DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II (claims 8-12), and Species A (claims 8-9) in the reply filed on March 13, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7, 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 13, 2026.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-7, 10-12 are withdrawn due to a restriction requirement. Currently, claims 8-9 are pending for examination.
Double Patenting
Claims 8-9 are directed toward the invention elected in the parent application (U.S. Application No. 16/917,199, now U.S. Patent No. 11,771,904), and not directed toward the restricted non-elected claim set of the parent application. Therefore, claims 8-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,771,904. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are merely broader in scope than the patented claims. For example, application claim 8 requires a power supply module, a processing unit, pulse generator, an implantable lead system including electrodes as claimed, switching circuitry operative to selectively couple one or more terminals associated with each electrode to an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) having a sense input and a reference input, the switching circuitry including switching for each electrode corresponding to the terminals similar to the patented claim 1.
The application claim 8 further requires diagnostic circuitry comprising the ADC operative for selectively actuating the switching circuitry based on a Kelvin connection mode with respect to an active electrode and a Kelvin electrode, wherein the switching circuitry couples a terminal of the active electrode and a terminal of the Kelvin electrode, respectively, to sense input and the reference input of the ADC for obtaining a voltage measurement indicative of a charge state associated with the active electrode. This is disclosed in the patented claim 1 as it requires utilizing a direct current (DC) blocking stimulation capacitor CDC2 terminal coupled to a (second) active electrode to sense input of the ADC and a direct current (DC) blocking stimulation capacitor CDC1 terminal coupled to a Kelvin electrode (regarded as a first inactive electrode, see claim 3) to reference input of the ADC; and obtaining the voltage measurement across the first and second Kelvin connection terminals as a voltage indicative of a charge state associated with an electrode/tissue interface of the (second) active electrode.
Application claim 9 further limits claim 8 to require a direct current (DC) blocking stimulation capacitor (CDC) terminal of the active electrode is coupled to the sense input of the ADC and a DC blocking stimulation capacitor (CDC) terminal of the Kelvin electrode is coupled to the reference input of the ADC. As explained above, patented claim 1 discloses these limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baru et al. (US PG Pub 2019/0255333) in view of Wilson (US Pat 5,540,235), Keith (Jim Keith. “Kelvin Connection”. https://www.electroschematics.com/kelvin-connection/, posted at least as of 9/19/2014 per the comment, viewed on 11/3/2022), Armstrong et al. (US PG Pub 2008/0015641).
Regarding claims 8-9, Baru et al. discloses an implantable medical device and method, comprising: a power supply module ([0003], [0059]); a processing unit (abstract, [0066], [0075]); a pulse generator ([0003], [0059]); an implantable lead system including at least one lead having a plurality of electrodes 100 ([0059], [0062]) adapted to stimulate a patient’s tissue responsive to instructions generated by the processing unit in association with the pulse generator ([0066-0067]); and switching circuitry ([0066-0067]) to selectively couple one or more terminals associated with each electrode, the switching circuitry including one or more switches for each electrode corresponding to the one or more terminals associated therewith ([0069]); and diagnostic circuitry ([0013], [0031-0034]), wherein the switching circuitry couples a terminal of an active electrode and a terminal of an inactive electrode, respectively, to sense input and reference inputs for obtaining a voltage measurement ([0003-0004], [0009], [0015-0018], [0031-0034]).
Baru et al. does not expressly disclose the diagnostic circuitry comprises an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) having a sense input and a reference input; where the one or more terminals associated with each electrode is coupled to the ADC either via the sense input and reference input. Wilson teaches it is known in the art to determine electrical discharges of an electrode/tissue interface by measuring changes in the voltage of the active electrode relative to an inactive electrode, which is amplified and passed to an analog-to-digital converter that produces a signal corresponding to the voltage difference between the two electrodes (col. 1, lines 42-64). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baru et al. to include the ADC as diagnostic circuitry as taught by Wilson as it is a known method of measuring the electrical activity at the electrode/tissue interface and the combination/substitution of elements of Baru et al. with those of Wilson is merely the combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, and/or the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Baru et al. does not expressly disclose a Kelvin connection mode with respect to an active electrode and a Kelvin electrode. Keith however, teaches the use of a Kelvin connection path (“A Kelvin connection is a means of making electrical potential contact with a current carrying component in such a way that eliminates or greatly reduces the effect of contact resistance (p. 1). This is especially important when dealing with low millivolt measurements as in shunt resistors where contact resistance is a significant and unknown variable”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baru et al. to include the elements of Keith as a way of providing a voltage measurement while eliminating or greatly reducing the effect of contact resistance.
Baru et al. does not expressly disclose obtaining the voltage measurement is indicative of a charge state associated with the active electrode. Armstrong et al. teaches an analogous invention where a voltage measurement associated with the electrode/tissue interface of an active electrode ([0006-0007], [0024-0026], [0038]) is obtained as a voltage measurement across a first and second connection terminal as a voltage indicative of a charge state associated with an electrode/tissue interface (ETI) of an active electrode ([0006], [0024-0026], [0038]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baru et al. to include the elements of Armstrong et al. to better allow for the determination of the presence of undesirable charges and balancing those charges for the safety of the patient ([0009-0011]). Additionally, the combination/substitution of elements of Baru et al. with those of Armstrong et al. is merely the combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, and/or the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; using sensing as particular terminal in order to determine residual voltage so that it can be countered/removed/discharged.
Regarding claim 9, Baru et al. discloses wherein the switching circuitry is selectively actuated responsive to the Kelvin connection mode such that a direct current (DC) blocking stimulation capacitor (CDC) terminal ([0004], [0063-0064]) of the active electrode is coupled to the sense input of the ADC and a DC blocking stimulation capacitor (CDC) terminal ([0004], [0063-0064]) of the Kelvin electrode is coupled to the reference input of the ADC ([0003-0004], [0009], [0015-0018], [0031-0034]).
Conclusion
/ERICA S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796