Claims 1,4-22, and 25-30 are pending.
Claims 2,3,23, and 24 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,4-22, and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AlA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 recites " performing CSI report”, however the examiner is unable to determine if this corresponds to generating a CSI report or transmitting a CSI report. For examination purposes, the Examiner interprets "performing CSI report" to correspond to transmitting a CSI report. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Independent claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph for similar reasons as claim 1 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,4-22, and 25-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,5,12,13,16,22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Cha et al, US 20210006372 A1, in view of Hindy et al, US 20240048202 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Cha discloses a method of communication operation performed by a user equipment (UE) comprising a receiver([0007] [0065] A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system includes receiving first information. Data is transmitted on physical channels between the PHY layers of a transmitter and a receiver.), the method comprising:
receiving a configuration, wherein the configuration comprises a resource setting(FIG. 8 [0110] [0111]The UE receives configuration information related to CSI from the BS through RRC signaling (5801). The CSI related configuration information may include at least one of CSI-interference management (IM) resource related information.);
receiving at least one resource via the receiver, wherein the at least one resource is configured via the configuration(FIG. 8 [0116] Measuring the CSI may include (1) receiving a CSI-RS by the UE (S805).);
performing channel state information (CSI) measurement, wherein the CSI measurement is related to the at least one resource(FIG. 8 [0116] The UE measures CSI based on the CSI related configuration information (S803).);
Cha does not disclose receiving an indicator, wherein the indicator comprises a mode, wherein the mode comprises a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state; and performing CSI report corresponding to the CSI measurement, wherein the CSI report is associated with the mode.
However, Cirik does disclose receiving an indicator, wherein the indicator comprises a mode, wherein the mode comprises a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state ([0245] [0289] The wireless device may, for example, receive a DCI scheduling/triggering reception/transmission of the downlink signal. The DCI may comprise a TCI field indicating the TCI state (or a TCI codepoint comprising/indicating the TCI state). The one or more configuration parameters may comprise/indicate a TCI field indicating the TCI state (or a TCI codepoint comprising/indicating the TCI state) for transmission/reception of the downlink signal. The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit)/multiplex the CSI report (or other information) in a repetition, among the repetitions of the PUSCH transmission, sent (e.g., transmitted) based on a first TCI state (or the first SRS resource set).);
and performing CSI report corresponding to the CSI measurement, wherein the CSI report is associated with the mode ([1073] the transmitting the SI report in the first repetition may be based on at least one of: the one or more configuration parameters comprising a CSI multiplexing mode parameter that is enabled; the value associated with the first repetition may indicate at least one of: a frequency; a resource block value; a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state; a TCI state index. The Examiner interprets transmitting the SI report to correspond to performing CSI report).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha with receiving an indicator, wherein the indicator comprises a mode, wherein the mode comprises a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state; and performing CSI report corresponding to the CSI measurement, wherein the CSI report is associated with the mode as taught by Cirik. The motivation for doing so would be to improve/enhance power efficiency of the wireless device. (Cirik, [0913])
Regarding claim 5, Cha discloses the method wherein the at least one resource comprises channel state information (CSI) - reference signal (RS) resource, non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RSresource and CSI- interference measurement (IM) resource([0113] The CSI resource configuration related information defines a group including at least one of a non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resource set, a CSI IM resource set, or a CSI-SSB resource set.).
Regarding claim 12, Cha discloses the method further comprising: performing the CSI report corresponding to the at least one resource ([0111] The CSI related configuration information may include at least one of CSI-interference management (IM) resource related information, CSI-RS resource related information, or CSI report configuration related information.).
Regarding claim 13, Cha discloses the method further comprising: performing the CSI report corresponding to the most recent resource ([0130] The UE may assume that CSI-RS resource(s)for CM and CSI-IM/NZP CSI-RS resource(s)for IM configured for one CSI reporting are "QCL-Type D" for each resource.).
