DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-6, 9-14, and 17-24 are currently pending.
Claims 7-8 and 15-16 are cancelled.
Applicants’ argument
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9-10 filed 07/28/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-6, 9-14, 17-24 under 35 U.S.C. §101 have been fully considered, but they are found unpersuasive.
On pg. 9-10, applicant argues:
“Applicant submits that the claims are directed to statutory subject matter, and in addition to being directed to statutory subject matter, Applicant submits that the claims are not directed to a judicial exception. And even assuming arguendo that the Examiner were to find that claims are directed to an abstract idea, Applicant submits that the claimed invention (and any alleged abstract idea to which the claimed invention may be alleged to be directed) is integrated into a practical application that at least improves the technical field of internet browser application security through improved security controls over connections between an internet browser application and other devices. More particularly, Applicant submits that the claims cannot be considered abstract as directed to a mental process. For example, at least "accessing, by an internet browser application of the computing device, the first content security policy from the memory of the desktop to the internet browser application of the computing device", "downloading, by the internet browser application of the computing device, a second content security policy from a second server comprising a web application", "detecting, by a processing device included in the computing device and executing the first content security policy and the second content security policy, a data transmission between the internet browser application and the second server comprising the web application", and "blocking, by the processing device, the data transmission" cannot be considered mental processes because it cannot be practically performed in the human mind… However, assuming arguendo, the claims do recite a judicial exception (e.g., a mental process) that can be practically performed in the human mind, Applicant submits that the claims integrate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application that improves the technical field of internet browser application security through improved security controls over connections between an internet browser application and other devices”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The limitation of “identifying…a first content security policy”; “accessing… the first content security policy”; “downloading… a second content security policy”; “applying the first content security policy to an the internet browser application operated by the computing device”; “applying the second content security policy to the internet browser application”; “detecting… a data transmission…”; “executing the first content security policy and the second content security policy”, “determining that the data transmission between the internet browser application and the second server comprising the web application that violates a first policy provision of the first content security policy…”; blocking…the data transmission” is considered as mental process, it could be perform by human using pen and paper. For example a human network administrator could perform identifying, accessing, downloading, applying, detecting, executing functions on security policies, and determining violation of security policies, blocking data transmission is performed by preventing information to pass on from one person to another person or by stop passing/forwarding (by using pen and paper or verbally) information from one person to another person. Claimed functions downloading and executing are generic computer functions i.e using a network or the internet to move a data from point A to point B. It just uses a generic computer as a tool.
Applicant argues that “Applicant submits that the claims integrate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application that improves the technical field of internet browser application security through improved security controls over connections between an internet browser application and other devices. See Specification, [0012].For example, embodiments give flexibility in managing security for connections between an internet browser application and other devices, such as by allowing for additional security measures to block undesirable connections that the web app content security protocol might not consider harmful. See Id. at [0024]. This first example improvement is reflected in the claims, such as through the "application-layer policy provision in the first content security policy that blocks data transmissions between the second server comprising the web application and the internet browser application" portion of claim 1. In another example, in addition to a web app content security protocol, a separately managed content security protocol is pushed to the desktop via a desktop manager to enable multiple separate entities to block traffic. See Id. at [0013]. This second example improvement is reflected in the claims, such as through the first content security protocol, second content security protocol, and determining that the data transmission related portions of claim 1”.
Examiner respectfully disagree, the claimed limitations "application-layer policy provision in the first content security policy that blocks data transmissions between the second server comprising the web application and the internet browser application" is simple high level concept of retrieving, selecting or enforcing rules (policies) at the software application layer using generic hardware tools. Therefore “application-layer policy provision” falls in to the category of managing data or certain methods of organizing human activity.
The limitation as a whole does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Additionally, the limitation implement an abstract idea using a generic computer component and does not effect an improvement in improvement in computer functionality or another technology, and therefore fails to satisfy 35 USC 101 under the Alice farmwork.
Finally, even if the claims are viewed as reciting a judicial exception that is not integrated into a practical application, the additional limitations do not amount to significantly more under Step 2B. The recited components such as the computing device, first and second servers, desktop manager, internet browser application, processing device, and memory are all generic computer and network elements performing routine functions of “identifying…a first content security policy”; “accessing… the first content security policy”; “downloading… a second content security policy”; “applying the first content security policy to an the internet browser application operated by the computing device”; “applying the second content security policy to the internet browser application”; “detecting… a data transmission…”; “executing the first content security policy and the second content security policy”, “determining that the data transmission between the internet browser application and the second server comprising the web application that violates a first policy provision of the first content security policy…”; blocking…the data transmission performed by preventing information to pass on from one person to another person or by stop passing/forwarding (by using pen and paper or verbally) information from one person to another person and there is no indication in the claims of an unconventional arrangement or operation of these components that would provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. , filed 07/28/2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, 17-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art.
