DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-22 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 12, 16, and 18-21 are amended.
Claims 3 and 5 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 9-14, and 16-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al., (hereinafter Hong), U.S. Patent No. 8,724,456, in view of Ernstrom et al., (hereinafter Ernstrom), U.S. Patent No. 9,264,302.
As per claim 1, Hong discloses an access node comprising:
a memory, configured to store instructions [col. 16, lines 50-62, col. 29, lines 55-67, col. 30, lines 1-5, a memory, configured to store instructions (a computer-readable medium, such as a memory, containing instructions; tables, lists, or other data structures stored in a main memory)];
one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions [col. 29, lines 26-54, one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions (program code executed by one or more processors; instructions embedded or encoded in a computer-readable medium may cause a programmable processor, or other processor, to perform the method, e.g., when the instructions are executed)], to cause the access node to:
send first traffic to a first core network device in a core network through a first service plane of a bearer network; and send second traffic to a second core network device in the core network through a second service plane of the bearer network [fig. 6A-6C, 10A, col. 1, lines 50-65, col. 2, lines 29-51, col. 3, lines 49-67, col. 4, lines 1-67, col 18, lines 6-32, col. 24, lines 53-67, col. 25, lines 1-10, send first traffic to a first core network device in a core network through a first service plane of a bearer network; and send second traffic to a second core network device in the core network through a second service plane of the bearer network (a core network may include two or more sets of multi-homed router pairs, such as a primary pair of multi-homed routers and a secondary pair of multi-homed routers; virtual private local area network service (VPLS) is one example of an L2 virtual private network (VPN) service that may be used to extend two or more remote customer networks, i.e., VPLS sites, through an intermediate network (usually referred to as a provider network); bridging service may be, for example, an L2VPN, a VPLS, or a virtual leased line)],
wherein the first service plane and the second service plane are independent all- active service planes [fig. 2, 3A, 3B, 6A, col. 6, lines 2-6, col. 13, lines 36-67, col. 9, lines 57-67, col. 10, lines 1-11, col. 14, lines 1-9, col. 15, lines 15-42, col. 22, lines 12-18, wherein the first service plane and the second service plane are independent all- active service planes (network 10 represents a plurality of interconnected autonomous systems; core links 20C represents another two separate core links 20C and 20C'; table 40 comprising core link condition records 42A-42D ("core link condition records 42") that each represent a link condition for a respective one of core links 20 of network 10)].
Hong does not explicitly disclose independent all- active service planes that both actively forward traffic simultaneously.
However, Ernstrom teaches all- active service planes that both actively forward traffic simultaneously [fig. 2, 4, 6, 13, table 1, col. 9, lines 53-67, col. 10, lines 1-18, col. 10, lines 49-67, col. 11, lines 1-11, col. 12, lines 52-65, col. 15, lines 20-54, all- active service planes that both actively forward traffic simultaneously (both the links between RC and C1 and the links between RC and C2 actively transport traffic between RC)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the node described in Hong by including all- active service planes that both actively forward traffic simultaneously as taught by Ernstrom because it would provide the Hong's node with the enhanced capability of increasing bandwidth and overcome link and node failures [Ernstrom, col. 1, lines 15-34].
As per claim 2, Hong discloses the access node of claim 1,
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the access node to switch, when the first service plane is faulty, the first traffic from the first service plane to the second service plane [fig. 3A, 3B, col. 2, lines 23-36, col. 3, lines 18-25, col. 8, lines 7-23, col. 12, lines 16-34, col. 21, lines 31-47, switch, when the first service plane is faulty, the first traffic from the first service plane to the second service plane (perform an active/standby switch as a result of a transport failure of a core link)].
As per claim 4, Hong discloses the access node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the access node to:
connect to the first core network device via a first node in the bearer network and via a first core node in the first service plane; and connect to the second core network device via a second node in the bearer network and via a second core node in the second service plane [Abstract, col. 3, lines 26-67, col. 4, lines 1-67, col. 28, lines 61-67, col. 29, 1-18, connect to the first core network device via a first node in the bearer network and via a first core node in the first service plane; and connect to the second core network device via a second node in the bearer network and via a second core node in the second service plane (storing a plurality of access link condition records with a first router that is a member of a first multi-homing set of a plurality of routers each connected to a first layer two (L2) network with a respective one of a plurality of first access links, wherein the first multi-homing set communicates with a second L2 network using a plurality of second access links to provide a first service to the first and second L2 networks)].
