DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to amendments filed on 02/10/2026.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-11, 13, 17, and 19 are amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and remarks with regards to the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The primary argument presented is that the cited reference to Muhammad fails to disclose “a low-power mode associated with a periodic pattern comprising an active time-slot and an inactive time-slot”. However, without any recitations in the claims as to what the pattern is, or what the specifics of the periodicity are, then the teachings of Muhammad ae believed to meet the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims. Namely, in figure 9 for example, each advanced sleep mode (e.g. mode 1, mode 2, mode 3, mode 4; each represented by the solid lines in the figure) comprises a pattern of active states and inactivity periods, each mode having a specific periodicity, with mode 1 having the shortest inactivity period and mode 4 having the longest inactivity period. Thus, the reference is believed to meet the limitation.
The independent claims have also been amended to recite “scheduling transmission of network connection information and reception of connection request messages by the physical layer equipment during the active time slot…”. Firstly, it is believed that “transmission of network connection information and reception of connection request messages” refers to an access procedure, for example, which can be performed via SIB1, SSB, and/or PRACH. Secondly, it is well known in the art that for power saving purposes, transmission/reception will – primarily – occur during active states and the device(s) will sleep during inactive periods. In the Muhammad reference it is taught that sleep modes can be applied to physical layer equipment (equivalent to an O-RU), which will perform SSB/PRACH procedures (which are interpreted as comprising both transmission and reception messages) during active states of, at least, a light sleep mode, for example (paragraphs 0244, 0249, 0320; Table 2). Thus, Muhammad is believed to meet the claims as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-13, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Muhammad (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0267841).
Regarding claim 1 Muhammad discloses a system, comprising:
at least one memory that stores executable instructions (paragraph 0027; functional blocks are realized by the cooperation of hardware resources, such as the central processing unit, memory); and
at least one processor that executes the executable instructions stored in the at least one memory (paragraph 0027; functional blocks are realized by the cooperation of hardware resources, such as the central processing unit, memory), wherein the executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, facilitate performance operations comprising:
setting physical layer equipment, associated with a cell of a communication network (paragraph 0030; unit 12 sets energy saving mode for an O-RU, which is here interpreted as the physical layer equipment), in a low-power mode based on an indication that a number of user equipment devices actively connected to the cell is no greater than a threshold number (paragraphs 0027, 0030, 0046, 0057, 0062, 0070; wherein cell load is part of the data used by the system to change the energy saving mode for O-RU), wherein the low-power mode is associated with a periodic pattern comprising an active time slot and an inactive time slot (wherein, as per figures 5-6, each energy saving mode comprises a periodic pattern of sleep/active slots); and
in response to the physical layer equipment being set in the low-power mode, scheduling transmission of network connection information and reception of connection request messages by the physical layer equipment during the active time slot and deactivating at least a portion of the physical layer equipment during the inactive time slot (paragraphs 0053-0055; wherein the unit 13 manages the active/sleep periods for the O-RU for each energy saving mode).
Regarding claim 2 Muhammad discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the instructions further comprise receiving the periodic pattern via a configuration message provided by data link layer equipment (paragraphs 0017-0018, 0039, 0047, 0053; wherein an O-DU, herein interpreted as the data link layer (or L2) equipment provides configuration information to the O-RU for energy saving modes).
Regarding claim 3 Muhammad discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the configuration message comprises a length of the periodic pattern and a bitmap, the bitmap indicating a first position of the active time slot relative to the periodic pattern and a second position of the inactive time slot relative to the periodic pattern (paragraphs 0029-0039; wherein the configuration for each energy saving mode comprises the duration and slots for active/sleep periods).
Regarding claim 4 Muhammad discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the low-power mode is a first low-power mode, the periodic pattern is a first periodic pattern, the active time slot is a first active time slot (see figure 5, each energy saving mode comprises a specific pattern), and the operations further comprise: transitioning the physical layer equipment from the first low-power mode to a second low-power mode in response to the physical layer equipment detecting a connection request message, of the connection request messages, during the first active time slot while in the first low-power mode (paragraph 0045; when it establishes a communication-ready carrier), the second low-power mode being associated with a second periodic pattern comprising the first active time slot, a second active time slot that is not the first active time slot, and the inactive time slot (paragraphs 0046, 0052-0054; wherein the energy saving mode is switched, in response to a communication establishment, the mode can be changed from any of the modes as seen in figures 7-8).
