DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments and response received 10/27/2025 have been entered. Claims 1-15 are currently pending in this application. Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 13 and 15 have been amended. Amendments and response are addressed hereinbelow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kouki Uwatoko et al (US 20050240376 A1) in view of Katsuyuki Murakami (JP 2016072693A).
Regarding claim 1, Uwatoko et al discloses an inspection apparatus (¶ [105]) comprising:
an inspection unit configured to execute inspection to determine whether an image defect occurs in image data as an inspection target, the image data being acquired by a reading unit by reading a printed matter printed on a recording sheet (¶ [106]);
an acquisition unit configured to acquire sheet information of the recording sheet used for the inspection, the sheet information including a type of paper used according to an operation for inputting instructions to execute image diagnosis (¶ [165] and ¶ [179]), when an inspection result acquired by the inspection unit indicates existence of an image defect (¶ [165] and Fig. 6 numeral S22 to ND150); and
an image diagnosis unit configured to diagnose content of the image defect (¶ [145]) by reading a test chart for detecting an image defect (¶ [123] reference image; ¶ [164]).
Uwatoko et al fails to explicitly disclose sheet information including a tray location in which the paper is stored; wherein sheet information acquired by the acquisition unit includes sheet information corresponding to the recording sheet for which the inspection result indicates the image defect, and the test chart for detecting the image defect is printed using the recording sheet identified by the sheet information.
Murakami, in the same field of endeavor of selecting a chart image for diagnosing image defects (¶ [9]), teaches sheet information including a tray location in which the paper is stored (¶ [22] and ¶ [38]), wherein sheet information acquired by the acquisition unit includes sheet information corresponding to the recording sheet for which the inspection result indicates the image defect (¶ [38]), and the test chart for detecting the image defect is printed using the recording sheet identified by the sheet information (¶ [37-38]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the inspection apparatus as disclosed by Uwatoko comprising an inspection unit configured to execute inspection to determine whether an image defect occurs in image data as an inspection target acquired by a reading unit by reading a printed matter printed on a recording sheet to utilize the teachings of Murakami which teaches the sheet information includes a tray location in which the paper is stored; wherein sheet information acquired by the acquisition unit includes sheet information corresponding to the recording sheet for which the inspection result indicates the image defect, and the test chart for detecting the image defect is printed using the recording sheet identified by the sheet information to ensure accuracy of analysis when diagnosing defects in output images.
Uwatoko et al fails to explicitly disclose inputting instructions to execute image diagnosis being performed on an instruction unit.
Murakami, in the same field selecting chart images for diagnosing image defects (¶ [9]), teaches inputting instructions to execute image diagnosis being performed on an instruction unit (¶ [25] and ¶ [33]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the inspection apparatus as disclosed by Uwatoko comprising an inspection unit configured to execute inspection to determine whether an image defect occurs in image data as an inspection target acquired by a reading unit by reading a printed matter printed on a recording sheet to utilize the teachings of Murakami which teaches inputting instructions to execute image diagnosis being performed on an instruction unit to provide means for a user to easily and quickly implement desired processing at an optimal time convenient for the user.
Uwatoko et al fails to explicitly disclose the test chart being printed on a recording sheet of the type acquired by the acquisition unit.
Murakami teaches the test chart being printed on a recording sheet of the type acquired by the acquisition unit (¶ [38-40] and ¶ [103]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the inspection apparatus as disclosed by Uwatoko comprising an inspection unit configured to execute inspection to determine whether an image defect occurs in image data as an inspection target acquired by a reading unit by reading a printed matter printed on a recording sheet to utilize the teachings of Murakami which teaches the test chart being printed on a recording sheet of the type acquired by the acquisition unit to provide consistency when diagnosing image defects to obtain accurate results and provide the best corrective actions.
Regarding claim 2, Uwatoko discloses the inspection apparatus according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), further comprising a display control unit configured to display an inspection result acquired by the inspection unit on a display unit (¶ [225]),
wherein the acquisition unit acquires the type of the recording sheet used for the inspection according to the operation for inputting instructions to execute image diagnosis (see rejection of claim 1), performed on the instruction unit on a screen on which the inspection result is displayed (see rejection of claim 1 wherein the User Interface is provided on the display unit).
