DETAILED ACTION
The following communication is in response to the Reply filed on January 16, 2026.
Claims 1-14, 16-24, and 26-30 are pending in the application. Claims 15 and 25 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments in the Reply have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 10-13 of the Reply, Applicant argues that Yun fails to teach or suggest that a mapping mode is selected based on the serial number of the redundancy version number or that a mapping mode is selected based on the first mapping mode information that indicates an offset in a period of the first mapping mode.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Firstly, claim 1 recites “at least one of a first parameter or first mapping mode information” and, therefore, according to the broadest reasonable interpretation, claim 1 can be construed as at least one of a first parameter or at least one of first mapping mode information. Secondly, U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0199478 (Yun et al.) discloses, with reference to Fig. 11 and Fig. 12, that data symbols having 336 lengths may correspond to the bit sequence (2m, 2m+1), where Fig. 11 illustrates a mapping of data symbols divided into two groups to a first aggregated channel or a second aggregated channel and Fig. 12 illustrates a sequential mapping of data symbols to subcarriers of the first aggregated channel and subcarriers of the second aggregated channel. U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0199478 further explains, in paragraphs [0106]-[0108], that a symbol value S(X) of an X-th data symbol included in a first group of Fig. 11 may be mapped to an X-th subcarrier of the first aggregated channel and a symbol value S(Y) of a Y-th data symbol included in the second group of Fig. 11 may be mapped to a Y-th subcarrier of the second aggregated channel, where the data symbols of the predetermined length are described in paragraph [0101] as the number of coded bits per one OFDM symbol. It is well known in the art that an OFDM symbol is a basic unit of transmission in Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM) representing a period in a time domain. Therefore, Examiner respectfully submits that symbol values S(X) and S(Y) can be reasonably interpreted as a serial number of a first time unit. As such, Yun discloses, teaches, or suggests, the limitation “determining a first mapping mode in a plurality of mapping modes based on at least one of a first parameter or first mapping mode information, wherein the first parameter comprises a serial number of a first time unit or a redundancy version number of data carried in the first time unit and the first mapping mode information indicates an offset in a period of the first mapping mode,” as recited in claim 1 and similarly recited in claims 6, 11, and 21.
In view of the reasons above, Examiner respectfully submits that the rejections of claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16-18, 20-24, 26-28, and 30 under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 should be maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 18, 20-24, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0199478 (Hereinafter “Yun”).
Yun discloses, teaches, or suggests:
regarding claim 1, a resource mapping method comprising:
determining a first mapping mode in a plurality of mapping modes based on at least one of a first parameter or first mapping mode information, wherein the first parameter comprises a serial number of a first time unit or a redundancy version number of data carried in the first time unit and the first mapping mode information indicates an offset in a period of the first mapping mode, wherein the plurality of mapping modes further comprise a second mapping mode (see at least Figs. 11 and 12, and paragraphs 96-115, determining a first method involving SQPSK in each aggregated channel and a second method involving SQPSK across the aggregated channels, where a symbol value S(X) of an X-th data symbol included in a first group of Fig. 11 may be mapped to an X-th subcarrier of the first aggregated channel and a symbol value S(Y) of a Y-th data symbol included in the second group of Fig. 11 may be mapped to a Y-th subcarrier of the second aggregated channel, where the data symbols of the predetermined length are described in paragraph [0101] as the number of coded bits per one OFDM symbol and it is well known in the art that an OFDM symbol is a basic unit of transmission in Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM) representing a period in a time domain); and