Hong does not explicitly disclose connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node.
However, Ernstrom teaches connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node [fig. 4, 5, 13, 14, col. 2, lines 7-63, col. 9, lines 53-67, col. 11, lines 14-25, col. 12, lines 66-67, col. 13, lines 1-27, col. 15, lines 55-67, col. 16, lines 24-50, connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node (link aggregation group processor further includes a route controller configured to set a primary next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the remote interface of the link aggregation group and to set a backup next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the peer network element in the FIB upon the link state checker determines the network element being active; multi-chassis link aggregation group (MC-LAG) 660 contains local network element 132 (C1) and peer network element 134 (C2))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the node described in Hong by connecting via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node as taught by Ernstrom because it would provide the Hong's node with the enhanced capability of increasing bandwidth and overcome link and node failures [Ernstrom, col. 1, lines 15-34].
As per claim 6, Hong discloses the access node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the access node to:
connect to the first service plane through a first pseudo wire; and connect to the second service plane through a second pseudo wire [col. 17, lines 48-61, col. 18, lines 6-33, connect to the first service plane through a first pseudo wire; and connect to the second service plane through a second pseudo wire (a set of core link condition records for pseudowires in PW tables 56; the active/standby status of router 50, an up/down state of an access link or a core link (e.g., a pseudowire); a pseudowire to reflect a router 50 switch from active to standby for the service)].
As per claim 9, Hong discloses the access node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the access node to:
obtain a first route to the first core network device, wherein the first route comprises a first routing prefix and a first next hop, wherein a first Internet Protocol (IP) IP address of the first core network device matches a first destination network segment of the first routing prefix, and wherein the first next hop is a first node on the first service plane [fig. 2, 3A, 3B, 6C, col. 2, lines 23-36, col. 3, lines 26-67, col. 4, lines 1-67, col. 11, lines 25-56, col. 14, lines 42-67, col. 18, lines 6-33, obtain a first route to the first core network device, wherein the first route comprises a first routing prefix and a first next hop, wherein a first Internet Protocol (IP) IP address of the first core network device matches a first destination network segment of the first routing prefix, and wherein the first next hop is a first node on the first service plane (routing information 62 may include, for example, route data that describes various routes within a network, and corresponding next hop data indicating appropriate neighboring devices within the network for each of the routes; packet information (e.g., header information having destination information and/or a label stack) to next hops)]; and
obtain a second route to the second core network device, wherein the second route comprises a second routing prefix and a second next hop, wherein a second an IP address of the second core network device matches a second destination network segment of the second routing prefix, and wherein the second next hop is a second node on the second service plane [fig. 2, 3A, 3B, 6C, col. 2, lines 23-36, col. 3, lines 26-67, col. 4, lines 1-67, col. 11, lines 25-56, col. 14, lines 42-67, col. 18, lines 6-33, obtain a second route to the second core network device, wherein the second route comprises a second routing prefix and a second next hop, wherein a second an IP address of the second core network device matches a second destination network segment of the second routing prefix, and wherein the second next hop is a second node on the second service plane (routing information 62 may include, for example, route data that describes various routes within a network, and corresponding next hop data indicating appropriate neighboring devices within the network for each of the routes; packet information (e.g., header information having destination information and/or a label stack) to next hops)].
Hong does not explicitly disclose connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node.
However, Ernstrom teaches connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node [fig. 4, 5, 13, 14, col. 2, lines 7-63, col. 9, lines 53-67, col. 11, lines 14-25, col. 12, lines 66-67, col. 13, lines 1-27, col. 15, lines 55-67, col. 16, lines 24-50, connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node (link aggregation group processor further includes a route controller configured to set a primary next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the remote interface of the link aggregation group and to set a backup next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the peer network element in the FIB upon the link state checker determines the network element being active; multi-chassis link aggregation group (MC-LAG) 660 contains local network element 132 (C1) and peer network element 134 (C2))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the node described in Hong by connecting via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node as taught by Ernstrom because it would provide the Hong's node with the enhanced capability of increasing bandwidth and overcome link and node failures [Ernstrom, col. 1, lines 15-34].