Regarding claim 3, Uwatoko discloses the inspection apparatus according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Uwatoko fails to explicitly disclose wherein the acquisition unit acquires sheet information used to instruct printing of the test chart for detecting the image defect on the recording sheet of the acquired type.
Murakami teaches wherein the acquisition unit acquires sheet information used to instruct printing of the test chart for detecting the image defect on the recording sheet of the acquired type (¶ [37-40]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the inspection apparatus as disclosed by Uwatoko comprising an inspection unit configured to execute inspection to determine whether an image defect occurs in image data as an inspection target acquired by a reading unit by reading a printed matter printed on a recording sheet to utilize the teachings of Murakami which teaches the acquisition unit acquires sheet information used to instruct printing of the test chart for detecting the image defect on the recording sheet of the acquired type.
Murakami teaches wherein the acquisition unit acquires sheet information used to instruct printing of the test chart for detecting the image defect on the recording sheet of the acquired type to provide consistency when diagnosing image defects to obtain accurate results and provide the best corrective actions.
Regarding claim 4, Uwatoko discloses the inspection apparatus according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), wherein the type of the recording sheet includes at least any one of a sheet size and a sheet type (¶ [248]).
Regarding claim 5, Uwatoko discloses the inspection apparatus according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), wherein the recording sheet is a sheet of paper (¶ [80]).
Regarding claim 6, Uwatoko discloses an inspection apparatus (see rejection of claim 1) comprising:
an inspection unit configured to execute inspection to determine whether an image defect occurs in image data as an inspection target, the image data being acquired by a reading unit by reading a printed matter printed on a recording sheet (see rejection of claim 1) based on information about a print job (¶ [128]);
an acquisition unit configured to acquire sheet information of the recording sheet used for the inspection, the sheet information including a tray location in which the paper is stored and a type of paper used, according to an operation for inputting instructions to execute image diagnosis, performed on an instruction unit when an inspection result acquired by the inspection unit indicates existence of an image defect (see rejection of claim 1); and
an image diagnosis unit configured to diagnose content of image defects by reading a test chart for detecting image defects, the test chart being printed on a recording sheet (see rejection of claim 1) based on sheet information about the print job acquired by the acquisition unit (¶ [128]),
wherein the sheet information acquired by the acquisition unit includes sheet information corresponding to the recording sheet for which the inspection result indicates an image defect, and the test chart for detecting the image defect is printed is printed using the recording sheet identified by the sheet information (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Uwatoko discloses the inspection apparatus according to claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6).
Uwatoko fails to explicitly disclose wherein the information about the print job is information about the recording sheet used for printing.
Murakami teaches the information about the print job is information about the recording sheet used for printing (¶ [38]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the inspection apparatus as disclosed by Uwatoko comprising an inspection unit configured to execute inspection to determine whether an image defect occurs in image data as an inspection target acquired by a reading unit by reading a printed matter printed on a recording sheet to utilize the teachings of Murakami which teaches the information about the print job is information about the recording sheet used for printing to obtain surface quality for the given sheet which aids in properly determining image defects.
Regarding claim 8, Uwatoko discloses a control method of an inspection apparatus (see rejection of claim 1) comprising:
executing inspection to determine whether an image defect occurs in image data as an inspection target, the image data being acquired by a reading unit by reading a printed matter printed on a recording sheet (see rejection of claim 1);
acquiring sheet information of the recording sheet used for the inspection, the sheet information including a tray location in which the paper is stored and a type of paper used, according to an operation for inputting instructions to execute image diagnosis, performed on an instruction unit when an inspection result acquired from the inspection indicates existence of an image defect (see rejection of claim 1); and
diagnosing content of the image defect through image diagnosis by reading a test chart for detecting image defects, the test chart being printed on a recording sheet of the type acquired by the acquiring (see rejection of claim 1),
wherein the sheet information acquired by the acquisition unit includes sheet information corresponding to the recording sheet for which the inspection result indicates an image defect, and the test chart for detecting the image defect is printed is printed using the recording sheet identified by the sheet information (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, Uwatoko discloses the control method of the inspection apparatus according to claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8), further comprising:
displaying an inspection result acquired from the inspection on a display unit through display control (see rejection of claim 2), wherein the acquiring acquires the type of the recording sheet used for the inspection according to the operation for inputting instructions to execute image diagnosis (see rejection of claim 2), performed on the instruction unit on a screen on which the inspection result is displayed (see rejection of claim 2).