Claim Rejections-35 USC § 101
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The reasons are as following:
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 USC 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Specifically, claims 1, 9 and 18 are directed to a method, a system and a computer program product respectively. Each of the claims falls under one of the four statutory classes of invention.
If the claim falls within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea).
The limitation of “applying …” performs a technical action which usually can be considered an integration of the judicial exception (i.e. abstract idea) into a practical application. However, in the claims at issue, applying a content security policy to an internet browser application, wherein the content security policy is associated with a desktop manager of the internet browser application is described in a high level of generality that would not meet that threshold. Therefore, applying a content security policy to an internet browser application, wherein the content security policy is associated with a desktop manager of the internet browser application is by itself an abstract idea (it can be performed by a person).
The limitation of “detecting, …”, with similar analysis, is by itself an abstract idea (it can be performed by a person). Claimed functions downloading and executing are generic computer functions i.e using a network or the internet to move a data from point A to point B. It just uses a generic computer as a tool. The limitation of “application-layer policy provision” falls into the category of managing data or certain methods of organizing human activity.
The limitation of “blocking…” is analyzed in parallel or similar way as above.
If a claim limitation, ““identifying…a first content security policy”; “accessing… the first content security policy”; “downloading… a second content security policy”; “applying the first content security policy to an the internet browser application operated by the computing device”; “applying the second content security policy to the internet browser application”; “detecting… a data transmission…”; “executing the first content security policy and the second content security policy”, “determining that the data transmission between the internet browser application and the second server comprising the web application that violates a first policy provision of the first content security policy…”; blocking…the data transmission” under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers mental processes but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping of abstract ideas (concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgement, and opinion). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. “application-layer policy provision” falls in to the category of managing data or certain methods of organizing human activity.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 recites the additional elements “an internet browser”, “a memory of a desktop of the computing device”, “a desktop manager” and “a processing device”, “a first server”, “a second server” are mere generic computer components having generic computer functions.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The insignificant extra-solution activities identified above, which include the data-gathering, and presenting steps, are recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine, and conventional activities when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) (i) Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPO2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); (v) Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPO2d at 1092- 93). The claim is not patent eligible.
Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, thus fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The claims as a whole, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because the claims do not affect an improvement to the functioning of a computer itself; and the claim do not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea. The remaining independent claims 9 and 17 fall short the 35 USC 101 requirement under the same rationale.
The dependent claims 2-8, 10-16 and 18-24 are analyzed in similar way and each taken as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 USC 101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somé et al. (Strengthening Content Security Policy via Monitoring and URL Parameters Filtering, November 9, 2020, Virtual Event, USA), (hereinafter Somé), and further in view of KULISZ et al. (U. S. PGPub. No. 2025/0030747 A1 (hereinafter “Kulisz”) and Sebesta (U. S. Pat. No. 10,972,507 b2) (hereinafter “Sebesta”).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17, Somé teaches [a] method of content security (Somé is titled “Strengthening Content Security Policy via Monitoring and URL Parameters Filtering” and describes techniques to strengthen CSP‑based security for web applications, which corresponds to a method of content security.):
applying the first content security policy to an internet browser application operated by the computing device (Somé teaches deploying a CSP in enforcement (whitelisting) mode at the browser for a web application, where the browser enforces that CSP on content loaded in the page (p.2, col.2). This teaches applying a content security policy to an internet browser application operated by a computing device);
applying the second content security policy to the internet browser application (Somé further teaches that, in addition to the browser-enforced CSP, a second policy in blacklisting mode is enforced by a service worker monitor on requests initiated by the browser for the same application (p.2, col.2). Thus, a second content security policy is applied to the internet browser application);
detecting, by a processing device included in the computer device and executing the content security policy and second content security policy, a data transmission between the internet browser application and the second server comprising the web application (Somé describes that when the browser initiates a request (data transmission), the browser first enforces its CSP in whitelisting mode, and then the request is sent to the service worker, which checks the URL against the blacklisting policy (p.2, col.2). Somé explains that a URL may be allowed by the browser’s CSP yet blocked by the blacklisting policy enforced by the service worker, i.e., the request violates the blacklisting policy while not violating the CSP. This corresponds to a processing device executing two policies and detecting a data transmission that violates a first policy provision of a first content security policy without violating a provision of a second content security policy);
blocking, by the processing device, the data transmission (Somé teaches that if the URL matches the blacklisting policy (either because it is blacklisted content or carries unsafe parameters), “then the request is blocked” (p.2, col.2). This corresponds to blocking, by the processing device, the data transmission).
