DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13-15 and 17-20 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments are directed to newly added limitations which haven’t been rejected in the previous action, please refer to new ground of rejection for details.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: missing a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Govindassamy (US 10237829 B1) in view of Alameh (US 20160203709 A1).
For claim 1. Govindassamy discloses (Abstract) An electronic device comprising: a communication module, comprising communication circuitry, configured to radiate a signal via an antenna (figure 5); a grip sensor (proximity sensor); at least one processor comprising processing circuitry; memory operatively connected to the communication module, the grip sensor, and the at least one processor (column 15 lines 4-22), wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed individually and/or collectively by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to:
identify a communication state with an external electronic device and intensity of radiated power via the antenna (figure 9A; column 2 line 60-column 3 line 3; column 7 lines 48-56; column 12 line 41-column 13 line 12),
based on the identified communication state, change the identified intensity of the radiated power (figure 9A, stages 904, 906),
compare the changed intensity of the radiated power with at least a configured threshold value (column 12 line 41-column 13 line 12),
control the grip sensor to operate in a low power mode when the changed intensity of the radiated power is equal to and/or less than the configured threshold value (figure 9A, column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37, Idle state), and control the grip sensor to operate in a high power mode when the changed intensity of the radiated power exceeds the configured threshold value (figure 9A, column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37, active state).
Govindassamy fails to mention wherein, when the grip sensor operates in the low power mode, control the grip sensor to decrease a gain of a sensing waveform.
This teaching is disclosed by Alameh ([0048]: in one embodiment the one or more processors 116 transition the at least one proximity sensor component 140 from the first sensitivity to the second sensitivity by reducing a gain of the infrared signal receiver of the at least one proximity sensor component 140).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Alameh into the art of Govindassamy as to reduce a gain to save power when the sensor is in Idle state.
For claim 3. Govindassamy in combination with Alameh substantially teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Govindassamy discloses wherein the grip sensor is configured to in the low power mode operate at least one technique of: configuring a period of a sensing waveform longer, configuring a frequency of the sensing waveform lower (figures 8 and 9A, claim 1, column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37).
For claim 4. Govindassamy in combination with Alameh substantially teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Govindassamy discloses wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to shut off interrupts or data communication connected to the grip sensor when the grip sensor is operating in the low power mode, or stop processing data for at least one of constituent elements (column 2 line 60-column 3 line 3; column 7 lines 48-56; column 9 lines 42-43).
For claim 5. Govindassamy in combination with Alameh substantially teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Govindassamy discloses wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to shut off output power to at least one of a low dropout (LDO) regulator and a power management integrated circuit (PMIC) that supply power to the grip sensor when the grip sensor is operating in the low power mode (column 2 line 60-column 3 line 3; column 7 lines 48-56; column 9 lines 42-43).
For claim 7. Govindassamy in combination with Alameh substantially teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Govindassamy discloses wherein the grip sensor in the high power mode is configured to operate at least one of: configuring a period of a sensing waveform shorter, configuring a frequency of the sensing waveform higher, or configuring a gain of the sensing waveform greater (figure 9A, claim 1, column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37).
For claim 8. Govindassamy in combination with Alameh substantially teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Govindassamy discloses wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to detect a grip on the electronic device via the grip sensor while the grip sensor is in the high power mode, and regulate power supplied to the antenna based on a specific absorption rate standard (SAR) of electromagnetic waves (column 1 lines 56-64; column 9 lines 1-43).
For claim 9. Govindassamy in combination with Alameh substantially teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Govindassamy discloses wherein the configured threshold value comprises: a first threshold value; and a second threshold value that is configured to a value greater than the first threshold value, and wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to operate the grip sensor in a first high power mode when the changed intensity of the radiated power exceeds the first threshold value and operate the grip sensor in a second high power mode when the changed intensity of the radiated power exceeds the second threshold value (column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37; figure 9A, steps 912-914, first value THR3 and second value THR4).
For claim 10. Govindassamy in combination with Alameh substantially teaches the electronic device of claim 9, Govindassamy discloses wherein the grip sensor is configured so that operating in the second high power mode (Active state) the grip sensor has relatively higher sensitivity to a grip than does the grip sensor when operating in the first high power mode (Periodic Idle state) (column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37; figures 7 and 9A).
