DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species II (Figs. 7-8) in the reply filed on 26 January 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species are not obvious variants of each other. This is not found persuasive because in the current application it is the thermal component (344 in Fig. 3) in Species I (Figs. 3-4) that is "configured to change" when exposed to a temperature exceeding a designated threshold, whereas it is the spring (742 in Fig. 7) in Species II (Figs. 7-8) that is "configured to change" when exposed to a temperature exceeding a designated threshold.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim(s) 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 26 January 2026.
Claim(s) 9-10 has/have been withdrawn, thus Claims 1-8 and 11-20 filed on 26 January 2026 will be further examined in this action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: "346" in Figs. 3 & 4. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Reference to a Claim in the Specification is considered improper, since the statement might be inconsistent with the Claim in the event that Claims are renumbered or amended. Hence, examiner suggests to replace statements in the Specification such as "Clause 1.” (¶ [0056]), with a description of the features or particular limitations of the claimed apparatus which applicant intends to point out, where appropriate. The Specification is replete with references to “Clauses”, which appears to be in reference to Claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner’s Notes
Claim(s) 2, 11, 15 & 19 (line 1, line 1, lines 1-2 and line 1, respectively) recite(s) the “power system”. However, the “power system” is not affirmatively claimed as part of the “assembly” in Claim(s) 1 and 12 (line 1, respectively) since the housing is “configured to be operably coupled with a surface of a power system” as recited in Claim(s) 1 and 12 (line 2, respectively).
Claim(s) 2 & 15 (lines 1-4, respectively) recite(s) “the surface of the power system includes plural layers, wherein one or more characteristics of one or more of the plural layers are configured to change responsive to the plural layers being exposed to the temperature exceeding the designated threshold.”. The examiner understands the characteristics of the surface is/are outside of the scope of the claim.
Claim(s) 11 & 19 (lines 1-3, respectively) recite(s) “wherein the power system is an aircraft system, and the surface of the power system is a surface of a propulsion system of the aircraft system.” The examiner understands the type of power system and the type of surface is/are outside of the scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-8, 12-14 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ehrlich (US 6203114 B1, see reference in its entirety).
With respect to independent Claim 1, Ehrlich disclose(s):
An assembly (Figs. 2-3) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 3: 80) having a body (see annotated Fig. 3 below) extending between a first end and a second end (see annotated Fig. 3 below) , the first end of the housing configured to be operably coupled with a surface (Fig. 3: 44) of a power system (Fig. 3: 42), the body of the housing extending through a passage (Fig. 3: 78) of the surface of the power system (Fig.3), the housing including one or more interior surfaces defining a cavity (see annotated Fig. 3 below), the cavity having an opening (see annotated Fig. 3 below) proximate the second end of the housing (Fig. 3);
an indicator device (Fig. 3: 82) configured to be disposed within the cavity of the housing (see annotated Fig. 3 below); and
a thermal spring system (Fig. 2: 84 & 86) disposed within the cavity of the housing (Fig. 2) and configured to be engaged with the indicator device (Fig. 2) , the thermal spring system configured to maintain a position of the indicator device within the cavity (Fig. 2) ,
wherein one or more characteristics of the thermal spring system are configured to change (col. 5, line 59) responsive to the thermal spring system being exposed to a temperature exceeding a designated threshold (col. 5, lines 44-66), and
wherein the thermal spring system is configured to control movement of the indicator device to move the indicator device from a first position (Fig. 2 and col. 5, lines 44-66) to a different, second position (Fig. 3 and col. 5, lines 44-66) responsive to the one or more characteristics of the thermal spring system changing (col. 5, line 59), a first portion of the indicator device (see annotated Fig. 3 below) configured to move out of the cavity of the housing responsive to the thermal spring system moving the indicator device to the second position (Fig. 3).
With respect to Claim 3, Ehrlich disclose(s): the assembly of Claim 1.
Ehrlich further disclose(s): wherein the thermal spring system is configured to disengage from a second portion of the indicator device (see annotated Fig. 3 above) responsive to the one or more characteristics of the thermal spring system changing (col. 5, line 59), wherein the thermal spring system is configured to encourage the first portion of the indicator device to move out of the cavity of the housing responsive to the thermal spring system disengaging from the second portion of the indicator device (see annotated Fig. 3 above).
With respect to Claim 5, Ehrlich disclose(s): the assembly of Claim 1.