As per claim 10, Hong discloses the access node of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the access node to
receive a first packet; and forward the first packet to the first node based on the first route, wherein a first destination address of the first packet is the first IP address of the first core network device [col. 1, lines 17-39, col. 9, lines 57-67, col. 10, lines 1-11, col. 11, lines 25-56, col. 14, lines 42-67, col. 15, lines 54-67, receive a first packet; and forward the first packet to the first node based on the first route, wherein a first destination address of the first packet is the first IP address of the first core network device (receive network traffic from their respective customer networks 14 and forward this network traffic via respective, active access links 26 to corresponding, active PE routers 16; generates forwarding information 60 in the form of map packet information (e.g., header information having destination information and/or a label stack) to next hops)].
Hong does not explicitly disclose connect via a first aggregation node.
However, Thakor teaches connect via a first aggregation node [fig. 1, 2, col. 5, lines 13-48, col. 14, lines 1-16, 35-46, connect via a first aggregation node (aggregation devices 30 comprise the fabric interconnect backbone of enterprise switch 18 by providing layer 2 switching functionality to transfer data between connections; the first network device and a second network device connected to the first network device)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the node described in Hong by including connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node as taught by Thakor because it would provide the Hong's node with the enhanced capability of providing high availability of enterprise switch within network [Thakor, col. 4, lines 3-17].
Hong does not explicitly disclose connect via a first aggregation node.
However, Ernstrom teaches connect via a first aggregation node [fig. 4, 5, 13, 14, col. 2, lines 7-63, col. 9, lines 53-67, col. 11, lines 14-25, col. 12, lines 66-67, col. 13, lines 1-27, col. 15, lines 55-67, col. 16, lines 24-50, connect via a first aggregation node (link aggregation group processor further includes a route controller configured to set a primary next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the remote interface of the link aggregation group and to set a backup next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the peer network element in the FIB upon the link state checker determines the network element being active; multi-chassis link aggregation group (MC-LAG) 660 contains local network element 132 (C1) and peer network element 134 (C2))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the node described in Hong by connecting via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node as taught by Ernstrom because it would provide the Hong's node with the enhanced capability of increasing bandwidth and overcome link and node failures [Ernstrom, col. 1, lines 15-34].
As per claim 11, Hong discloses the access node of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the access node to
receive a second packet; and forwarding the second packet to the second node based on the second route, wherein a second destination address of the second packet is the second IP address of the second core network device [col. 1, lines 17-39, col. 9, lines 57-67, col. 10, lines 1-11, col. 11, lines 25-56, col. 14, lines 42-67, col. 15, lines 54-67, receive a second packet; and forwarding the second packet to the second node based on the second route, wherein a second destination address of the second packet is the second IP address of the second core network device (receive network traffic from their respective customer networks 14 and forward this network traffic via respective, active access links 26 to corresponding, active PE routers 16; generates forwarding information 60 in the form of map packet information (e.g., header information having destination information and/or a label stack) to next hops)].
Hong does not explicitly disclose connect via a second aggregation node.
However, Ernstrom teaches connect via a second aggregation node [fig. 4, 5, 13, 14, col. 2, lines 7-63, col. 9, lines 53-67, col. 11, lines 14-25, col. 12, lines 66-67, col. 13, lines 1-27, col. 15, lines 55-67, col. 16, lines 24-50, connect via a second aggregation node (link aggregation group processor further includes a route controller configured to set a primary next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the remote interface of the link aggregation group and to set a backup next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the peer network element in the FIB upon the link state checker determines the network element being active; multi-chassis link aggregation group (MC-LAG) 660 contains local network element 132 (C1) and peer network element 134 (C2))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the node described in Hong by connecting via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node as taught by Ernstrom because it would provide the Hong's node with the enhanced capability of increasing bandwidth and overcome link and node failures [Ernstrom, col. 1, lines 15-34].
