DETAILED ACTION
The following action is in response to the amendment filed for application 18/451,056 on January 22, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Annotated Figures 11 and 13 of Shimajiri ‘453
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-12, 15-16, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimajiri (US 8100453). With regard to claim 1, Shimajiri teaches a console box for a vehicle, the console box comprising: a body 1 having a cavity 10 for storing objects therein; a cover pivotally configured with the body, and the cover 2 is configured to move between an open position and a closed position, the open position corresponds to a position of the cover when the cavity is not covered with the cover and the closed position corresponds to a position of the cover when the cavity is completely covered with the cover, wherein, the cover comprises a first engaging element (slot; Figs 11 and 13), the body comprises a second engaging element 3 that is adapted to engage with the first engaging element when the cover is in the closed position, such that a movement of the cover along a first direction is restricted to prevent of the cover from moving from the close position to the open position in an event of an impact to the vehicle, and upon the impact being applied on the vehicle upon a rear/front crash, at least a portion of the first engaging element (slot; Figs. 11 and 13) abuts with an inner wall surface of the second engaging element (front or rear wall of 3) to restrict the movement of the cover in the first direction (as a result of surface friction between slot wall engaging the front/rear wall of second engaging member 3). With regard to claim 2, Shimajiri teaches the box, wherein any of the cover or body comprises a hook element 32 configured to be latched against a slit 12 arranged in any of the body and cover such that the cover is latched with the body, wherein the cover is de-latched from the body when the hook element is moved away from the slit via a knob 23 to move the cover pivotably between the open position and the closed position. With regard to claim 3, Shimajiri teaches the box, wherein the cover 2 is pivotably arranged on the body via a hinge element (Fig 11) around a pivotal axis, wherein the first direction is substantially perpendicular to the pivotal axis of the hinge element. With regard to claim 5, Shimajiri teaches the box, wherein the first engaging element is a slot (slot; Figs 11 and 13), and the second engaging element is a protrusion 3. With regard to claim 6, Shimajiri teaches the box, wherein the first engaging element (slot; Figs. 11 and 13) is arranged at a bottom surface of the cover 2, and the second engaging element 3 is arranged at a predefined position on an inner surface or an outer surface of the body. With regard to claim 8, Shimajiri teaches the box, wherein the protrusion 3 extends substantially perpendicularly/obliquely from a width-wise edge surface of the body adapted to be engaged within the slot (slot; Figs. 11 and 13) arranged on a width-wise edge surface of the cover when the cover is in the closed position. With regard to claim 10, Shimajiri teaches a cover assembly for a console body of a vehicle, the cover assembly comprising: a cover 2 adapted to be pivotally arranged on the console body 1 to close/open a cavity 10 of the console body, wherein the cover includes a first engaging element (slot; Figs. 11 and 13) and the body includes a second engaging element 3 that is adapted to be engaged with the first engaging element when the cover is in a closed position, such that upon an impact being applied on the vehicle a movement of the cover along a first direction is restricted to prevent the cover from moving from the closed position to an open position in an event of an impact being applied on the vehicle; and wherein upon the impact being applied on the vehicle upon a rear/front crash, at least a portion of the first engaging element (slot; Figs. 11 and 13) abuts with an inner wall surface of the second engaging element (front or rear wall of 3) to restrict the movement of the cover in the first direction (as a result of surface friction between slot wall engaging the front/rear wall of second engaging member 3). With regard to claim 11, Shimajiri teaches the box, wherein any of the cover or body comprises a hook element 32 configured to be latched against a slit 12 arranged in any of the body and cover such that the cover is latched with the body, wherein the cover is de-latched from the body when the hook element is moved away from the slit via a knob 23 to move the cover pivotably between the open position and the closed position. With regard to claim 12, Shimajiri teaches the box, wherein the cover 2 is pivotably arranged on the body via a hinge element (Fig 11) around a pivotal axis, wherein the first direction is substantially perpendicular to the pivotal axis of the hinge element. With regard to claim 15, Shimajiri