DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Claims 4-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/19/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, Figs. 2 and 3 in the reply filed on 5/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Min US-20220271405-A1.
Regarding claim 1, Min US-20220271405-A1 teaches:
A cylindrical secondary battery comprising:
an electrode assembly (71; see FIG. 7a) comprising a first electrode plate (73) and a second electrode plate (72);
a cylindrical case (51) having a disk-shaped top portion (52) and a side portion (see FIG. 7a of Min anticipates a side portion below) extending from the top portion (52), the cylindrical case (51) accommodating the electrode assembly (71);
FIG. 7a of Min anticipates a side portion
a cathode terminal (50) extending through the top portion (52) and insulated therefrom (the Examiner notes that the insulation tape 80 of Min insulates the cathode terminal 50);
a first current collector plate (79) electrically connected to the first electrode plate (73) and the cathode terminal (50);
a second current collector plate (78) electrically connected to the second electrode plate (72) and the side portion (see FIG. 7a of Min anticipates a side portion above) of the cylindrical case (51);
a cap plate (74a) coupled to the side portion (see FIG. 7a of Min anticipates a side portion above) and insulated (the Examiner notes the sealing gasket 74b of Min acts as an insulator, see (0086)) therefrom; and
an insulation tape (80) between the top portion (52) of the cylindrical case (51) and the first current collector plate (79) and covering the first current collector plate (79).
Regarding claim 2, Min teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 1, wherein the insulation tape (80c, see (0201)) has a disk shape (see FIG. 10b of Min anticipates the insulation tape has a disk shape with a hollow below disclosing 80, which comprises 80c) with a hollow (see FIG. 10b of Min anticipates the insulation tape has a disk shape with a hollow below) therein.
FIG. 10b of Min anticipates the insulation tape has a disk shape with a hollow
Regarding claim 3, Min teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 2, wherein the insulation tape (80c) has a larger diameter than the electrode assembly (71) (See FIG. 7a of Min anticipates that the insulation tape has a larger diameter than the electrode assembly below which shows the insulation tape (80c) completely covering the circumference and going beyond the circumference of the electrode assembly. Therefore, because the insulation tape (80c) is larger than the electrode assembly (71), the insulation tape (80c) must inherently have a larger diameter than the electrode assembly (71)).
FIG. 7a of Min anticipates that the insulation tape has a larger diameter than the electrode assembly
Regarding claim 8, Min teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
a first gasket (54) insulating the cathode terminal (50) and the top portion of the cylindrical case from each other; and
a second gasket (74b) insulating the cap plate (74a) and the side portion of the cylindrical case from each other.
Regarding claim 9, Min teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 8, wherein the side portion has a beading part (76) that protrudes concavely inwardly (76a) and a crimping part (75) formed by bending an end of the side portion (see FIG. 7a of Min anticipates a side portion above), and
wherein the cap plate (74a) is coupled between the beading part (76) and the crimping part (75).
Regarding claim 10, Min teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 9, wherein the second gasket (74b) is between the beading part (76) and the crimping part (75).
Regarding claim 11, Min teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 10, wherein one end of the cap plate (74a) is electrically connected to the second current collector plate (74), and
wherein another end of the cap plate (74a) is inserted between the beading part (76) and the second gasket (74b).
Conclusion
/EVAN M ABELSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721