mapping, according to the first mapping mode, a first modulation symbol sequence carried in a first time unit (see at least Fig. 11 and paragraphs 99-108, mapping data symbols divided into a predetermined length unit to an X-th subcarrier of the first aggregated channel and a Y-th subcarrier of the second aggregated channel, where the data symbols are carried in a signal included in a PPDU),
wherein a plurality of modulation symbols in the first modulation symbol sequence are respectively mapped to a plurality of subcarriers according to the first mapping mode, each of the plurality of modulation symbols is mapped to a respective subcarrier in the plurality of subcarriers (see at least Fig. 11 and paragraphs 99-108, mapping data symbols divided into a predetermined length unit to an X-th subcarrier of the first aggregated channel and a Y-th subcarrier of the second aggregated channel); and
the first mapping mode and the second mapping mode represent different mapping locations of the plurality of modulation symbols on the plurality of subcarriers (see at least Figs. 11 and 12, and paragraphs 96-115, the first method involving SQPSK in each aggregated channel and the second method involving SQPSK across the aggregated channels, which represent different mapping locations on the plurality of subcarriers);
regarding claim 2, the first mapping mode and the second mapping mode represent different mapping locations of one or more first modulation symbols on the plurality of subcarriers, and R is a quantity of modulation symbols of the one or more first modulation symbols, wherein 0<R≤N, and N is a quantity of modulation symbols of the plurality of modulation symbols (see at least Figs. 11 and 12, and paragraphs 96-115, the first method involving SQPSK in each aggregated channel and the second method involving SQPSK across the aggregated channels, which represent different mapping locations on the plurality of subcarriers, where the quantity of modulation symbols being mapped to different mapping locations on the plurality of subcarriers (i.e., R) is less than or equal to the quantity of the plurality of modulation symbols (i.e., N));
regarding claim 3, determining the second mapping mode in the plurality of mapping modes (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 110-115, determining a second method involving SQPSK across the aggregated channels); and
mapping, according to the second mapping mode, a second modulation symbol sequence carried in a second time unit (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 110-115, mapping symbol values of data symbols divided into the predetermined length unit to subcarriers of the first aggregated channel, sequentially map conjugate values of the data symbols to subcarriers of the second aggregated channel),
wherein a plurality of second modulation symbols in the second modulation symbol sequence are respectively mapped to a plurality of second subcarriers according to the second mapping mode, each of the plurality of second modulation symbols is mapped to a respective second subcarrier in the plurality of second subcarriers (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 110-115, mapping symbol values of data symbols divided into the predetermined length unit to subcarriers of the first aggregated channel, sequentially map conjugate values of the data symbols to subcarriers of the second aggregated channel); and
regarding claim 4, the first mapping mode represents sequentially mapping the plurality of modulation symbols to the plurality of subcarriers in an order of indexes of the plurality of subcarriers (see at least Fig. 11 and paragraphs 99-108, mapping data symbols divided into a predetermined length unit to an X-th subcarrier of the first aggregated channel and a Y-th subcarrier of the second aggregated channel).
Yun discloses, teaches, or suggests:
regarding claim 6, a resource mapping method comprising:
determining a first mapping mode in a plurality of mapping modes based on at least one of a first parameter or first mapping mode information, wherein the first parameter comprises a serial number of a first time unit or a redundancy version number of data carried in the first time unit and the first mapping mode information indicates an offset in a period of the first mapping mode, wherein the plurality of mapping modes further comprise a second mapping mode (see at least Figs. 11 and 12, and paragraphs 96-115, determining a first method involving SQPSK in each aggregated channel and a second method involving SQPSK across the aggregated channels, where a symbol value S(X) of an X-th data symbol included in a first group of Fig. 11 may be mapped to an X-th subcarrier of the first aggregated channel and a symbol value S(Y) of a Y-th data symbol included in the second group of Fig. 11 may be mapped to a Y-th subcarrier of the second aggregated channel, where the data symbols of the predetermined length are described in paragraph [0101] as the number of coded bits per one OFDM symbol and it is well known in the art that an OFDM symbol is a basic unit of transmission in Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM) representing a period in a time domain); and
