DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: PDCCH MONITORING ON A NON-DORMANT BWP
The use of the term WiMax, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Interpretation
None of the instant claims invoke U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-13, 17-21, 25-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2021/0176029 A1 to TSAI et al. (“Tsai”).
As to claims 1-5, see similar rejections to claims 17-21, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods.
As to claims 9-12, see similar rejections to claims 25-28, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods.
As to claim 13, Tsai further discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the dormancy status information for each selected PCI in the set of selected PCIs is indicated explicitly per selected PCI (para. 0053, the dormancy indication may include a bitmap with up to X1 (e.g., 5) bits. Each bit in the bitmap may correspond to a group of configured SCells (e.g., dormancy group)).
As to claim 17, Tsai discloses a user equipment (UE) (para. 0220, UE), comprising: one or more memories (para. 0220, memory); and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to (para. 0225, processor 708 may include memory. The processor 708 may process the data 712 and the instructions 714 received from the memory 702): receive a signal that includes dormancy status information for a set of selected physical cell identifiers (PCIs) (para. 0053, In one implementation, the PSS may include a wake-up indication and/or a dormancy indication. For example, the dormancy indication may include a bitmap with up to X1 (e.g., 5) bits. Each bit in the bitmap may correspond to a group of configured SCells (e.g., dormancy group) (i.e. set of PCIs); para. 0052 PSS/DCI; para. 0007, UE configured, by a Base Station, i.e. PSS/DCI sent by Base station to UE); for each PCI in the set of selected PCIs indicated by the dormancy status information as associated with a dormant state, refrain from Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring on a dormant bandwidth part (BWP) to which the respective PCI transitions (para. 0053, the dormancy indication may include a bitmap with up to X1 (e.g., 5) bits. Each bit in the bitmap may correspond to a group of configured SCells (e.g., dormancy group); para. 0037, A UE may perform BWP switching to switch the active BWP of an SCell to a dormant BWP, for example, when receiving a BWP switch indication (e.g., via PDCCH or RRC (re-)configuration) or a dormancy indication (e.g., via DCI scrambled by PS-RNTI, via DCI with format 0_1, and/or via DCI with formant 1_1) As disclosed previously, a UE may not perform PDCCH monitoring on a dormant BWP.); and for each PCI in the set of selected PCIs indicated by the dormancy status information as associated with a non-dormant state, perform PDCCH monitoring on a non-dormant BWP to which the respective PCI transitions (para. 0053, the dormancy indication may include a bitmap with up to X1 (e.g., 5) bits. Each bit in the bitmap may correspond to a group of configured SCells (e.g., dormancy group); para. 0055, If the bitmap is set to the second bit value (e.g., “1”), and if the UE is operating in a dormant BWP, the UE may switch to a specific non-dormant BWP explicitly configured by RRC (e.g., indicated by firstOutsideActiveTimeBWP-Id); para. 0046, A BWP which is not a dormant BWP (or that can be configured with PDCCH monitoring) may be considered as a non-dormant BWP).
As to claim 18, Tsai further discloses the UE of claim 17, wherein the signal is received in a downlink control information (DCI) communication in a search space monitored by the UE outside of an active time (para. 0052 PSS/DCI; para. 0198, PSS: The PSS could be referred to as WUS, PDCCH-WUS, PDCCH-skipping, and/or go-to-sleep signaling…indication of CORESET/search space/… The monitoring occasion of PSS may be “indicated” to the UE by the NW with an offset before and or at the beginning (e.g., start symbol/slot/subframe) of DRX ON duration).
As to claim 19, Tsai further discloses the UE of claim 18, wherein the signal comprises a wake-up signal (WUS) (para. 0052 PSS/DCI; para. 0198, PSS: The PSS could be referred to as WUS).
As to claim 20, Tsai further discloses UE of claim 17, wherein the signal is received in a downlink control information (DCI) communication in a search space monitored by the UE inside of an active time (para. 0052 PSS/DCI; para. 0198, PSS: The PSS could be referred to as WUS, PDCCH-WUS, PDCCH-skipping, and/or go-to-sleep signaling…indication of CORESET/search space/… The monitoring occasion of PSS may be “indicated” to the UE by the NW with an offset before and or at the beginning (e.g., start symbol/slot/subframe) of DRX ON duration).
As to claim 21, Tsai further discloses the UE of claim 17, wherein the dormancy status information for each selected PCI in the set of selected PCIs is indicated explicitly per selected PCI (para. 0053, the dormancy indication may include a bitmap with up to X1 (e.g., 5) bits. Each bit in the bitmap may correspond to a group of configured SCells (e.g., dormancy group)).
