DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 6/9/26, the following has occurred: new Claims 20-22 have been added.
Claims 1-22 are pending. This communication is a Non-Final Rejection in response to the "Amendment" and "Remarks" filed on 6/9/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7, 11, 12, 15-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180131047 (US’047) in view of US 20180233732 (US’732).
As to Claim 1:
US’047 discloses a cell contacting system for an electrical battery module, namely carrier assembly 110 on battery module 102, which includes a plurality of battery cells 108 (US’047, [0021]–[0023]); a carrier structure, namely tray 112 of carrier assembly 110 (US’047, [0005]–[0006], [0023], [0042]–[0043]); and a plurality of cell contacting elements arranged on the carrier structure and electrically contacting a plurality of battery cells, namely tray-held busbars 130 that electrically connect cell terminals of adjacent battery cells 108 (US’047, [0005]–[0006], [0023], [0027]–[0028]).
US’047 further discloses a plurality of power connections electrically connected to the cell contacting elements, namely positive and negative battery terminals configured to couple to external power cables or to be bussed to another battery module, in a battery module having busbars 130 that electrically connect the cell terminals (US’047, [0022]–[0023], [0027]–[0028]); and a measuring arrangement measuring a parameter of the electrical battery module and connected to the cell contacting system, namely connector assembly 114, including connector 116, wire assembly 118, and voltage sensors 136 associated with busbars 130 to monitor battery-cell voltage (US’047, [0019]–[0020], [0023]–[0024], [0029]).
US’047 additionally discloses that the measuring arrangement has a sensor element connected to a connection contact through a sensor line, namely voltage sensor 136 associated with busbar 130 and wires 140 of wire assembly 118, each wire having a busbar end terminated to the voltage sensor and a terminal end terminated to a terminal of connector 116 (US’047, [0024], [0029], [0031], [0040]); and that a monitoring device is connectable to the measuring arrangement through the connection contact, because connector 116 is configured to mate with control-module connector 106 of battery control module 104, which monitors voltage and temperature of battery module 102 (US’047, [0019]–[0020], [0024], [0041]).
US’047 also discloses that the sensor element is connected to at least one cell contacting element and measures the parameter. In particular, voltage sensor 136 may be an integral part of busbar 130, may be a pad on a busbar plate, and is electrically connected through connector assembly 114 to monitor voltage across busbar 130 between associated battery cells 108 (US’047, [0024], [0029]).
However, US’047 does not expressly disclose that the sensor element itself is fastened on a cell contacting element by a retaining element formed on that cell contacting element. Although US’047 teaches strain-relief tab 138 formed from a busbar plate and folded to pinch the insulation of wire 140 near voltage sensor 136, it describes that tab as securing the wire and reducing strain at the wire-to-sensor connection point (US’047, [0030]).
US’732 discloses the missing sensor-retention limitation. US’732 teaches a cell connector 1 having first and second connecting regions 21, 22 electrically connected to respective first and second battery cells and a location region 3 for temperature sensor 7 (US’732, [0006]–[0012], [0022]–[0030]). Location region 3 includes first section 31 forming receptacle 8 for temperature sensor 7 and second section 32 that at least partially closes the receptacle after sensor 7 is accommodated (US’732, [0026]–[0028], [0061]–[0063], [0081]–[0086]; claim 6). The location region and cell connector are each configured as one-piece components (US’732, [0052]; claim 2), and deformation of third section 33 causes second section 32 to close the receptacle with the sensor inside, fastening the sensor by an interference fit and/or force fit (US’732, [0034]–[0036], [0084]–[0086]). US’732 also teaches that temperature sensor 7 has terminal 71 connected to signal line 72 (US’732, [0022], [0033], [0061]; claim 6).
US’047 and US’732 are analogous arts because both concern electrical interconnection structures for plural battery cells in a battery module and sensor arrangements for monitoring cell conditions. US’047 discloses tray-held busbars, voltage and temperature sensors, wire assemblies, connectors, and a battery control module (US’047, [0019]–[0031]), while US’732 discloses a cell connector for electrically connecting battery cells and locating a temperature sensor on that connector (US’732, [0001]–[0014], [0022]–[0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify busbars 130 of US’047 to include the one-piece location region, receptacle, and closing section taught by US’732, thereby fastening a temperature sensor on a cell-contacting element by a retaining element formed on that element. US’047 already teaches a carrier-mounted busbar system having sensor wires routed between busbar-associated sensors and connector 116 for monitoring by battery control module 104. US’732 teaches that its connector-formed location region provides a mechanically stable receptacle for the temperature sensor and permits the sensor to be fitted to the cell connector in a simple manner (US’732, [0013]–[0014]). The modification would provide US’047’s sensor-and-monitoring arrangement with US’732’s disclosed connector-formed sensor-retention structure.
As to Claim 6:
US’047 discloses the cell-contacting system of claim 1 for the reasons stated in the rejection of claim 1. US’047 teaches tray 112 holding busbars 130 for electrically interconnecting battery cells, and connector assembly 114 having wires coupled between busbar-associated voltage sensors and connector 116 for monitoring by battery control module 104 (US’047, [0019]–[0031], [0040]–[0044]).
However, US’047 does not expressly disclose that the retaining element defines a receiving space that receives the sensor element. US’047’s strain-relief tab 138 pinches insulation of wire 140 near voltage sensor 136, rather than defining a receiving space for the sensor (US’047, [0030]).
US’732 discloses the missing limitation. US’732 teaches cell connector 1 having location region 3 for temperature sensor 7, wherein first section 31 defines receptacle 8 and temperature sensor 7 is accommodated in that receptacle (US’732, [0025]–[0028], [0061]–[0063], [0075]–[0079]). Second section 32 at least partially closes receptacle 8 with temperature sensor 7 contained therein, thereby retaining the sensor in the receiving space (US’732, [0027]–[0028], [0061]–[0069]). US’732 further teaches forming the receptacle, accommodating the temperature sensor therein, and deforming third section 33 to cause second section 32 to close the receptacle (US’732, [0034]–[0036], [0081]–[0086]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the busbar-associated sensor arrangement of US’047 to include US’732’s location region having receptacle 8, thereby providing a retaining element that defines a receiving space for the sensor element. US’732 teaches that its receptacle provides a mechanically stable location for the temperature sensor and permits simple fitting of the sensor to the cell connector (US’732, [0013]–[0014], [0034]–[0036]).
As to Claim 7:
US’047 discloses the cell-contacting system of claim 6 for the reasons stated in the rejection of claim 6. US’047 teaches tray 112 holding busbars 130 for electrically interconnecting battery cells, and connector assembly 114 having wires coupled between busbar-associated voltage sensors and connector 116 for monitoring by battery control module 104 (US’047, [0019]–[0031], [0040]–[0044]).
However, US’047 does not expressly disclose inserting a sensor element into a receiving space of a retaining element to fasten the sensor element on the retaining element. US’047’s strain-relief tab 138 pinches wire insulation near voltage sensor 136; it does not define a sensor receiving space into which the sensor is accommodated (US’047, [0030]).