Regarding claim 16, Cha discloses the method wherein the least one field of the CSI report is an information field for wideband PMI ([0145-0146] For CSI reporting, time and frequency resources available for the UE are controlled by the BS. Regarding a CQI, PMI, CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH block resource indicator (SSBRI), layer indicator (LI), RI, or L1-RSRP, the UE receives RRC signaling including N(≥1) CSI-Report Config reporting settings.).
Regarding claim 22, Cha discloses an apparatus for a communication operation ([0458] The method and apparatus are also applicable to various other wireless communication systems.), the apparatus comprising:
one or more receivers; one or more transmitters ([0414] FIG. 29 Each of the transceiver(s) 106 may include a transmitter and/or a receiver. );
a memory storing instructions; and a processor executing the instructions ([0414]FIG. 29 The processor(s) 102 may control the memory(s) 104 and/or the transceiver(s) 106 and maybe configured to implement the descriptions, functions, procedures, proposals, methods, and/or operational flowcharts disclosed in this document.),
wherein execution of the instructions by the processor causes the processor to (FIG. 29 The processor(s) 102 may control the memory(s) 104 and/or the transceiver(s) 106 and may be configured to implement the descriptions, functions, procedures, proposals, methods, and/or operational flowcharts disclosed in this document.):
receive a configuration, wherein the configuration comprises a resource setting (FIG. 8 [0110] [0111] The UE receives configuration information related to CSI from the BS through RRC signaling (S801). The CSI related configuration information may include at least one of CSI-interference management (IM) resource related information.);
receive at least one resource via the receiver, wherein the at least one resource is configured via the configuration (FIG. 8 [0116] Measuring the CSI may include (1) receiving a CSI-RS by the UE (S805).);
perform channel state information (CSI) measurement, wherein the CSI measurement is related to the at least one resource (FIG. 8 [0116] The UE measures CSI based on the CSI related configuration information (S803).);
Cha does not disclose receive an indicator, wherein the indicator comprises a mode, wherein the mode comprises a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state; and perform CSI report corresponding to the CSI measurement, wherein the CSI report is associated with the mode.
However, Cirik does disclose receive an indicator, wherein the indicator comprises a mode, wherein the mode comprises a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state ([0245] [0289] The wireless device may, for example, receive a DCI scheduling/triggering reception/transmission of the downlink signal. The DCI may comprise a TCI field indicating the TCI state (or a TCI codepoint comprising/indicating the TCI state). The one or more configuration parameters may comprise/indicate a TCI field indicating the TCI state (or a TCI codepoint comprising/indicating the TCI state) for transmission/reception of the downlink signal.The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit)/multiplex the CSI report (or other information) in a repetition, among the repetitions of the PUSCH transmission, sent (e.g., transmitted) based on a first TCI state (or the first SRS resource set).;
and perform CSI report corresponding to the CSI measurement, wherein the CSI report is associated with the mode ([1073] the transmitting the SI report in the first repetition may be based on at least one of: the one or more configuration parameters comprising a CSI multiplexing mode parameter that is enabled; the value associated with the first repetition may indicate at least one of: a frequency; a resource block value; a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state; a TCI state index. The Examiner interprets transmitting the SI report to correspond to performing CSI report).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha with receive an indicator, wherein the indicator comprises a mode, wherein the mode comprises a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state; and perform CSI report corresponding to the CSI measurement, wherein the CSI report is associated with the mode as taught by Cirik. The motivation for doing so would be to improve/enhance power efficiency of the wireless device. (Cirik, [0913])
Regarding claim 23, Cha discloses the apparatus wherein execution of the instructions by the processor causes the processor to further: perform CSI report corresponding to the CSI measurement (FIG. 8 [0117] The UE reports the measured CSI to the BS (S809).).
Claims 4,8-11,15,17-19,21, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Cha et al, US 20210006372 A1, in view of Cirik et al, US 20230254854 A1, and in further view of Wu et al, US 20220183017 A1.
Regarding claims 4 and 27, Cha and Cirik do not disclose the method/apparatus (as cited in claim 27) wherein the mode is set to be a default mode if the indicator is not received.
