DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed October 9th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-12 remain pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action on 7/9/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Yoon Hyung Do et al. (KR 20110126002 A – hereinafter Do) in view of Veltman (CN
111727549 A).
Regarding claim 1, Do teaches an electric shaver comprising: a main body having (Fig.
7, Main Body 10): a shaver head (Fig. 7, Head Portion 30); and a first pair of contacts (Fig. 7,
Connecting Portion 17) through which a first voltage is provided from said main body (Page 8,
para 1; voltage in the body portion); a cap (Fig. 1, Head Cap 40) that is installable on said main
body in a first orientation or a second orientation, and when installed on said main body covers
said shaver head, said cap having: a second pair of contacts (Fig. 7, Connection Part 43) that
engage said first pair of contacts when said cap is installed on said main body, to receive said
first voltage; and a circuit (Fig. 6) that includes: an ultraviolet (UV) light source (Fig. 6,
UVLEDs 44) that utilizes said second voltage (voltage in the cap portion, examiner interprets
that the second voltage is of the proper polarity for utilization by components in the circuit since they function as intended), the second voltage being provided to a line (Fig. 6, line extending from UVLEDs 44) prior to utilization (Fig. 6, the voltage must travel through the line before reaching UVLEDs 44 for utilization), and when ON, emits UV light that irradiates said shaver head (Page 2, last paragraph).
Do fails to teach a diode bridge receiving the first voltage and providing the second
Voltage, the diode bridge comprising a plurality of diodes between a line and an item utilizing the second voltage.
However, Veltman teaches a shaver which utilizes a diode bridge to switch from a first
voltage to a second voltage (Page 7, para 3), the diode bridge comprising a plurality of diodes (It is well known in the art that a diode bridge rectifier as described on Page 7, Para 3 utilizes 4 diodes to convert AC to DC). Veltman and Do do not disclose that the diode bridge is located between a line and a pair of contacts, however in order to function properly the diode bridge must simply be located between the power source and the output, and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the diode bridge to be between the line and the second pair of contacts as it has been held that the position of a feature may be in a different location as an obvious matter of design choice as long as it does not modify the operation of the device In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the shaver of Do to include the features of claim 1 above as taught by Veltman. It would be beneficial to include a diode bridge since the diode bridge converts AC to DC (Veltman; Page 7, para 3), and would allow the shaver to operate with an AC power source, such as being plugged into an outlet, instead of being dependent solely on batteries.
Regarding claim 2, Do further teaches the electric shaver of claim 1, wherein said circuit
also includes a timer (Fig. 6, Switching Portion 49; Page 4, para 4) that utilizes said second
voltage.
Regarding claim 3, Do further teaches the electric shaver of claim 2, wherein the timer
controls a duration of time that said UV light source is ON (Page 4, para 7).
Regarding claim 4, Do further teaches the electric shaver of claim 3, wherein the timer
is automatically activated (Page 4, para 4; activates automatically when the cap is put on), and
thus begins a UV cycle for the duration of time that said UV light source is ON, when the cap is
installed on the main body.
Regarding claim 5, Do further teaches the electric shaver of claim 3, wherein said UV
light source is OFF when the cap is removed from the main body based upon the second pair of contacts disengaging said first pair of contacts when said cap is removed from said main body
(Page 4, para 4; power is supplied through connection between 17 and 43. When the cap is off,
there is no connection, no power being supplied, and therefore the UV light sources is off when
the cap is removed).
Regarding claim 10, Do further teaches the electric shaver of claim 1 wherein said cap is
configured with (a) an inner shell (Fig. 2, Substrate 42), and (b) an outer shell (Fig. 7, outside of
Cap Body 41) that covers said inner shell, and wherein said circuit resides in a space between
said inner shell and said outer shell.
Regarding claim 11, Do further teaches the electric shaver of claim 10, wherein said
inner shell is made of non-conductive material (Page 4, second to last paragraph).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon
Hyung Do et al. (KR 20110126002 A – hereinafter Do) in view of Veltman (CN 111727549
A) and Deng-lin Yang et al. (CN 218900270 U – hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 6, Do teaches an electric shaver comprising: a main body having (Fig.
7, Main Body 10): a shaver head (Fig. 7, Head Portion 30); and a first pair of contacts (Fig. 7,
Connecting Portion 17) through which a first voltage is provided from said main body (Page 8,
para 1; voltage in the body portion); a cap (Fig. 1, Head Cap 40) that is installable on said main
body in a first orientation or a second orientation, and when installed on said main body covers
said shaver head, said cap having: a second pair of contacts (Fig. 7, Connection Part 43) that
engage said first pair of contacts when said cap is installed on said main body, to receive said
first voltage; and a circuit (Fig. 6) that includes: an ultraviolet (UV) light source (Fig. 6,
UVLEDs 44) that utilizes said second voltage (voltage in the cap portion, examiner interprets
that the second voltage is of the proper polarity for utilization by components in the circuit since they function as intended), the second voltage being provided to a line (Fig. 6, line extending from UVLEDs 44) prior to utilization (Fig. 6, the voltage must travel through the line before reaching UVLEDs 44 for utilization), and when ON, emits UV light that irradiates said shaver head (Page 2, last paragraph), wherein said cap has an outer shell (Fig. 6, Cap Body 41) with a top wall (Fig. 6, top horizontal rectangle of Cap Body 41) and a sidewall (Fig. 6, rectangular box wall extruding downwards from the top horizontal rectangle of Cap Body 41) that extends from the top wall wherein said second pair of contacts (Fig. 7, Connection Part 43) extend along a length (Fig. 7, contacts extend along a bottom length of the sidewall portion of Cap Body 41) of the sidewall.