US’732 discloses the missing limitation. US’732 teaches that first section 31 of location region 3 constitutes receptacle 8 for temperature sensor 7 (US’732, [0026]–[0028], [0061]–[0063]). US’732 further teaches, in a third process step, accommodating temperature sensor 7 in receptacle 8 and, thereafter, deforming third section 33 so that second section 32 at least partially closes receptacle 8 with the temperature sensor arranged therein, fastening the sensor in an interference fit and/or force fit (US’732, [0034]–[0036], [0081]–[0086]). Thus, US’732 teaches inserting the sensor element into the receiving space and retaining it on the cell connector.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the busbar-associated sensor arrangement of US’047 to include US’732’s receptacle and sensor-accommodation process, thereby inserting the sensor element into a receiving space and fastening it on the retaining element. US’732 teaches that this arrangement provides a mechanically stable sensor receptacle and permits simple fitting of the sensor to the cell connector (US’732, [0013]–[0014], [0034]–[0036]).
As to Claim 11:
US’047 discloses the cell-contacting system of claim 1 for the reasons stated in the rejection of claim 1. US’047 additionally discloses that the measured parameter is temperature and that the sensor element is a temperature sensor. In particular, battery control module 104 monitors the temperature of battery module 102, and connector assemblies 114 are electrically coupled to temperature sensors within the battery module and route the sensor connections to battery control module 104 (US’047, [0019]–[0020]). US’047 further teaches that wires 140 of wire assembly 118 may be routed to sensors other than voltage sensors, including a temperature sensor (US’047, [0031]).
However, US’047 does not expressly disclose that the temperature sensor is fastened on a cell-contacting element by a retaining element formed on that cell-contacting element. US’047’s strain-relief tab 138 is formed from the busbar plate and pinches insulation of wire 140 near voltage sensor 136; it is described as securing the wire and reducing strain at the wire-to-sensor connection point (US’047, [0030]).
US’732 discloses the missing sensor-retention limitation in a temperature-sensing arrangement. US’732 teaches cell connector 1 having first and second connecting regions 21 and 22 for electrically connecting respective battery cells and location region 3 for temperature sensor 7 (US’732, [0006]–[0012], [0022]–[0030]). First section 31 of location region 3 forms receptacle 8, temperature sensor 7 is accommodated in receptacle 8, and second section 32 at least partially closes the receptacle after the sensor is accommodated (US’732, [0026]–[0028], [0061]–[0069], [0075]–[0079]). Location region 3 and cell connector 1 are configured as one-piece components (US’732, [0052]), and deformation of third section 33 causes second section 32 to close the receptacle and fasten temperature sensor 7 by an interference fit and/or force fit (US’732, [0034]–[0036], [0081]–[0086]). US’732 also teaches that terminal 71 of temperature sensor 7 is connected to signal line 72 (US’732, [0022], [0033], [0061]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the busbar-associated temperature-sensor arrangement of US’047 to include US’732’s one-piece location region, receptacle, and closing section, thereby fastening a temperature sensor on a cell-contacting element by a retaining element formed on that element. US’732 teaches that its location region provides a mechanically stable receptacle for the temperature sensor and permits simple fitting of the sensor to the cell connector (US’732, [0013]–[0014], [0034]–[0036]).
As to Claim 12:
US’047 discloses the cell-contacting system of claim 11 for the reasons stated in the rejection of claim 11. US’047 teaches that battery control module 104 monitors the temperature of battery module 102, and that connector assemblies 114 are electrically coupled to temperature sensors within the battery module and route the sensor connections to battery control module 104 (US’047, [0019]–[0020]). US’047 further teaches that wires 140 may be routed to a temperature sensor (US’047, [0031]).
However, US’047 does not expressly disclose fastening the temperature sensor on a cell-contacting element in a thermally conductive manner by a retaining element formed on that cell-contacting element. US’047’s strain-relief tab 138 pinches insulation of wire 140 near voltage sensor 136, but is described as securing the wire and reducing strain at the wire-to-sensor connection point (US’047, [0030]).
US’732 discloses the missing limitation. US’732 teaches cell connector 1 having location region 3, in which first section 31 defines receptacle 8 for temperature sensor 7 and second section 32 at least partially closes the receptacle with the temperature sensor accommodated therein (US’732, [0025]–[0028], [0061]–[0069]). Deformation of third section 33 causes second section 32 to close receptacle 8 and fasten temperature sensor 7 by an interference fit and/or force fit (US’732, [0034]–[0036], [0081]–[0086]). US’732 additionally teaches providing adhesive bonding between temperature sensor 7 and receptacle 8 and employing thermally conductive paste to enhance thermal conductivity between the temperature sensor and the cell connector in the receptacle; the adhesive may also be designed to increase that thermal conductivity (US’732, [0029]). Thus, US’732 teaches retaining temperature sensor 7 in the connector-formed location region in a thermally conductive manner.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the busbar-associated temperature-sensor arrangement of US’047 to include US’732’s connector-formed receptacle, closing section, and thermally conductive paste or adhesive arrangement, thereby fastening the temperature sensor on the cell-contacting element in a thermally conductive manner. US’732 teaches that the location region provides a mechanically stable sensor receptacle and permits simple fitting of the sensor to the cell connector (US’732, [0013]–[0014], [0034]–[0036]).
As to Claim 15:
US’047 discloses the cell-contacting system of claim 12 for the reasons stated in the rejection of claim 12. US’047 teaches that battery control module 104 monitors the temperature of battery module 102 and that connector assemblies 114 are electrically coupled to temperature sensors within the battery module and route the sensor connections to battery control module 104 (US’047, [0019]–[0020]). US’047 further teaches that wires 140 may be routed to a temperature sensor (US’047, [0031]).
However, US’047 does not expressly disclose contacting the temperature sensor by the retaining element in a thermally conductive manner through a bonded connection. US’047’s strain-relief tab 138 pinches wire insulation near voltage sensor 136 and is described as securing the wire and reducing strain at the wire-to-sensor connection point (US’047, [0030]).
US’732 discloses the missing limitation. US’732 teaches cell connector 1 having one-piece location region 3, in which first section 31 defines receptacle 8 for temperature sensor 7 and second section 32 at least partially closes the receptacle with temperature sensor 7 accommodated therein (US’732, [0025]–[0028], [0052], [0061]–[0069]). The location region thus retains the sensor on cell connector 1. US’732 expressly teaches that temperature sensor 7 may be provided with adhesive bonding to receptacle 8 and that the adhesive may be designed to increase thermal conductivity between the receptacle and the temperature sensor (US’732, [0029]). Accordingly, US’732 teaches a bonded connection by which the temperature sensor contacts the connector-formed retaining location region in a thermally conductive manner.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the busbar-associated temperature-sensor arrangement of US’047 to include US’732’s connector-formed receptacle and adhesive bond, thereby contacting the temperature sensor by the retaining element through a thermally conductive bonded connection. US’732 expressly teaches configuring the adhesive to increase thermal conductivity between the receptacle and the temperature sensor (US’732, [0029]) and teaches that its location region provides a mechanically stable receptacle for simple sensor fitting (US’732, [0013]–[0014]).