As per claim 12, Hong discloses a communication system [fig. 1, col. 5, lines 56-67, col. 12, lines 16-34, a communication system (select a path through exemplary network system 2)] comprising:
a first core; a second core node; a first core network device; a second core network device; and an access node [fig. 1, 2, 6A, 6C, 11, col. 11, lines 66-67, col. 12, lines 1-15, col. 20 lines 18-30, col. 21, lines 31-47, a first core; a second core node; a first core network device; a second core network device; and an access node (core link 20C is locally connected to PE router 16D, CPM 24C sends PE router 16D)] configured to:
send first traffic to the first core network device through a first service plane, wherein the first service plane comprises the first node and the first core node; and
send second traffic to the second core network device through a second service plane, wherein the second service plane comprises a second node and a second core node [fig. 6A-6C, 10A, col. 1, lines 50-65, col. 2, lines 29-51, col. 3, lines 49-67, col. 4, lines 1-67, col 18, lines 6-32, col. 24, lines 53-67, col. 25, lines 1-10, send first traffic to the first core network device through a first service plane, wherein the first service plane comprises the first node and the first core node; and
send second traffic to the second core network device through a second service plane, wherein the second service plane comprises a second node and a second core node (a core network may include two or more sets of multi-homed router pairs, such as a primary pair of multi-homed routers and a secondary pair of multi-homed routers; virtual private local area network service (VPLS) is one example of an L2 virtual private network (VPN) service that may be used to extend two or more remote customer networks, i.e., VPLS sites, through an intermediate network (usually referred to as a provider network); bridging service may be, for example, an L2VPN, a VPLS, or a virtual leased line)],
wherein the access node is connected to the first core network device via the first node and the first core node, wherein the access node is connected to the second core network device via the second node and the second core node, and wherein the first service plane and the second service plane are independent all-active service planes in a bearer network [fig. 2, 3A, 3B, 6A, col. 6, lines 2-6, col. 13, lines 36-67, col. 9, lines 57-67, col. 10, lines 1-11, col. 14, lines 1-9, col. 15, lines 15-42, col. 22, lines 12-18, wherein the access node is connected to the first core network device via the first node and the first core node, wherein the access node is connected to the second core network device via the second node and the second core node, and wherein the first service plane and the second service plane are independent all-active service planes in a bearer network (network 10 represents a plurality of interconnected autonomous systems; core links 20C represents another two separate core links 20C and 20C'; table 40 comprising core link condition records 42A-42D ("core link condition records 42") that each represent a link condition for a respective one of core links 20 of network 10)].
wherein the first service plane and the second service plane are independent all- active service planes [fig. 2, 3A, 3B, 6A, col. 6, lines 2-6, col. 13, lines 36-67, col. 9, lines 57-67, col. 10, lines 1-11, col. 14, lines 1-9, col. 15, lines 15-42, col. 22, lines 12-18, wherein the first service plane and the second service plane are independent all- active service planes (network 10 represents a plurality of interconnected autonomous systems; core links 20C represents another two separate core links 20C and 20C'; table 40 comprising core link condition records 42A-42D ("core link condition records 42") that each represent a link condition for a respective one of core links 20 of network 10)].
Hong does not explicitly disclose connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node; all- active service planes that both actively forward traffic simultaneously.
However, Ernstrom teaches all- active service planes that both actively forward traffic simultaneously [fig. 2, 4, 6, 13, table 1, col. 9, lines 53-67, col. 10, lines 1-18, col. 10, lines 49-67, col. 11, lines 1-11, col. 12, lines 52-65, col. 15, lines 20-54, all- active service planes that both actively forward traffic simultaneously (both the links between RC and C1 and the links between RC and C2 actively transport traffic between RC)]; connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node [fig. 4, 5, 13, 14, col. 2, lines 7-63, col. 9, lines 53-67, col. 11, lines 14-25, col. 12, lines 66-67, col. 13, lines 1-27, col. 15, lines 55-67, col. 16, lines 24-50, connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node (link aggregation group processor further includes a route controller configured to set a primary next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the remote interface of the link aggregation group and to set a backup next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the peer network element in the FIB upon the link state checker determines the network element being active; multi-chassis link aggregation group (MC-LAG) 660 contains local network element 132 (C1) and peer network element 134 (C2))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the system described in Hong by connecting via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node as taught by Ernstrom because it would provide the Hong's system with the enhanced capability of increasing bandwidth and overcome link and node failures [Ernstrom, col. 1, lines 15-34].
As per claim 13, Hong discloses the communication system of claim 12, wherein the access node is further configured to
switch the first traffic to the second service plane when the first service plane is faulty [fig. 3A, 3B, col. 2, lines 23-36, col. 3, lines 18-25, col. 8, lines 7-23, col. 12, lines 16-34, col. 21, lines 31-47, switch the first traffic to the second service plane when the first service plane is faulty (perform an active/standby switch as a result of a transport failure of a core link)].