However, Wu does disclose the method/apparatus (as cited in claim 27) wherein the mode is set to be a default mode if the indicator is not received ([0160] The TX UE triggers the SL CSI feedback to the RX UE via the SCI, that is, the SCI includes 1 bit for indicating whether the SL CSI feedback is triggered, or the SCI includes a plurality of bits for indicating whether to trigger the SL CSI feedback and triggering a certain one of multiple SL CSI feedback modes preconfigured by the higher layer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha and Cirik with the method/apparatus (as cited in claim 27) wherein the mode is set to be a default mode if the indicator is not received as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to achieve an effect of link adaptation. (Wu, [0017]).
Regarding claims 8 and 28, Cha and Cirik do not disclose the method/apparatus (as cited in claim 28) wherein the at least one resource is associated with the mode or more than one modes.
However, Wu does disclose the method/apparatus (as cited in claim 28) wherein the at least one resource is associated with the mode or more than one modes ([0160] The TX UE triggers the SL CSI feedback to the RX UE via the SCI, that is, the SCI includes 1 bit for indicating whether the SL CSI feedback is triggered, or the SCI includes a plurality of bits for indicating whether to trigger the SL CSI feedback and triggering a certain one of multiple SL CSI feedback modes preconfigured by the higher layer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha and Cirik with the method/apparatus (as cited in claim 28) wherein the at least one resource is associated with a mode or more than one modes as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to achieve an effect of link adaptation. (Wu, [0017]).
Regarding claim 9, Cha and Cirik do not disclose the method further comprising:performing the CSI report corresponding to at least one valid resource after the UE receives the indicator.
However, Wu does disclose the method further comprising:performing the CSI report corresponding to at least one valid resource after the UE receives the indicator ([0169-0170] The MAC CE indicating the SL CSI maybe multiplexed with data packets, the SL RRC signaling or other MACCEs, which are transmitted to the same UE. The RX UE measures the CSI based on the SL CSI-RS transmitted by the TX UE and reports the measured CSI to MAC layer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha and Cirik with the method further comprising:performing the CSI report corresponding to at least one valid resource after the UE receives the indicator as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to achieve an effect of link adaptation. (Wu, [0017]).
Regarding claim 10, Cha and Cirik do not disclose the method further comprising: stopping performing CSI report if there is no valid resource after the UE receives an indicator.
However, Wu does disclose the method further comprising: stopping performing CSI report if there is no valid resource after the UE receives an indicator ([0070] [0080] That is, when the SCI indicates that the CSI-RS is transmitted in the current slot, it indicates implicitly triggering the L1-RSRP feedback. The 4.sup.t slot after the L1-RSRP measurement; the system further specifies a last timing for the L1-RSRPfeedback, namely an ending time of the time window, for example, the 10.sup.thslotafter the L1-RSRP measurement. If the RX UE has no time to feed back the L1-RSRP in this slot for some reason, this L1-RSRP should be discarded.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha and Cirik with the method further comprising: stopping performing CSI report if there is no valid resource after the UE receives an indicator as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to achieve an effect of link adaptation. (Wu, [0017]).
Regarding claim 11, Cha and Cirik do not disclose the method further comprising: performing the CSI report corresponding to at least one valid resource if there is no valid resource after the UE receives the indicator.
However, Wu does disclose the method further comprising: performing the CSI report corresponding to at least one valid resource if there is no valid resource after the UE receives the indicator ([0170] If there is no allocated PSSCH resource within the time window of SL CSI feedback, sidelink resource should be allocated within the time window for SL CSI feedback for the transmission of the MAC CE indicating the SL CSI.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha and Cirik with the method further comprising: performing CSI report corresponding to at least one valid resource if there is no valid resource after the UE receives an indicator as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to achieve an effect of link adaptation. (Wu, [0017]).
Regarding claim 15, Cha and Cirik do not disclose the method further comprising: receiving a set of mode, wherein the set of mode comprises at least one mode; and determining a payload size for reporting at least one field of CSI report, wherein the payload size is associated with the set of mode.
