DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I – claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 5/5/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is not an undue burden in searching both Groups I & II. This is not found persuasive because examiner maintains that there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification; and the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries). The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/5/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is indefinite because it recites the limitation “the one of the first wall member, second wall member, first side wall member, and the second side wall member” in lines 2-4 of said claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this office action, the claim has been interpreted to read “the second wall member, the first side wall member, and the second side wall member”.
Claim 9 is indefinite because it recites the limitation “the one of the first wall member, second wall member, first side wall member, and the second side wall member” in lines 2-3 of said claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this office action, the claim has been interpreted to read “the second wall member, the first side wall member, and the second side wall member”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung (KR 20240159783 A; see machine translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Jung teaches a battery module (immersion tank 100, [0062], Figure 1B & Figure 5) comprising: a module housing (outer case 200, [0066] & Figure 1B &Figure 5) including a plurality of walls defining an interior (see walls of outer case 200 in Figure 1B); an amount of fluid (immersion solution 3, [0062] & Figure 1B & 5) arranged in the interior (see Figure 1B which shows immersion solution 3 inside the immersion tank).
Jung further teaches a plurality of battery cells (battery module 2 comprising plurality of batteries, [0060] & Figures 1B & 5) arranged in the interior (see Fig, 5) and at least partially immersed in the amount of fluid (immersion solution 3, see Figure 5 which shows the battery modules fully immersed in the fluid 3), each of the plurality of battery cells (battery module 2 comprising plurality of batteries) including a cell can (enclosure, see Figure 5 & [0090] which describes that battery module 2 is located inside an enclosure to hold battery cells) having an interior portion defined by a first wall member (bottom portion of housing with first discharge port 2-6, see Figure 5), a second wall member (top portion of housing with second discharge port 2-7, [0092] & Figure 5) arranged opposite the first wall member (bottom portion of housing with first discharge port 2-6, see Figure 5), a first side wall member (side portion of housing, see Figure 5), and a second side wall member (side portion of housing, see Figure 5) extending between and connected with the first wall member and the second wall member (see Figure 5), the second wall member (top portion of housing with second discharge port 2-7, [0092] & Figure 5) including a vent (second discharge port 2-7, [0091] & Figure 5).
Jun further teaches an electrode stack (plurality of battery cell, [0019]) arranged in the interior portion (see [0019] which describes battery modules accommodates a plurality of battery cells), wherein the cell can (housing, see Figure 5 & [0090]) includes a thermally responsive fluid inlet (first discharge port 2-6, [0091] & Figure 5) arranged in one of the first wall member, second wall member, first side wall member, and the second side wall member (see [0091] which describes that first discharge port 2-6 is arranged on the bottom end of battery module thus reading on first wall member), the thermally responsive fluid inlet (first discharge port 2-6) selectively exposing the interior portion of the cell can (housing, see Figure 5 & [0090]) to the amount of fluid (immersion solution 3) contained in the interior of the module housing (see [0091]-[0092] which describes that the first discharge port is an inlet through which the immersion solution 3 is introduced, and serves to supply the immersion solution to the battery module to absorb and move heat).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4 & 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (KR 20240159783 A; see machine translation) as applied to Claim 1 in view of Zeng (US 2022/0021068 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Jung teaches all of the limitations as set forth above.
While Jung teaches that the battery module (as set forth above) teaches a thermally responsive fluid inlet (first discharge port 2-6, [0091] & Figure 5) which serves to allow the supply of immersion solution into the battery module to absorb and move heat for efficient cooling of the battery module (see [0091]), it does not explicitly disclose wherein the thermally responsive fluid inlet includes a thermally responsive hatch.
Zeng teaches a battery module (battery module, [0115]) comprising: a module housing (frame, see [0115] which describes battery module is formed by electrically connecting a certain number of battery cells together and putting them in a frame; a plurality of battery cells (plurality of battery cells 20, [0125] & Figures 2-3, each of the plurality of battery cells (20) including a cell can (box 21 comprising housing 211 and cover plate 212 wherein housing 211 is formed by a plurality of walls, see [0126] & Figures 4-6) having an interior portion (accommodating chamber 211a, [0126] & Figure 4) defined by a first wall member (cover plate 212, [0126], Figure 4), a second wall member (bottom of housing 211 with pressure relief mechanism 213, see Figures 4-5 & 19, [0126]) arranged opposite the first wall member (cover plate 212, [0126], Figure 4), a first side wall member (plurality of walls, [0126]), and a second side wall member (plurality of walls, [0126]) extending between and connected with the first wall member (212) and the second wall member (bottom of housing 211) (see Figure 4 & [0126] which describes that the cover plate 212 is arranged over the opening of the housing 211 to close the accommodating chamber 211a).
