Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments have resolved the previously presented claim objections and 112 issues from the Office Action of 2/13/26.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/8/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that “Ibarra’s motor drive circuit 106 is different in structure, function, and purpose from the claimed electronic switching device.” Applicant asserts that “the claimed electronic switching device is a separate, identifiable switching component, such as a solid-state relay […] configured to operate in different switching states (e.g. open state and closed state) and that provides contact state outputs for various applications.” With respect to applicant’s arguments on claim 1, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (e.g. particular operating states, providing contact state outputs for certain applications, being a solid-state relay) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The examiner notes that the switching device is a separate, identifiable switching component. It is a distinctly labelled and discussed element of Ibarra (specifically, element 106). Ibarra, and applicant’s own description of Ibarra, similarly highlights its functioning as a switching device e.g. in citing Para 0068, it is discussed that the switching device 106 “switches the polarity of the power to reverse motor direction” i.e. it functions to switch and operated in the various polarity/switching states. To the extent that applicant believes that the limitation requires more (e.g. “a discrete electronic switching device that provides user-programmable position-dependent contact states”), that is not present in the claim.
Second applicant argues that the programmable control unit of Ibarra is different from that claimed specifically, it appears, applicant is arguing that control unit 102 does not teach the required configuration. Applicant appears to be arguing a specific “user-programmed mapping between shaft positions and switching states”, concluding, “Ibarra does not disclose this combination”. However, here too, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (e.g. a specific “user-programmed mapping between shaft positions and switching states”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Lastly applicant argues the various purported technical benefits and unique problems addressed by applicant’s invention. However, the differences between the instant application and the prior art have not made their way to the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 10, 12-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ibarra (US 20190351920 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ibarra teaches crossing gate mechanism comprising:
an electric motor (Fig 4, motor 108) driving a main shaft (Fig 2, 4, shaft 112), wherein the main shaft is configured to couple to a crossing gate arm (Fig 2, gate arm 20, Para 0069),
a position detection unit configured to detect a position of the main shaft (Fig 3, sensor 114),
at least one electronic switching device configured to operate in different switching states (circuit 106, see Para 0068), and
a programmable control unit (Fig 3, controller 102) configured to control operation of the at least one switching device based on a detected position of the main shaft (Fig 3, sensor 114 feeds controller 102) in combination with a programmed switching state for the detected position (Fig 3, switching 106 interacts with 102, see Para 0068).
Regarding claim 2, Ibarra teaches wherein the position detection unit is configured to determine an angle of the main shaft (Para 0071).
Regarding claim 3, Ibarra teaches wherein the programmable control unit is configured to receive angular information from the position detection unit (Fig 3) and determine, based on the angle, a position of the main shaft (Para 0071).
Regarding claim 4, Ibarra teaches a user interface connected to the control unit for programming the different switching states based on different main shaft positions (Fig 3, interface 104).
Regarding claim 8, Ibarra teaches wherein the position detection unit comprises at least one sensor selected from an accelerometer, gyroscope, magnetometer, a proximity detector, a rotary encoder, and a combination thereof (Fig 3, encoder 120).
Regarding claim 10, Ibarra teaches a crossing gate system comprising:
one or more crossing gate arm(s) (Fig 2, gate arm 20, Para 0069), and
a crossing gate mechanism (see following elements) comprising:
an electric motor (Fig 4, motor 108) driving a main shaft (Fig 2, 4, shaft 112), wherein the main shaft is configured to couple to the one or more crossing gate arm(s) (Fig 2, gate arm 20, Para 0069),
a position detection unit configured to detect a position of the main shaft (Fig 3, sensor 114),
at least one electronic switching device configured to operate in different switching states (circuit 106, see Para 0068), and
a programmable control unit (Fig 3, controller 102) configured to control operation of the at least one switching device based on a detected position of the main shaft (Fig 3, sensor 114 feeds controller 102) in combination with a programmed switching state for the detected position (Fig 3, switching 106 interacts with 102, see Para 0068).
Regarding claim 12, Ibarra teaches wherein the programmable control unit is configured to receive angular information from the position detection unit (Fig 3) and determine, based on the angular information, a position of the main shaft (Para 0071).
Regarding claim 13, Ibarra teaches a user interface connected to the control unit for programming the different switching states based on different main shaft positions or other detected information (Fig 3, interface 104).
Regarding claim 15, Ibarra teaches wherein the at least one switching device is configured to provide an input for a motor control (Fig 3, input to controller and thus motor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7, 9, 11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ibarra (US 20190351920 A1), in view of Nguyen (US 20180174449 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Ibarra is silent on wherein the at least one switching device comprises a solid-state relay.
Nguyen teaches wherein the at least one switching device comprises a solid-state relay (Para 0424, “one or more switches such as a relay or a system to provide an analogous or equivalent digital output signal (e.g. solid state relay. etc.).”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Ibarra by having one or more solid state relays as disclosed by Nguyen because it would be a simple substitution of one known element (the electrical circuit switch) for another (solid state relays) to obtain predictable results (switching functions in electrical devices).
Regarding claim 7, Ibarra teaches wherein the different switching states comprise an open state and a closed state (circuit 106 has been modified in the parent claim, see Para 0068 of Ibarra).
Regarding claim 9, Ibarra is silent on multiple electronic switching devices including the at least one electronic switching device.
Nguyen teaches multiple electronic switching devices (Para 0424, “one or more switches such as a relay or a system to provide an analogous or equivalent digital output signal (e.g. solid state relay. etc.).”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Ibarra by having one or more solid state relays as disclosed by Nguyen because it would be a simple substitution of one known element (the electrical circuit switch) for another (solid state relays) to obtain predictable results (switching functions in electrical devices).
Regarding claim 11, Ibarra is silent on multiple electronic switching devices including the at least one electronic switching device.
Nguyen teaches multiple electronic switching devices (Para 0424, “one or more switches such as a relay or a system to provide an analogous or equivalent digital output signal (e.g. solid state relay. etc.).”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Ibarra by having one or more solid state relays as disclosed by Nguyen because it would be a simple substitution of one known element (the electrical circuit switch) for another (solid state relays) to obtain predictable results (switching functions in electrical devices).
Regarding claim 14, Ibarra is silent on wherein the at least one switching device comprises a solid-state relay or electromechanical relay.
Nguyen teaches wherein the at least one switching device comprises a solid-state relay or electromechanical relay (Para 0424, “one or more switches such as a relay or a system to provide an analogous or equivalent digital output signal (e.g. solid state relay. etc.).”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Ibarra by having one or more solid state relays as disclosed by Nguyen because it would be a simple substitution of one known element (the electrical circuit switch) for another (solid state relays) to obtain predictable results (switching functions in electrical devices).
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ibarra (US 20190351920 A1), in view of Sibley (US 3909632 A).
Regarding claim 5, Ibarra is silent on wherein the at least one switching device comprises a solid-state relay.
Sibley teaches wherein the at least one switching device comprises a solid-state relay (Column 2, line 30-31; Column 3, lines 39-50).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Ibarra by having one or more solid state relays as disclosed by Sibley because it would be a simple substitution of one known element (the electrical circuit switch) for another (solid state relays) to obtain predictable results (switching functions in electrical devices).
Regarding claim 6, Ibarra as modified teaches wherein the solid-state relay utilizes power semiconductor devices to switch between the different switching states (Column 2, line 30-31; Column 3, lines 39-50 and 56-59 of Sibley).
Regarding claim 7, Ibarra teaches wherein the different switching states comprise an open state and a closed state (circuit 106 has been modified in the parent claim, see Para 0068 of Ibarra).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THEODORE N YAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676