However, Wu does disclose the method further comprising: receiving a set of mode, wherein the set of mode comprises at least one mode([0160] The TXUE triggers the SL CSI feedback to the RX UE via the SCI, that is, the SCI includes 1 bit for indicating whether the SL CSI feedback is triggered, or the SCI includes a plurality of bits for indicating whether to trigger the SL CSI feedback and triggering a certain one of multiple SL CSI feedback modes preconfigured by the higher layer.);
and determining a payload size for reporting at least one field of CSI report, wherein the payload size is associated with the set of mode{[0117] [0160] [0170] If the relative change information of the transmit power of RS is indicated by the SCI, in order to ensure that payload size of the SCI is known to the RX UE. the TX UE triggers the SL CSI feedback to the RX UE via the SCI, that is, the SCI includes 1 bit for indicating whether the SL CSI feedback is triggered, or the SCI includes a plurality of bits for indicating whether to trigger the SL CSI feedback and triggering a certain one of multiple SL CSI feedback modes preconfigured by the higher layer. When the TX UE triggers the SL CSI feedback to the RX UE via the SCI, the TXUE transmits the SL CSI-RS at or after the slot of triggering the SL CSI feedback, the RX UE measures the CSI based on the SL CSI-RS transmitted by the TX UE and reports the measured CSI to MAC layer. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha and Cirik with the method further comprising: receiving a set of mode, wherein the set of mode comprises at least one mode; and determining a payload size for reporting at least one field of CSI report, wherein the payload size is associated with the set of mode as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to achieve an effect of link adaptation. (Wu, [0017])
Regarding claim 17, Cha and Cirik do not disclose the method wherein each mode of the set of mode is related to an antenna port number.
However, Wu does disclose the method wherein each mode of the set of mode is related to an antenna port number ([0160] Herein the TX UE configures a plurality of SL CSI feedback modes to the RX UE via the SL RRC signaling, for example, a subband CSI feedback or a wideband CSIfeedback, etc. The TX UE configures the plurality of CSI-RSs to the RX UE via the SL RRC signaling, for example, antenna port configuration and/or pattern configuration of the plurality of CSI-RSs.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha and Cirik with the method wherein each mode of the set of mode is related to an antenna port number as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to achieve an effect of link adaptation. (Wu, [0017])
Regarding claim 18, Cha and Cirik do not disclose the method wherein the payload size is determined according to a largest antenna port number within the set of mode.
However, Wu does disclose the method wherein the payload size is determined according to a largest antenna port number within the set of mode ([0117][0160] On the contrary, if the relative change information of the transmit power of RS is indicated by the SCI, in order to ensure that payload size of the SCI is known to the RX UE. The TX UE configures the plurality of CSI-RSs to the RX UE via the SL RRC signaling, for example, antenna port configuration and/or pattern configuration of the plurality of CSI-RSs.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha and Cirik with the method wherein the payload size is determined according to a largest antenna port number within the set of mode as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to achieve an effect of link adaptation. (Wu, [0017]).
Regarding claim 19, Cha and Cirik do not disclose the method further comprising: filling with a number of default, predetermined, preconfigured or fixed bits in the CSI report if the antenna port number of the mode is smaller than the largest antenna port number within the set of mode.