As to Claim 16:
US’047 discloses the cell-contacting system of claim 12 for the reasons stated in the rejection of claim 12. US’047 teaches that battery control module 104 monitors the temperature of battery module 102 and that connector assemblies 114 are electrically coupled to temperature sensors within the battery module and route the sensor connections to battery control module 104 (US’047, [0019]–[0020]). US’047 further teaches that wires 140 may be routed to a temperature sensor (US’047, [0031]).
However, US’047 does not expressly disclose contacting the temperature sensor by a surface of a cell-contacting element in a thermally conductive manner through a bonded connection. US’047’s strain-relief tab 138 pinches wire insulation near voltage sensor 136 and is described as securing the wire and reducing strain at the wire-to-sensor connection point (US’047, [0030]).
US’732 discloses the missing limitation. US’732 teaches cell connector 1 having one-piece location region 3, in which first section 31 constitutes receptacle 8 for temperature sensor 7 and second section 32 at least partially closes the receptacle with temperature sensor 7 accommodated therein (US’732, [0025]–[0028], [0052], [0061]–[0069]). The receptacle of cell connector 1 includes base region 311 and side regions 312 and 313, which provide surfaces of the cell connector at the sensor-receiving location (US’732, [0062], [0065]–[0069]). US’732 expressly teaches that temperature sensor 7 may be adhesively bonded to receptacle 8 and that the adhesive may be designed to increase thermal conductivity between the receptacle and the temperature sensor (US’732, [0029]). Thus, US’732 teaches a thermally conductive bonded connection between the temperature sensor and a surface of cell connector 1.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the busbar-associated temperature-sensor arrangement of US’047 to include US’732’s connector-formed receptacle and adhesive bond, thereby contacting the temperature sensor to a surface of the cell-contacting element through a thermally conductive bonded connection. US’732 expressly teaches configuring the adhesive to increase thermal conductivity between the receptacle and the temperature sensor (US’732, [0029]) and teaches that its location region provides a mechanically stable receptacle for simple sensor fitting (US’732, [0013]–[0014]).
As to Claim 17:
US’047 discloses the cell-contacting system of claim 1 for the reasons stated in the rejection of claim 1. US’047 additionally teaches strain-relief tab 138 formed from busbar plates 132 or 134 and folded over to pinch insulation of wire 140 near voltage sensor 136. US’047 states that strain-relief tab 138 may be stamped from and folded out of an interior portion of a busbar plate (US’047, [0030]).
However, US’047 does not expressly disclose a retaining element that fastens the sensor itself on the cell-contacting element and is formed through the claimed punching-and-bending process. US’047’s stamped and folded strain-relief tab retains wire insulation, rather than the sensor element (US’047, [0030]).
US’732 discloses the missing sensor-retention structure and its stamped-and-bent manufacture. US’732 teaches one-piece cell connector 1 having location region 3, in which first section 31 forms receptacle 8 for temperature sensor 7 and second section 32 is deformed to at least partially close the receptacle and retain the temperature sensor (US’732, [0008]–[0009], [0026]–[0028], [0052], [0061]–[0069]). US’732 teaches that cell connector 1 may be formed as a stamped part and that the deformation regions forming receptacle 8 and the closing section may be produced by bending processes (US’732, [0014], [0034]–[0036], [0059], [0081]–[0086]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the busbars of US’047 to include US’732’s one-piece, stamped-and-bent location region, thereby forming a sensor-retaining element on the cell-contacting element through the disclosed stamping and bending manufacture. US’732 teaches that this construction provides a mechanically stable sensor receptacle and permits simple sensor fitting (US’732, [0013]–[0014], [0034]–[0036]).
As to Claim 18:
US’047 discloses providing a carrier structure having a plurality of cell-contacting elements, namely carrier assembly 110 having tray 112 that holds a plurality of busbars 130 for electrically connecting adjacent battery cells 108 (US’047, [0021]–[0023], [0027]–[0028], [0042]–[0044]). US’047 further discloses connecting a sensor element to a connection contact of the carrier structure through a sensor line, namely connector assembly 114 coupled to tray 112 and including connector 116 and wire assembly 118. Each wire 140 has a terminal end terminated to a connector terminal and a busbar end terminated to voltage sensor 136 associated with busbar 130 (US’047, [0024], [0029]–[0031], [0040]–[0041]).
However, US’047 does not expressly disclose fastening a sensor element on a retaining element formed on a cell-contacting element. US’047’s strain-relief tab 138 is formed from a busbar plate and pinches insulation of wire 140 near voltage sensor 136, but is described as securing the wire and reducing strain at the wire-to-sensor connection point (US’047, [0030]).
US’732 discloses the missing fastening operation. US’732 teaches a method for manufacturing cell connector 1 having location region 3 for temperature sensor 7. The method includes providing cell connector 1 and temperature sensor 7 having terminal 71 connected to signal line 72; deforming first-section deformation regions 41 and 42 to form receptacle 8; accommodating temperature sensor 7 in receptacle 8; and deforming third section 33 so that second section 32 at least partially closes the receptacle with the sensor therein (US’732, [0031]–[0036], [0061]–[0063], [0081]–[0086]; claim 8). US’732 teaches that this fastening retains the temperature sensor in an interference fit and/or force fit on the cell connector (US’732, [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the carrier-held busbar and sensor-line arrangement of US’047 by performing the sensor-receiving and sensor-retaining operations taught by US’732 on a busbar of US’047, thereby providing a carrier structure having cell-contacting elements with a retaining element, fastening the sensor element on that retaining element, and retaining US’047’s connection of the sensor to connector 116 through wire assembly 118. US’732 teaches that its location region provides a mechanically stable receptacle and permits simple fitting of the sensor to the cell connector (US’732, [0013]–[0014], [0034]–[0036]).
As to Claim 21:
US’047 discloses the cell-contacting system of claim 1 for the reasons stated in the rejection of claim 1. US’047 further discloses a connection contact on the carrier structure that is separate from the cell-contacting elements. Carrier assembly 110 holds connector assemblies 114, and each connector assembly includes connector 116 having terminals, while tray 112 separately holds busbars 130 (US’047, [0005]–[0006], [0023]–[0024], [0042]–[0044]). US’047 also teaches that each wire 140 has a terminal end connected to a corresponding terminal of connector 116 and a busbar end connected to voltage sensor 136 associated with busbar 130 (US’047, [0029]–[0031], [0040]–[0041]). Thus, one end of the sensor line connects to the connection contact and the other end connects to the sensor element.
However, US’047 does not expressly disclose that the sensor element is fastened on a cell-contacting element by a retaining element formed on that cell-contacting element. US’047’s strain-relief tab 138 is formed from a busbar plate and pinches insulation of wire 140 near voltage sensor 136, but is described as securing the wire and reducing strain at the wire-to-sensor connection point (US’047, [0030]).