As per claim 14, Hong discloses the communication system of claim 12,
wherein the access node is connected to the first node through a first pseudo wire, and wherein the access node is connected to the second node through a second pseudo wire [col. 17, lines 48-61, col. 18, lines 6-33, connect to the first service plane through a first pseudo wire; and connect to the second service plane through a second pseudo wire (a set of core link condition records for pseudowires in PW tables 56; the active/standby status of router 50, an up/down state of an access link or a core link (e.g., a pseudowire); a pseudowire to reflect a router 50 switch from active to standby for the service)].
Hong does not explicitly disclose connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node.
However, Ernstrom teaches connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node [fig. 4, 5, 13, 14, col. 2, lines 7-63, col. 9, lines 53-67, col. 11, lines 14-25, col. 12, lines 66-67, col. 13, lines 1-27, col. 15, lines 55-67, col. 16, lines 24-50, connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node (link aggregation group processor further includes a route controller configured to set a primary next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the remote interface of the link aggregation group and to set a backup next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the peer network element in the FIB upon the link state checker determines the network element being active; multi-chassis link aggregation group (MC-LAG) 660 contains local network element 132 (C1) and peer network element 134 (C2))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the system described in Hong by connecting via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node as taught by Ernstrom because it would provide the Hong's system with the enhanced capability of increasing bandwidth and overcome link and node failures [Ernstrom, col. 1, lines 15-34].
As per claim 16, Hong discloses the communication system of claim 12, wherein the access node is further configured to:
obtain a first route to the first core network device, wherein the first route comprises a first routing prefix and a first next hop, wherein a first IP address of the first core network device matches a first destination network segment of the first routing prefix, and wherein the first next hop is a first node on the first service plane [fig. 2, 3A, 3B, 6C, col. 2, lines 23-36, col. 3, lines 26-67, col. 4, lines 1-67, col. 11, lines 25-56, col. 14, lines 42-67, col. 18, lines 6-33, obtain a first route to the first core network device, wherein the first route comprises a first routing prefix and a first next hop, wherein a first IP address of the first core network device matches a first destination network segment of the first routing prefix, and wherein the first next hop is a first node on the first service plane (routing information 62 may include, for example, route data that describes various routes within a network, and corresponding next hop data indicating appropriate neighboring devices within the network for each of the routes; packet information (e.g., header information having destination information and/or a label stack) to next hops)]; and
obtain a second route to the second core network device, wherein the second route comprises a second routing prefix and a second next hop, wherein a second IP address of the second core network device matches a second destination network segment of the second routing prefix, and wherein the second next hop is a second node on the second service plane [fig. 2, 3A, 3B, 6C, col. 2, lines 23-36, col. 3, lines 26-67, col. 4, lines 1-67, col. 11, lines 25-56, col. 14, lines 42-67, col. 18, lines 6-33, obtain a second route to the second core network device, wherein the second route comprises a second routing prefix and a second next hop, wherein a second an IP address of the second core network device matches a second destination network segment of the second routing prefix, and wherein the second next hop is a second node on the second service plane (routing information 62 may include, for example, route data that describes various routes within a network, and corresponding next hop data indicating appropriate neighboring devices within the network for each of the routes; packet information (e.g., header information having destination information and/or a label stack) to next hops)].
Hong does not explicitly disclose connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node.
However, Ernstrom teaches connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node [fig. 4, 5, 13, 14, col. 2, lines 7-63, col. 9, lines 53-67, col. 11, lines 14-25, col. 12, lines 66-67, col. 13, lines 1-27, col. 15, lines 55-67, col. 16, lines 24-50, connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node (link aggregation group processor further includes a route controller configured to set a primary next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the remote interface of the link aggregation group and to set a backup next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the peer network element in the FIB upon the link state checker determines the network element being active; multi-chassis link aggregation group (MC-LAG) 660 contains local network element 132 (C1) and peer network element 134 (C2))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the system described in Hong by connecting via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node as taught by Ernstrom because it would provide the Hong's system with the enhanced capability of increasing bandwidth and overcome link and node failures [Ernstrom, col. 1, lines 15-34].