However, Wu does disclose the method further comprising: filling with a number of default, predetermined, preconfigured or fixed bits in the CSI report if the antenna port number of the mode is smaller than the largest antenna port number within the set of mode ([0117] [0160] [0170] The total number that the transmit power of RS changes should be smaller than the total number that the transmit power of RS keeps unchanged. The TX UE may also indicate the transmission of the CSI-RS to the RX UE via the SCI, that is, the SCI includes 1 bit for indicating whether the CSI-RS is transmitted in the slot of the SCI, or the SCI includes a plurality of bits for indicating whether the CSI-RS is transmitted and transmitting a certain one of a plurality of CSI-RSs preconfigured by the higher layer. Herein the TX UE configures the plurality of CSI-RSs to the RX UE via the SL RRC signaling, for example, antenna port configuration and/or pattern configuration of the plurality of CSI-RSs. When the TX UE triggers the SL CSI feedback to the RX UE via the SCI, the TX UE transmits the SL CSI-RS at or after the slot of triggering the SL CSI feedback, the RX UE measures the CSI based on the SL CSI-RS transmitted by the TXUE and reports the measured CSI to MAC layer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha and Cirik with the method further comprising: filling with a number of default, predetermined, preconfigured or fixed bits in the CSI report if the antenna port number of the mode is smaller than the largest antenna port number within the set of mode as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to achieve an effect of link adaptation. (Wu, [0017]).
Regarding claim 21, Cha and Cirik do not disclose the method further comprising: determining a payload size for reporting at least one field of CSI report, wherein the payload size for reporting at least one field of CSI report is associated with the mode.
However, Wu does disclose the method further comprising: determining a payload size for reporting at least one field of CSI report, wherein the payload size for reporting at least one field of CSI report is associated with the mode ([0117] [0170] If the relative change information of the transmit power of RS is indicated by the SCI, in order to ensure that payload size of the SCI is known to the RXUE. When the TX UE triggers the SL CSI feedback to the RX UE via the SCI, the TX UE transmits the SL CSI-RS at or after the slot of triggering the SL CSI feedback, the RX UE measures the CSI based on the SL CSI-RS transmitted by the TX UE and reports the measured CSI to MAC layer. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha and Cirik with the method further comprising: determining a payload size for reporting at least one field of CSI report, wherein the payload size for reporting at least one field of CSI report is associated with the mode as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to achieve an effect of link adaptation. (Wu, [0017])
Regarding claim 24, Cha and Cirik do not disclose the apparatus wherein execution of the instructions by the processor causes the processor to further: receive an indicator, wherein the indicator comprises a mode.
However, Wu does disclose the apparatus wherein execution of the instructions by the processor causes the processor to further: receive an indicator, wherein the indicator comprises a mode ([0160] The TX UE triggers the SL CSI feedback to the RX UE via the SCI, that is, the SCI includes 1 bit for indicating whether the SL CSI feedback is triggered, or the SCI includes a plurality of bits for indicating whether to trigger the SL CSI feedback and triggering a certain one of multiple SL CSI feedback modes preconfigured by the higher layer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha and Cirik with the apparatus wherein execution of the instructions by the processor causes the processor to further: receive an indicator, wherein the indicator comprises a mode as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to achieve an effect of link adaptation. (Wu, [0017]).
Regarding claim 29, Cha and Cirik do not disclose the apparatus wherein execution of the instructions by the processor causes the processor to further: perform CSI report corresponding to at least one valid resource after the apparatus receives an indicator.
However, Wu does disclose the apparatus wherein execution of the instructions by the processor causes the processor to further: perform CSI report corresponding to at least one valid resource after the apparatus receives an indicator ([0169-0170] The MAC CE indicating the SL CSI may be multiplexed with data packets, the SL RRC signaling or other MAC CEs, which are transmitted to the same UE. The RX UE measures the CSI based on the SL CSI-RS transmitted by the TX UE and reports the measured CSI to MAC layer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha and Cirik with the apparatus wherein execution of the instructions by the processor causes the processor to further: perform CSI report corresponding to at least one valid resource after the apparatus receives an indicator as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to achieve an effect of link adaptation. (Wu, [0017]).
Regarding claim 30, Cha and Cirik do not disclose the apparatus wherein execution of the instructions by the processor causes the processor to further: receive a set of mode, wherein the set of mode comprises at least one mode including the mode; and determines a payload size for reporting at least one field of the CSI report, wherein the payload size is associated with the set of mode.