US’732 discloses the missing retaining-element limitation. US’732 teaches cell connector 1 having first and second connecting regions 21 and 22 for electrically connecting respective battery cells and one-piece location region 3 for temperature sensor 7 (US’732, [0006]–[0014], [0022]–[0030], [0052]). First section 31 forms receptacle 8 for temperature sensor 7, and second section 32 at least partially closes the receptacle after the sensor is accommodated (US’732, [0026]–[0028], [0061]–[0069]). Deformation of third section 33 causes second section 32 to close receptacle 8 and fasten temperature sensor 7 by an interference fit and/or force fit (US’732, [0034]–[0036], [0081]–[0086]). US’732 further teaches that terminal 71 of temperature sensor 7 is connected to signal line 72 (US’732, [0022], [0033], [0061]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the carrier-held busbar and connector arrangement of US’047 to include US’732’s connector-formed sensor-retaining location region, thereby fastening the sensor on the cell-contacting element while retaining US’047’s separate connector terminals and wires extending between connector 116 and the busbar-associated sensors. US’732 teaches that its location region provides a mechanically stable sensor receptacle and permits simple fitting of the sensor to the cell connector (US’732, [0013]–[0014], [0034]–[0036]).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180131047 (US’047) in view of US 20180233732 (US’732), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20210165048 (US’048).
As to Claim 2:
US’047 discloses the cell-contacting system of claim 1 for the reasons stated in the rejection of claim 1. In particular, US’047 teaches tray 112 holding busbars 130 for electrically interconnecting battery cells, and connector assembly 114 having wires coupled between busbar-associated voltage sensors and connector 116 for monitoring by battery control module 104 (US’047, [0019]–[0031], [0040]–[0044]).
However, US’047 does not expressly disclose a retaining element formed on a cell-contacting element that fastens the sensor itself, much less that the retaining element is a clip element. US’047’s strain-relief tab 138 is formed from a busbar plate and pinches insulation of wire 140 near voltage sensor 136, but is described as securing the wire and reducing strain at the wire-to-sensor connection point (US’047, [0030]).
US’732 discloses a sensor-retaining structure formed on a cell-contacting element. US’732 teaches cell connector 1 having location region 3 for temperature sensor 7, wherein first section 31 forms receptacle 8 and second section 32 at least partially closes the receptacle with temperature sensor 7 accommodated therein (US’732, [0025]–[0028], [0061]–[0069]). Location region 3 and cell connector 1 are each one-piece components (US’732, [0052]), and deformation of third section 33 causes second section 32 to close the receptacle and fasten sensor 7 by an interference fit and/or force fit (US’732, [0034]–[0036], [0081]–[0086]).
US’048 further teaches the clip-element feature. US’048 teaches connector 12A electrically connected to electrode terminals of battery cell 11 and having clamp 126 formed in base 121 adjacent to a terminal hole (US’048, [0054], [0059]–[0063]; claims 3–5). Clamp 126 receives temperature sensor 14, and elastically deformable clip 15 fixes temperature sensor 14 to clamp 126, securely mounting the sensor and preventing it from separating from the clamp under impact or vibration (US’048, [0048], [0072]–[0075]; claim 6). Thus, US’048 expressly teaches use of a clip element to retain a temperature sensor at a clamp on a battery-cell connector.
US’047, US’732, and US’048 are analogous arts because each concerns electrical interconnection structures for battery cells and sensor arrangements for monitoring battery-cell conditions. US’047 teaches carrier-held busbars, sensors, sensor wires, and battery-control-module monitoring (US’047, [0019]–[0031]); US’732 teaches a cell connector having a sensor-retaining location region (US’732, [0006]–[0014], [0022]–[0036]); and US’048 teaches a battery-cell connector having a temperature-sensor clamp and clip (US’048, [0003], [0007]–[0014], [0059]–[0075]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the busbar-associated sensor arrangement of US’047 to include US’732’s connector-formed sensor-retaining location region and US’048’s clip arrangement, thereby providing a clip element for securely retaining the sensor on the cell-contacting element. US’732 teaches that its location region provides a mechanically stable receptacle and permits simple sensor fitting (US’732, [0013]–[0014]), while US’048 teaches that clip 15 prevents a temperature sensor from separating from clamp 126 under external impact or vibration (US’048, [0073]–[0075]).
As to Claim 3:
US’047 discloses the cell-contacting system of claim 2 for the reasons stated in the rejection of claim 2. US’047 teaches tray 112 holding busbars 130 for electrically interconnecting battery cells, and connector assembly 114 having wires coupled between busbar-associated voltage sensors and connector 116 for monitoring by battery control module 104 (US’047, [0019]–[0031], [0040]–[0044]).
However, US’047 does not expressly disclose a clip element that clamps a sensor element on a cell-contacting element. US’047’s strain-relief tab 138 is formed from a busbar plate and pinches insulation of wire 140 near voltage sensor 136; it is described as securing the wire and reducing strain at the wire-to-sensor connection point (US’047, [0030]).
US’732 discloses a sensor-retaining structure formed on a cell-contacting element. US’732 teaches cell connector 1 having one-piece location region 3, in which first section 31 forms receptacle 8 for temperature sensor 7 and second section 32 at least partially closes the receptacle after the sensor is accommodated (US’732, [0025]–[0028], [0052], [0061]–[0069]). Deformation of third section 33 causes second section 32 to close the receptacle and fasten temperature sensor 7 by an interference fit and/or force fit (US’732, [0034]–[0036], [0081]–[0086]).
US’048 further teaches clamping and clip retention of a sensor on a battery-cell connector. US’048 teaches connector 12A electrically connected to an electrode terminal of battery cell 11, with clamp 126 formed in connector base 121 (US’048, [0054], [0059]–[0063]; claims 3–5). Clamp 126 is configured to clamp temperature sensor 14, and its elastically deformable portion engages temperature sensor 14 in the clamp’s internal space (US’048, [0059]–[0062]). US’048 additionally teaches elastically deformable clip 15 fixing temperature sensor 14 to clamp 126, thereby securely mounting the sensor and preventing separation upon external impact or vibration (US’048, [0072]–[0075]; claim 6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the busbar-associated sensor arrangement of US’047 to include US’732’s connector-formed sensor-retaining location region and US’048’s sensor-clamping and clip-retention arrangement, thereby retaining the sensor on the cell-contacting element with a clip element that maintains the sensor in its clamped position. US’732 teaches a mechanically stable sensor receptacle (US’732, [0013]–[0014]), and US’048 teaches preventing sensor separation from the connector clamp under impact or vibration (US’048, [0073]–[0075]).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180131047 (US’047) in view of US 20180233732 (US’732), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20210181030 A1 (US’030).
As to Claim 4:
US’047 discloses the cell-contacting system of claim 1 for the reasons stated in the rejection of claim 1. US’047 teaches tray 112 holding busbars 130 for electrically interconnecting battery cells and connector assembly 114 having wires coupled between busbar-associated voltage sensors and connector 116 for battery-control-module monitoring (US’047, [0019]–[0031], [0040]–[0044]).
However, US’047 does not expressly disclose that a retaining element fastening the sensor on a cell-contacting element defines a contacting area that contacts the sensor. US’047’s strain-relief tab 138 pinches wire insulation near voltage sensor 136 and is described as securing the wire and reducing strain at the wire-to-sensor connection point (US’047, [0030]).