teaches the box, wherein the first engaging element is a slot (slot; Figs 11 and 13), and the second engaging element is a protrusion 3. With regard to claim 16, Shimajiri teaches the box, wherein the first engaging element (slot; Figs. 11 and 13) is arranged at a bottom surface of the cover 2, and the second engaging element 3 is arranged at a predefined position on an inner surface or an outer surface of the body. With regard to claim 18, Shimajiri teaches the box, wherein the protrusion 3 extends substantially perpendicularly/obliquely from a width-wise edge surface of the body adapted to be engaged within the slot (slot; Figs. 11 and 13) arranged on a width-wise edge surface of the cover when the cover is in the closed position. With regard to claim 19, Shimajiri teaches a console box for a vehicle, the console box comprising: a body 1 having a cavity 10 for storing objects therein; a cover 2 pivotally configured with the body, and the cover is configured to move between an open position and a closed position, the open position corresponds to a position of the cover when the cavity is not covered with the cover and the closed position corresponds to a position of the cover when the cavity is completely covered with the cover, wherein, the cover comprises a first engaging element (slot ; Figs. 11 and 13) ,the body comprises a second engaging element 3 that is adapted to engage with the first engaging element when the cover is in the closed position, such that a movement of the cover along a first direction is restricted to prevent the cover from moving from the closed position to the open position in an event of an impact to the vehicle, any of the cover or body comprises a hook element 32 configured to be latched against a slit 12 arranged in any of the body and cover such that the cover is latched with the body, wherein the cover is de-latched from the body when the hook element is moved away from the slit via a knob 23 to move the cover pivotably between the open position and the closed position, and upon the impact being applied on the vehicle upon a rear/front crash, at least a portion of the first engaging element (slot; Figs. 11 and 13) abuts with an inner wall surface of the second engaging element (front or rear wall of 3) to restrict the movement of the cover in the first direction (as a result of surface friction between slot wall engaging the front/rear wall of second engaging member 3).
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 10-14, 16-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muntean (US 2019036592) . With regard to claim 1, Muntean teaches a console box for a vehicle, the console box comprising: a body 20 having a cavity 24 for storing objects therein; a cover 16 pivotally configured with the body, and the cover is configured to move between an open position and a closed position, the open position corresponds to a position of the cover when the cavity is not covered with the cover and the closed position corresponds to a position of the cover when the cavity is completely covered with the cover, wherein, the cover comprises a first engaging element 136, and the body comprises a second engaging element 138 that is adapted to engage with the first engaging element when the cover is in the closed position, such that a movement of the cover along a first direction is restricted to prevent of the cover from moving from the close position to the open position in an event of an impact to the vehicle, and upon the impact being applied on the vehicle upon a rear/front crash, at least a portion of the first engaging element (sides of 136) abuts with an inner wall surface of the second engaging element (side walls of slots 138) to restrict the movement of the cover in the first direction (as a result of surface friction between elements 136 engaging the front/rear walls of second engaging member 138). With regard to claim 2, Muntean teaches the box, wherein any of the cover or body comprises a hook element 42 configured to be latched against a slit 26 arranged in any of the body and cover such that the cover is latched with the body, wherein the cover is de-latched from the body when the hook element is moved away from the slit via a knob 40 to move the cover pivotably between the open position and the closed position. With regard to claim 3, Muntean teaches the box, wherein the cover is pivotably arranged on the body via a hinge element (Fig. 2B) around a pivotal axis, wherein the first direction is substantially perpendicular to the pivotal axis of the hinge element. With regard to claim 4, Muntean teaches the box, wherein the first engaging element 136 is a protrusion, and the second engaging element 138 is a slot. With regard to claim 6, Muntean teaches the box, wherein the first engaging element 136 is arranged at a bottom surface of the cover, and the second engaging element 138 is arranged at a predefined position on an inner surface or an outer surface of the body. With