However, Wu does disclose the apparatus wherein execution of the instructions by the processor causes the processor to further: receive a set of mode, wherein the set of mode comprises at least one mode including the mode ([0160] The TXUE triggers the SL CSI feedback to the RX UE via the SCI, that is, the SCI includes 1 bit for indicating whether the SL CSI feedback is triggered, or the SCI includes a plurality of bits for indicating whether to trigger the SL CSI feedback and triggering a certain one of multiple SL CSI feedback modes preconfigured by the higher layer.);
and determines a payload size for reporting at least one field of the CSI report, wherein the payload size is associated with the set of mode ([0117] [0160] [0170] If the relative change information of the transmit power of RS is indicated by the SCI, in order to ensure that payload size of the SCI is known to the RXUE. the TX UE triggers the SL CSI feedback to the RXUE via the SCI, that is, the SCI includes 1 bit for indicating whether the SL CSI feedback is triggered, or the SCI includes a plurality of bits for indicating whether to trigger the SL CSI feedback and triggering a certain one of multiple SL CSI feedback modes preconfigured by the higher layer. When the TX UE triggers the SL CSI feedback to the RX UE via the SCI, the TX UE transmits the SL CSI-RS at or after the slot of triggering the SL CSI feedback, the RX UE measures the CSI based on the SL CSI-RS transmitted by the TX UE and reports the measured CSI to MAC layer. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha and Cirik with the apparatus wherein execution of the instructions by the processor causes the processor to further: receive a set of mode, wherein the set of mode comprises at least one mode; and determines a payload size for reporting at least one field of CSI report, wherein the payload size is associated with the set of mode as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to achieve an effect of link adaptation. (Wu, [0017]).
Claims 6,7, 20,25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Cha et al, US 20210006372 A1, in view of Hindy et al, US 20240048202 A1, in view of Wu et al, US 20220183017 A1, and in further view of Zhou et al, US 20230209538 A1.
Regarding claims 6 and 25, Cha, Cirik, and Wu do not disclose the method/apparatus (as cited in claim 25) wherein the mode comprises an indication of power value, an indication of power level, an indication of antenna port number, an indication of antenna port subset, an indication of antenna element number, an indication of antenna element subset, a Cell-ID related information, a search space (SS) set index, a control resource set (CORESET) identity (ID), a search space configuration, and a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state.
However, Zhou does disclose the method/apparatus (as cited in claim 25) wherein the mode comprises an indication of power value, an indication of power level, an indication of antenna port number, an indication of antenna port subset, an indication of antenna element number, an indication of antenna element subset, a Cell-ID related information, a search space (SS) set index, a control resource set (CORESET) identity (ID), a search space configuration, and a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state ([0061] [0122] [0180] [0231] One or more base stations (e.g., the gNBs 160 and/or the ng eNBs 162) may comprise multiple sets of antennas to respectively control multiple cells (or sectors). A physical cell ID may be referred to as a carrier ID, and a cell index may be referred to as a carrier index. The base station may send/transmit, to the wireless device, one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more CORESETs and one or more search space sets. The configuration parameters may indicate an association between a search space set and a CORESET. A TCI state of the plurality of TCI states may indicate a reference signal for quasi-colocation of/for DM-RS (or DM-RS antenna port(s)) of the PDCCH transmissions/reception.s.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha, Cirik, and Wu with the method/ apparatus (as cited in claim 25) wherein the mode comprises an indication of power value, an indication of power level, an indication of antenna port number, an indication of antenna port subset, an indication of antenna element number, an indication of antenna element subset, a Cell-ID related information, a search space (SS) set index, a control resource set (CORESET) identity (ID), a search space configuration, and a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state as taught by Zhou. The motivation for doing so would be to improved alignment of wireless communications, and which may in turn provide advantages such as reduced retransmissions, reduced overhead signaling, reduced latency, and/or increased efficiency for wireless communications. (Zhou, [0004]).
Regarding claims 7 and 26, Cha, Cirik, and Wu do not disclose the method/apparatus (as cited in claim 26) wherein the mode comprises a spatial adaptation pattern, wherein the spatial adaptation pattern comprises an indication of power value, an indication of power level, an indication of antenna port number, an indication of antenna port subset, an indication of antenna element number, an indication of antenna element subset, a Cell-ID, a SS set index, a CORESET ID, a search space configuration, and a TCI state.