As to claim 25, Tsai discloses a wireless network component (para. 0220, BS), comprising: one or more memories (para. 0220, memory); and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to (para. 0225, processor 708 may include memory. The processor 708 may process the data 712 and the instructions 714 received from the memory 702): transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a signal that includes dormancy status information for a set of selected physical cell identifiers (PCIs) (para. 0053, In one implementation, the PSS may include a wake-up indication and/or a dormancy indication. For example, the dormancy indication may include a bitmap with up to X1 (e.g., 5) bits. Each bit in the bitmap may correspond to a group of configured SCells (e.g., dormancy group) (i.e. set of PCIs); para. 0052 PSS/DCI; para. 0007, UE configured, by a Base Station, i.e. PSS/DCI sent by Base station to UE); and for each PCI in the set of selected PCIs indicated by the dormancy status information as associated with a dormant state, transition the respective PCI to a dormant bandwidth part (BWP) without PDCCH communications targeted to the UE (para. 0053, the dormancy indication may include a bitmap with up to X1 (e.g., 5) bits. Each bit in the bitmap may correspond to a group of configured SCells (e.g., dormancy group); para. 0037, A UE may perform BWP switching to switch the active BWP of an SCell to a dormant BWP, for example, when receiving a BWP switch indication (e.g., via PDCCH or RRC (re-)configuration) or a dormancy indication (e.g., via DCI scrambled by PS-RNTI, via DCI with format 0_1, and/or via DCI with formant 1_1) As disclosed previously, a UE may not perform PDCCH monitoring on a dormant BWP.); and for each PCI in the set of selected PCIs indicated by the dormancy status information as associated with a non-dormant state, transition the respective PCI to a non-dormant BWP with PDCCH communications targeted to the UE (para. 0053, the dormancy indication may include a bitmap with up to X1 (e.g., 5) bits. Each bit in the bitmap may correspond to a group of configured SCells (e.g., dormancy group); para. 0055, If the bitmap is set to the second bit value (e.g., “1”), and if the UE is operating in a dormant BWP, the UE may switch to a specific non-dormant BWP explicitly configured by RRC (e.g., indicated by firstOutsideActiveTimeBWP-Id); para. 0046, A BWP which is not a dormant BWP (or that can be configured with PDCCH monitoring) may be considered as a non-dormant BWP).
As to claim 26, Tsai further discloses the wireless network component of claim 25, wherein the signal is transmitted in a downlink control information (DCI) communication in a search space outside of an active time of the UE (para. 0052 PSS/DCI; para. 0198, PSS: The PSS could be referred to as WUS, PDCCH-WUS, PDCCH-skipping, and/or go-to-sleep signaling…indication of CORESET/search space/… The monitoring occasion of PSS may be “indicated” to the UE by the NW with an offset before and or at the beginning (e.g., start symbol/slot/subframe) of DRX ON duration).
As to claim 27, Tsai further discloses the wireless network component of claim 26, wherein the signal comprises a wake-up signal (WUS) (para. 0052 PSS/DCI; para. 0198, PSS: The PSS could be referred to as WUS).
As to claim 28, Tsai further discloses the wireless network component of claim 25, wherein the signal is transmitted in a downlink control information (DCI) communication in a search space inside of an active time of the UE (para. 0052 PSS/DCI; para. 0198, PSS: The PSS could be referred to as WUS, PDCCH-WUS, PDCCH-skipping, and/or go-to-sleep signaling…indication of CORESET/search space/… The monitoring occasion of PSS may be “indicated” to the UE by the NW with an offset before and or at the beginning (e.g., start symbol/slot/subframe) of DRX ON duration), or wherein the dormancy status information for each selected PCI in the set of selected PCIs is indicated explicitly per selected PCI (para. 0053, the dormancy indication may include a bitmap with up to X1 (e.g., 5) bits. Each bit in the bitmap may correspond to a group of configured SCells (e.g., dormancy group)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 22, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2021/0176029 A1 to TSAI et al. (“Tsai”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0051698 A1 to TSAI et al. (“Tsai_2”).
As to claim 14, Tsai does not expressly disclose the method of claim 9, wherein the dormancy status information for each selected PCI in the set of selected PCIs is indicated implicitly per PCI group.
Tsai_2 discloses UE should apply dormant behavior (e.g., stop monitoring PDCCH) on the serving cells of the specific cell group based on explicit or implicit ways (para. 0082).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the implicit ways of Tsai_2 into the invention of Tsai. The suggestion/motivation would have been to indicate when the UE should/should not monitor the PDCCH of the specific cell group (Tsai_2, para. 0082).
As to claim 22, Tsai does not expressly disclose the UE of claim 17, wherein the dormancy status information for each selected PCI in the set of selected PCIs is indicated implicitly per PCI group.
Tsai_2 discloses UE should apply dormant behavior (e.g., stop monitoring PDCCH) on the serving cells of the specific cell group based on explicit or implicit ways (para. 0082).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the implicit ways of Tsai_2 into the invention of Tsai. The suggestion/motivation would have been to indicate when the UE should/should not monitor the PDCCH of the specific cell group (Tsai_2, para. 0082).
As to claim 29, Tsai does not expressly disclose the wireless network component of claim 25, wherein the dormancy status information for each selected PCI in the set of selected PCIs is indicated implicitly per PCI group.
