DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1, 3—7 have been examined in this application. Claims 2 & 8—11 have been canceled. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to Applicant’s “Amendments/Remarks” filed 08/25/2025.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 08/25/2025. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3—5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2007/0107134 A1 to Pittman (Pittman) in view of U.S Patent Application US 2005/0099054 A1 to McCarthy (McCarthy hereafter).
As per claim 1, Pittman teaches:
Inflatable furniture (10—Fig.5; para [0017]), comprising an inflatable main body (18—Fig.5; para [0017]: space within element 18) comprising:
an inflator pump (140—Fig.5; para [0025])
and a plurality of inflatable bags, communicated with the inflator pump and configured for forming various parts of the inflatable furniture (40—Fig.3; para [0023]),
wherein the plurality of inflatable bags comprise: a main airbag configured to form a seat (18—Fig.1: main air bag forming a seat); wherein the main airbag comprises
a mounting cavity configured to accommodate the inflator pump (190—Fig.5; para [0026] & [0028]),
and further comprises an exhaust valve (160—Fig.5; para [0026] & [0028]),
a casing sheathed on the inflatable main body (34, 42 50—Fig.2; para [0017]); wherein the casing is provided with a first opening for operating the inflator pump (150—Fig.5; para [0026] & [0028]: opening 150 extends into the mattress and casing 100 is disposed over opening in a closed configuration), a second opening for operating the exhaust valve (160—Fig.5; para [0025] opening 160 extends into the mattress and casing 100 is disposed over opening in a closed configuration),
a first curtain for covering the first opening(annotated 150—Fig.5: covering covers first opening in a vertical height direction), a second curtain for covering the second opening (annotated 160—Fig.5: covering covers second opening in a vertical height direction), a first hook and loop fastener for connecting the first curtain with the casing (para [0017]; examiner note), and a second hook and loop fastener for connecting the second curtain with the casing (para [0017]).
Note:
It may be appreciated that curtain 32 may be secured to an edge [emphasis added] of casing element 34 via hook and loop securement means. The examiner highlights that an edge consist of at least two locations and the hook and loop connection is along said edge therefore includes what may be interpreted as a first and second hook loop fastener connecting the curtain to the casing.
Pittman does not teach: at least one auxiliary airbag configured to form a backrest; and at least one auxiliary airbag configured to form an armrest, the armrest being disposed in an angular region defined between the seat and the backrest; wherein the inflatable bag is connected with an inflatable joint and an inflatable tube configured to be inserted into the inflatable joint, and the inflatable tube is connected with the inflator pump, or at least one inflatable tube is connected with another inflatable bag.
McCarthy teaches: at least one auxiliary airbag configured to form a backrest (8—Fig.5; para [0023]); and at least one auxiliary airbag configured to form an armrest (9—Fig.5; para [0023]), the armrest being disposed in an angular region defined between the seat and the backrest (8 & 9—Fig.5; para [0023]); wherein the inflatable bag is connected with an inflatable joint (6—Fig.9; para [0022]) and an inflatable tube configured to be inserted into the inflatable joint (4 & 6—Fig.9; para [0022]), and the inflatable tube is connected with the inflator pump , or at least one inflatable tube is connected with another inflatable bag (20—Fig.9; para [0022]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Pittman (directed to inflatable furniture provided with a pump and inflatable bags) and McCarthy (directed to inflatable furniture including a joint and tube in fluid communication with inflatable bags and an air pump) and arrived at inflatable furniture provided with a pump and inflatable bags including a joint and tube in fluid communication with inflatable bags and an air pump . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination so that air or any other inflating substance communicates or passes freely between the backrest and armrests as taught in McCarthy (para [0023]).
As per claim 3, Pittman teaches:
The inflatable furniture according to claim 1, wherein the inflator pump is arranged on a rear side of the inflatable furniture (para [0025]: inflator pump on rear wall of furniture), and the exhaust valve on the inflatable bag for accommodating the inflator pump and the inflator pump are horizontally arranged left and right (160 & 120—Fig.5: generally shown inflator pump and exhaust valve arranged left and right).
As per claim 4, Pittman teaches:
The inflatable furniture according to claim 3, wherein the exhaust valve located on the rear side of the inflatable furniture and the inflator pump share the first curtain (annotated 32—Fig.5; para [0025]).
As per claim 5, Pittman teaches:
The inflatable furniture according to claim 1, wherein the inflator pump is arranged on a rear side of the inflatable furniture (para [0025]: inflator pump on rear wall of furniture), the casing is provided with a third opening for accommodating the main body, and the third opening is located at a bottom portion of the inflator pump (20—Fig.5 third opening at a bottom portion of inflator pump).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2007/0107134 A1 to Pittman in view of U.S Patent Application US 2005/0099054 A1 to McCarthy in view of U.S Patent Application 2015/0225097 A1 to Anastasia (hereafter Anastasia).
