from an aft face of each of the plurality of main fuel vanes into the annular mixing channel, wherein a radially outer end of the mixer foot extends farther radially from the main housing than the main fuel ring, wherein the main fuel ring includes a plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels each having a fuel injection port arranged through an aft-facing surface of the main fuel ring, each of the plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels to discharge fuel into a central portion of the annular mixing channel as taught by and suggested by Boardman in order to promote mixing of fuel and air (Paragraph 0037, The modification uses the fuel manifold of Mancini to feed a similar fuel injector having a lobed mixing of Boardman). Mancini in view of Boardman does not teach wherein each of the plurality of main fuel vanes includes a fuel feed channel in fluid communication with the fuel manifold; each of the plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels being in fluid communication with a respective one of the fuel feed channels of the main fuel vanes. However, Shershnyov teaches a mixing assembly (Figure 3) for a combustor (Figure 1; 1200) , comprising: a main mixer (The main mixer formed by the component listed hereafter) including: a main housing (Figure 4; 1612) , the main housing having a forward end and an aft end (The forward and aft ends of the main housing) ; a fuel manifold (Figure 4; 1651) positioned between a pilot housing (Figure 4; 1411) and the main housing; a mixer foot (Figure 4; 1622) comprising a plurality of main fuel vanes (Figure 4; 1622 is a vane as shown in Figure 10. Paragraph 0098) arranged in a circumferential array (The circumferential array of Figure 4; 1622) about a mixer centerline (The centerline of Figure 3; 1600) and wherein each of the plurality of main fuel vanes includes a fuel feed channel (Figure 4; 1672) in fluid communication with the fuel manifold; an annular main fuel ring (Figure 4; 1613), wherein the main fuel ring includes a plurality of fuel injection ports (Figure 8; 1630 on 1613); wherein the main fuel ring includes a plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels (Figure 4; 1653 and Figure 8; 1630 on 1613. A fuel ring fuel feed channel is Figure 4; 1653 and an instance of Figure 8; 1630 on 1613. Each instance of Figure 8 ;1630 on 1613 form a different fuel ring feed channel) each having a fuel injection port (Figure 8; 1630 on 1613), each of the plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels being in fluid communication with a respective one of the fuel feed channels of the main fuel vanes (The vane having the fuel feed channel that supplies fuel to the fuel injection port). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mancini in view of Boardman wherein each of the plurality of main fuel vanes includes a fuel feed channel in fluid communication with the fuel manifold; each of the plurality of fuel ring fuel feed channels being in fluid communication with a respective one of the fuel feed channels of the main fuel vanes as taught by and suggested by Shershnyov in order to feed fuel ports that efficiently mix the fuel and air, and easily mix fuel from the struts (Paragraph 0113, The modification has the fuel manifold of Mancini feeding fuel ports in the main fuel ring and struts. Swirl guides and fuel ports are added to the foot of Boardman). Regarding claim 12, Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov teaches the invention as claimed. Mancini does not disclose wherein the main fuel ring is positioned in the central portion of the annular mixing channel. However, Boardman teaches wherein the main fuel ring is positioned in the central portion of the annular mixing channel (The main fuel ring is in the central portion) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mancini wherein the main fuel ring is positioned in the central portion of the annular mixing channel as taught by and suggested by Boardman in order to promote mixing of fuel and air (Paragraph 0037, This is the same modification as claim 11). Regarding claim 14, Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov teaches the invention as claimed. Mancini in view of Boardman does not teach wherein at least one of the plurality of main fuel vanes includes a plurality of mixer foot fuel injection ports in fluid communication with the respective one of the fuel feed channels of the main fuel vanes. However, Shershnyov teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of main fuel vanes includes a plurality of mixer foot fuel injection ports (Figure 8; 1640 on 1622) in fluid communication with the respective one of the fuel feed channels of the main fuel vanes Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mancini in view of Boardman wherein at least one of the plurality of main fuel vanes includes a plurality of mixer foot fuel injection ports in fluid communication with the respective one of the fuel feed channels of the main fuel vanes as taught by and suggested by Shershnyov in order to feed fuel ports that efficiently mix the fuel and air, and easily mix fuel from the struts (Paragraph 0113, This is the same modification as claim 11). Regarding claim 17, Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov teaches the invention as claimed. Mancini does not disclose wherein the main fuel vanes are oriented to produce a swirl to a flow of air passing through the main fuel vanes. However, Boardman teaches wherein the main fuel vanes are oriented to produce a swirl to a flow of air passing through the main fuel vanes (Functional Language, 114 swirls a flow of air passing through 114) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mancini wherein the main fuel vanes are oriented to produce a swirl to a flow of air passing through the main fuel vanes as taught by and suggested by Boardman in order to promote mixing of fuel and air (Paragraph 0037, This is the same modification as claim 11). Regarding claim 18, Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov teaches the invention as claimed. Mancini does not disclose wherein an aft portion of the main fuel ring includes a plurality of corrugations. However, Boardman teaches wherein an aft portion (The aft portion of the main fuel ring) of the main fuel ring includes a plurality of corrugations (The plurality of corrugations at the aft portion shown in Figure 3) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mancini wherein an aft portion of the main fuel ring includes a plurality of corrugations as taught by and suggested by Boardman in order to promote mixing of fuel and air (Paragraph 0037, This is the same modification as claim 11). Regarding claim 19, Boardman in view of Shershnyov teaches the invention as claimed. Mancini further discloses wherein the main swirler body includes a radial-inflow swirler (Figure 4; 144). However, Mancini does not disclose wherein the radial-inflow swirler positioned radially outboard of the main fuel ring. However, Boardman teaches wherein the main swirler body includes a radial-inflow swirler (Figure 3; 104) positioned radially outboard of the main fuel ring. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mancini wherein the radial-inflow swirler positioned radially outboard of the main fuel ring as taught by and suggested by Boardman in order to promote mixing of fuel and air (Paragraph 0037, This is the same modification as claim 1). Regarding claim 20, Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov teaches the invention as claimed. Mancini does not disclose wherein the main fuel vanes are oriented to produce a swirl to a flow of air passing through the main fuel vanes. However, Boardman teaches wherein the main fuel vanes are oriented to produce a swirl to a flow of air passing through the main fuel vanes (Functional Language, 114 swirls a flow of air passing through 114) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mancini wherein the main fuel vanes are oriented to produce a swirl to a flow of air passing through the main fuel vanes as taught by and suggested by Boardman in order to promote mixing of fuel and air (Paragraph 0037, This is the same modification as claim 11) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 5, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov as applied to claim 4, 14 above, and further in view of Carrotte et al (US 20170089582 as referenced in OA dated 8/21/2024) Regarding claim 5, Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov teaches the invention as claimed. Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov does not teach wherein the plurality of mixer foot fuel injection ports are oriented to discharge the fuel at a radially inboard surface of the main fuel ring. However, Carrotte teaches wherein a plurality of mixer foot fuel injection ports (Figure 3; 72, but located in 69. Paragraph 0050, 0051, 0060) are oriented to discharge a fuel (The fuel from Figure 3; 72, but located in 69. Paragraph 0050, 0051, 0060) at a radially inboard surface (Figure 3; 65) of a main ring (Figure 3; 66) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov wherein the plurality of mixer foot fuel injection ports are oriented to discharge the fuel at a radially inboard surface of the main ring (In the context of Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov, the main ring of Carrotte is the main fuel ring) as taught by and suggested by Carrotte in order to improve fuel injector performance by using parasitic vane frictional losses (Paragraph 0076, The modification uses the fuel injection ports of Carrotte in the combined invention of Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov). Regarding claim 15, Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov teaches the invention as claimed. Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov does not teach wherein the plurality of mixer foot fuel injection ports are oriented to discharge the fuel at a radially inboard surface of the main fuel ring. However, Carrotte teaches wherein a plurality of mixer foot fuel injection ports (Figure 3; 72, but located in 69. Paragraph 0050, 0051, 0060) are oriented to discharge a fuel (The fuel from Figure 3; 72, but located in 69. Paragraph 0050, 0051, 0060) at a radially inboard surface (Figure 3; 65) of a main ring (Figure 3; 66) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov wherein the plurality of mixer foot fuel injection ports are oriented to discharge the fuel at a radially inboard surface of the main ring (In the context of Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov, the main ring of Carrotte is the main fuel ring) as taught by and suggested by Carrotte in order to improve fuel injector performance by using parasitic vane frictional losses (Paragraph 0076, The modification uses the fuel injection ports of Carrotte in the combined invention of Mancini in view of Boardman and Shershnyov). Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to EDWIN G KANG whose telephone number is (571)272-9814. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:00-5:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Devon Kramer can be reached at (571) 272-7118. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /EDWIN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/450,633 Page 2 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/450,633 Page 3 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/450,633 Page 4 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/450,633 Page 5 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/450,633 Page 6 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/450,633 Page 7 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/450,633 Page 8 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/450,633 Page 9 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/450,633 Page 10 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/450,633 Page 11 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/450,633 Page 12 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/450,633 Page 13 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/450,633 Page 14 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/450,633 Page 15 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/450,633 Page 16 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/450,633 Page 17 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/450,633 Page 18 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/450,633 Page 19 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/450,633 Page 20 Art Unit: 3741