Response to Amendment
This action is in response to applicant’s amendments and arguments filed on 5/20/2026. Claims 1-15 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (US 2021/0251298 A1 – of Record) in view of Liu (CN 113768206, with US 2023/0065332 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Qiu teaches a liquid storage body for a vaporizer (Fig. 2, Body 119 is pointing towards) comprising a liquid storage housing (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 10) and a mounting structure (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 132) arranged in the liquid storage housing and configured to mount a vaporization body (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 20). The mounting structure divides the liquid storage housing in to a liquid storage cavity (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 110) configured to accommodate a liquid substrate at the upper portion and a mounting cavity (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 132) configured to accommodate the vaporization body at a lower portion. Qiu also teaches a liquid discharging opening (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 133) communicating the liquid storage cavity and the mounting cavity. Qiu also teaches a liquid absorbing body (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 21) that has a liquid absorbing surface (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 21, surface towards the liquid storage cavity), and a heating surface (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 21, surface opposite the liquid storage cavity). However, Qiu does not teach at least two vaporization cores.
In an analogous art, Liu teaches an aerosol-generation device with a similar style of vaporization core (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 21) where there are two parallel vaporization cores.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Qiu with Liu to have two vaporization cores in parallel. This modification will allow a larger amount of smoke to pass through (Liu; Para. [0034]). Since the modification will put two of the vaporization cores of Qiu in parallel, both will have a liquid absorbing body, liquid absorbing surface, and heating surface.
Regarding claim 2, Qiu teaches that the liquid storage housing (Fig. 2, Body 119 is pointing towards) is in a cylindrical shape with two open ends and further comprises a vent tube (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 130) arranged in the liquid storage cavity and connecting to the mounting structure.
Regarding claim 3, Qiu teaches that the liquid storage housing, mounting structure, and vent tube are integrally formed (Para. [0119]).
Regarding claim 4, Qiu teaches that the mounting structure comprises two mounting walls (See annotated Fig. 4 below) and that the angle between each mounting wall and the vent tube is greater than 90 degrees.
Regarding claim 5, Qiu teaches that each mounting wall has a first and a second side arranged opposite each other and are integrally formed with inner wall surface of the liquid storage housing (Annotated fig. 4 above, integrated with the wall surface of the liquid storage housing next to the mounting structure).
Regarding claim 6, Qiu teaches that each mounting wall has a third and a fourth side arranged opposite each other (Annotated fig. 4 above; sides at the longitudinal end of the mounting walls) where one side is integrally formed with the vent tube and the other side extends towards the liquid storage housing and there is a cap between that end and the liquid storage housing forming the liquid discharge opening.
Regarding claim 7, Qiu teaches that the liquid storage housing and the mounting structure are integrally formed (Para. [0119]) and the mounting structure has cross-section that is an inverted V-shape (mounting walls in annotated Fig. 4 above).
Regarding claim 8, Qiu teaches that the cross-dimensional length of the liquid storage cavity (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 110) is less than the cross-dimensional length of the mounting cavity (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 132) has the mounting cavity extends past the liquid storage cavity.
Regarding claim 9, Qiu teaches a vent opening (Fig. 3, Ref. Num. 117) for communicating the liquid storage cavity with external air.
Regarding claim 10, Qiu teaches a vaporizer (Fig. 4) comprising a liquid storage body (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 10) and a vaporization body (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 20) accommodated in the mounting cavity (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 132) abutting the mounting structure. The liquid storage body comprises a liquid storage housing (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 10) and a mounting structure (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 132) arranged in the liquid storage housing and configured to mount a vaporization body (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 20). The mounting structure divides the liquid storage housing in to a liquid storage cavity (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 110) configured to accommodate a liquid substrate at the upper portion and a mounting cavity (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 132) configured to accommodate the vaporization body at a lower portion. Qiu also teaches a liquid discharging opening (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 133) communicating the liquid storage cavity and the mounting cavity. Qiu also teaches a liquid absorbing body (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 21) that has a liquid absorbing surface (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 21, surface towards the liquid storage cavity), and a heating surface (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 21, surface opposite the liquid storage cavity). However, Qiu does not teach at least two vaporization cores.
In an analogous art, Liu teaches an aerosol-generation device with a similar style of vaporization core (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 21) where there are two parallel vaporization cores.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Qiu with Liu to have two vaporization cores in parallel. This modification will allow a larger amount of smoke to pass through (Liu; Para. [0034]). Since the modification will put two of the vaporization cores of Qiu in parallel, both will have a liquid absorbing body, liquid absorbing surface, and heating surface.
Regarding claim 11, Qiu teaches that the top of the vaporization body (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 20) is adapted to the shape of the mounting structure (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 132).
Regarding claim 15, Qiu teaches an electronic vaporization device (Fig. 1) comprising a power supply (Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 200) a liquid storage comprising a liquid storage housing (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 10) and a mounting structure (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 132) arranged in the liquid storage housing and configured to mount a vaporization body (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 20). The mounting structure divides the liquid storage housing in to a liquid storage cavity (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 110) configured to accommodate a liquid substrate at the upper portion and a mounting cavity (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 132) configured to accommodate the vaporization body at a lower portion. Qiu also teaches a liquid discharging opening (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 133) communicating the liquid storage cavity and the mounting cavity. Qiu also teaches a liquid absorbing body (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 21) that has a liquid absorbing surface (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 21, surface towards the liquid storage cavity), and a heating surface (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 21, surface opposite the liquid storage cavity). Qiu also teaches that the vaporization body (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 20) accommodated in the mounting cavity (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 132) abutting the mounting structure. However, Qiu does not teach at least two vaporization cores.
In an analogous art, Liu teaches an aerosol-generation device with a similar style of vaporization core (Fig. 4, Ref. Num. 21) where there are two parallel vaporization cores.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Qiu with Liu to have two vaporization cores in parallel. This modification will allow a larger amount of smoke to pass through (Liu; Para. [0034]). Since the modification will put two of the vaporization cores of Qiu in parallel, both will have a liquid absorbing body, liquid absorbing surface, and heating surface.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (US 2021/0251298 A1) and Liu (CN 113768206, with US 2023/0065332 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Lei (US 2022/0007731 A1 – of Record).
Regarding claim 12, Qiu does not teach at least one communication groove for communicating two opposite side of the liquid storage cavity formed on the vaporization body.
In an analogous art, Lei teaches a vaporizer that has liquid storage grooves (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 1520) on the outside of the vaporizer in the liquid storage cavity (Fig. 5, Ref. Num. 141).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Qiu with Lei in order to add liquid storage grooves around the vaporizer. This modification will even out liquid distribution to prevent leakage (Lei; Para. [0062]). As the vaporizer of Qiu is in the middle of the liquid storage cavity, at least one of these grooves will communicate the two opposite sides.
Regarding claim 13, modified Qiu teaches that they are capillary grooves (Lei; Para. [0062]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Qiu teaches that the communication grooves are formed on the outer surface of the vaporizer (Lei; Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 1520).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749