DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 11, 13-15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurabayashi (US 2018/0169522 A1) in view of Apex Legends (as shown by NPL document “Holospray”, dated August 18th, 2020 as shown NPL document “Season 6”, hereinafter referred to as Apex).
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 19, Kurabayashi discloses an expression display method in a virtual scene, the method comprising:
displaying a virtual scene with a controlled virtual object displayed in the virtual scene (see fig. 5 and par. [0116], In the example in part (A) of FIG. 5, one player is operating the player terminal 1-P to operate four ally characters C1 to C4);
displaying a first expression corresponding to a first interaction event in the virtual scene in response to that the first interaction event happens in the virtual scene, the first interaction event being an interaction event associated with a first virtual object, the first virtual object being a virtual object in the same team as the controlled virtual object (see par. [0148], Accordingly, the player can send a stamp that suits the current game situation from the player terminal 1-P to the player terminal 1-Q just by performing an operation for selecting a high-ranking candidate stamp in the list (e.g., a single tap operation on that candidate stamp)); and
displaying a second expression in the virtual scene in response to an operation on the first expression, the second expression being used for replying to the first expression (see par. [0067], it also becomes possible to send and receive stamps among the plurality of players participating in the game; thus a first player can send a stamp to a second player and a second player can reply with a stamp to the first player). With respect to claims 13 and 19, Kurabayashi further discloses a memory storing computer program instructions and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program instructions (see par. [0052], The player terminal 1 includes a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 21, a ROM (Read Only Memory) 22, a RAM (Random Access Memory) 23).
However, Kurabayashi does not explicitly disclose the operation on the first expression being performed directly on the first expression in the virtual scene and without opening a new chat window for expression selection.
Apex teaches a game where a first expression can be displayed in the virtual scene and an operation can be performed directly on the first expression in the virtual scene and without opening a new chat window for expression selection (see Holospray pg. 1, 1st par., Holosprays are bidimensional holographic images introduced in Season 6 projected from a throwable device on the floor and can be deployed during Skydiving. They can be liked by other players when using the ping input). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Kurabayashi to display and interact with expressions in a virtual scene as taught by Apex in order to have a simpler method of user interaction with game objects.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Kurabayashi discloses wherein displaying the first expression comprises one or more of:
displaying the first expression in the virtual scene in response to that a control terminal of the first virtual object issues the first expression in the virtual scene (see par. [0148], Accordingly, the player can send a stamp that suits the current game situation from the player terminal 1-P to the player terminal 1-Q just by performing an operation for selecting a high-ranking candidate stamp in the list (e.g., a single tap operation on that candidate stamp));
displaying the first expression corresponding to a target event in the virtual scene in response to that the first virtual object triggers the target event in the virtual scene (see par. [0137], This makes it possible to recommend stamps having high correlations (place the stamps at high ranks in the listing order), while responding in real time to changes constantly occurring in the multi-battle situation); and
displaying the first expression in the virtual scene in response to that the first virtual object is defeated in the virtual scene and the control terminal of the first virtual object issues the first expression in the virtual scene (see par. [0083], the multi-battle situations refer to the HPs or the statuses such as increased or decreased power of enemy characters or the HPs or the statuses such as increased or decreased power of ally characters; thus a defeated virtual object would have a decreased HP of zero).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Kurabayashi discloses wherein displaying the first expression comprises playing an animation corresponding to the first expression in the virtual scene (see par. [0154], For example, it is possible to assign a globally common ID (e.g., STAMP00001) to a stamp meaning “Heal me please” and to display a stamp including “hiru purizu” in Japanese on a player terminal 1 running the Japanese version while displaying a stamp including “ging yi zhi wo” in Chinese on a player terminal 1 running the Chinese version).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Kurabayashi discloses wherein displaying the second expression comprises one or more of displaying the second expression of the same type as the first expression in the virtual scene in response to a clicking operation on the first expression; displaying an expression selection area in the virtual scene in response to a dragging operation on the first expression, at least one candidate expression being displayed in the expression selection area; and displaying the second expression in the virtual scene in response to a clicking operation on the second expression in the at least one candidate expression (see fig. 5 and par. [0113], The stamp selecting screen 302 displays a list including a plurality of (six in the example in part (B) of FIG. 5) candidate stamps 310 that can be selected by the player; a second expression could be the player selecting another stamp).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Kurabayashi discloses wherein displaying the second expression comprises updating the first expression to the second expression in response to the operation on the first expression (see par. [0079], To summarize what has been described above, in the case where the method using a stamp sending function is adopted as a method that is suitable for communication among a plurality of players in a multi-battle, in which the situation changes in real time, it is necessary to enable each player to quickly select stamps in accordance with various situations; thus, stamps can be updated to reflect the real time situation).