US’732 discloses a sensor-retaining structure formed on a cell-contacting element. US’732 teaches one-piece cell connector 1 having location region 3, in which first section 31 forms receptacle 8 for temperature sensor 7 and second section 32 at least partially closes the receptacle with the temperature sensor accommodated therein (US’732, [0025]–[0028], [0052], [0061]–[0069]). Deformation of third section 33 causes second section 32 to close receptacle 8 and fasten sensor 7 by an interference fit and/or force fit (US’732, [0034]–[0036], [0081]–[0086]).
US’030 further teaches the added contacting-area limitation. US’030 teaches fastening device 10 having main body 12, retaining device 14, and deformable clamping means 26 for clamping electrical component 102, including a thermistor, to main body 12 (US’030, [0001]–[0005], [0009]–[0013], [0039]–[0042]). Main body 12 and clamping means 26 have opposite contact regions that contact electrical component 102 in the clamped state, and the clamping force presses electrical component 102 against main body 12 (US’030, [0014], [0029], [0042], [0046]–[0048]; claim 5). Thus, US’030 teaches a retaining element having a contacting area that contacts the sensor element.
US’047, US’732, and US’030 are analogous arts because each concerns electrically and/or thermally connecting sensing components in electrical energy-storage systems. US’047 teaches carrier-held busbars, sensor wires, and battery-control-module monitoring (US’047, [0019]–[0031]); US’732 teaches a cell connector retaining a temperature sensor (US’732, [0006]–[0014], [0022]–[0036]); and US’030 teaches a retaining device that clamps a thermistor to a main body for thermal monitoring, including an electrical-energy-storage component (US’030, [0004]–[0005], [0023]–[0027]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the busbar-associated sensor arrangement of US’047 to include US’732’s connector-formed sensor-retaining location region and US’030’s clamping means having a sensor-contacting area, thereby providing a retaining element that contacts the sensor element. US’030 teaches that its contact-region arrangement clamps the electrical component against the main body, prevents gap formation, and promotes effective heat exchange (US’030, [0009]–[0014], [0042], [0046]–[0048]).
As to Claim 5:
US’047 discloses the cell-contacting system of claim 4 for the reasons stated in the rejection of claim 4. US’047 teaches tray 112 holding busbars 130 for electrically interconnecting battery cells, together with connector assembly 114 having wires coupled between busbar-associated voltage sensors and connector 116 for monitoring by battery control module 104 (US’047, [0019]–[0031], [0040]–[0044]).
However, US’047 does not expressly disclose that a sensor-contacting area of the retaining element is formed at a spacing from a surface of the cell-contacting element. US’047’s strain-relief tab 138 pinches insulation of wire 140 near voltage sensor 136 and is described as securing the wire and reducing strain at the wire-to-sensor connection point (US’047, [0030]).
US’732 discloses a sensor-retaining structure formed on a cell-contacting element. US’732 teaches cell connector 1 having one-piece location region 3, in which first section 31 forms receptacle 8 for temperature sensor 7 and second section 32 at least partially closes the receptacle after the sensor is accommodated (US’732, [0025]–[0028], [0052], [0061]–[0069]). Receptacle 8 includes base region 311 and side regions 312 and 313, while second section 32 includes cover region 321 arranged parallel to base region 311 (US’732, [0065]–[0068]). Thus, US’732 teaches a retaining portion positioned over and spaced from a base region of the cell connector to receive the sensor therebetween.
US’030 further teaches the added spaced-contacting-area limitation. US’030 teaches retaining device 14 having deformable clamping means 26 and main body 12 having a lower receiving surface on which electrical component 102 rests (US’030, [0009]–[0013], [0039]–[0042]). Main body 12 and clamping means 26 have opposite contact regions that contact the inserted electrical component in the clamped state; the spacing between those contact regions is increased to permit insertion of the component and then generates a clamping force pressing the component against the main body (US’030, [0014], [0029], [0042], [0046]–[0048]; claim 5). Thus, US’030 teaches that the contacting area of the clamping retaining element is formed at a spacing from the receiving surface of the main body.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the busbar-associated sensor arrangement of US’047 to include US’732’s connector-formed location region and US’030’s spaced clamping-contact arrangement, thereby providing a retaining-element contacting area at a spacing from a surface of the cell-contacting element. US’030 teaches that the spaced opposing contact regions permit sensor insertion and generate a clamping force that presses the sensor against the main body while preventing gap formation (US’030, [0014], [0042], [0046]–[0048]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180131047 (US’047) in view of US 20180233732 (US’732), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20160133908 (US’908).
As to Claim 8:
US’047 discloses the cell-contacting system of claim 1 for the reasons stated in the rejection of claim 1. US’047 further discloses that the measured parameter is an electrical voltage. Battery control module 104 monitors the voltage of battery cells 108, and connector assembly 114 includes connector 116 and wire assembly 118 electrically coupled to voltage sensors 136 associated with busbars 130 (US’047, [0019]–[0020], [0023]–[0024], [0029]–[0031], [0040]–[0041]).
However, US’047 does not expressly disclose fastening voltage sensor 136 on busbar 130 by a retaining element formed on busbar 130. US’047’s strain-relief tab 138 is formed from a busbar plate and pinches insulation of wire 140 near voltage sensor 136, but is described as securing the wire and reducing strain at the wire-to-sensor connection point (US’047, [0030]).
US’732 discloses the missing sensor-retaining structure. US’732 teaches cell connector 1 having one-piece location region 3, in which first section 31 forms receptacle 8 for sensor 7 and second section 32 at least partially closes the receptacle after the sensor is accommodated (US’732, [0025]–[0028], [0052], [0061]–[0069]). Deformation of third section 33 causes second section 32 to close receptacle 8 and fasten sensor 7 by an interference fit and/or force fit (US’732, [0034]–[0036], [0081]–[0086]).
US’908 further teaches the electrical-voltage parameter in a busbar-and-carrier arrangement. US’908 teaches carrier assembly 102 holding plural busbar assemblies 106 for electrically connecting adjacent battery cells, with circuit module 108 monitoring the battery module (US’908, [0006], [0020]–[0025]). Each busbar assembly may include voltage sensor 190 coupled to busbar 130, which performs voltage sensing for the corresponding battery cells and has terminating end 194 connected to circuit module 108 (US’908, [0039]–[0040]). US’908 also teaches integral voltage sensor 220 extending from terminal tab 134 of busbar 130 and stamped and formed with the busbar (US’908, [0046]; claims 13 and 16–20).
US’047, US’732, and US’908 are analogous arts because each concerns electrical interconnection structures for plural battery cells and sensing arrangements for monitoring battery conditions. US’047 teaches carrier-held busbars, voltage sensors, sensor wires, and a battery control module (US’047, [0019]–[0031]); US’732 teaches a cell connector retaining a sensor (US’732, [0006]–[0014], [0022]–[0036]); and US’908 teaches carrier-held busbars having voltage sensors connected to a circuit module (US’908, [0006], [0039]–[0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the busbar-associated voltage-sensor arrangement of US’047 to include US’732’s connector-formed sensor-retaining location region, while employing the busbar-voltage-sensor arrangement taught by US’908, thereby fastening a sensor that measures electrical voltage on the cell-contacting element. US’732 teaches that its location region provides a mechanically stable sensor receptacle and permits simple sensor fitting (US’732, [0013]–[0014]), and US’908 expressly teaches busbar-coupled voltage sensors connected to a circuit module for battery-cell voltage sensing (US’908, [0039]–[0040]).