regard to claim 7, Muntean teaches the box, wherein the protrusion 136 extends substantially perpendicularly/obliquely from a length-wise edge surface of the cover 16 adapted to be engaged within the slot 138 arranged on a length-wise edge surface of the body when the cover is in the closed position. With regard to claim 10, Muntean teaches a cover assembly for a console body 20 of a vehicle, the cover assembly comprising: a cover 16 adapted to be pivotally arranged on the body 20 to close/open a cavity 24 of the console body, wherein the cover includes a first engaging element 136 and the console body includes a second engaging element 138 that is adapted to be engaged with the first engaging element when the cover is in a closed position, such that upon an impact being applied on the vehicle a movement of the cover along a first direction is restricted to prevent the cover from moving from the close position to an open position in an event of an impact being applied on the vehicle, and wherein upon the impact being applied on the vehicle upon a rear/front crash, at least a portion of the first engaging element (sides of 136) abuts with an inner wall surface of the second engaging element (side walls of slots 138) to restrict the movement of the cover in the first direction (as a result of surface friction between elements 136 engaging the front/rear walls of second engaging member 138). With regard to claim 11, Muntean teaches the box, wherein any of the cover or body comprises a hook element 42 configured to be latched against a slit 26 arranged in any of the body and cover such that the cover is latched with the body, wherein the cover is de-latched from the body when the hook element is moved away from the slit via a knob 40 to move the cover pivotably between the open position and the closed position. With regard to claim 12, Muntean teaches the box, wherein the cover is pivotably arranged on the body via a hinge element (Fig. 2B) around a pivotal axis, wherein the first direction is substantially perpendicular to the pivotal axis of the hinge element. With regard to claim 13, Muntean teaches the assembly, wherein the cover assembly is arranged in a front-rear direction of the vehicle and the hinge element is disposed at least one of a frontal or a rearward side of the vehicle (Fig. 2A) such that a protrusion (@32; Fig. 2B) is located in the frontal direction of the vehicle adjacent to a hook element 42. With regard to claim 14, Muntean teaches the box, wherein the first engaging element 136 is a protrusion, and the second engaging element 138 is a slot. With regard to claim 16, Muntean teaches the box, wherein the first engaging element 136 is arranged at a bottom surface of the cover, and the second engaging element 138 is arranged at a predefined position on an inner surface or an outer surface of the body. With regard to claim 17, Muntean teaches the box, wherein the protrusion 136 extends substantially perpendicularly/obliquely from a length-wise edge surface of the cover 16 adapted to be engaged within the slot 138 arranged on a length-wise edge surface of the body when the cover is in the closed position. With regard to claim 19, Muntean teaches a console box for a vehicle, the console box comprising: a body 20 having a cavity 24 for storing objects therein; a cover 16 pivotally configured with the body, and the cover is configured to move between an open position and a closed position, the open position corresponds to a position of the cover when the cavity is not covered with the cover and the closed position corresponds to a position of the cover when the cavity is completely covered with the cover, wherein, the cover comprises a first engaging element 136, the body comprises a second engaging element 139 that is adapted to engage with the first engaging element when the cover is in the closed position, such that a movement of the cover along a first direction is restricted to prevent the cover from moving from the closed position to the open position in an event of an impact to the vehicle, any of the cover or body comprises a hook element 42 configured to be latched against a slit 26 arranged in any of the body and cover such that the cover is latched with the body, wherein the cover is de-latched from the body when the hook element is moved away from the slit via a knob 40 to move the cover pivotably between the open position and the closed position, and upon the impact being applied on the vehicle upon a rear/front crash, at least a portion of the first engaging element 136 abuts with an inner wall surface of the second engaging element 138 (front or rear wall of 138) to restrict the movement of the cover in the first direction (as a result of surface friction between elements 136 engaging the front/rear walls of second engaging member 138). With regard to claim 20, Muntean teaches the box, wherein the first engaging element 136 is a protrusion, and the second engaging element 138 is a slot.