As per claim 6, Pittman teaches:
The inflatable furniture according to claim 5, wherein the third opening extends left and right (20—Fig.5 )
Pittman does not teach, and the third opening is closed through a zipper.
Anastasia teaches, and the third opening is closed through a zipper (105—Fig.2; para [0019]; claim 7).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Pittman (directed to inflatable furniture provided with a pump and inflatable bags) and McCarthy (directed to inflatable furniture including a joint and tube in fluid communication with inflatable bags and an air pump) and Anastasia (directed to inflatable furniture with an inflation system positioned behind a zipper opening) and arrived at inflatable furniture provided with a zipper opening. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide an inflation system secured and located behind a zipper opening as taught in Anastasia (para [0010]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2007/0107134 A1 to Pittman in view of U.S Patent Application US 2005/0099054 A1 to McCarthy in view of U.S Patent Application 2014/0130252 A1 to Carlin et. al (Carlin hereafter).
As per claim 7, Pittman teaches: The inflatable furniture according to claim 1
Pittman does not teach, wherein the casing is provided with an armrest portion for forming an armrest, an outer side of the armrest portion is provided with a storage pocket, and a top portion of the storage pocket is provided with a handle.
Carlin teaches, wherein the casing is provided with an armrest portion for forming an armrest (28—Fig.3 & 24—Fig.4; para [0030]: element 28 provided with separate inflation on the outermost portion of the inflatable furniture may be utilized by the user as a place to rest their arm), an outer side of the armrest portion is provided with a storage pocket (68—Fig.4; para [0037]: outer most portion of armrest 24 include storage portion), and a top portion of the storage pocket is provided with a handle (68—Fig.4: second storage pocket top portion may be used as a handle).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Pittman (directed to inflatable furniture provided with a pump and inflatable bags) and McCarthy (directed to inflatable furniture including a joint and tube in fluid communication with inflatable bags and an air pump) and Carlin (directed to inflatable furniture including an armrest portion including a storage pocket) and arrived at inflatable furniture provided with a pump and inflatable bags including an armrest portion including a storage pocket. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to receive and hold various objects such as, but not limited to, remote controls, jewelry, mobile phones as taught in Carlin (para [0037]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 1—5, filed 05/06/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of claim(s) 1, 3—5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2007/0107134 A1 to Pittman in view of U.S Patent Application US 2005/0099054 A1 to McCarthy.
Applicant’s Arguments:
Regarding the Non-Final Rejection filed on 05/06/2025, the Applicant argues,
Regarding claim 1, To further advance prosecution without acquiescing to the propriety of the rejections and the interpretation of the cited references, claim 1 has been amended with support from claims 1- 11 and FIGs. 1-2 as originally filed. Applicant respectfully submits that the following distinguishing features of amended claim 1 are not disclosed by Pittman:
(1) wherein the plurality of inflatable bags comprise: a main airbag configured to form a seat; at least one auxiliary airbag configured to form a backrest; and at least one auxiliary airbag configured to form an armrest, the armrest being disposed in an angular region defined between the seat and the backrest;
(2) wherein the inflatable bag is connected with an inflatable joint and an inflatable tube configured to be inserted into the inflatable joint, and the inflatable tube is connected with the inflator pump, or at least one inflatable tube is connected with another inflatable bag;
(3) a first curtain for covering the first opening, a second curtain for covering the second opening.
Examiner's Response to Arguments:
The examiner respectfully disagrees to the Applicant’s Arguments for the following reasons
1) Regarding claim 1, the examiner relies on the teachings of U.S Patent Application 2007/0107134 A1 to Pittman in view of U.S Patent Application US 2005/0099054 A1 to McCarthy to form the basis of the rejection. The examiner highlights that Pittman teaches openings which extends into the mattress and casing 100 is disposed over opening in a closed configuration in a vertical direction.
The examiner further relies on the teachings of Pittman as modified by McCarthy to teach wherein the plurality of inflatable bags comprise: a main airbag configured to form a seat; at least one auxiliary airbag configured to form a backrest; and at least one auxiliary airbag configured to form an armrest, the armrest being disposed in an angular region defined between the seat and the backrest; wherein the inflatable bag is connected with an inflatable joint and an inflatable tube configured to be inserted into the inflatable joint, and the inflatable tube is connected with the inflator pump, or at least one inflatable tube is connected with another inflatable bag. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination so that air or any other inflating substance communicates or passes freely between the backrest and armrests as taught in McCarthy (para [0023]).
2) Claims 3—7 are rejected as presented above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent Application 2005/0120477 A1 teaches extensions 404 that are designed to provide a layer of padded protection over wheel well protrusions when mattress 402 is placed in a vehicle.
U.S Patent Application 2005/0099054 A1 teaches An inflatable article of furniture (100) includes at least two inflatable mattresses (1, 2), a hinge (5), and at least one tube (3, 4) positioned external to the hinge.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3673 11/26/2025/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673