For claim 11. Govindassamy discloses (Abstract, figures 5 and 9A) A method comprising:
identifying a communication state with an external electronic device and intensity of radiated power through an antenna (figure 9A, stages 904, 906);
based on the identified communication state, changing the identified intensity of the radiated power (figure 9A, stages 904, 906 change over time);
comparing the changed intensity of the radiated power and a configured threshold value (column 2 line 60-column 3 line 3; column 7 lines 48-56; column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37);
controlling a grip sensor to operate in a low power mode when the changed intensity of the radiated power is equal to and/or less than the configured threshold value (figure 9A, column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37, Idle state); and controlling the grip sensor to operate in a high power mode when the changed intensity of the radiated power exceeds the configured threshold value (figure 9A, column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37, active state).
Govindassamy fails to mention wherein, when the grip sensor operates in the low power mode a gain of a sensing waveform is decreased.
This teaching is disclosed by Alameh ([0048]: in one embodiment the one or more processors 116 transition the at least one proximity sensor component 140 from the first sensitivity to the second sensitivity by reducing a gain of the infrared signal receiver of the at least one proximity sensor component 140).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Alameh into the art of Govindassamy as to reduce a gain to save power when the sensor is in Idle state.
For claim 13. Govindassamy in combination with Alameh substantially teaches the method of claim 11, Govindassamy discloses wherein the grip sensor in the low power mode operates at least one method of: a method of configuring a period of a sensing waveform longer, or a method of configuring a frequency of the sensing waveform lower (figures 8 and 9A, claim 1, column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37).
For claim 14. Govindassamy in combination with Alameh substantially teaches the method of claim 11, Govindassamy discloses further comprising: shutting off interrupts and/or data communication connected to the grip sensor when the grip sensor is operating in the low power mode; or stopping processing data for at least one of constituent elements (column 2 line 60-column 3 line 3; column 7 lines 48-56; column 9 lines 42-43).
For claim 15. Govindassamy in combination with Alameh substantially teaches the method of claim 11, Govindassamy discloses further comprising: shutting off output power to at least one of a low dropout (LDO) regulator and a power management integrated circuit (PMIC) that supply power to the grip sensor when the grip sensor is operating in the low power mode (column 2 line 60-column 3 line 3; column 7 lines 48-56; column 9 lines 42-43).
For claim 17. Govindassamy in combination with Alameh substantially teaches the method of claim 15, Govindassamy discloses wherein the grip sensor in the high power mode operates at least one of: configuring a period of a sensing waveform shorter, configuring a frequency of the sensing waveform higher, or configuring a gain of the sensing waveform greater (figures 8 and 9A, claim 1, column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37).
For claim 18. Govindassamy in combination with Alameh substantially teaches the method of claim 15, Govindassamy discloses further comprising: detecting a grip via the grip sensor while the grip sensor is operating in the high power mode; and regulating power supplied to the antenna based on a specific absorption rate standard (SAR) of electromagnetic waves (column 1 lines 56-64; column 9 lines 1-43).
For claim 19. Govindassamy in combination with Alameh substantially teaches the method of claim 15, Govindassamy discloses wherein the configured threshold value comprises: a first threshold value; and a second threshold value that is configured to a value greater than the first threshold value, and wherein the method further comprises: operating the grip sensor in a first high power mode when the changed intensity of the radiated power exceeds the first threshold value; and operating the grip sensor in a second high power mode when the changed intensity of the radiated power exceeds the second threshold value (column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37; figure 9A, steps 912-914, first value THR3 and second value THR4).
For claim 20. Govindassamy in combination with Alameh substantially teaches the method of claim 19, Govindassamy discloses wherein the grip sensor is configured so that operating in the second high power mode (Active state) the grip sensor has relatively higher sensitivity to a grip than does the grip sensor when operating in the first high power mode (Periodic Idle state) (column 12 line 41-column 13 line 37; figures 7 and 9A).
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
April 16, 2026
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643