Ehrlich further disclose(s): wherein the one or more characteristics of the thermal spring system are configured to change (col. 5, line 59) responsive to the thermal spring system being exposed to the temperature exceeding the designated threshold for a determined length of time (col. 5, lines 44-66).
With respect to Claim 6, Ehrlich disclose(s): the assembly of Claim 1.
Ehrlich further disclose(s): wherein the thermal spring system includes a spring device (Fig. 2: 84) and a thermal component (Fig. 2: 86) , the indicator device extending between a third end (Fig. 2: 94) and a fourth end (Fig. 2: 90), wherein the spring device is configured to be operably coupled with the indicator device at a location between the third end and the fourth end of the indicator device (Fig. 2), and the thermal component is configured to be operably coupled with the third end of the indicator device (Fig. 2).
With respect to Claim 7, Ehrlich disclose(s): the assembly of Claim 6.
Ehrlich further disclose(s): wherein the spring device is configured to be in a compressed state prior to the thermal spring system being exposed to the temperature exceeding the designated threshold (Fig. 2: 84 compressed), and the spring device is configured to be in a non-compressed state responsive to the thermal spring system being exposed to the temperature exceeding the designated threshold (Fig. 3: 84 non-compressed).
With respect to Claim 8, Ehrlich disclose(s): the assembly of Claim 6.
Ehrlich further disclose(s): wherein the thermal component has a first shape prior to the thermal spring system being exposed to the temperature exceeding the designated threshold (Fig. 2: 86 first shape), and the thermal component is configured to have a different, second shape responsive to the thermal spring system being exposed to the temperature exceeding the designated threshold (Fig. 3: 86 second shape).
With respect to independent Claim 12, Ehrlich disclose(s):
An assembly (Figs. 2-3) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 3: 80) having a body (see annotated Fig. 3 below) extending between a first end and a second end (see annotated Fig. 3 below) , the first end of the housing configured to be operably coupled with a surface (Fig. 3: 44) of a power system (Fig. 3: 42), the body of the housing extending through a passage (Fig. 3: 78) of the surface of the power system (Fig.3), the housing including one or more interior surfaces defining a cavity (see annotated Fig. 3 below), the cavity having an opening (see annotated Fig. 3 below) proximate the second end of the housing (Fig. 3);
an indicator device (Fig. 3: 82) configured to be disposed within the cavity of the housing (see annotated Fig. 3 below), the indicator device extending between a third end (Fig. 3: 94) and a fourth end (Fig. 3: 90), the fourth end of the indicator device disposed proximate the opening of the cavity (see annotated Fig. 3 below); and
a thermal spring system (Fig. 2: 84 & 86) disposed within the cavity of the housing (Fig. 2) and configured to be engaged with the indicator device (Fig. 2) , the thermal spring system configured to maintain a position of the indicator device within the cavity (Fig. 2) , the thermal spring system including a spring device (Fig. 2: 84) and a thermal component (Fig. 2: 86) , wherein the spring device is configured to be operably coupled with the indicator device at a location between the third end and the fourth end of the indicator device (Fig. 2), and the thermal component is configured to be operably coupled with the third end of the indicator device (Fig. 2),
wherein one or more characteristics of the thermal component are configured to change (col. 5, line 59) responsive to the thermal component of the thermal spring system being exposed to a temperature exceeding a designated threshold (col. 5, lines 44-66), and
wherein the thermal spring system is configured to control movement of the indicator device to move the indicator device from a first position (Fig. 2 and col. 5, lines 44-66) to a second position (Fig. 3 and col. 5, lines 44-66) responsive to the one or more characteristics of the thermal component changing (col. 5, line 59) a portion of the fourth end of the indicator device (see annotated Fig. 3 below) configured to move out of the cavity of the housing responsive to the thermal spring system moving the indicator device from the first position (Fig. 2) to the second position (Fig. 3).
With respect to Claim 13, Ehrlich disclose(s): the assembly of Claim 12.
Ehrlich further disclose(s): wherein the one or more characteristics of the thermal component are configured to change (col. 5, line 59) responsive to the thermal component being exposed to the temperature exceeding the designated threshold for a determined length of time (col. 5, lines 44-66).
With respect to Claim 14, Ehrlich disclose(s): the assembly of Claim 12.
Ehrlich further disclose(s): wherein the third end of the indicator device is configured to disengage from the thermal spring system (Fig. 3) responsive to the one or more characteristics of the thermal spring system changing (col. 5, line 59), wherein the spring device is configured to encourage the fourth end of the indicator device to move out of the cavity of the housing responsive to the third end of the indicator device disengaging from the thermal component of the thermal spring system (Fig. 3).