Tsai_2 discloses UE should apply dormant behavior (e.g., stop monitoring PDCCH) on the serving cells of the specific cell group based on explicit or implicit ways (para. 0082).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the implicit ways of Tsai_2 into the invention of Tsai. The suggestion/motivation would have been to indicate when the UE should/should not monitor the PDCCH of the specific cell group (Tsai_2, para. 0082).
Claim(s) 15, 23, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2021/0176029 A1 to TSAI et al. (“Tsai”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0051698 A1 to TSAI et al. (“Tsai_2”) and in further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0305168 A1 to Liou.
As to claim 15, Tsai and Tsai_2 do not expressly disclose the method of claim 14, wherein the PCI group is associated with all candidate transmission reception points (TRPs) of a single serving cell.
Liou discloses a network of PDCCH monitoring (para. 0156). Furthermore, there are multiple cells (i.e. PCI group) (para. 0310) and a cell is composed of one or multiple associated TRPs (para. 0312) and a first TRP and a second TRP in the serving cell (para. 0432).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the TRPs of Liou into the invention of Tsai and Tsai_2. The suggestion/motivation would have been for beam indication for Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) (Liou, para. 0002).
As to claim 23, Tsai and Tsai_2 does not expressly disclose the UE of claim 22, wherein the PCI group is associated with all candidate transmission reception points (TRPs) of a single serving cell.
Liou discloses a network of PDCCH monitoring (para. 0156). Furthermore, there are multiple cells (i.e. PCI group) (para. 0310) and a cell is composed of one or multiple associated TRPs (para. 0312) and a first TRP and a second TRP in the serving cell (para. 0432).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the TRPs of Liou into the invention of Tsai and Tsai_2. The suggestion/motivation would have been for beam indication for Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) (Liou, para. 0002).
As to claim 30, Tsai and Tsai_2 does not expressly disclose the wireless network component of claim 29, wherein the PCI group is associated with all candidate transmission reception points (TRPs) of a single serving cell, or wherein the PCI group is associated with TRPs associated with a plurality of candidate serving cells.
Liou discloses a network of PDCCH monitoring (para. 0156). Furthermore, there are multiple cells (i.e. PCI group) (para. 0310) and a cell is composed of one or multiple associated TRPs (para. 0312) and a first TRP and a second TRP in the serving cell (para. 0432).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the TRPs of Liou into the invention of Tsai and Tsai_2. The suggestion/motivation would have been for beam indication for Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) (Liou, para. 0002).
Claim(s) 16, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2021/0176029 A1 to TSAI et al. (“Tsai”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0051698 A1 to TSAI et al. (“Tsai_2”) and in further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0377920 A1 to Yan et al. (“Yan”).
As to claim 16, Tsai and Tsai_2 do not expressly disclose the method of claim 14, wherein the PCI group is associated with TRPs associated with a plurality of candidate serving cells.
Yan discloses the cell #A is configured as N intra-frequency cells, each intra-frequency cell includes a set of downlink control channel-related configuration parameters, and each intra-frequency cell corresponds to one TRP. The following provides descriptions by using an example in which the cell #A is configured as two intra-frequency serving cells, and the two serving cells correspond to a TRP #1 and a TRP #2. For differentiation, the two intra-frequency serving cells are denoted as a cell #A1 and a cell #A2, i.e. PCI group (para. 0285).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the TRPs of Yan into the invention of Tsai and Tsai_2. The suggestion/motivation would have been for communication efficiency (Yan, para. 0006).
As to claim 24, Tsai and Tsai_2 do not expressly disclose the UE of claim 22, wherein the PCI group is associated with TRPs associated with a plurality of candidate serving cells, or a combination thereof.
Yan discloses the cell #A is configured as N intra-frequency cells, each intra-frequency cell includes a set of downlink control channel-related configuration parameters, and each intra-frequency cell corresponds to one TRP. The following provides descriptions by using an example in which the cell #A is configured as two intra-frequency serving cells, and the two serving cells correspond to a TRP #1 and a TRP #2. For differentiation, the two intra-frequency serving cells are denoted as a cell #A1 and a cell #A2, i.e. PCI group (para. 0285).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the TRPs of Yan into the invention of Tsai and Tsai_2. The suggestion/motivation would have been for communication efficiency (Yan, para. 0006).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210377852 A1 discloses at para. 0373: a wireless device receives, based on PS-RNTI, one or more indications comprising a wake-up indication indicating PDCCH monitoring during a DRX on duration of a DRX cycle and a cell dormancy indication indicating a switching to a dormant bandwidth part of a cell. At 3920, the wireless device transitions, based on the cell dormancy indication, the cell to the dormancy comprising switching to the dormant BWP of the cell. At 3930, based on transitioning the cell to the dormancy and the wake-up indication, the wireless device, during the DRX on duration, stop monitoring downlink control channel on the cell, while maintaining the cell activated, and transmit CSI report for the dormant BWP of the cell.
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463