Zeng further teaches a thermally responsive hatch (pressure relief mechanism 213 further comprising pressure relief sheet 2132, [0188] & Figures 30-34). Additionally, Zeng further teaches that the pressure relief sheet 2132 of the pressure relief mechanism 213 is configured such that when an internal pressure or temperature of the battery cell 20 reaches a threshold, it can be actuated to release the internal pressure of the battery cell (see [0188]). Zeng further teaches that the pressure relief mechanism 213 can be a pressure-sensitive or a temperature-sensitive element or structure which forms an opening when the temperature of the battery cell reaches a predetermined threshold to release the internal pressure of the battery cell (see [0127]). Accordingly, by adding the thermally responsive hatch (pressure relief mechanism 213, Zeng) to the thermally responsive fluid inlet (first discharge port 2-6, Jung), when the temperature of the battery cell reaches a threshold, the pressure relief sheet 2132 which is temperature-sensitive can be actuated to allow an inflow of coolant into the battery enclosure of Jung.
Zeng and Jung are analogous art to the claimed invention as both references are in the same field of battery cooling systems. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the pressure relief mechanism 213 further comprising the pressure relief sheet 2132 of Zeng as the thermally responsive hatch to the thermally responsive fluid inlet (first discharge port 2-6) of Jung which can be actuated to release the internal pressure of the battery when the internal pressure or temperature of the battery cell reaches a threshold.
Regarding Claims 4 & 5, modified Jung teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches the battery module (immersion tank 100, Jung) further comprising a first hatch support arranged adjacent the thermally responsive fluid inlet and a second hatch support arranged opposite the first hatch support adjacent the thermally responsive fluid inlet (as required by Claim 4) and wherein the thermally responsive hatch is supported between the first hatch support and the second hatch support (as required by Claim 5) as a connection unit 2131, see Figure 30-32 which shows the connection unit 2131 as a supporting structure for the pressure relief sheet 2131 and surrounds the pressure relief sheet on its entire circumference thus reading on both first and second hatch support and further reading on the thermally responsive hatch being supported between the first and second hatch supports.
Claims 3 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (KR 20240159783 A; see machine translation) in view of Zeng (US 2022/0021068 A1) as applied to Claims 2 and 5 respectively and further in view of Christopher (GB 2598349 A).
Regarding Claim 3, while modified Jung teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches that attachment components can be connected to the battery cell by means of adhesive (see [0048], Zeng), it does not explicitly teach battery module further comprising an amount of thermally responsive adhesive bonding the thermally responsive hatch to the one of the first wall member, second wall member, first side wall member, and the second side wall member wherein a thermally responsive adhesive is interpreted to mean an adhesive that responds to heat when exposed to a selected range of temperature (see [0040], Instant Specification).
Christopher teaches a battery module for a vehicle which comprises a vent volume for gases to be expelled from a venting cell (see abstract). Christopher further teaches that the module further comprises a plurality of cells located in the module housing wherein the cells are in contact with a cooling plate via an adhesive thermal interface material 314 (see abstract & P2/L23-27)
Jung and Christopher are analogous art to the claimed invention as both references are in the same field of battery modules. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the adhesive thermal interface material 314 of Christopher to the battery module of modified Jung as a means to bond the pressure relief system to the bottom portion of the housing of Jung as doing so would amount to nothing more than a use of a known means for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected result.
Regarding Claim 6, while modified Jung teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches that attachment components can be connected to the battery cell by means of adhesive (see [0048] ), it does not explicitly teach the battery module (immersion tank 100, Jung) further comprising an amount of thermally responsive adhesive securing the thermally responsive hatch over the thermally responsive fluid inlet between the first hatch support and the second hatch support wherein a thermally responsive adhesive is interpreted to mean an adhesive that responds to heat when exposed to a selected range of temperature (see [0040], Instant Specification).
Christopher teaches a battery module for a vehicle which comprises a vent volume for gases to be expelled from a venting cell (see abstract). Christopher further teaches that the module further comprises a plurality of cells located in the module housing wherein the cells are in contact with a cooling plate via an adhesive thermal interface material 314 (see abstract & P2/L23-27).
Jung and Christopher are analogous art to the claimed invention as both references are in the same field of battery modules. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the adhesive thermal interface material 314 of Christopher to the battery module of modified Jung as a means to secure the pressure relief system of Zeng to the first discharge port of Jung as doing so would amount to nothing more than a use of a known means for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected result.