Somé teaches does not explicitly disclose:
identifying, at a computing device, a first content security policy transferred from a first server comprising a desktop manager, wherein the first content security policy is managed by the desktop manager; and
identifying, at the computing device, a second content security policy downloaded from a second server comprising a web application, wherein the first server is separate from the second server and the second content security policy is managed by the second server.
However, in an analogous art, Kulisz teach:
identifying, at a computing device, a first content security policy pushed to memory of desktop of the computing device from a first server comprising a desktop manager (Kulisz: [0026], the user interfaces are provided by a CSP portal that allows the administrator to access and interact with various aspects of the CSPs…access existing CSP definitions. The user interfaces also allow the administrator to associate CSP definitions with various web applications), wherein the first content security policy is managed by the desktop manager (Kulisz: [0040], the CSP manager service 208 accesses the requested CSP definition from the CSP definition repository 210) [0014], Administrators can use existing CSP definitions (=CSP stored in desktop memory)….the CSP definition for the web application is retrieved from the repository (e.g., a CSP definitions datastore or a cache
accessing, by an internet browser application of the computing device, the first content security policy from the memory of the desktop to the internet browser application of the computing device (Kulisz: [0040], the CSP manager service 208 accesses the requested CSP definition from the CSP definition repository 210) [0014], Administrators can use existing CSP definitions (=CSP stored in desktop memory),…. the CSP definition for the web application is retrieved from the repository (e.g., a CSP definitions datastore or a cache);
determining the data transmission between the internet browser application and
the second server comprising the web application violates a first policy provision of the first content security policy without violating a provision of the second content security policy (Kulisz: [0055] As shown at block 602, information for a CSP violation is received. The CSP violation information identifies a CSP header that resulted in the CSP violation and a violating source. As discussed herein, a CSP violation occurs when an application (e.g., a web browser) executing a web application attempt to call a source not included in a relevant directive of a CSP header. That source is identified as a violating source) based on an application-layer policy provision in the first content security policy that blocks data transmissions between the second server comprising the web application and the internet browser application (Kulitz: [0002], The browser or other application executing the web application on the client device checks the CSP directives and enforces the defined restrictions, blocking or allowing requests based on the specified policies. This helps ensure that only trusted sources are allowed to interact with the web application, reducing the risk of code injection and other malicious activities).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the invention, to modify Somé’s method of deploying CSP in enforcement at the browser for a web application and blocking the request if it contains unsafe parameters by applying Kulisz’s method of checking the CSP directives by the browser or other application executing the web application on the client device and determining a CSP violation occurs when an application (e.g., a web browser) executing a web application attempt to call a source not included in a relevant directive of a CSP header. The motivation is to ensure that only trusted sources are allowed to interact with the web application, reducing the risk of code injection and other malicious activities (Kulisz: [0002]).
The Somé’ in view of Kulisz does not explicitly disclose:
downloading, by the internet browser application of the computing device, a second content security policy from a second server comprising a web application, wherein the first server is separate from the second server and the second content security policy is managed by the second server, and management of the first content security policy by the desktop manager is separate from management of the second content security policy by the second server;
However, in an analogous art, Sebesta teach:
downloading, by the internet browser application of the computing device, a second content security policy from a second server comprising a web application (Sebesta: [Col 3, lines 44-48], server-side incorporation into a web application's trusted source rules, a web application user identifier and inserting the web application user identifier in the trusted source rules, e.g., CSP, the server sends the web site access (e.g., browser) application), wherein the first server is separate from the second server (Sebesta: [Col 12, lines 39-40], the CSR engine 118 can be the server, e.g., the first server 108 (=second server), hosting the web application 107) and the second content security policy is managed by the second server (Sebesta: [Col 12, lines 39-40], the CSR engine 118 can be the server, e.g., the first server 108 (=Second server), hosting the web application 107).
and management of the first content security policy by the desktop manager is separate (Kulisz: [0014], Administrators can use existing CSP definitions (=CSP stored in desktop memory),…. the CSP definition for the web application is retrieved from the repository (e.g., a CSP definitions datastore or a cache) from management of the second content security policy by the second server (Sebesta: [Col 12, lines 39-40], the CSR engine 118 can be the server, e.g., the first server 108 (=Second server), hosting the web application 107).