receiving a first modulation symbol sequence carried in a first time unit (see at least Fig. 11 and paragraphs 99-108, a transmitter may map data symbols divided into a predetermined length unit to an X-th subcarrier of the first aggregated channel and a Y-th subcarrier of the second aggregated channel, where the data symbols are carried in a signal included in a PPDU, where the transmitter transmit the data symbols to the receiver and, therefore, the receiver receives the transmitted data symbols),
wherein a plurality of modulation symbols in the first modulation symbol sequence are respectively mapped to a plurality of subcarriers according to the first mapping mode, each of the plurality of modulation symbols is mapped to a respective subcarrier in the plurality of subcarriers (see at least Fig. 11 and paragraphs 99-108, mapping data symbols divided into a predetermined length unit to an X-th subcarrier of the first aggregated channel and a Y-th subcarrier of the second aggregated channel); and
the first mapping mode and the second mapping mode represent different mapping locations of the plurality of modulation symbols on the plurality of subcarriers (see at least Figs. 11 and 12, and paragraphs 96-115, the first method involving SQPSK in each aggregated channel and the second method involving SQPSK across the aggregated channels, which represent different mapping locations on the plurality of subcarriers);
regarding claim 7, the first mapping mode and the second mapping mode represent different mapping locations of one or more first modulation symbols on the plurality of subcarriers, and R is a quantity of modulation symbols of the one or more first modulation symbols, wherein 0<R≤N, and N is a quantity of modulation symbols of the plurality of modulation symbols (see at least Figs. 11 and 12, and paragraphs 96-115, the first method involving SQPSK in each aggregated channel and the second method involving SQPSK across the aggregated channels, which represent different mapping locations on the plurality of subcarriers, where the quantity of modulation symbols being mapped to different mapping locations on the plurality of subcarriers (i.e., R) is less than or equal to the quantity of the plurality of modulation symbols (i.e., N));
regarding claim 8, determining the second mapping mode in the plurality of mapping modes (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 110-115, determining a second method involving SQPSK across the aggregated channels); and
receiving a second modulation symbol sequence carried in a second time unit (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 110-115, mapping symbol values of data symbols divided into the predetermined length unit to subcarriers of the first aggregated channel, sequentially map conjugate values of the data symbols to subcarriers of the second aggregated channel, where the transmitter transmit the data symbols to the receiver and, therefore, the receiver receives the transmitted data symbols),
wherein a plurality of second modulation symbols in the second modulation symbol sequence are respectively mapped to a plurality of second subcarriers according to the second mapping mode, each of the plurality of second modulation symbols is mapped to a respective second subcarrier in the plurality of second subcarriers (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 110-115, mapping symbol values of data symbols divided into the predetermined length unit to subcarriers of the first aggregated channel, sequentially map conjugate values of the data symbols to subcarriers of the second aggregated channel); and
regarding claim 9, the first mapping mode represents sequentially mapping the plurality of modulation symbols to the plurality of subcarriers in an order of indexes of the plurality of subcarriers (see at least Fig. 11 and paragraphs 99-108, mapping data symbols divided into a predetermined length unit to an X-th subcarrier of the first aggregated channel and a Y-th subcarrier of the second aggregated channel).