However, Zhou does disclose the method/apparatus (as cited in claim 26) wherein the mode comprises a spatial adaptation pattern, wherein the spatial adaptation pattern comprises an indication of power value, an indication of power level, an indication of antenna port number, an indication of antenna port subset, an indication of antenna element number, an indication of antenna element subset, a Cell-ID, a SS set index, a CORESET ID, a search space configuration, and a TCI state ([0588] [0598] [0599] The wireless device may monitor, via the CORESET, for PDCCH transmissions/receptions using/with a spatial domain reception/receiving filter that may be determined based on a reference signal indicated by the common/unified TCI state. DMRS antenna port(s) of the PDCCH transmissions/receptions maybe quasi co-located with a reference signal indicated by the common/unified TCI state. One or more configuration parameters may indicate a plurality of search space set indexes/identifiers (e.g., provided by a higher layer parameter search Space ld)for the plurality of search space sets. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate the CORESET (and/or a CORESET index of the CORESET)for the search space set (e.g., provided by a higher layer parameter controlResourceSetld in the higherlayerparameterSearchSpace).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha, Cirik, and Wu with the method/apparatus (as cited in claim 26) further comprising: performing repetition if the antenna port number of the mode is smaller than the largest antenna port number within the set of mode as taught by Zhou. The motivation for doing so would be to improved alignment of wireless communications, and which may in turn provide advantages such as reduced retransmissions, reduced overhead signaling, reduced latency, and/or increased efficiency for wireless communications. (Zhou, [0004])
Regarding claim 20, Cha, Cirik, and Wu do not disclose the method further comprising: performing repetition if the antenna port number of the mode is smaller than the largest antenna port number within the set of mode.
However, Zhou does disclose the method further comprising: performing repetition if the antenna port number of the mode is smaller than the largest antenna port number within the set of mode ([0771] The row/entry may comprise/indicate a quantity/number of repetitions (e.g., repetition Number). The quantity/number of repetitions may be, for example, greater than one (or at least two). The antenna port field may indicate DM-RS port(s) within one CDM group. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha, Hindy, and Wu with the method further comprising: performing repetition if the antenna port number of the mode is smaller than the largest antenna port number within the set of mode as taught by Zhou. The motivation for doing so would be to improved alignment of wireless communications, and which may in turn provide advantages such as reduced retransmissions, reduced overhead signaling, reduced latency, and/or increased efficiency for wireless communications. (Cirik, [0004]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Cha et al, US 20210006372 A1, in view of Cirik et al, US 20230254854 A1, and in further view of Kim et al, US 20230024992 A1.
Regarding claim 14, Cha and Cirik do not disclose the method further comprising: receiving a 'timeRestrictionForChannelMeasurement' for channel measurement, wherein the 'timeRestrictionForChannelMeasurement' is set to 'Configured' or 'NotConfigured'
However, Kim does disclose the method further comprising: receiving a 'timeRestrictionForChannelMeasurement' for channel measurement, wherein the 'timeRestrictionForChannelMeasurement' is set to 'Configured' or 'NotConfigured' (TABLE-US-00018 If a UE is not configured with higher layerparametertimeRestrictionForChannelMeasurements, the UE shall derive the channel measurements for computing CSI value reported in uplink slot n based on only the NZP CSI RS. Ifa UE is configured with higher layer parameter timeRestrictionForChannelMeasurementsin CSI-ReportConfig, the UE shall derive the channel measuresents for computing CSI reported in uplink slot n based on only the most recent.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha and Cirik with the method further comprising: receiving a timeRestrictionForChannelMeasurement' for channel measurement, wherein the 'timeRestrictionForChannelMeasurement: is set to "Configured' or 'NotConfigured' as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing so would overhead may be reduced. (Kim, [0106])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419