CTNF 18/450,827 CTNF 83554 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Masahiko (JP 2020136999) . Considering claim 1, Masahiko (Figures 2A-2B) teaches a piezoelectric element comprising: a vibration portion (21 + paragraph 0036) approximately quadrangular in plan view and comprising a pair of vibrating main surfaces (13e + 13f + paragraph 0011); a holding portion (24 + paragraph 0036) thicker than the vibration portion, located along at least one edge side of the vibration portion in plan view and integrated with the vibration portion and comprising a pair of holding main surfaces (paragraph 0036); a pair of excitation electrodes (14e + 14f + paragraph 0030) each located on a corresponding one of the pair of vibration main surfaces; a pair of mounted electrodes (14a + 14b + paragraph 0054) each located on a corresponding one of the pair of holding main surfaces; a pair of wiring electrodes (14g + 14h + paragraph 0033) each electrically connecting a corresponding one of the pair of excitation electrodes and a corresponding one of the pair of mounted electrodes, wherein one of the pair of vibration main surfaces and one of the pair of holding main surfaces are on a same place (13e + paragraph 0036), another of the pair of holding main surfaces (13f + paragraph 0036) comprises a fixing portion (24 + paragraph 0036) configured to be in contact with an element mounting member, the pair of mounted electrodes (14a + 14b + paragraph 0054) are located side by side on the fixing portion and an inner peripheral edge of each of the pair of mounted electrodes (14a + 14b + paragraph 0020) is an inner side edge and an inner peripheral edge of each of the pair of wiring electrodes (14g + 14h + paragraph 0020) in an inner side edge, the inner side edge of each of the mounted electrodes and the inner side edge of a corresponding one of the wiring electrodes are connected in a straight line (14a + 14b + 14g + 14h + paragraph 0020). Considering claim 2, Masahiko (Figures 2A-2B) teaches the inner side edge of each of the mounted electrodes (14a + 14b + paragraph 0054) extends in a straight line from a vibration portion to a peripheral end of the holding portion. Considering claim 4, Masahiko (Figures 2A-2B) teaches each of the pair of excitation electrodes (14e + 14f + paragraph 0030) and the pair of mounted electrodes has an approximately quadrangular shape comprising four edges in the plan view and an edge of the four edges of each of the excitation electrodes on a holding portion side is defined as a lower edge (14f + paragraph 0030), an edge of the four edges of each of the excitation electrodes opposite to the lower edge is defined as an upper edge (14e + paragraph 0030), and right and left edges of the four edges of each of the excitation electrodes when the excitation electrode is oriented with the upper edge upward and with lower edge downward are defined as a pair of side edges, and an edge of the four edges of each of the mounted electrodes on a vibration portion side is an upper edge (14e + paragraph 0030) each of the wiring electrodes (14g + 14h + paragraph 0033) extends from the lower edge and one of the pair of side edges of a corresponding one of the excitation electrodes (14f + paragraph 0030) to the upper edge of a corresponding one of the mounted electrodes. Considering claim 6, Masahiko (Figures 2A-2B) teaches a piezoelectric device comprising: an element mounting member (61a + paragraph 0050) on which the piezoelectric element is located and a lid (62 + paragraph 0050), together with the element mounting member, hermetically encapsulated the piezoelectric element (paragraph 0050) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masahiko (JP 2020136999) . Considering claim 3, Masahiko (Figures 2A-2B) teaches the holding portion (24 + paragraph 0036) further comprises a pair of holding side surfaces (left and right side of 24) located between the pair of holding main surfaces, one of the pair of mounted electrodes (14a + 14b + paragraph 0054) extends from one of the pair of holding main surfaces to another of the pair of holding main surfaces via one of the pair of holding side surfaces (13e + 13f + paragraph 0036). Furthermore, Masahiko discloses the claimed invention except for another of the pair of mounted electrodes extends from the one of the pair of holding main surfaces to the other of the pair of holding main surfaces via another of the pair of holding side surfaces. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have another of the pair of mounted electrodes extends from the one of the pair of holding main surfaces to the other of the pair of holding main surfaces via another of the pair of holding side surfaces, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masahiko (JP 2020136999) and in view of Toshinobu (JP 2011004425) . Considering claim 5, Masahiko teaches the piezoelectric element as described above. However, Masahiko does not teach the holding portion comprises a recess and part of each of the mounted electrodes is located in the recess. Toshinobu (Figure 2) teaches the holding portion comprises a recess (50 + paragraph 0023) and part of each of the mounted electrodes (46 + paragraph 0021) is located in the recess. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the holding portion comprises a recess and part of each of the mounted electrodes is located in the recess into Masahiko’s device for the benefit of increasing the bonding strength between the vibrating piece and the package. Considering claim 7, Masahiko (Figures 2A-2B) teaches an element mounting member (61a + paragraph 0050) on which the piezoelectric element is located; and a lid (62 + paragraph 0050), together with the element mounting member, hermetically encapsulating the piezoelectric element (paragraph 0050), wherein the mounted electrodes (14a + 14b + paragraph 0054) of the piezoelectric element are connected to the element mounting member with a conductive adhesive (61e + paragraph 0051) and part of the conductive adhesive is placed in the recess (paragraph 0051). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRYAN P GORDON whose telephone number is (571)272-5394. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Dedei K Hammond can be reached at 571-270-7938. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BRYAN P GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/450,827 Page 2 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/450,827 Page 3 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/450,827 Page 4 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/450,827 Page 5 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/450,827 Page 6 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/450,827 Page 7 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/450,827 Page 8 Art Unit: 2837