DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: TRANSPOSITION COILS HAVING A PLURALITY OF CONDUCTOR TURNS HAVING CONFIGURATIONS FOR CONDUCTOR STACKS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manni et al. (US 3010038).
In claim 1, Manni discloses (Fig. 1-3) a transposition coil comprising: a plurality of conductor turns (2) arranged in at least two separate stacks (12), wherein each of the at least two separate stacks (12) is provided with dedicated main wall insulation (13) that encircles exactly one of the at least two separate stacks (12); and outer main wall insulation (14) that encircles the at least two separate stacks (12).
In claim 3, Manni discloses wherein the plurality of conductor turns (12) are arranged in exactly two stacks (since at least one strand adjacent each side of the ventilating duct is required; Col. 1, ln. 13-30), and wherein the total number of conductor turns is odd (as shown in Fig. 1, there are 35 conductor turns per stack).
In claim 5, Manni discloses wherein the total number of conductor turns is 35.
In claim 13, Manni discloses (Fig. 1-3) a transposition coil comprising: a plurality of conductor turns (2) arranged in three or more separately-insulated stacks (12 via 13), wherein the three or more stacks (12) are cooperatively insulated with an outer main wall insulation (14) that encircles the three or more separate stacks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manni et al. (US 3010038) in view of Schuler et al. (US 4308476).
In claim 7, Manni teaches the coil of claim 1, with the exception of wherein each conductor turn of the plurality of conductor turns is independently insulated.
However, Schuler teaches (Fig. 1-3) a transposition coil wherein each conductor turn (1) of the plurality of conductor turns (1) is independently insulated (11).
Therefore in view of Schuler, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to account for and fill irregular gaps in the structure of the windings (Schuler; Col. 1, ln. 35-57).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 6, 8-12, and 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The cited prior art taken singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitation of the (in)dependent claim(s), in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper. The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the features as presented in the (in)dependent claim(s) with the allowable feature being:
Claim 2: “wherein the at least two separate stacks include a first stack having n number of turns and a second stack having n+1 number of turns or n-1 number of turns.”
Claim 4: “wherein the total number of conductor turns is 27.”
Claim 6: “wherein a width of each conductor of the plurality of conductors is less than or equal to approximately 10 millimeters, and wherein a height of each conductor of the plurality of conductors is greater than or equal to approximately 0.5 millimeters.”
Claim 8: “wherein the plurality of conductor turns are arranged in exactly three separate stacks.”
Claim 11: “wherein the total number of conductor turns is 34.”
Claim 12: “wherein the total number of conductor turns is 36.”
Claim 14: “wherein the number of turns per stack is different among the three or more separate stacks.”
Claim 16: “wherein the plurality of conductor turns are arranged in exactly three stacks, and wherein the total number of conductor turns is odd.”
Claim 18: “wherein the total number of conductor turns is 34.”
Claim 19: “wherein the total number of conductor turns is 36.”
Claim 20: “wherein a width of each conductor of the plurality of conductors is less than or equal to approximately 10 millimeters, and wherein a height of each conductor of the plurality of conductors is greater than or equal to approximately 0.5 millimeters.”
The examiner found no prior art satisfies all above conditions by itself or as combined during the prosecution period.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ringland et al. (US 2821641) teaches a strand transposition structure of a coil.
Conley et al. (US 2017/0033631) teaches a method for Roebel transposition of form wound conductors for electrical machines is disclosed which creates less distortion of strand geometry and more efficiently stacks the conductor strands.
RASHAD H. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/RASHAD H JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834