Do fails to teach a diode bridge receiving the first voltage and providing the second
Voltage.
However, Veltman teaches a shaver which utilizes a diode bridge to switch from a first
voltage to a second voltage (Page 7, para 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the shaver of Do to include the features of claim 1 above as taught by Veltman. It would be beneficial to include a diode bridge since the diode bridge converts AC to DC (Veltman; Page 7, para 3), and would allow the shaver to operate with an AC power source, such as being plugged into an outlet, instead of being dependent solely on batteries.
The combination of Do and Veltman fails to wherein said first pair of contacts are spring-loaded contacts that exert a mechanical force toward said second pair of contacts when said cap is installed on said main body to apply an outward force against said second pair of contacts so that said first pair of contacts contact a length of said second pair of contacts when said cap is moved away from said shaver head.
However, Yang teaches a protective box for a toothbrush which has a pair of first
contacts (Fig. 7, First Contact 121; Page 5, last paragraph) which are spring-loaded that exert a
mechanical force towards a second pair of contacts (Fig. 7, Second Contact 122) when a cap
(Fig. 7, Upper Cover 20) of the box is on the main body (Fig. 7, Main Body Shell 10) to apply an outward force against said second pair of contacts so that said first pair of contacts contact a length of said second pair of contacts when said cap is moved away from said shaver head (the spring loaded components would apply a force against one another when the cap is fully closed on the body of the case, and when the cap is opened away from the case, the first and second contacts would remain in contact for some period of time as the springs extend during the lifting of the cap).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the shaver of the combination of Do and Veltman to include the
elements of claim 6 above as taught by Yang. Doing so would have required only the simple
substitution of the existing connection system with the pogo pin type connection system taught
by Yang, and the substitution would lead to the predictable result of electrically connecting the
main body to the cap once the cap is shut and secured on the main body. This pogo pin type
connection is well known in the art of electronics.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Do, Veltman, and Yang already teaches the
electric shaver of claim 6, wherein said spring-loaded contacts are self-wiping (pogo pins are
inherently self-wiping as debris on the plunger would be wiped off as it passes through the barrel
when compressed in use).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon
Hyung Do et al. (KR 20110126002 A – hereinafter Do) in view of Veltman (CN 111727549
A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ping-xiang Ying et al. (CN 104366951
A – hereinafter Ying).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Do and Veltman fails to teach the electric shaver
of claim 1, wherein said cap also includes an indicator light that is controlled by said circuit.
However, Ying teaches an indicator (Fig. 2, Sterilizer Indicator Lamp 13) light for an
electric shaver.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the shaver of the combination of Do and Veltman to include the
elements of claim 8 above as taught by Ying. Doing so is beneficial as it alerts the user to if the
UV sterilizer lights are on (Ying, [0013]).
Regarding claim 9, the existing combination of Do, Veltman, and Ying fails to teach the
electric shaver of claim 8, wherein the indicator light emits visible light when said UV light
source is ON.
However, Ying teaches that the light emits visible light when the UV light source is ON
([0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the shaver of the existing combination of Do, Veltman, and Ying
to include the elements of claim 9 above as taught by Ying. Doing so is beneficial as it helps to
prevent a user from accidentally using the shaver while it is being disinfected (Ying, [0013]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon Hyung
Do et al. (KR 20110126002 A – hereinafter Do) in view of Veltman (CN 111727549 A) as
applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Zhao Li et al. (CN 216180726 U –
hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Do and Veltman fails to teach the electric
shaver of claim 10, wherein said outer shell is made of a metallic material.
However, Li teaches an electric shaver where an outer shell of a cap is made of a metallic
material (Fig. 2, Shaver Cover Plate 130; page 5 para 2- can be composed of stainless steel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date to modify the shaver of the combination of Do and Veltman to
include the elements of claim 12 above as taught by Li. Stainless steel is a beneficial material to
use for the cap due to its property of corrosion resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/9/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant asserts that Veltman cannot be used to modify Do since Veltman does not teach that the diode bridge provides the second voltage to a line prior to utilization by other components of the circuit, and that the diode bridge is located between the second pair of contacts and said line, and that the diode bridge comprises a plurality of diodes. However, examiner defines a line in the rejection as being the line between the diode bridge and an output such as the UV lights of Do. To function as intended, the diode bridge would be set between a power source and an output such at the UV lights, and therefore the second voltage would inherently be provided to the line prior to reaching the output, such as the UV lights of Do. Additionally, by definition a diode bridge must be comprised of a plurality of diodes. Further, while Veltman does not teach that the diode bridge is specifically located between the second pair of contacts and said line, however it has been held that the position of a feature may be in a different location as an obvious matter of design choice as long as it does not modify the operation of the device In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 6, applicant contends that Yang does not teach the claimed invention as it is described in [0018] of the specification. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a wiping action as specifically detailed in the specification) are not recited in the rejected claim 6. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, Yang does adequately teach the pair of first contacts being spring-loaded to exert a mechanical force towards a second pair of contacts when a cap is on the main body to apply an outward force against the second pair of contacts so that the first pair of contacts contact a length of the second pair of contacts when a cap is moved away from the shaver head, as detailed in the rejection of claim 6. Examiner looks towards Do to teach that the second pair of contacts extends along a length of the sidewall of the cap, and does not rely on Yang for this limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELLA L KEENA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724