Response to Arguments
With regard to the drawing objections, applicant’s arguments have been considered and are persuasive. The drawing objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the Allison (US 6003716) reference have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection based on Muntean (US 20190136592). Although Allison still teaches some of the amended claimed limitations, the application of both Allison and Muntean would be redundant.
With regard to the Shimajiri reference, applicant argues that the linkage/latch mechanisms “do not restrict cover movement upon impact.” Also, Shimajiri does not anticipate “upon the impact being applied on the vehicle upon a rear front crash, at least a portion of the first engaging element abuts with an inner wall surface of the second engaging element to restrict the movement of the cover in the first direction."
As currently claimed, applicant has not claimed the structural differences between the first and second engagement elements and how they react with respect to each other to restrict the movement of the cover in the first direction that would differentiate over Shimajiri. As currently interpreted, Shimajiri teaches a cover 2 and also a first element (slot; Figs. 11 and 13) that encompasses a second element 3. In the event of a front or rear collision, the first element would abut with an inner wall surface (either front or rear wall of second element 3) to restrict movement of the cover in the first direction (due to the surface friction between the first and second elements).
With regard to the Shimajiri reference, applicant also argues that the linkage based system is “structurally not equivalent to a direct hook and slit type mechanical engagement.” Applicant is directed to the magnified portion of Fig. 3 of Shimajiri below:
It can be shown that Shimajiri teaches a hook (hooked portion 321 of 32) which attaches to a slit 12. Applicant has argued that the Shimajiri reference is a different hook/slit mechanism than the current invention. It can be shown, however, that applicant has not distinctly claimed the differences between the hook/slit mechanism of the present invention and the hook/slit mechanism of Shimajiri.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but are not persuasive.
Suggestions for Applicant
Claim 13, as currently claimed, only requires “a protrusion” to be a structure located adjacent to a hook, which Muntean teaches. However, if applicant were to amend the independent claims to claim that the first or second engaging element is a protrusion, a hook is located adjacent to the protrusion, wherein upon impact, the interaction between the first and second engagement elements prevents movement of the hook, this would overcome the cited references as currently applied.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
FACSIMILE TRANSMISSION
Submission of your response by facsimile transmission is encouraged. The central facsimile number is (571) 273-8300. Recognizing the fact that reducing cycle time in the processing and examination of patent applications will effectively increase a patent's term, it is to your benefit to submit responses by facsimile transmission whenever permissible. Such submission will place the response directly in our examining group's hands and will eliminate Post Office processing and delivery time as well as the PTO's mail room processing and delivery time. For a complete list of correspondence not permitted by facsimile transmission, see MPEP 502.01. In general, most responses and/or amendments not requiring a fee, as well as those requiring a fee but charging such fee to a deposit account, can be submitted by facsimile transmission. Responses requiring a fee which applicant is paying by check should not be submitting by facsimile transmission separately from the check.
Responses submitted by facsimile transmission should include a Certificate of Transmission (MPEP 512). The following is an example of the format the certification might take:
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the Patent and Trademark Office (Fax No. (571) 273-8300) on ____________ (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate: _____________________________________
_____________________________________
(Signature)
If your response is submitted by facsimile transmission, you are hereby reminded that the original should be retained as evidence of authenticity (37 CFR 1.4 and MPEP 502.02). Please do not separately mail the original or another copy unless required by the Patent and Trademark Office. Submission of the original response or a follow-up copy of the response after your response has been transmitted by facsimile will only cause further unnecessary delays in the processing of your application; duplicate responses where fees are charged to a deposit account may result in those fees being charged twice.
/ROGER L PANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/ROGER L. PANG/
Examiner
Art Unit 3655B
February 17, 2026