Regarding claim 10 Muhammad discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the physical layer equipment is first physical layer equipment and associated with distributed unit equipment (figures 1, 4; O-RU is part of the distributed base station), and wherein the operations further comprise: conveying the periodic pattern from the first physical layer equipment to second physical layer equipment associated with radio unit equipment (paragraphs 0016, 0027-0028; energy saving schedule communicated from O-CU to O-RU, both part of the distributed base station).
Regarding claim 11 Muhammad discloses a method, comprising:
facilitating, by a device comprising at least one processor, altering a communication schedule of physical layer equipment, associated with a cell of a communication network (paragraph 0030; unit 12 sets energy saving mode for an O-RU, which is here interpreted as the physical layer equipment), from an active schedule to a sleep schedule in response to no user equipment being determined to be actively connected to the cell (paragraphs 0027, 0030, 0046, 0057, 0062, 0070; wherein cell load is part of the data used by the system to change the energy saving mode for O-RU), wherein the sleep schedule repeats at intervals of a period and comprises active time slots and inactive time slots (wherein, as per figures 5-6, each energy saving mode comprises a periodic pattern of sleep/active slots); an
in response to the facilitating of the altering, scheduling, by the device, transmission of a network connection message by the physical layer equipment and reception of connection request messages by the physical layer equipment during an active time slot of the active time slots, and deactivating, by the device, the physical layer equipment during an inactive time slot of the inactive time slots (paragraphs 0053-0055; wherein the unit 13 manages the active/sleep periods for the O-RU for each energy saving mode).
Regarding claim 12 Muhammad discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: receiving, by the device, the sleep schedule via a configuration message provided by data link layer equipment (paragraphs 0017-0018, 0039, 0047, 0053; wherein an O-DU, herein interpreted as the data link layer (or L2) equipment provides configuration information to the O-RU for energy saving modes), the configuration message comprising a length of the period and a bitmap indicative of positions of the active time slots and the inactive time slots within the sleep schedule (paragraphs 0029-0039; wherein the configuration for each energy saving mode comprises the duration and slots for active/sleep periods).
Regarding claim 13 Muhammad discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the active time slot is a first active time slot, wherein the inactive time slot is a first inactive time slot (see figure 5, each energy saving mode comprises a specific pattern), and wherein the method further comprises: modifying, by the device in response to the physical layer equipment detecting a connection request message, of the connection request messages, during the first active time slot while using the sleep schedule (paragraph 0045; when it establishes a communication-ready carrier), the sleep schedule by converting at least one second inactive time slot of the inactive time slots to a second active time slot of the active time slots, resulting in a modified sleep schedule (paragraphs 0046, 0052-0054; wherein the energy saving mode is switched, in response to a communication establishment, the mode can be changed from any of the modes as seen in figures 7-8).
Regarding claim 16 Muhammad discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the physical layer equipment is first physical layer equipment of distributed unit equipment (figures 1, 4; O-RU is part of the distributed base station), and wherein the method further comprises: conveying, by the device, the sleep schedule from the first physical layer equipment to second physical layer equipment of radio unit equipment (paragraphs 0016, 0027-0028; energy saving schedule communicated from O-CU to O-RU, both part of the distributed base station).