Yun discloses, teaches, or suggests:
regarding claim 11, a resource mapping apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (see at least paragraphs 161-162, processor); and
one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to (see at least paragraphs 161-162, modules stored in a memory that perform functions associated with Figs. 11 and 12):
determine a first mapping mode in a plurality of mapping modes based on at least one of a first parameter or first mapping mode information, wherein the first parameter comprises a serial number of a first time unit or a redundancy version number of data carried in the first time unit and the first mapping mode information indicates an offset in a period of the first mapping mode, wherein the plurality of mapping modes further comprise a second mapping mode (see at least Figs. 11 and 12, and paragraphs 96-115, determining a first method involving SQPSK in each aggregated channel and a second method involving SQPSK across the aggregated channels, where a symbol value S(X) of an X-th data symbol included in a first group of Fig. 11 may be mapped to an X-th subcarrier of the first aggregated channel and a symbol value S(Y) of a Y-th data symbol included in the second group of Fig. 11 may be mapped to a Y-th subcarrier of the second aggregated channel, where the data symbols of the predetermined length are described in paragraph [0101] as the number of coded bits per one OFDM symbol and it is well known in the art that an OFDM symbol is a basic unit of transmission in Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM) representing a period in a time domain); and
map, according to the first mapping mode, a first modulation symbol sequence carried in a first time unit (see at least Fig. 11 and paragraphs 99-108, mapping data symbols divided into a predetermined length unit to an X-th subcarrier of the first aggregated channel and a Y-th subcarrier of the second aggregated channel, where the data symbols are carried in a signal included in a PPDU),
wherein a plurality of modulation symbols in the first modulation symbol sequence are respectively mapped to a plurality of subcarriers according to the first mapping mode, each of the plurality of modulation symbols is mapped to a respective subcarrier in the plurality of subcarriers (see at least Fig. 11 and paragraphs 99-108, mapping data symbols divided into a predetermined length unit to an X-th subcarrier of the first aggregated channel and a Y-th subcarrier of the second aggregated channel); and
the first mapping mode and the second mapping mode represent different mapping locations of the plurality of modulation symbols on the plurality of subcarriers (see at least Figs. 11 and 12, and paragraphs 96-115, the first method involving SQPSK in each aggregated channel and the second method involving SQPSK across the aggregated channels, which represent different mapping locations on the plurality of subcarriers);
regarding claim 12, the first mapping mode and the second mapping mode represent different mapping locations of one or more first modulation symbols on the plurality of subcarriers, and R is a quantity of modulation symbols of the one or more first modulation symbols, wherein 0<R≤N, and N is a quantity of modulation symbols of the plurality of modulation symbols (see at least Figs. 11 and 12, and paragraphs 96-115, the first method involving SQPSK in each aggregated channel and the second method involving SQPSK across the aggregated channels, which represent different mapping locations on the plurality of subcarriers, where the quantity of modulation symbols being mapped to different mapping locations on the plurality of subcarriers (i.e., R) is less than or equal to the quantity of the plurality of modulation symbols (i.e., N));
regarding claim 13, the programming instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
determine the second mapping mode in the plurality of mapping modes (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 110-115, determining a second method involving SQPSK across the aggregated channels); and
map, according to the second mapping mode, a second modulation symbol sequence carried in a second time unit (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 110-115, mapping symbol values of data symbols divided into the predetermined length unit to subcarriers of the first aggregated channel, sequentially map conjugate values of the data symbols to subcarriers of the second aggregated channel),
wherein a plurality of second modulation symbols in the second modulation symbol sequence are respectively mapped to a plurality of second subcarriers according to the second mapping mode, each of the plurality of second modulation symbols is mapped to a respective second subcarrier in the plurality of second subcarriers (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 110-115, mapping symbol values of data symbols divided into the predetermined length unit to subcarriers of the first aggregated channel, sequentially map conjugate values of the data symbols to subcarriers of the second aggregated channel);
regarding claim 14, the programming instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
determine the second mapping mode in the plurality of mapping modes based on at least one of a second parameter or second mapping mode information, wherein the second parameter comprises a serial number of the second time unit or a redundancy version number of data carried in the second time unit and the second mapping mode information indicates at least one of an arrangement, a period, or an offset in a period of the second mapping mode (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 110-115, determining a second method involving SQPSK across the aggregated channels, which includes mapping symbol values of data symbols divided into the predetermined length unit to subcarriers of the first aggregated channel, sequentially map conjugate values of the data symbols to subcarriers of the second aggregated channel, which corresponds to an arrangement of the second mapping mode);
regarding claim 18, the first mapping mode represents sequentially mapping the plurality of modulation symbols to the plurality of subcarriers in an order of indexes of the plurality of subcarriers (see at least Fig. 11 and paragraphs 99-108, mapping data symbols divided into a predetermined length unit to an X-th subcarrier of the first aggregated channel and a Y-th subcarrier of the second aggregated channel); and
regarding claim 20, the plurality of modulation symbols comprise N modulation symbols, and N is a natural number greater than 1; and the second mapping mode represents: mapping first to Lth modulation symbols to subcarriers in an order of indexes of the subcarriers starting from an index of an (N-L+1)th subcarrier, and mapping (L+1)th to Nth modulation symbols to subcarriers in an order of indexes of the subcarriers starting from an index of a first subcarrier, wherein L<N (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 110-115, mapping symbol values of data symbols divided into the predetermined length unit to subcarriers of the first aggregated channel, sequentially map conjugate values of the data symbols to subcarriers of the second aggregated channel).