As per claim 17, Hong discloses the communication system of claim 16, wherein the access node is further configured to:
receive a first packet; and forward the first packet to the first node based on the first route, wherein a first destination address of the first packet is the first IP address of the first core network device [col. 1, lines 17-39, col. 9, lines 57-67, col. 10, lines 1-11, col. 11, lines 25-56, col. 14, lines 42-67, col. 15, lines 54-67, receive a first packet; and forward the first packet to the first node based on the first route, wherein a first destination address of the first packet is the first IP address of the first core network device (receive network traffic from their respective customer networks 14 and forward this network traffic via respective, active access links 26 to corresponding, active PE routers 16; generates forwarding information 60 in the form of map packet information (e.g., header information having destination information and/or a label stack) to next hops)].
Hong does not explicitly disclose connect via a first aggregation node.
However, Ernstrom teaches connect via a first aggregation node [fig. 4, 5, 13, 14, col. 2, lines 7-63, col. 9, lines 53-67, col. 11, lines 14-25, col. 12, lines 66-67, col. 13, lines 1-27, col. 15, lines 55-67, col. 16, lines 24-50, connect via a first aggregation node (link aggregation group processor further includes a route controller configured to set a primary next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the remote interface of the link aggregation group and to set a backup next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the peer network element in the FIB upon the link state checker determines the network element being active; multi-chassis link aggregation group (MC-LAG) 660 contains local network element 132 (C1) and peer network element 134 (C2))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the system described in Hong by connecting via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node as taught by Ernstrom because it would provide the Hong's system with the enhanced capability of increasing bandwidth and overcome link and node failures [Ernstrom, col. 1, lines 15-34].
As per claim 18, Hong discloses the communication system of claim 12,
wherein the first node is configured to send, to the first core node, the first traffic, and wherein the second node is configured to send, to the second core node, the second traffic sent by the access node [fig. 2, 6A, 8A, col. 8, lines 49-67, col. 11, lines 25-56, col. 20, lines 48-56, col. 24, lines 53-66, wherein the first node is configured to send, to the first core node, the first traffic, and wherein the second node is configured to send, to the second core node, the second traffic sent by the access node (a multi-homing set of PE routers 16 presents respective access links 26 as a single logical link to the coupled customer network 14 in a form of link aggregation known as multi-chassis link aggregation group (MC-LAG); CE router 318A multi-homes to PE routers 316A and 316B via respective access links 326A and 326B aggregated into a multi-chassis link aggregation group (MC-LAG) 310A)].
Hong does not explicitly disclose connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node.
However, Ernstrom teaches connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node [fig. 4, 5, 13, 14, col. 2, lines 7-63, col. 9, lines 53-67, col. 11, lines 14-25, col. 12, lines 66-67, col. 13, lines 1-27, col. 15, lines 55-67, col. 16, lines 24-50, connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node (link aggregation group processor further includes a route controller configured to set a primary next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the remote interface of the link aggregation group and to set a backup next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the peer network element in the FIB upon the link state checker determines the network element being active; multi-chassis link aggregation group (MC-LAG) 660 contains local network element 132 (C1) and peer network element 134 (C2))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the system described in Hong by connecting via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node as taught by Ernstrom because it would provide the Hong's system with the enhanced capability of increasing bandwidth and overcome link and node failures [Ernstrom, col. 1, lines 15-34].
As per claim 19, Hong discloses the communication system of claim 12,
wherein the first core node is configured to: receive the first traffic from the first node, and forward the first traffic to the first core network device [col. 1, lines 17-39, col. 9, lines 57-67, col. 10, lines 1-11, col. 11, lines 25-56, col. 14, lines 42-67, col. 15, lines 54-67, wherein the first core node is configured to: receive the first traffic sent by the first node, and forward the first traffic to the first core network device (receive network traffic from their respective customer networks 14 and forward this network traffic via respective, active access links 26 to corresponding, active PE routers 16; generates forwarding information 60 in the form of map packet information (e.g., header information having destination information and/or a label stack) to next hops)]; and wherein the second core node is configured to: receive the second traffic from the second node, and forward the second traffic to the second core network device [col. 1, lines 17-39, col. 9, lines 57-67, col. 10, lines 1-11, col. 11, lines 25-56, col. 14, lines 42-67, col. 15, lines 54-67, wherein the second core node is configured to: receive the second traffic sent by the second node, and forward the second traffic to the second core network device (receive network traffic from their respective customer networks 14 and forward this network traffic via respective, active access links 26 to corresponding, active PE routers 16; generates forwarding information 60 in the form of map packet information (e.g., header information having destination information and/or a label stack) to next hops)].
Hong does not explicitly disclose connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node.
