DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments are directed to newly added limitations which haven’t been rejected in the previous action, please refer to new ground of rejection for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Govindassamy (US 10237829 B1) in view of Takemura (US 6243591 B1).
For claim 1. Govindassamy discloses (Abstract) An electronic device comprising: a communication module, comprising communication circuitry, configured to radiate a signal via an antenna (figure 5); a grip sensor (proximity sensor); at least one processor; memory operatively connected to the communication module, the grip sensor, and the at least one processor (column 15 lines 4-22), wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: identify a communication state with an external electronic device and intensity of radiated power via the antenna (figure 9A; column 2 line 60-column 3 line 3; column 7 lines 48-56; column 12 line 41-column 13 line 12);
based on the identified communication state, change the identified intensity of the radiated power (figure 9A, stages 904, 906);
compare the changed intensity of the radiated power with at least a configured threshold value to provide a comparison result (column 12 line 41-column 13 line 12); and regulate power supplied to the grip sensor based on the comparison result (column 12 line 41-column 13 line 12).
Govindassamy fails to mention wherein changing the identified intensity of the radiated power includes: based on the identified communication state corresponding to a first state, decreasing the identified intensity of the radiated power; and based on the identified communication state corresponding to a second state in which an electric field is lower than the electric field in the first state, increasing the identified intensity of the radiated power.
This teaching is disclosed by Takemura (column 8 line 30-column 9 line 35, figures 4, 5A and 5B, transmission power (the identified intensity of the radiated power) A-1 to A-5 corresponding to reception electric field strength (the electric field states) e to a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Takemura into the art of Govindassamy as to improve signal quality and accuracy of radiated power calculation.
For claim 2. Govindassamy in combination with Takemura substantially teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Govindassamy discloses wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to control to operate the grip sensor in a low power mode when the changed intensity of the radiated power is equal to or less than the configured threshold value (figure 9A, column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37).
For claim 3. Govindassamy in combination with Takemura substantially teaches the electronic device of claim 2, Govindassamy discloses wherein the grip sensor is configured to in the low power mode operate at least one technique of: configuring a period of a sensing waveform longer, configuring a frequency of the sensing waveform lower, configuring a gain of the sensing waveform smaller, or powering off the grip sensor (figure 9A, claim 1, column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37).
For claim 4. Govindassamy in combination with Takemura substantially teaches the electronic device of claim 2, Govindassamy discloses wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to shut off interrupts and/or data communication connected to the grip sensor when the grip sensor is operating in the low power mode, and/or stop processing data for at least one of constituent elements (column 2 line 60-column 3 line 3; column 7 lines 48-56; column 9 lines 42-43).
For claim 5. Govindassamy in combination with Takemura substantially teaches the electronic device of claim 2, Govindassamy discloses wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to shut off output power to at least one of a low dropout (LDO) regulator and a power management integrated circuit (PMIC) that supply power to the grip sensor when the grip sensor is operating in the low power mode (column 2 line 60-column 3 line 3; column 7 lines 48-56; column 9 lines 42-43).
For claim 6. Govindassamy in combination with Takemura substantially teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Govindassamy discloses wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to operate the grip sensor in a high power mode in when the changed intensity of the radiated power exceeds the configured threshold value (figure 9A, column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37).
For claim 7. Govindassamy in combination with Takemura substantially teaches the electronic device of claim 6, Govindassamy discloses wherein the grip sensor in the high power mode is configured to operate at least one of: configuring a period of a sensing waveform shorter, configuring a frequency of the sensing waveform higher, or configuring a gain of the sensing waveform greater (figure 9A, claim 1, column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37).
For claim 8. Govindassamy in combination with Takemura substantially teaches the electronic device of claim 6, Govindassamy discloses wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to detect a grip on the electronic device via the grip sensor while the grip sensor is in the high power mode, and regulate power supplied to the antenna based on a specific absorption rate standard (SAR) of electromagnetic waves (column 1 lines 56-64; column 9 lines 1-43).
For claim 9. Govindassamy in combination with Takemura substantially teaches the electronic device of claim 6, Govindassamy discloses wherein the configured threshold value comprises: a first threshold value; and a second threshold value that is configured to a value greater than the first threshold value, and wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to operate the grip sensor in a first high power mode when the changed intensity of the radiated power exceeds the first threshold value and operate the grip sensor in a second high power mode in when the changed intensity of the radiated power exceeds the second threshold value (column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37; figure 9A, steps 912-914, first value THR3 and second value THR4).