Yun discloses, teaches, or suggests:
regarding claim 21, a resource mapping apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (see at least paragraphs 161-162, processor); and
one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to (see at least paragraphs 161-162, modules stored in a memory that perform functions associated with Figs. 11 and 12):
determine a first mapping mode in a plurality of mapping modes based on at least one of a first parameter or first mapping mode information, wherein the first parameter comprises a serial number of a first time unit or a redundancy version number of data carried in the first time unit and the first mapping mode information indicates an offset in a period of the first mapping mode, wherein the plurality of mapping modes further comprise a second mapping mode (see at least Figs. 11 and 12, and paragraphs 96-115, determining a first method involving SQPSK in each aggregated channel and a second method involving SQPSK across the aggregated channels, where a symbol value S(X) of an X-th data symbol included in a first group of Fig. 11 may be mapped to an X-th subcarrier of the first aggregated channel and a symbol value S(Y) of a Y-th data symbol included in the second group of Fig. 11 may be mapped to a Y-th subcarrier of the second aggregated channel, where the data symbols of the predetermined length are described in paragraph [0101] as the number of coded bits per one OFDM symbol and it is well known in the art that an OFDM symbol is a basic unit of transmission in Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM) representing a period in a time domain); and
receive a first modulation symbol sequence carried in a first time unit (see at least Fig. 11 and paragraphs 99-108, a transmitter may map data symbols divided into a predetermined length unit to an X-th subcarrier of the first aggregated channel and a Y-th subcarrier of the second aggregated channel, where the data symbols are carried in a signal included in a PPDU, where the transmitter transmit the data symbols to the receiver and, therefore, the receiver receives the transmitted data symbols),
wherein a plurality of modulation symbols in the first modulation symbol sequence are respectively mapped to a plurality of subcarriers according to the first mapping mode, each of the plurality of modulation symbols is mapped to a respective subcarrier in the plurality of subcarriers (see at least Fig. 11 and paragraphs 99-108, mapping data symbols divided into a predetermined length unit to an X-th subcarrier of the first aggregated channel and a Y-th subcarrier of the second aggregated channel); and
the first mapping mode and the second mapping mode represent different mapping locations of the plurality of modulation symbols on the plurality of subcarriers (see at least Figs. 11 and 12, and paragraphs 96-115, the first method involving SQPSK in each aggregated channel and the second method involving SQPSK across the aggregated channels, which represent different mapping locations on the plurality of subcarriers);
regarding claim 22, the first mapping mode and the second mapping mode represent different mapping locations of one or more first modulation symbols on the plurality of subcarriers, and R is a quantity of modulation symbols of the one or more first modulation symbols, wherein 0<R≤N, and N is a quantity of modulation symbols of the plurality of modulation symbols (see at least Figs. 11 and 12, and paragraphs 96-115, the first method involving SQPSK in each aggregated channel and the second method involving SQPSK across the aggregated channels, which represent different mapping locations on the plurality of subcarriers, where the quantity of modulation symbols being mapped to different mapping locations on the plurality of subcarriers (i.e., R) is less than or equal to the quantity of the plurality of modulation symbols (i.e., N));
regarding claim 23, the programming instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
determine the second mapping mode in the plurality of mapping modes (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 110-115, determining a second method involving SQPSK across the aggregated channels); and
receive a second modulation symbol sequence carried in a second time unit (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 110-115, mapping symbol values of data symbols divided into the predetermined length unit to subcarriers of the first aggregated channel, sequentially map conjugate values of the data symbols to subcarriers of the second aggregated channel, where the transmitter transmit the data symbols to the receiver and, therefore, the receiver receives the transmitted data symbols),