Regarding claim 17 Muhammad discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising computer executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
assigning a low-power communication schedule to Layer 1 equipment associated with a cell of a communication network (paragraph 0030; unit 12 sets energy saving mode for an O-RU, which is here interpreted as the physical layer equipment) based on an indication that a number of network devices actively connected to the cell is less than a threshold number (paragraphs 0027, 0030, 0046, 0057, 0062, 0070; wherein cell load is part of the data used by the system to change the energy saving mode for O-RU), wherein the low-power communication schedule repeats at intervals of a period and comprises an active time slot and inactive time slots (wherein, as per figures 5-6, each energy saving mode comprises a periodic pattern of sleep/active slots); and
in response to the assigning, facilitating transmission of network attachment information by the Layer 1 equipment and reception of connection request messages by the Layer 1 equipment during the active time slot, and disabling at least a portion of the Layer 1 equipment during the inactive time slots (paragraphs 0053-0055; wherein the unit 13 manages the active/sleep periods for the O-RU for each energy saving mode).
Regarding claim 18 Muhammad discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a configuration message from Layer 2 equipment (paragraphs 0017-0018, 0039, 0047, 0053; wherein an O-DU, herein interpreted as the data link layer (or L2) equipment provides configuration information to the O-RU for energy saving modes), the configuration message comprising a length of the period and a bitmap indicative of positions of the active time slot and the inactive time slots within the low-power communication schedule (paragraphs 0029-0039; wherein the configuration for each energy saving mode comprises the duration and slots for active/sleep periods).
Regarding claim 19 Muhammad discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the low-power communication schedule is a first low-power communication schedule, wherein the active time slot is a first active time slot (see figure 5, each energy saving mode comprises a specific pattern), and wherein the operations further comprise: in response to the Layer 1 equipment detecting a connection request message, of the connection request messages, during the first active time slot while using the first low-power communication schedule (paragraph 0045; when it establishes a communication-ready carrier), converting an inactive time slot of the inactive time slots within the first low-power communication schedule to a second active time slot, resulting in a second low-power communication schedule (paragraphs 0046, 0052-0054; wherein the energy saving mode is switched, in response to a communication establishment, the mode can be changed from any of the modes as seen in figures 7-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-9, 14-15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muhammad in view of Muhammad et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0203505).
Regarding claim 5 Muhammad discloses the system of claim 4. Muhammad does not explicitly disclose but Muhammad et al., in the same field of endeavor related to energy saving in a network, discloses wherein the operations further comprise: in response to the detecting of the connection request message, initiating a device connection procedure (paragraphs 0162-0165, 0195, Table 2 in page 17; wherein a light sleep mode, for example, can be applied to a O-RU and that sleep/start pattern as seen in figure 9 can be followed in the presence of a PRACH). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Muhammad with the teachings of Muhammad et al., in order to reduce power consumption of a base station (Muhammad et al.: paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 6 Muhammad discloses the system of claim 5. Muhammad does not explicitly disclose but Muhammad et al., in the same field of endeavor related to energy saving in a network, discloses wherein the operations further comprise: transitioning the physical layer equipment from the second low-power mode to the first low-power mode in response to the device connection procedure being determined to have not successfully completed within a defined time interval (paragraphs 0153-0174, 0180; wherein the O-RU would follow the pattern set in figure 9 and described in the paragraphs, where it would go to sleep or active at predetermined periods, and/or extended periods as necessitated based on the presence of TX/RX information). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Muhammad with the teachings of Muhammad et al., in order to reduce power consumption of a base station (Muhammad et al.: paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 7 Muhammad discloses the system of claim 5. Muhammad does not explicitly disclose but Muhammad et al., in the same field of endeavor related to energy saving in a network, discloses wherein the operations further comprise: transitioning the physical layer equipment from the second low-power mode to an active mode in response to the device connection procedure being determined to have successfully completed (paragraphs 0153-0174, 0180; wherein the O-RU would follow the pattern set in figure 9 and described in the paragraphs, where it would go to sleep or active at predetermined periods, and/or extended periods as necessitated based on the presence of TX/RX information). