DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in [0038], “second thermal solution attachment clip 122” should be – second thermal solution attachment clip 124--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haswarey (US 2019/0393631).
As to claim 1, Haswarey teaches an integrated circuit (IC) carrier (200, see annotated fig. 2A below) comprising:
a plurality of walls (see fig. below);
supports carried by the walls to support an IC from below the IC (see fig. below); and
a retention clip (barbs 220b) to secure the IC (210, [0032] – [0033], see fig. below).
As to claim 2, Haswarey further teaches the supports are coplanar (see fig. 2A above).
As to claim 3, Haswarey further teaches the supports include a first support, a second support, a third support, and a fourth support (see fig. 2A above).
As to claims 4 and 5, Haswarey further teaches the IC is a CPU ([0014]).
As to claim 6, Haswarey further teaches at least one of the walls includes a thermal solution attachment clip (heat sink 200 attaches to the walls of the IC carrier via the bolster plate, [0052]).
As to claim 15, Haswarey further teaches the plurality of walls include an alignment hole (220a) to align the IC carrier with a land grid array socket ([0044]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haswarey.
As to claims 7-9, Haswarey further teaches a socket key to mate with a land grid array socket ([0026]) Haswarey does not teach at least two of the walls include a socket key to mate with a land grid array socket or at least one of the walls includes a plurality of socket keys to mate with a land grid array socket. However, determining location and number of socket keys would have been obvious so as to properly secure the device to the socket.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the claims listed above in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all of the features in the claims. As to claim 10, Haswarey fails to teach wherein the retention clip is carried by a first wall of the plurality of walls, the first wall including an aperture to receive a pin to retract the retention clip. The retention clip is a tension-loaded clip that snaps onto the IC. There is no aperture to accept a pin that would release the clip.
As to claim 12, Haswarey fails to teach the retention clip is rotatable.IOt is a tension-based clip that does not rotate around an axis.
As to claim 13, Haswarey fails to teach the retention clip includes a first surface engageable with the IC and a second surface engageable with a pin to retract the retention clip.
Claims 11 and 14 are allowable at least because they depend from allowable claims.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-Delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22313
/KAREN KUSUMAKAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897
9/27/26