wherein a plurality of second modulation symbols in the second modulation symbol sequence are respectively mapped to a plurality of second subcarriers according to the second mapping mode, each of the plurality of second modulation symbols is mapped to a respective second subcarrier in the plurality of second subcarriers (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 110-115, mapping symbol values of data symbols divided into the predetermined length unit to subcarriers of the first aggregated channel, sequentially map conjugate values of the data symbols to subcarriers of the second aggregated channel);
regarding claim 24, the programming instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
determine the second mapping mode in the plurality of mapping modes based on at least one of a second parameter or second mapping mode information, wherein the second parameter comprises a serial number of the second time unit or a redundancy version number of data carried in the second time unit and the second mapping mode information indicates at least one of an arrangement, a period, or an offset in a period of the second mapping mode (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 110-115, determining a second method involving SQPSK across the aggregated channels, which includes mapping symbol values of data symbols divided into the predetermined length unit to subcarriers of the first aggregated channel, sequentially map conjugate values of the data symbols to subcarriers of the second aggregated channel, which corresponds to an arrangement of the second mapping mode);
regarding claim 28, the first mapping mode represents sequentially mapping the plurality of modulation symbols to the plurality of subcarriers in an order of indexes of the plurality of subcarriers (see at least Fig. 11 and paragraphs 99-108, mapping data symbols divided into a predetermined length unit to an X-th subcarrier of the first aggregated channel and a Y-th subcarrier of the second aggregated channel); and
regarding claim 30, the plurality of modulation symbols comprise N modulation symbols, and N is a natural number greater than 1; and the second mapping mode represents: mapping first to Lth modulation symbols to subcarriers in an order of indexes of the subcarriers starting from an index of an (N-L+1)th subcarrier, and mapping (L+1)th to Nth modulation symbols to subcarriers in an order of indexes of the subcarriers starting from an index of a first subcarrier, wherein L<N (see at least Fig. 12, and paragraphs 110-115, mapping symbol values of data symbols divided into the predetermined length unit to subcarriers of the first aggregated channel, sequentially map conjugate values of the data symbols to subcarriers of the second aggregated channel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 17, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun in view of U.S.Pub. No. 2021/0092779 (Hereinafter “Tang”).
Regarding claims 16, 17, 26, and 27, Yun discloses all of the subject matter of the claimed invention as described in claims 15 and 25 above except the first mapping mode information being determined in at least one of the following manners: through presetting, by using higher layer signaling, or by using a quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes, where the higher layer signaling comprises one or more of broadcast information, system information, or higher layer configuration signaling.
However, in an analogous art, Tang discloses or suggests the first mapping mode information being determined in at least one of the following manners: through presetting, by using higher layer signaling, or by using a quantity of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes, where the higher layer signaling comprises one or more of broadcast information, system information, or higher layer configuration signaling (see at least paragraphs 185, 199, and 202, transmission parameters of the preamble signal, including time domain characteristics, frequency domain characteristics, and sequence characteristics, can be indicated to the terminal device in an RRC configuration, which is a higher layer signaling).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the RRC configuration of Tang in to the resource mapping technique of Yun in order to dynamically indicate a resource mapping mode, which improves resource utilization.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 10, 19, and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409 04/07/2026