Regarding claim 10, Uwatoko discloses the control method of the inspection apparatus according to claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8), wherein the acquiring acquires the sheet information of the recording sheet in which existence of the image defect is determined by the inspection (see rejection of claim 1), and prints a test chart for detecting the image defect on a recording sheet of the acquired type (see rejection of claim 3).
Regarding claim 11, Uwatoko discloses the control method of the inspection apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the type includes at least any one of a sheet size and a sheet type (see rejection of claim 4).
Regarding claim 12, Uwatoko discloses the control method of the inspection apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the recording sheet is a sheet of paper (see rejection of claim 5).
Regarding claim 13, Uwatoko discloses a control method of an inspection apparatus (see rejection of claim 6) comprising:
executing inspection to determine whether an image defect occurs in image data as an inspection target, the image data being acquired by a reading unit by reading a printed matter printed on a recording sheet based on information about a print job (see rejection of claim 6);
acquiring sheet information of the recording sheet used for the inspection, the sheet information including a tray location in which the paper is stored and a type of paper used, according to an operation for inputting instructions to execute image diagnosis, performed on an instruction unit when an inspection result acquired from the inspection indicates existence of an image defect (see rejection of claim 6); and
diagnosing content of the image defect through image diagnosis by reading a test chart for detecting image defects, the test chart being printed on a recording sheet based on information about a print job acquired by the acquiring (see rejection of claim 6),
wherein the sheet information acquired by the acquisition unit includes sheet information corresponding to the recording sheet for which the inspection result indicates an image defect, and the test chart for detecting the image defect is printed is printed using the recording sheet identified by the sheet information (see rejection of claim 6).
Regarding claim 14, Uwatoko discloses the control method of the inspection apparatus according to claim 13 (see rejection of claim 13), wherein the information about the print job is information about the recording sheet used for printing (see rejection of claim 7).
Regarding claim 15, Uwatoko discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a processor to execute a method of controlling an inspection apparatus (¶ [209-210]), the method comprising:
executing inspection to determine whether an image defect occurs in image data as an inspection target, the image data being acquired by a reading unit by reading a printed matter printed on a recording sheet (see rejection of claim 1);
acquiring sheet information of the recording sheet used for the inspection, the sheet information including a tray location in which the paper is stored and a type of paper used, according to an operation for inputting instructions to execute image diagnosis, performed on an instruction unit when an inspection result acquired from the inspection indicates existence of an image defect (see rejection of claim 1); and
diagnosing content of the image defect by reading a test chart for detecting image defects, the test chart being printed on a recording sheet of the acquired type (see rejection of claim 1),
wherein the sheet information acquired by the acquisition unit includes sheet information corresponding to the recording sheet for which the inspection result indicates the image defect, and the test chart for detecting the image defect is printed is printed using the recording sheet identified by the sheet information (see rejection of claim 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remarks: Applicant submits that the applied references do not disclose or suggest, either alone or in combination, at least the noted features of Claim 1; acquire sheet information of the recording sheet used for the inspection, the sheet information including a tray location in which the paper is stored and a type of paper used…inputting instructions…performed on an instruction unit…diagnose content of the image defect by reading a test chart…printed using the recording sheet identified by the sheet information.
Examiner’s response: The examiner disagrees with the aforementioned remarks Murakami, as shown in the newly relied-upon portions of the prior art, teaches sheet information including the tray from which the paper medium is fed and the type of paper held in each cassette/tray. Further, the secondary reference indicates the “test chart” is printed using the recording sheet identified by the sheet information to maintain consistency when diagnosing defects. Applicant should submit an argument under the heading “Remarks” pointing out disagreements with the examiner’s contentions. Applicant must also discuss the references applied against the claims, explaining how the claims avoid the references or distinguish from them.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMARES Q WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681
January 5, 2026