A person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, would have found it obvious to modify Somé’ in view of Kulisz by applying the well-known technique as disclosed by Sebesta of server-side incorporation into a web application's trusted source rules. The motivation is to detect and alerting web site access application users of attempted injection of malicious code (Sebesta: [Col 1, lines 8-10]).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 12 the first limitation of 18, Somé in view of Kulisz and Sebesta teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 9 and 17, respectively, as shown above. Somé in view of Kulisz and Sebesta further teaches further comprising transmitting an alert to the first server that the data transmission was blocked (Somé: [p.5 col2], While the CSP in blacklisting mode selectively prevents http://jsonp.com/script.js?callback=eval to load, it will however not prevent http://jsonp.com/script.js?callback=alert from loading, p.7, col2, alerts; p.8 col2, Requests that are blocked (because they are blacklisted content or because of their unsafe parameters) are also logged)
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 19, Somé in view of Kulisz and Sebesta teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 9 and 17, respectively, as shown above. Somé in view of Kulisz and Sebesta further teaches further comprising:
detecting, by the processing device, a data download request to the internet browser application that violates a second policy provision of the first content security policy, wherein the data download request is received from a web application server in communication with the internet browser application (Somé: p2 col2, deploy a service worker with an example web application, which deploys a CSP in enforcement mode and another policy in blacklisting mode to complement the policy in enforcement mode. The CSP in blacklisting mode is enforced by the monitor, and the CSP in whitelisting mode is enforced by the browser. Once the URL of a content matches a policy, the browser makes a request to fetch [download] its content. Then, the request is sent to the service worker, which further checks its URL against the blacklisting policy. If the URL matches the blacklisting policy (either because it is a blacklisted content or carries untrusted arguments), then the request is blocked, otherwise it is effectively made);
blocking, by the processing device, the data download request (Somé: p.2 col2, then the request is blocked); and
transmitting an alert to the first server that the data download request was blocked (Somé: p.5 col2, While the CSP in blacklisting mode selectively prevents http://jsonp.com/script.js?callback=eval to load, it will however not prevent http://jsonp.com/script.js?callback=alert from loading, p.7, col2, alerts; p.8 col2, Requests that are blocked (because they are blacklisted content or because of their unsafe parameters) are also logged).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 20, Somé in view of Kulisz and Sebesta teaches all of the limitations of claims 3, 11 and 19, respectively, as shown above. Somé in view of Kulisz and Sebesta further teaches wherein the first content security policy includes one or more policy provisions to block:
data transmissions or connections from the internet browser application to a predefined computing device; or
data download requests to the internet browser application, the data download requests including requests for downloading one or more predefined types of data (p.8 col1, service workers listen for fetch events, which are triggered each time that a request is initiated by the browser to load content in the application. Note that those requests are done after the browser enforces the CSP of the application on the URL of the content to load. The request object of the event contains all the information necessary to make the request (URL of the request, type of content being loaded, the specific page from which the request is being made, data sent along the request in case of HTTP POST requests, ...) [12]. As shown in Listing 16, url represents the URL of a request intercepted by the service worker, content_type the type of content that the URL will load (script, image, ...) 5, and page, the specific page of the application from which the request is being made. This helps for instance, to deploy a single service worker for an entire application made of multiple pages).