Claims 9-10 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180131047 (US’047) in view of US 20180233732 (US’732), as applied to Claim 8 above, and further in view of US 20170133656 A1 (US’656).
As to Claim 9:
US’047 discloses the cell contacting system of claim 8, including a carrier tray holding busbars that electrically interconnect battery-cell terminals; connector assemblies electrically coupled to voltage sensors; and a battery-control unit that monitors the cell voltages (US’047, [0019]–[0024], [0027]–[0031]). US’047 further teaches that a voltage sensor can be integral with, or electrically connected to, a busbar and that a wire is connected to the voltage sensor and extends to a connector assembly (US’047, [0029]–[0031]).
However, US’047 does not expressly disclose that the sensor element for measuring voltage or current is itself an electrical contact element of the sensor line, nor does US’047 disclose the claim 1 retaining element formed on the cell-contacting element for fastening that sensor element.
US’732 discloses the retaining feature applied in the rejection of claim 1. In particular, US’732 teaches a one-piece cell connector having a location region formed on the connector, including a receptacle for a sensor and a section that closes the receptacle to retain the sensor (US’732, [0006]–[0014], [0025]–[0029], [0052], [0061]–[0069], [0081]–[0086]). US’732 also teaches that a terminal of the sensor is connected to a signal line (US’732, [0022], [0061]).
US’656 further discloses the electrical-contact-element limitation. US’656 teaches a signal-line system in which voltage-tapping points at cell connectors or current terminations are connected by voltage-tapping lines to a signal-line termination for a monitoring device (US’656, [0147]–[0155]). In particular, a signal-line-system-side positioning element is fixed to a signal line and is electrically connected to a cell connector or current termination (US’656, [0010], [0166]–[0169], [0208]–[0212]). The positioning element is formed of electrically conductive material and includes a contact region that is electrically connected to the cell connector or current termination (US’656, [0035]–[0044], [0166]–[0169]). In a further embodiment, the end of the signal line is connected to the contact region of that positioning element, and the contact region is connected to the cell connector or current termination by welding or soldering (US’656, [0262]–[0264]). Thus, US’656 teaches an electrical contact element of the signal line that provides the voltage-sensing connection to the cell-contacting element.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the voltage-monitoring arrangement of US’047 with the connector-formed sensor-retaining location region of US’732 and the signal-line electrical contact element of US’656, thereby providing a voltage- or current-sensing electrical contact element of the sensor line that is retained on the cell-contacting element. US’656 expressly teaches using its conductive positioning/contact element to establish the electrical connection between a signal line and a cell connector or current termination, while US’732 teaches retaining a sensor at the cell connector itself (US’656, [0010], [0166]–[0169], [0262]–[0264; US’732, [0013]–[0014], [0061]–[0069]).
As to Claim 10:
US’047 discloses the cell-contacting system of claim 9 for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 9. US’047 additionally teaches a voltage-sensor implementation in which voltage sensor 136 is a weld tab configured to receive a wire 140, with the wire welded to the weld tab. US’047 further teaches that a voltage sensor may be soldered, welded, fastened, or otherwise secured to a busbar, and that the wire may be welded to the busbar (US’047, [0029]). The wire has terminating portions at its sensor end that are exposed for termination to the busbars, including by welding (US’047, [0031]–[0034]).
However, US’047 does not expressly disclose an electrical contact element of a sensor line fastened by a welded connection specifically on a retaining element formed on the cell-contacting element. US’047’s strain-relief tab secures insulation of wire 140 near the voltage sensor and reduces strain at the weld point, but does not expressly retain the electrical contact element itself through the welded connection (US’047, [0030]).
US’732 discloses the connector-formed retaining element applied in the rejection of claim 1. Specifically, US’732 teaches a one-piece cell connector having a location region formed on the cell connector, a receptacle in a first section for accommodating a sensor, and a second section that closes the receptacle to retain the accommodated sensor (US’732, [0006]–[0014], [0025]–[0029], [0052], [0061]–[0069]). US’732 also teaches that the sensor has a terminal connected to a signal line (US’732, [0061]).
US’656 further teaches fastening the signal-line electrical contact element by welding. US’656 teaches a signal-line-system-side positioning element fixed to a signal line and electrically connected to a cell connector or current termination (US’656, [0009]–[0011], [0018]–[0019], [0166]–[0169]). The positioning element includes a contact region that abuts the cell connector or current termination, and that contact region is expressly fixed to the cell connector or current termination by welding, including ultrasonic, laser, or resistance welding (US’656, [0172]–[0175]). US’656 teaches using its positioning structure to maintain a defined jointing position for the signal-line contact element during welding, thereby producing a simple and reliable conductive connection between the signal-line system and the cell connector (US’656, [0004]–[0012], [0020]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the US’047/US’732 system by applying US’656’s welded signal-line electrical contact element to the connector-formed location region of US’732. The modification would fasten the electrical contact element of the sensor line on the connector-formed retaining structure by a welded connection, while using US’656’s expressly disclosed positioning arrangement to hold the contact element at the required position for welding and to provide a reliable electrical sensing connection (US’656, [0004]–[0012], [0166]–[0175]).
As to Claim 19:
US’047 discloses a battery module having a plurality of battery cells. Specifically, battery module 102 includes a plurality of battery cells 108 arranged in a stacked configuration (US’047, [0021]). US’047 further discloses a cell-contacting system including a carrier structure, namely carrier assembly 110 having trays 112 that hold a plurality of busbars 130 (US’047, [0023]); and a plurality of cell-contacting elements arranged on the carrier structure and electrically contacting the battery cells, namely busbars 130 electrically connecting terminals of adjacent battery cells (US’047, [0023], [0026]–[0028]).
US’047 further discloses positive and negative battery terminals for connection to external power cables or to another battery module (US’047, [0022]); and a measuring arrangement connected to the cell-contacting system, namely voltage sensors associated with the busbars, connector assembly 114, and wire assembly 118, which monitor the voltage of the busbars and associated battery cells (US’047, [0019]–[0024], [0029]). The wire assembly includes wires extending between connector 116 and the respective busbars, and connector 116 is configured to mate with a control-module connector of battery control module 104 (US’047, [0020], [0024], [0031]–[0034]). Battery control module 104 monitors voltage and temperature parameters of battery module 102 (US’047, [0019]).
However, US’047 does not expressly disclose that a sensor element is fastened on a cell-contacting element by a retaining element formed on that cell-contacting element. Further, although US’047 identifies positive and negative battery terminals, it does not expressly describe the claimed relationship between plural power connections and the cell-contacting elements.
US’732 discloses the missing connector-formed sensor-retaining feature. US’732 teaches a cell connector for a battery module having first and second electrically conductive connecting regions for respective battery cells and a location region for a temperature sensor (US’732, [0006]–[0012], [0022]–[0025]). The location region includes a receptacle in a first section for the sensor and a second section that at least partially closes the receptacle to retain the sensor (US’732, [0025]–[0029], [0061]–[0069]). US’732 further teaches that the cell connector and its location region are one-piece components, and that the sensor terminal is connected to a signal line (US’732, [0052], [0061]). US’732 also expressly describes a battery module having first and second battery cells electrically connected by the cell connector (US’732, [0030]).