For claim 10. Govindassamy in combination with Takemura substantially teaches the electronic device of claim 9, Govindassamy discloses wherein the grip sensor is configured so that operating in the second high power mode (Active state) the grip sensor has relatively higher sensitivity to a grip than does the grip sensor when operating in the first high power mode (Periodic Idle state) (column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37; figures 7 and 9A).
For claim 11. Govindassamy discloses (Abstract, figures 5 and 9A) A method comprising:
identifying a communication state with an external electronic device and intensity of radiated power through an antenna (figure 9A, stages 904, 906);
based on the identified communication state, changing the identified intensity of the radiated power (figure 9A, stages 904, 906 change over time);
comparing the changed intensity of the radiated power and a configured threshold value; and regulating power supplied to a grip sensor (proximity sensor) based on a result of the comparing (column 2 line 60-column 3 line 3; column 7 lines 48-56; column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37).
Govindassamy fails to mention wherein changing the identified intensity of the radiated power includes: based on the identified communication state corresponding to a first state, decreasing the identified intensity of the radiated power; and based on the identified communication state corresponding to a second state in which an electric field is lower than the electric field in the first state, increasing the identified intensity of the radiated power.
This teaching is disclosed by Takemura (column 8 line 30-column 9 line 35, figures 4, 5A and 5B, transmission power (the identified intensity of the radiated power) A-1 to A-5 corresponding to reception electric field strength (the electric field states) e to a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Takemura into the art of Govindassamy as to improve signal quality and accuracy of radiated power calculation.
For claim 12. Govindassamy in combination with Takemura substantially teaches the method of claim 11, Govindassamy discloses further comprising: performing the grip sensor in a low power mode when the changed intensity of the radiated power is equal to or less than the configured threshold value (column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37; figure 9A).
For claim 13. Govindassamy in combination with Takemura substantially teaches the method of claim 12, Govindassamy discloses wherein the grip sensor in the low power mode operates at least one method of: a method of configuring a period of a sensing waveform longer, a method of configuring a frequency of the sensing waveform lower, a method of configuring a gain of the sensing waveform smaller, or a method of powering off the grip sensor (figure 9A, claim 1, column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37).
For claim 14. Govindassamy in combination with Takemura substantially teaches the method of claim 12, Govindassamy discloses further comprising: shutting off interrupts and/or data communication connected to the grip sensor when the grip sensor is operating in the low power mode; and/or stopping processing data for at least one of constituent elements (column 2 line 60-column 3 line 3; column 7 lines 48-56; column 9 lines 42-43).
For claim 15. Govindassamy in combination with Takemura substantially teaches the method of claim 12, Govindassamy discloses further comprising: shutting off output power to at least one of a low dropout (LDO) regulator and a power management integrated circuit (PMIC) that supply power to the grip sensor when the grip sensor is operating in the low power mode (column 2 line 60-column 3 line 3; column 7 lines 48-56; column 9 lines 42-43).
For claim 16. Govindassamy in combination with Takemura substantially teaches the method of claim 11, Govindassamy discloses further comprising: operating the grip sensor in a high power mode in when the changed intensity of the radiated power exceeds the configured threshold value (figure 9A, column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37).
For claim 17. Govindassamy in combination with Takemura substantially teaches the method of claim 16, Govindassamy discloses wherein the grip sensor in the high power mode operates at least one method of: a method of configuring a period of a sensing waveform shorter, a method of configuring a frequency of the sensing waveform higher, or a method of configuring a gain of the sensing waveform greater (figure 9A, claim 1, column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37).
For claim 18. Govindassamy in combination with Takemura substantially teaches the method of claim 16, Govindassamy discloses further comprising: detecting a grip via the grip sensor while the grip sensor is operating in the high power mode; and regulating power supplied to the antenna based on a specific absorption rate standard (SAR) of electromagnetic waves (column 1 lines 56-64; column 9 lines 1-43).
For claim 19. Govindassamy in combination with Takemura substantially teaches the method of claim 16, Govindassamy discloses wherein the configured threshold value comprises: a first threshold value; and a second threshold value that is configured to a value greater than the first threshold value, and wherein the method further comprises: operating the grip sensor in a first high power mode when the changed intensity of the radiated power exceeds the first threshold value; and operating the grip sensor in a second high power mode when the changed intensity of the radiated power exceeds the second threshold value (column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37; figure 9A, steps 912-914, first value THR3 and second value THR4).
For claim 20. Govindassamy in combination with Takemura substantially teaches the method of claim 19, Govindassamy discloses wherein the grip sensor is configured so that operating in the second high power mode (Active state) the grip sensor has relatively higher sensitivity to a grip than does the grip sensor when operating in the first high power mode (Periodic Idle state) (column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37; figures 7 and 9A).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
January 2, 2026
/JINSONG HU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643