Regarding claims 5, 13 and the second limitation of 18, Somé in view of Kulisz and Sebesta in view of teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 9 and 17, respectively, as shown above. Somé in view of Kulisz and Sebesta further teaches and the first content security policy includes one or more application-layer policy provisions that block one or more types of data connections (p.1 col2, Content Security Policy (CSP) is a defense-in-depth mechanism that has been introduced to mitigate the impact of content injection and data exfiltration attacks in web applications [36]. In particular, CSP can be used to mitigate Cross-Site Scripting (XSS), one of the most prevalent attacks in the web [4]. CSP is well supported by browsers, and its adoption by web applications is increasingly growing [14, 27, 29, 32, 34]. CSP is mostly an origin-based whitelisting mechanism 1, the set of origins of content allowed to load in a webpage are declared in the policy. Upon enforcement, browsers allow only content from the whitelisted origins, thereby blocking content not matching the policy. There are 2 main components provided by the specification for declaring policies: directives and directive values. Each directive is linked to a specific type of content (scripts, images, stylesheets, plugins, etc.), and directive values are the trusted origins from which the specific type of content are allowed to load).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Somé in view of Kulisz and Sebesta teaches all of the limitations of claims 5 and 13, respectively, as shown above. Somé in view of Kulisz and Sebesta further teaches wherein the one or more types of data connections include at least one of:
a web services or web application connection (p.3 col1, [t]here are 2 main components in CSP for declaring policies. Directives target a specific type of content (scripts, images, plugins, etc.) (See Table 1), and directive values are the trusted origins from which content can be loaded. This includes origins (i.e. trusted.com, *.trusted.com), schemes (i.e. https:, data:), keywords (i.e. ’self’, ’unsafe-inline’, ’strict-dynamic’), nonces and hashes [35, 36]);
a web socket connection; or
a web real-time communication (RTC) connection.
Claim(s) 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somé et al. (Strengthening Content Security Policy via Monitoring and URL Parameters Filtering, November 9, 2020, Virtual Event, USA), (hereinafter Somé), and further in view of KULISZ et al. (U. S. PGPub. No. 2025/0030747 A1 (hereinafter “Kulisz”) and Sebesta (U. S. Pat. No. 10,972,507 b2) (hereinafter “Sebesta”); and in further view of Yu (U. S PGPub. No. 2016/0021582 A1) (hereinafter “Yu”).
Regarding Claim 22, Somé in view of Kulisz and Sebesta teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
Somé in view of Kulisz and Sebesta does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first content security policy is transferred from the first server to the computing device via a local area network and the second content security policy is downloaded from the second server via the internet.
However, in an analogous art, Yu teaches:
wherein the first content security policy is transferred from the first server to the computing device via a local area network (Yu: [0173] Step 205: The first policy server returns a policy response message to the UE, where the policy response message includes the first policy information (=first policy). [0315] The server includes: a bus 910 (=LAN), and a network interface 920 and a processor 930 that are connected by using the bus 910 )
and the second content security policy is downloaded from the second server via the internet (Yu: [0186] Step 208: The second policy server returns a policy response message to the UE, where the policy response message includes the second policy information (=second policy). [0004], a WLAN network, the WLAN network provides WLAN network state information and WLAN selection policy information by using a wireless fidelity (WiFi) alliance (WFA) server to a UE that accesses the WLAN network.).
A person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, would have found it obvious to modify Somé’ in view of Kulisz and Sebesta by applying the well-known technique as disclosed by Yu of receiving first policy information from first policy server and second policy information from second policy server, in order to solve the problem of policy conflict and accessing a network (Yu: [0005])
Regarding Claim 24, Somé in view of Kulisz and Sebesta teaches:
The system of claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above),
Somé in view of Kulisz and Sebesta does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first content security policy is transferred from the first server to the computing device via a local area network and the second content security policy is downloaded from the second server via the internet.
However, in an analogous art, Yu teaches:
wherein the first content security policy is transferred from the first server to the computing device via a local area network (Yu: [0173] Step 205: The first policy server returns a policy response message to the UE, where the policy response message includes the first policy information (=first policy). [0108] the processor (=a processor included in a server acting as a desktop manager (running a desktop environment/GUI) is configured to receive, through the network interface, a policy request message sent by the user equipment UE, and send a policy response message to the UE through the network interface, where the policy response message includes first policy information)
and the second content security policy is downloaded from the second server via the internet (Yu: [0186] Step 208: The second policy server returns a policy response message to the UE, where the policy response message includes the second policy information (=second policy).
A person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, would have found it obvious to modify Somé’ in view of Kulisz and Sebesta by applying the well-known technique as disclosed by Yu of receiving first policy information from first policy server and second policy information from second policy server, in order to solve the problem of policy conflict and accessing a network (Yu: [0005]).