With respect to Claim 16, Ehrlich disclose(s): the assembly of Claim 12.
Ehrlich further disclose(s): wherein the spring device is configured to be in a compressed state prior to the thermal component being exposed to the temperature exceeding the designated threshold (Fig. 2: 84 compressed), and the spring device is configured to be in a non-compressed state responsive to the thermal spring system being exposed to the temperature exceeding the designated threshold (Fig. 3: 84 non-compressed).
With respect to Claim 17, Ehrlich disclose(s): the assembly of Claim 12.
Ehrlich further disclose(s): wherein the thermal component has a first shape prior to the thermal component being exposed to the temperature exceeding the designated threshold (Fig. 2: 86 first shape), and the thermal component is configured to have a different, second shape responsive to the thermal spring system being exposed to the temperature exceeding the designated threshold (Fig. 3: 86 second shape).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehrlich .
Regarding Claim(s) 2, Ehrlich disclose(s) the assembly of Claim 1.
Ehrlich further disclose(s): wherein the surface of the power system includes a layer (Fig. 3: 44), wherein one or more characteristics of one layer is configured to change responsive to the layer being exposed to the temperature exceeding the designated threshold (Fig. 3 and col. 2 lines 30-42 and col. 5, lines 44-66; when the elements of the hub having the surface reach an unsafe temperature the indicator pops outwardly to alert a user that an unsafe temperature has been reached, thus the heat characteristic of the layer of the surface increases responsive the layer being exposed to an unsafe temperature which is a temperature that exceeds the designated safe threshold)
Ehrlich does not specifically disclose: plural layers.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a number of layers (i.e. a plurality), since it has been held that the mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI (B)).
Here the number of layers (i.e. a plurality) does not appear to be significant to the function of the assembly, thus noting number of layers is absent any criticality, nor would it adversely affect the function of the assembly of Ehrlich.
Therefore, one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would use a plurality of the layer in order to increase durability of the system.
Regarding Claim(s) 4, Ehrlich disclose(s) the assembly of Claim 1.
Ehrlich further disclose(s): wherein the surface of the power system includes a layer (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 1-2: 44), wherein the thermal spring system is manufactured of one or more materials (Fig. 3 and col. 5, line 21: 86), wherein at least one of the plural layers and at least one of the one or more materials of the thermal spring system have a common material property (col. 4, lines 1-2 and col. 5, line 21: surface 44 is of metal material and the thermal system includes thermal component 86 which is solder which is a metallic alloy, thus having a common material property)
Ehrlich does not specifically disclose: plural layers.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a number of layers (i.e. a plurality operably coupled with each other), since it has been held that the mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI (B) ).
Here the number of layers (i.e. a plurality operably coupled with each other) does not appear to be significant to the function of the assembly, thus noting number of layers is absent any criticality, nor would it adversely affect the function of the assembly of Ehrlich.
Therefore, one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would use a plurality of the layer in order to increase durability of the assembly.
Regarding Claim(s) 15, Ehrlich disclose(s) the assembly of Claim 12.
Ehrlich further disclose(s): wherein the surface of the power system includes a layer (Fig. 3: 44), wherein one or more characteristics of one layer is configured to change responsive to the layer being exposed to the temperature exceeding the designated threshold (Fig. 3 and col. 2 lines 30-42 and col. 5, lines 44-66; when the elements of the hub having the surface reach an unsafe temperature the indicator pops outwardly to alert a user that an unsafe temperature has been reached, thus the heat characteristic of the layer of the surface increases responsive the layer being exposed to an unsafe temperature which is a temperature that exceeds the designated safe threshold).
Ehrlich does not specifically disclose: plural layers.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a number of layers (i.e. a plurality), since it has been held that the mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI (B) ).
Here the number of layers (i.e. a plurality) does not appear to be significant to the function of the assembly, thus noting number of layers is absent any criticality, nor would it adversely affect the function of the assembly of Ehrlich.
Therefore, one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would use a plurality of the layer in order to increase durability of the assembly.
Regarding Claim(s) 18, Ehrlich disclose(s) the assembly of Claim 12.
Ehrlich further disclose(s): wherein the surface of the power system includes a layer (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 1-2: 44), wherein a material of the thermal component of the thermal spring system (Fig. 3 and col. 5, line 21: 86) and at least one of the layer have a common material property (col. 4, lines 1-2 and col. 5, line 21: surface 44 is of metal material and the thermal system includes thermal component 86 which is solder which is a metallic alloy, thus having a common material property)
Ehrlich does not specifically disclose: plural layers.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a number of layers (i.e. a plurality operably coupled with each other), since it has been held that the mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI (B) ).