Claim 7-8 & 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (KR 20240159783 A; see machine translation) in view of Zeng (US 2022/021068 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Jung teaches a battery module (immersion tank 100, [0062], Figure 1B & Figure 5) comprising: a module housing (outer case 200, [0066] & Figure 1B &Figure 5) including a plurality of walls defining an interior (see walls of outer case 200 in Figure 1B); an amount of fluid (immersion solution 3, [0062] & Figure 1B & 5) arranged in the interior (see Figure 1B which shows immersion solution 3 inside the immersion tank); a plurality of battery cells (battery module 2 comprising plurality of batteries, [0060] & Figures 1B & 5) arranged in the interior (see Fig, 5) and at least partially immersed in the amount of fluid (immersion solution 3, see Figure 5 which shows the battery modules fully immersed in the fluid 3), each of the plurality of battery cells (battery module 2 comprising plurality of batteries) including a cell can (enclosure, see Figure 5 & [0090] which describes that battery module 2 is located inside an enclosure to hold battery cells) having an interior portion defined by a first wall member (bottom portion of housing with first discharge port 2-6, see Figure 5), a second wall member (top portion of housing with second discharge port 2-7, [0092] & Figure 5) arranged opposite the first wall member (bottom portion of housing with first discharge port 2-6, see Figure 5), a first side wall member (side portion of housing, see Figure 5), and a second side wall member (side portion of housing, see Figure 5) extending between and connected with the first wall member and the second wall member (see Figure 5), the second wall member (top portion of housing with second discharge port 2-7, [0092] & Figure 5) including a vent (second discharge port 2-7, [0091] & Figure 5); and an electrode stack (plurality of battery cell, [0019]) arranged in the interior portion (see [0019] which describes battery modules accommodates a plurality of battery cells), wherein the cell can (housing, see Figure 5 & [0090]) includes a thermally responsive fluid inlet (first discharge port 2-6, [0091] & Figure 5) arranged in one of the first wall member, second wall member, first side wall member, and the second side wall member (see [0091] which describes that first discharge port 2-6 is arranged on the bottom end of battery module thus reading on first wall member), the thermally responsive fluid inlet (first discharge port 2-6) selectively exposing the interior portion of the cell can (housing, see Figure 5 & [0090]) to the amount of fluid (immersion solution 3) contained in the interior of the module housing (see [0091]-[0092] which describes that the first discharge port is an inlet through which the immersion solution 3 is introduced, and serves to supply the immersion solution to the battery module to absorb and move heat).
Jung further suggests that the immersion cooled battery modules would be applicable to high performance automobiles and electric vehicles as examples ([0009] & [0017]) but does not explicitly disclose a vehicle comprising: a body including a passenger compartment; a drive motor mounted in the body; and a rechargeable energy storage system including a battery assembly mounted to the body.
Zeng teaches a vehicle (vehicle 1, Figure 1 & [0124]) comprising: a body (head, bottom and tail of vehicle, see [0124]) including a passenger compartment (see [0055] which describes positioning of battery terminals with reference to a passenger thus implying a passenger compartment); a drive motor (motor 40, [0124] & Figure 1) mounted in the body (see [0124] which describes vehicle includes the motor 40); and a rechargeable energy storage system (battery 10, [0124] & Figure 1).
Zeng and Jung are analogous art to the claimed invention as both references are in the same field of battery cooling systems. It would have been well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a high performance automobile or electric vehicle of Jung comprises a body including a passenger compartment; a drive motor mounted in the body; and a rechargeable energy storage system including a battery assembly mounted to the body as taught by Zeng.
Regarding Claim 8, Jung teaches all of the limitations as set forth above.
While Jung teaches that the battery module (as set forth above) teaches a thermally responsive fluid inlet (first discharge port 2-6, [0091] & Figure 5) which serves to allow the supply of immersion solution into the battery module to absorb and move heat for efficient cooling of the battery module (see [0091]), it does not explicitly disclose wherein the thermally responsive fluid inlet includes a thermally responsive hatch.
Zeng teaches a vehicle (vehicle 1, Figure 1 & [0124]) comprising: a body (head, bottom and tail of vehicle, see [0124]) including a passenger compartment (see [0055] which describes positioning of battery terminals with reference to a passenger thus implying a passenger compartment); a drive motor (motor 40, [0124] & Figure 1) mounted in the body (see [0124] which describes vehicle includes the motor 40); and a rechargeable energy storage system (battery 10, [0124] & Figure 1) including a battery assembly (battery 10, [0124] & Figures 1-2) mounted to the body (see [0124] which describes that battery 10 may be provided at the bottom or the head or the tail of the vehicle 1), the battery assembly (10) comprising: a battery module (battery module, [0115]) comprising: a module housing (frame, see [0115] which describes battery module is formed by electrically connecting a certain number of battery cells together and putting them in a frame; a plurality of battery cells (plurality of battery cells 20, [0125] & Figures 2-3, each of the plurality of battery cells (20) including a cell can (box 21 comprising housing 211 and cover plate 212 wherein housing 211 is formed by a plurality of walls, see [0126] & Figures 4-6) having an interior portion (accommodating chamber 211a, [0126] & Figure 4) defined by a first wall member (cover plate 212, [0126], Figure 4), a second wall member (bottom of housing 211 with pressure relief mechanism 213, see Figures 4-5 & 19, [0126]) arranged opposite the first wall member (cover plate 212, [0126], Figure 4), a first side wall member (plurality of walls, [0126]), and a second side wall member (plurality of walls, [0126]) extending between and connected with the first wall member (212) and the second wall member (bottom of housing 211) (see Figure 4 & [0126] which describes that the cover plate 212 is arranged over the opening of the housing 211 to close the accommodating chamber 211a).
