DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono et al (US 2011/0203830) in view of Bacino (US 2012/0064273).
Regarding claims 1-2, Kono teaches a copolymer which comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit ([0055]) and a perfluoro (propyl vinyl ether) unit ([0058]). The perfluoro (propyl vinyl ether) unit is present in the amount from 0 to 10 wt. % ([0062]). Kono teaches that the copolymer has a melt flow rate from 1 to 50 g/10 min ([0066]) and has fewer than 20 per 106 carbon atoms of thermally unstable terminal groups which are terminal groups other than -CF3 ([0079]).
However, Kono fails to teach that the melt flow rate is at a temperature of 273 C.
Bacino teaches that melt flow rate is usually tested at 372 C ([0088]) via a standard test method for melt flow rates ([0088]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the melt flow rate of Kono to have been tested at the temperature as taught by Bacino. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of using a temperature that is part of the standard protocol for measuring melt flow index (Bacino, [0088]).
Regarding claim 3, Kono teaches an injection molded article comprising the copolymer according to claim 1 ([0092]).
Regarding claim 4, Kono teaches a coated electric wire comprising a coating layer comprising the copolymer according to claim 1 ([0092]).
Regarding claim 5, Kono teaches a formed article comprising the copolymer according to claim 1 wherein the formed article is an electric wire coating ([0092]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/448,291 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the both recite a copolymer with the same tetrafluoroethylene unit and perfluoro (propyl vinyl ether) unit, overlapping amounts of the perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) units, melt flow rater and total number of terminal groups.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2 and 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/451,455 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the both recite a copolymer with the same tetrafluoroethylene unit and perfluoro (propyl vinyl ether) unit, overlapping amounts of the perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) units, melt flow rater and total number of terminal groups.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 of copending Application No. 18/452,806 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the both recite a copolymer with the same tetrafluoroethylene unit and perfluoro (propyl vinyl ether) unit, overlapping amounts of the perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) units, melt flow rater and total number of terminal groups.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of copending Application No. 18/453,690 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the both recite a copolymer with the same tetrafluoroethylene unit and perfluoro (propyl vinyl ether) unit, overlapping amounts of the perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) units, melt flow rater and total number of terminal groups.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 4-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 5-6 of copending Application No. 18/453,709 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the both recite a copolymer with the same tetrafluoroethylene unit and perfluoro (propyl vinyl ether) unit, overlapping amounts of the perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) units, melt flow rater and total number of terminal groups.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/892,985 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the both recite a copolymer with the same tetrafluoroethylene unit and perfluoro (propyl vinyl ether) unit, overlapping amounts of the perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) units, melt flow rater and total number of terminal groups.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764