Here the number of layers (i.e. a plurality operably coupled with each other) does not appear to be significant to the function of the assembly, thus noting number of layers is absent any criticality, nor would it adversely affect the function of the assembly of Ehrlich.
Therefore, one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would use a plurality of the layer in order to increase durability of the assembly.
Claim(s) 11 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehrlich in view of Lindberg, Jr (US 3277860, see reference in its entirety).
Regarding Claim(s) 11, Ehrlich disclose(s) the assembly of Claim 1.
Ehrlich does not specifically disclose: wherein the power system is an aircraft system, and the surface of the power system is a surface of a propulsion system of the aircraft system.
However, Lindberg teach(es) an assembly (Fig. 10) including wherein the power system is an aircraft system (Fig. 2: 60), and the surface of the power system is a surface of a propulsion system of the aircraft system (Fig. 2: 61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ehrlich, with the teachings of Lindberg, for the purpose of detecting overheat conditions in any vehicle (col. 1, lines 43-45; this assembly may be placed in any vehicle in order to detect overheating, so placing it in an aircraft system or another vehicle allows for overheating to be detected).
Regarding Claim(s) 19, Ehrlich disclose(s) the assembly of Claim 12.
Ehrlich does not specifically disclose: wherein the power system is an aircraft system, and wherein the surface is a surface of a propulsion system of the aircraft system.
However, Lindberg teach(es) an assembly (Fig. 10) including wherein the power system is an aircraft system (Fig. 2: 60), and wherein the surface is a surface of a propulsion system of the aircraft system (Fig. 2: 61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ehrlich, with the teachings of Lindberg, for the purpose of detecting overheat conditions in any vehicle (col. 1, lines 43-45; this assembly may be placed in any vehicle in order to detect overheating, so placing it in an aircraft system or another vehicle allows for overheating to be detected).
With respect to independent Claim 20, Ehrlich disclose(s):
A thermal detection assembly (Figs. 2-3) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 3: 80) having a body (see annotated Fig. 3 below) extending between a first end and a second end (see annotated Fig. 3 below) , the first end of the housing configured to be operably coupled with a surface (Fig. 3: 44) of a system (Fig. 3: 42), the body of the housing extending through a passage (Fig. 3: 78) of the surface of the system (Fig.3), the housing including one or more interior surfaces defining a cavity (see annotated Fig. 3 below), the cavity having an opening (see annotated Fig. 3 below) proximate the second end of the housing (Fig. 3);
an indicator device (Fig. 3: 82) configured to be disposed within the cavity of the housing (see annotated Fig. 3 below); and
a thermal spring system (Fig. 2: 84 & 86) disposed within the cavity of the housing (Fig. 2) and configured to be engaged with the indicator device (Fig. 2) , the thermal spring system configured to maintain a position of the indicator device within the cavity (Fig. 2) ,
wherein one or more characteristics of the thermal spring system are configured to change (col. 5, line 59) responsive to the thermal spring system being exposed to an amount of thermal energy generated by the system exceeding a designated threshold (col. 5, lines 44-66), and
wherein the thermal spring system is configured to encourage a portion of the indicator device to move the indicator device out of the cavity of the housing (Fig. 3 and col. 5, lines 44-66) responsive to the one or more characteristics of the thermal spring system changing (col. 5, line 59).
Ehrlich does not specifically disclose: wherein the surface is a surface of a propulsion system of the aircraft system.
However, Lindberg teach(es) an assembly (Fig. 10) including: wherein the surface is a surface of a propulsion system of the aircraft system (Fig. 2: 61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ehrlich, with the teachings of Lindberg, for the purpose of detecting overheat conditions in any vehicle (col. 1, lines 43-45; this assembly may be placed in any vehicle in order to detect overheating, so placing it in an aircraft system or another vehicle allows for overheating to be detected).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
The following reference(s) relate(s) to thermal detection systems: Quinn (US 2484585); Busch et al. (US 4818119); Kinney (US 5203278); Durand (US 4034698); Gilman et al. (US 5642717); Kuze (US 5033865); Kelly, Jr. et al. (US 6546892 B2); Steinke et al. (US 5046447); Maynard et al. (US 4947786); Belmont (US 4119284); Petrakis (US 7607402 B2);
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TC/
05 March 2026
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855