Regarding claim 8, Kurabayashi discloses updating the second expression to a third expression corresponding to a second interaction event in response to that the second interaction event happens in the virtual scene, the second interaction event being an interaction event associated with a second virtual object, the second virtual object being a virtual object in the same team as the controlled virtual object (see par. [0079], To summarize what has been described above, in the case where the method using a stamp sending function is adopted as a method that is suitable for communication among a plurality of players in a multi-battle, in which the situation changes in real time, it is necessary to enable each player to quickly select stamps in accordance with various situations; thus, stamps can be updated to reflect the real time situation).
Regarding claim 11, Kurabayashi discloses displaying an interaction control corresponding to the first expression in the virtual scene; and displaying the second expression in the virtual scene in response to an operation on the interaction control (see fig. 5 and par. [0113], The stamp selecting screen 302 displays a list including a plurality of (six in the example in part (B) of FIG. 5) candidate stamps 310 that can be selected by the player; a second expression could be the player selecting another stamp).
Claim(s) 4, 7, 9, 10, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurabayashi (US 2018/0169522 A1) in view of Apex Legends (as shown by NPL document “Holospray”, dated August 18th, 2020 as shown NPL document “Season 6”, hereinafter referred to as Apex) and further in view of Ishii et al. (US 2008/0102950 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, the combination of Kurabayashi and Apex discloses the method as discussed above. However, the combination of Kurabayashi and Apex does not explicitly disclose further comprising one or both of displaying an avatar of the first virtual object next to the first expression; and displaying an avatar of the controlled virtual object next to the second expression.
Ishii teaches a video game processing apparatus comprising one or both of displaying an avatar of the first virtual object next to the first expression; and displaying an avatar of the controlled virtual object next to the second expression (see fig. 7 and par. [0105], Namely, when the panic reaction is started, an icon 52 is displayed in the vicinity of the display position of the enemy character 41 (in this case, an overhead position of the enemy character 41) on the image display screen 51 while rotating, for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Kurabayashi and Apex to display an avatar next to the first/second expression as taught by Ishii in order to easily view and recognize that the character is in a particular state (see Ishii, par. [0106]).
Regarding claim 7, Kurabayashi discloses the method as discussed above. However, Kurabayashi does not explicitly disclose displaying the second expression above the controlled virtual object. Ishii teaches a video game processing apparatus including displaying the second expression above the controlled virtual object (see fig. 7 and par. [0105], Namely, when the panic reaction is started, an icon 52 is displayed in the vicinity of the display position of the enemy character 41 (in this case, an overhead position of the enemy character 41) on the image display screen 51 while rotating, for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Kurabayashi to display an expression above the virtual object as taught by Ishii in order to easily view and recognize that the character is in a particular state (see Ishii, par. [0106]).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the combination of Kurabayashi and Apex discloses the method as discussed above including wherein avatars of a plurality of virtual objects in the team are displayed in the virtual scene (see fig. 5). However, the combination of Kurabayashi and Apex does not explicitly disclose wherein displaying the first expression comprises displaying the first expression corresponding to the first interaction event below the avatar of the first virtual object in response to that the first interaction event happens in the virtual scene and displaying the corresponding second expression below the avatars of the plurality of virtual objects.
Ishii teaches a video game processing apparatus wherein displaying the first expression comprises displaying the first expression corresponding to the first interaction event below the avatar of the first virtual object in response to that the first interaction event happens in the virtual scene and displaying the corresponding second expression below the avatars of the plurality of virtual objects (see fig. 7 and par. [0105], Namely, when the panic reaction is started, an icon 52 is displayed in the vicinity of the display position of the enemy character 41 (in this case, an overhead position of the enemy character 41) on the image display screen 51 while rotating, for example; an icon being displayed in the vicinity would also include being below the avatars). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Kurabayashi and Apex to display an expression below the avatars as taught by Ishii in order to easily view and recognize that the character is in a particular state (see Ishii, par. [0106]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurabayashi (US 2018/0169522 A1) in view of Apex Legends (as shown by NPL document “Holospray”, dated August 18th, 2020 as shown NPL document “Season 6”, hereinafter referred to as Apex) and further in view of Reicher et al. (US 2017/0038917 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kurabayashi and Apex discloses the method as discussed above. However, the combination of Kurabayashi and Apex does not explicitly disclose canceling the display of the first expression in response to that no operation on the first expression is detected within a target duration.
Reicher teaches a user interface system where including canceling the display of the first expression in response to that no operation on the first expression is detected within a target duration (see par. [0127], In one embodiment, certain graphical menus may “time out,” so that if no user input is received for a predetermined time period, the user is considered to be finished with the graphical menu and the method continues to block 620). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Kurabayashi and Apex to time out a display as taught by Reicher in order to improve the speed and efficiency of interacting with graphical interfaces and menus (see Reicher, par. [0038]-[0039]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715 3/1/2026