Zeng further teaches a thermally responsive hatch (pressure relief mechanism 213 further comprising pressure relief sheet 2132, [0188] & Figures 30-34). Additionally, Zeng further teaches that the pressure relief sheet 2132 of the pressure relief mechanism 213 is configured such that when an internal pressure or temperature of the battery cell 20 reaches a threshold, it can be actuated to release the internal pressure of the battery cell (see [0188]). Zeng further teaches that the pressure relief mechanism 213 can be a pressure-sensitive or a temperature-sensitive element or structure which forms an opening when the temperature of the battery cell reaches a predetermined threshold to release the internal pressure of the battery cell (see [0127]). Accordingly, by adding the thermally responsive hatch (pressure relief mechanism 213, Zeng) to the thermally responsive fluid inlet (first discharge port 2-6, Jung), when the temperature of the battery cell reaches a threshold, the pressure relief sheet 2132 which is temperature-sensitive can be actuated to allow an inflow of coolant into the battery enclosure of Jung.
Zeng and Jung are analogous art to the claimed invention as both references are in the same field of battery cooling systems. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the pressure relief mechanism 213 further comprising the pressure relief sheet 2132 of Zeng as the thermally responsive hatch to the thermally responsive fluid inlet (first discharge port 2-6) of Jung which can be actuated to release the internal pressure of the battery when the internal pressure or temperature of the battery cell reaches a threshold.
Regarding Claims 10 & 11, modified Jung teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches the vehicle further comprising a first hatch support arranged adjacent the thermally responsive fluid inlet and a second hatch support arranged opposite the first hatch support adjacent the thermally responsive fluid inlet (as required by Claim 10) and wherein the thermally responsive hatch is supported between the first hatch support and the second hatch support (as required by Claim 11) as a connection unit 2131, see Figure 30-32 which shows the connection unit 2131 as a supporting structure for the pressure relief sheet 2131 and surrounds the pressure relief sheet on its entire circumference thus reading on both first and second hatch support and further reading on the thermally responsive hatch being supported between the first and second hatch supports.
Claims 9 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (KR 20240159783 A; see machine translation) in view of Zeng (US 2022/0021068 A1) as applied to Claims 8 & 11 respectively and further in view of Christopher (GB 2598349 A).
Regarding Claim 9, while modified Jung teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches that attachment components can be connected to the battery cell by means of adhesive (see [0048] ), it does not explicitly teach the vehicle further comprising an amount of thermally responsive adhesive bonding the thermally responsive hatch to the one of the first wall member, second wall member, first side wall member, and the second side wall member wherein a thermally responsive adhesive is interpreted to mean an adhesive that responds to heat when exposed to a selected range of temperature (see [0040], Instant Specification).
Christopher teaches a battery module for a vehicle which comprises a vent volume for gases to be expelled from a venting cell (see abstract). Christopher further teaches that the module further comprises a plurality of cells located in the module housing wherein the cells are in contact with a cooling plate via an adhesive thermal interface material 314 (see abstract & P2/L23-27).
Jung and Christopher are analogous art to the claimed invention as both references are in the same field of battery modules. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the adhesive thermal interface material 314 of Christopher to the battery module of modified Jung as a means to bond the pressure relief system to the bottom portion of the housing of Jung as doing so would amount to nothing more than a use of a known means for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected result.
Regarding Claim 12, while modified Jung teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches that attachment components can be connected to the battery cell by means of adhesive (see [0048] ), it does not explicitly teach the vehicle further comprising an amount of thermally responsive adhesive securing the thermally responsive hatch over the thermally responsive fluid inlet between the first hatch support and the second hatch support wherein a thermally responsive adhesive is interpreted to mean an adhesive that responds to heat when exposed to a selected range of temperature (see [0040], Instant Specification).
Christopher teaches a battery module for a vehicle which comprises a vent volume for gases to be expelled from a venting cell (see abstract). Christopher further teaches that the module further comprises a plurality of cells located in the module housing wherein the cells are in contact with a cooling plate via an adhesive thermal interface material 314 (see abstract & P2/L23-27).
Jung and Christopher are analogous art to the claimed invention as both references are in the same field of battery modules. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the adhesive thermal interface material 314 of Christopher to the battery module of modified Jung as a means to secure the pressure relief system of Zeng to the first discharge port of Jung as doing so would amount to nothing more than a use of a known means for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected result.
Conclusion
/F.V.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725