Claim(s) 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somé et al. (Strengthening Content Security Policy via Monitoring and URL Parameters Filtering, November 9, 2020, Virtual Event, USA), (hereinafter Somé) in view of and further in view of KULISZ et al. (U. S. PGPub. No. 2025/0030747 A1 (hereinafter “Kulisz”) and Sebesta (U. S. Pat. No. 10,972,507 b2) (hereinafter “Sebesta”); and further in view of (Saunders et al. (U. S. 2011/0246251 A1 A1) (hereinafter “Saunders”)
Regarding Claim 21, Somé in view of Kulisz and Sebesta teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
Somé in view of Kulisz and Sebesta does not explicitly disclose:
Further comprising triggering the desktop manager to generate a ticket to track a work order corresponding the data transmission blocked between the internet browser application and the web application of the second server;
However, in an analogous art, Saunders teaches:
Further comprising triggering the desktop manager to generate a ticket to track a work order corresponding the data transmission blocked between the internet browser application and the web application of the second server (Saunders: [0057] In step 501, a request for creating a ticket for corresponding to the event data is received. [0058], the UI can be used to describe details associated with the incident. For example, these details can determine location information regarding the suspected content-based violation, such as, a network address (e.g., Internet Protocol (IP) address) of the suspected violator(s), IP address of suspected destination of the violation, etc….the ticket details characterizing the event and/or incident can include timing information associated with the suspected content-based violation (such as when the different events occurred) and information regarding the suspected violator (such as identification information, username, email address, etc.). Further, according to certain embodiments, the UI can be used to determine detailed discussion regarding the suspected content-based violation, information regarding policies violated by the event, any attachments, etc).
A person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, would have found it obvious to modify Somé in view of Kulisz and Sebesta by applying the well-known technique as disclosed by Saunders of receiving a request for creating a ticket for content-based violation at the ticket system. The motivation is to determine whether the content is in violation according to the inspection (Saunders: [Abstract]).
Regarding Claim 23, Somé in view of Kulisz and Sebesta teaches:
The system of claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above),
Somé in view of Y Kulisz and Sebesta does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the processing device is further to trigger the desktop manager to generate a ticket to track a work order corresponding to the data transmission that is blocked is between the internet browser application and the web application of the second server.
However, Saunders teaches:
wherein the processing device is further to trigger the desktop manager to generate a ticket to track a work order corresponding to the data transmission that is blocked is between the internet browser application and the web application of the second server (Saunders: [0057] In step 501, a request for creating a ticket for corresponding to the event data is received. [0058], the UI can be used to describe details associated with the incident. For example, these details can determine location information regarding the suspected content-based violation, such as, a network address (e.g., Internet Protocol (IP) address) of the suspected violator(s), IP address of suspected destination of the violation, etc….the ticket details characterizing the event and/or incident can include timing information associated with the suspected content-based violation (such as when the different events occurred) and information regarding the suspected violator (such as identification information, username, email address, etc.). Further, according to certain embodiments, the UI can be used to determine detailed discussion regarding the suspected content-based violation, information regarding policies violated by the event, any attachments, etc.
A person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, would have found it obvious to modify Somé in view of Kulisz and Sebesta by applying the well-known technique as disclosed by Saunders of receiving a request for creating a ticket for content-based violation at the ticket system. The motivation is to determine whether the content is in violation according to the inspection (Saunders: [Abstract]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
Bhatkar et al. (U. S. PGPub. No. 2022/0345497 A1): Techniques to facilitate adaptive sampling of security policy violations are disclosed herein. In at least one implementation, a variable sampling rate for sampling a fixed amount of security policy violation reports per unit time based on a violation rate is determined. The variable sampling rate is applied to sample the fixed amount of the security policy violation reports per unit time. When the violation rate exceeds a threshold, the variable sampling rate is switched to a fixed sampling rate for sampling a variable amount of the security policy violation reports per unit time. The fixed sampling rate is applied to sample the variable amount of the security policy violation reports per unit time.
Khan et al. (U. S Pat. No. 12,212,543 B2): Methods, systems, apparatuses, and computer-readable storage mediums are described for enabling runtime supply chain security of web applications and the discovery of active malware attacks. For example, a server is configured to receive CSP-based data from browsers executing on various clients. Such data may be received via a browser extension or via a proxy between the web applications and the browsers. Using the CSP-based data, the server generates a database of supply chain inventory. The database specifies resources that are loaded for a particular web application, along with a location from where such resources are loaded. The database further specifies a chain of dependencies between such resources. The database is analyzed to determine whether any such resources have been compromised with malware or whether clients on which such resource have been loaded have been compromised with malware. Responsive to determining such cases, actions(s) may be performed to mitigate the malware.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2437
/ALI S ABYANEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437