US’656 further discloses plural power connections electrically connected to cell-contacting elements. In particular, current terminations 118 and cell connectors 116 together form a current-line system, in which the cell connectors electrically interconnect cell terminals and the beginning and end cells are electrically connected to respective current terminations (US’656, [0138]–[0142]). US’656 also teaches a carrier element carrying a current-line system and a signal-line system for an accumulator module having plural electrochemical cells (US’656, [0117]–[0121]).
US’656 additionally teaches a connection contact and monitoring arrangement. Signal-line termination 144 is externally accessible and serves to attach the signal-line system to a monitoring device by a feeder line (US’656, [0147]–[0151]). Signal lines connect voltage-tapping points on cell connectors or current terminations, and/or temperature sensors, to the signal-line termination (US’656, [0152]–[0157]). US’656 further teaches that a signal-line-system-side positioning element is fixed to a signal line and electrically connected to a cell connector or current termination, thereby providing a sensing connection at the cell-contacting element (US’656, [0166]–[0169]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery module of US’047 with the one-piece sensor-retaining location region formed on the cell connector as taught by US’732, and with the current-termination and signal-line-termination arrangement of US’656. The resulting battery module would include carrier-supported cell-contacting elements, plural power connections electrically connected to those elements, and a measuring arrangement having a sensor retained on a cell-contacting element and connected through a signal line to an externally accessible monitoring connection (US’732, [0025]–[0029], [0052], [0061]–[0069]; US’656, [0138]–[0142], [0147]–[0157], [0166]–[0169]).
As to Claim 20:
US’047 in view of US’732 discloses the cell-contacting system of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1. In particular, US’047 teaches carrier assembly 110 having trays 112 that hold plural busbars 130 and connector assemblies for monitoring battery-cell parameters (US’047, [0018]–[0024]). US’732 teaches a cell connector having a sensor location region formed as part of the cell connector, including a receptacle that receives and retains the sensor (US’732, [0006]–[0014], [0025]–[0029], [0052], [0061]–[0069]).
However, US’047 does not expressly identify the material of its carrier assembly or trays as electrically insulating.
US’656 discloses the missing carrier-material limitation. US’656 teaches a cell-contacting system having a carrier element 102 that carries current-line system 104 and signal-line system 106 (US’656, [0117]–[0119]). US’656 expressly teaches that carrier element 102 is formed from an electrically non-conductive plastics material, including PBT, polypropylene, polyamide, ABS, or liquid-crystal polymer, and may be formed substantially entirely from such material (US’656, [0164]–[0165]). US’656 further teaches that cell connectors and current terminations are supported on the carrier element and electrically contact the cell terminals (US’656, [0120]–[0121], [0138]–[0142]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the carrier assembly or trays of US’047 from the electrically non-conductive plastics material taught by US’656, while incorporating the sensor-retaining cell connector of US’732. This modification would provide an electrically insulating carrier structure supporting the cell-contacting elements and measuring arrangement, as expressly taught by US’656 (US’656, [0117]–[0119], [0164]–[0165]).
As to Claim 21:
US’047 in view of US’732 discloses the cell-contacting system of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1. US’047 further teaches carrier assembly 110 holding connector assembly 114, which includes connector 116 and wire assembly 118 (US’047, [0023]–[0024]). Connector 116 has terminals connected to respective wires 140, and the opposite, busbar ends of the wires are terminated to corresponding voltage sensors 136 associated with the busbars (US’047, [0024], [0029], [0031]–[0034]). Thus, US’047 teaches a connection contact, namely connector 116, separate from the busbars, and a sensor line having one end connected to the connector and another end connected to the voltage sensor.
However, US’047 does not expressly state that connector 116 is formed on the carrier structure. Rather, US’047 states that carrier assembly 110 holds connector assembly 114.
US’732 discloses the retaining feature applied in the rejection of claim 1, namely a location region formed as part of a one-piece cell connector, with a receptacle receiving a sensor and a closing section retaining the sensor. US’732 also teaches that the sensor terminal is connected to a signal line (US’732, [0022]–[0029], [0052], [0061]–[0069]).
US’656 further teaches a connection contact associated with the carrier structure and separate from the cell-contacting elements. US’656 teaches a carrier element 102 carrying signal-line system 106 and current-line system 104 (US’656, [0117]–[0119]). An edge region of carrier element 102 has a connection opening 142 through which signal cable harness 143, including signal lines 145 attached to signal-line termination 144, is routed out of the cell-contacting system (US’656, [0147]). Signal-line termination 144 is externally accessible and serves to connect the signal-line system, which is arranged on carrier element 102, to a monitoring device through a feeder line (US’656, [0148]–[0151]). Signal lines 145 connect voltage-tapping points at cell connectors or current terminations, and/or temperature sensors, to termination 144 (US’656, [0152]–[0157]). Thus, US’656 teaches a sensor line with one end connected to a separate connection contact, namely signal-line termination 144, and the other end connected to the voltage-tapping point or temperature sensor.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide the carrier-held connector arrangement of US’047 with the externally accessible signal-line termination arrangement of US’656, while retaining the sensor on the cell connector as taught by US’732. The resulting arrangement would have a connection contact carried on the carrier structure and separate from the cell-contacting elements, with one end of a sensor line connected to the connection contact and the other end connected to the sensor element (US’047, [0023]–[0024], [0029], [0031]–[0034]; US’656, [0147]–[0157]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180131047 (US’047) in view of US 20180233732 (US’732), as applied to Claim 12 above, and further in view of WO 2018124494 A2 (WO’494).
As to Claim 13:
US’047 in view of US’732 discloses the cell-contacting system of claim 12 for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 12. US’047 teaches a battery control module that monitors temperature of the battery module, and connector assemblies electrically coupled to temperature sensors and routed to the battery control module (US’047, [0019]–[0020]). US’732 teaches a temperature sensor accommodated in a receptacle of a location region formed on a cell connector, with a closing section retaining the sensor in the receptacle (US’732, [0022]–[0029], [0061]–[0069]). US’732 additionally teaches optional thermally conductive paste or adhesive bonding between the sensor and the cell connector in the receptacle (US’732, [0029]).
However, US’047 and US’732 do not expressly disclose arranging the temperature sensor on a printed circuit board. US’732 instead depicts its temperature sensor accommodated directly in the receptacle of the cell connector.
WO’494 discloses the missing printed-circuit-board limitation. WO’494 teaches a frame assembly for plural battery cells that includes plural busbars, a flexible printed circuit board, and a connector. The connector is coupled to the flexible printed circuit board and transmits temperature-sensing and voltage-sensing signals to a controller (WO’494, p. 7). WO’494 expressly teaches that flexible printed circuit board 20 includes temperature-sensor unit 240 extending from the circuit unit, with the temperature-measuring sensor fixed to the flexible printed circuit board. WO’494 further teaches a terminal portion of the flexible printed circuit board that is directly coupled to connector 5 (WO’494, p. 8, Fig. 5). WO’494 therefore teaches a temperature sensor arranged on a printed circuit board in a battery-cell sensing arrangement.