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Muhammad with the teachings of Muhammad et al., in order to reduce power consumption of a base station (Muhammad et al.: paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 8 Muhammad discloses the system of claim 1. Muhammad does not explicitly disclose but Muhammad et al., in the same field of endeavor related to energy saving in a network, discloses wherein the physical layer equipment utilizes time division duplexing, wherein the active time slot is a first active time slot, and wherein the periodic pattern further comprises a second active time slot that is temporally adjacent to the first active time slot (paragraphs 0158, 0257; it is believed the new radio/5G utilizes TDD for uplink/downlink transmission over a frequency band; figure 9 shows the active slots periodicity for the different energy saving modes). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Muhammad with the teachings of Muhammad et al., in order to reduce power consumption of a base station (Muhammad et al.: paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 9 Muhammad discloses the system of claim 1. Muhammad does not explicitly disclose but Muhammad et al., in the same field of endeavor related to energy saving in a network, discloses wherein the network connection information comprises a system information block (paragraph 0320; via an SIB slot), and wherein the operations further comprise: transmitting data relating to the periodic pattern with the system information block during the active time slot (paragraphs 0071 0085-0087; configuring the O-RU during active times before configuring the energy saving mode). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Muhammad with the teachings of Muhammad et al., in order to reduce power consumption of a base station (Muhammad et al.: paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 14 Muhammad discloses the method of claim 13. Muhammad does not explicitly disclose but Muhammad et al., in the same field of endeavor related to energy saving in a network, discloses further comprising: facilitating, by the device in response to the detecting of the connection request message, initiating a connection establishment procedure by the physical layer equipment (paragraphs 0162-0165, 0195, Table 2 in page 17; wherein a light sleep mode, for example, can be applied to a O-RU and that sleep/start pattern as seen in figure 9 can be followed in the presence of a PRACH). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Muhammad with the teachings of Muhammad et al., in order to reduce power consumption of a base station (Muhammad et al.: paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 15 Muhammad discloses the method of claim 14. Muhammad does not explicitly disclose but Muhammad et al., in the same field of endeavor related to energy saving in a network, discloses further comprising: returning, by the device in response to the connection establishment procedure being determined not to have successfully completed within a time interval, the communication schedule of the physical layer equipment to the sleep schedule from the modified sleep schedule (paragraphs 0153-0174, 0180; wherein the O-RU would follow the pattern set in figure 9 and described in the paragraphs, where it would go to sleep or active at predetermined periods, and/or extended periods as necessitated based on the presence of TX/RX information). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Muhammad with the teachings of Muhammad et al., in order to reduce power consumption of a base station (Muhammad et al.: paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 20 Muhammad discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 19. Muhammad does not explicitly disclose but Muhammad et al., in the same field of endeavor related to energy saving in a network, discloses wherein the operations further comprise: in response to the detecting of the connection request message, initiating a connection establishment procedure by the Layer 1 equipment during the second active time slot (paragraphs 0162-0165, 0195, Table 2 in page 17; wherein a light sleep mode, for example, can be applied to a O-RU and that sleep/start pattern as seen in figure 9 can be followed in the presence of a PRACH); and in response to failure of the connection establishment procedure, returning the Layer 1 equipment to the first low-power communication schedule (paragraphs 0153-0174, 0180; wherein the O-RU would follow the pattern set in figure 9 and described in the paragraphs, where it would go to sleep or active at predetermined periods, and/or extended periods as necessitated based on the presence of TX/RX information). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Muhammad with the teachings of Muhammad et al., in order to reduce power consumption of a base station (Muhammad et al.: paragraph 0002).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Application Publication 2025/0212114 to Sha et al. – that discloses a system for saving power consumption of network element in wireless communications. One method performed by a first NE including transmitting a first message to a second NE, the first message comprising power saving information, the power saving information comprises an indication of an update to a power saving status of a cell managed by the first NE, the power saving status of the cell comprising at least one of: a deep sleep mode; a light sleep mode; a normal mode.
US Patent Application Publication 2025/0338226 to Hur et al. – which teaches a radio unit (RU) is provided. The electronic device includes memory, including one or more storage media, storing instructions, at least one transceiver, and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver and the memory, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the RU to receive, from a distributed unit (DU), through at least one transceiver of the electronic device, a configuration request message to configure a low-power mode that deactivates at least one component of the RU, the configuration request message including cycle information indicating a transmission cycle of a test request message.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466