US’047, US’732, and WO’494 are analogous arts because each concerns electrical interconnection and monitoring structures for plural battery cells. US’047 teaches a carrier-supported busbar and monitoring arrangement, US’732 teaches retaining a temperature sensor on a cell connector, and WO’494 teaches a flexible printed circuit board carrying a temperature-sensor unit in a busbar-equipped battery-cell frame assembly.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide the temperature sensor retained on the cell connector in the US’047/US’732 system as a temperature-sensor unit arranged on the flexible printed circuit board taught by WO’494. This modification would retain US’732’s connector-based sensor retention and thermal coupling while using WO’494’s printed-circuit-board-supported temperature-sensor and connector arrangement for transmitting temperature-sensing signals to the controller (US’732, [0025]–[0029], [0061]–[0069]; WO’494, pp. 7–8, Fig. 5).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180131047 (US’047) in view of US 20180233732 (US’732) and WO 2018124494 A2 (WO’494), as applied to Claim 13 above, and further in view of CN 215896633 U (CN’633).
As to Claim 14:
US’047 in view of US’732 and WO’494 discloses the cell-contacting system of claim 13 for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 13. US’047 teaches monitoring battery-module temperature through connector assemblies coupled to temperature sensors and routed to battery control module 104 (US’047, [0019]–[0020]). US’732 teaches a cell connector having a sensor-location region formed on the connector, including a receptacle for a temperature sensor and a closing section that retains the sensor (US’732, [0022]–[0029], [0052], [0061]–[0069]). WO’494 teaches a temperature-sensor unit fixed on flexible printed circuit board 20, which is coupled to a connector for temperature-sensing and voltage-sensing communications with a controller (WO’494, pp. 7–8, Fig. 5).
However, US’047, US’732, and WO’494 do not expressly disclose a spacer element formed on the printed circuit board, with the temperature sensor fastened on the cell-contacting element by pressing the retaining element on that spacer element.
CN’633 discloses a battery-module temperature-sensing arrangement that teaches the additional spacer and support structure. CN’633 teaches a busbar having a clamping structure, such as a groove or clamping hole, in which a temperature-sensing unit is clamped to measure busbar temperature (CN’633, pp. 1–3; claim 1, p. 7). The temperature-sensing unit includes temperature sensor 101, circuit board 104, and an FFC collecting line; the sensor and FFC collecting line are fixed on the circuit board and electrically connected through the circuit board (CN’633, p. 4; claim 5, p. 7). CN’633 further teaches clamping sleeve 103, which surrounds the temperature sensor, is connected to and fixed on circuit board 104, and is interference-fitted to the clamping structure of busbar 11 (CN’633, p. 4; claims 6–7, p. 7).
CN’633 additionally teaches a base plate 105 connected to the surface of circuit board 104 opposite busbar 11. Base plate 105 is clamped between the busbar and the battery to support circuit board 104, allowing the circuit board to seal the clamping-hole opening and ensuring accurate temperature measurement (CN’633, p. 6; claim 9, p. 8). Thus, CN’633 teaches a board-supported spacer structure used with a busbar-formed clamping structure and a temperature sensor mounted on the circuit board. WO’494 also teaches that a pressing member can tension a flexible-circuit-board temperature-sensor unit toward the battery cell to maintain sensor contact notwithstanding dimensional variation (WO’494, p. 17, Figs. 35–37).
US’047, US’732, WO’494, and CN’633 are analogous arts because each concerns a battery module having cell-connecting busbars or cell connectors and a temperature-sensing arrangement. US’047 provides the carrier-supported monitored battery-module system; US’732 provides a connector-formed retaining structure; WO’494 provides a printed-circuit-board-mounted temperature sensor; and CN’633 provides a circuit-board support/base plate used with a busbar clamping structure.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide the printed-circuit-board-mounted temperature sensor of the US’047/US’732/WO’494 combination with the circuit-board base plate of CN’633, and to configure US’732’s connector-formed retaining section to press the sensor arrangement against that board-supported spacer. CN’633 expressly teaches that its base plate supports the circuit board during clamping at the busbar and improves accurate temperature sensing, while WO’494 teaches maintaining temperature-sensor contact by a pressing member (CN’633, p. 6; WO’494, p. 17). The resulting arrangement would fasten the temperature sensor on the cell-contacting element through the retaining structure acting against the spacer element on the printed circuit board.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180131047 (US’047) in view of US 20180233732 (US’732), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of EP 3654410 A1 (EP’410).
As to Claim 22:
US’047 in view of US’732 discloses the cell-contacting system of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1. US’047 teaches carrier assembly 110 holding busbars 130, wherein each busbar electrically connects cell terminals of adjacent battery cells (US’047, [0023], [0026]–[0029]). US’732 teaches the connector-formed sensor-retaining feature applied in the rejection of claim 1, including a location region formed on the cell connector that receives and retains a temperature sensor (US’732, [0006]–[0014], [0025]–[0029], [0052], [0061]–[0069]).
However, US’047 and US’732 do not expressly disclose a cell-contacting element having a plurality of cell elements respectively contacting battery cells, with each cell element separated from another cell element by a separating elevation.
EP’410 discloses the missing multi-contact structure. EP’410 teaches busbar 50 having first and second contact portions 21 and 22 respectively configured to connect to first and second cell terminals, with an arced portion 30 connecting the contact portions (EP’410, pp. 3–4; claim 1, p. 12). EP’410 teaches that the contact portions extend in a first plane, whereas the arced portion extends in a plane perpendicular to the contact portions and stands upright relative to the contact portions (EP’410, p. 3; p. 9, Figs. 4–5).
EP’410 further teaches a busbar having two first contact portions and two second contact portions connected through respective first and second arced portions (EP’410, p. 10, Figs. 8–9). The disclosed busbar has four contact portions, each configured to connect to a single cell terminal, and adjacent contact portions are connected through the upright arced portions (EP’410, p. 11, Fig. 9; claim 12, p. 13). EP’410 also teaches a battery module having plural battery cells and plural busbars, each busbar electrically interconnecting at least two battery cells through its contact portions (EP’410, Abstract, p. 1; claim 14, p. 13).
Thus, EP’410 teaches a cell-contacting element, namely busbar 50, having plural cell-contact portions respectively contacting cell terminals. The upright arced portions between adjacent contact portions constitute elevated physical structures separating the contact portions from one another.
US’047, US’732, and EP’410 are analogous arts because each concerns electrical interconnection structures for plural battery cells in a battery module. US’047 teaches carrier-supported busbars and monitoring components; US’732 teaches a sensor-retaining cell connector; and EP’410 teaches a multi-contact busbar for electrically interconnecting plural battery cells.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify busbars 130 of the US’047/US’732 cell-contacting system to have the plural contact portions and upright arced portions taught by EP’410. The resulting busbar would have plural cell elements respectively contacting battery cells, with the upright arced portions providing separating elevations between adjacent cell elements. EP’410 expressly teaches that its arced portions permit relative movement between contact portions and accommodate battery-cell expansion and contraction while maintaining electrical interconnection (EP’410, pp. 3–5, 9–11).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723