However, Ernstrom teaches connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node [fig. 4, 5, 13, 14, col. 2, lines 7-63, col. 9, lines 53-67, col. 11, lines 14-25, col. 12, lines 66-67, col. 13, lines 1-27, col. 15, lines 55-67, col. 16, lines 24-50, connect via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node (link aggregation group processor further includes a route controller configured to set a primary next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the remote interface of the link aggregation group and to set a backup next-hop interface address of the network element to be an IP address of the peer network element in the FIB upon the link state checker determines the network element being active; multi-chassis link aggregation group (MC-LAG) 660 contains local network element 132 (C1) and peer network element 134 (C2))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the system described in Hong by connecting via a first aggregation node; and connect via a second aggregation node as taught by Ernstrom because it would provide the Hong's system with the enhanced capability of increasing bandwidth and overcome link and node failures [Ernstrom, col. 1, lines 15-34].
As per claim 20, Hong discloses the communication system of claim 12,
wherein the first core network device is configured to receive, through the first service plane, the first traffic from the access node [col. 1, lines 17-39, col. 9, lines 57-67, col. 10, lines 1-11, col. 11, lines 25-56, col. 14, lines 42-67, col. 15, lines 54-67, wherein the first core network device is configured to receive, through the first service plane, the first traffic sent by the access node (receive network traffic from their respective customer networks 14 and forward this network traffic via respective, active access links 26 to corresponding, active PE routers 16; generates forwarding information 60 in the form of map packet information (e.g., header information having destination information and/or a label stack) to next hops)], and wherein the second core network device is configured to receive, through the second service plane, the second traffic from the access node [col. 1, lines 17-39, col. 9, lines 57-67, col. 10, lines 1-11, col. 11, lines 25-56, col. 14, lines 42-67, col. 15, lines 54-67, wherein the second core network device is configured to receive, through the second service plane, the second traffic sent by the access node (receive network traffic from their respective customer networks 14 and forward this network traffic via respective, active access links 26 to corresponding, active PE routers 16; generates forwarding information 60 in the form of map packet information (e.g., header information having destination information and/or a label stack) to next hops)].
As per claim 21, Hong discloses a method implemented by an access node, the method comprising:
sending first traffic to a first core network device in a core network through a first service plane of a bearer network; and sending second traffic to a second core network device in the core network through a second service plane of the bearer network [fig. 6A-6C, 10A, col. 1, lines 50-65, col. 2, lines 29-51, col. 3, lines 49-67, col. 4, lines 1-67, col 18, lines 6-32, col. 24, lines 53-67, col. 25, lines 1-10, sending first traffic to a first core network device in a core network through a first service plane of a bearer network; and sending second traffic to a second core network device in the core network through a second service plane of the bearer network (a core network may include two or more sets of multi-homed router pairs, such as a primary pair of multi-homed routers and a secondary pair of multi-homed routers; virtual private local area network service (VPLS) is one example of an L2 virtual private network (VPN) service that may be used to extend two or more remote customer networks, i.e., VPLS sites, through an intermediate network (usually referred to as a provider network); bridging service may be, for example, an L2VPN, a VPLS, or a virtual leased line)],
wherein the first service plane and the second service plane are independent all- active service planes in the bearer network [fig. 2, 3A, 3B, 6A, col. 6, lines 2-6, col. 13, lines 36-67, col. 9, lines 57-67, col. 10, lines 1-11, col. 14, lines 1-9, col. 15, lines 15-42, col. 22, lines 12-18, wherein the first service plane and the second service plane are independent all- active service planes in the bearer network (network 10 represents a plurality of interconnected autonomous systems; core links 20C represents another two separate core links 20C and 20C'; table 40 comprising core link condition records 42A-42D ("core link condition records 42") that each represent a link condition for a respective one of core links 20 of network 10)].
Hong does not explicitly disclose independent all- active service planes that both actively forward traffic simultaneously.
However, Ernstrom teaches all- active service planes that both actively forward traffic simultaneously [fig. 2, 4, 6, 13, table 1, col. 9, lines 53-67, col. 10, lines 1-18, col. 10, lines 49-67, col. 11, lines 1-11, col. 12, lines 52-65, col. 15, lines 20-54, all- active service planes that both actively forward traffic simultaneously (both the links between RC and C1 and the links between RC and C2 actively transport traffic between RC)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Hong by including all- active service planes that both actively forward traffic simultaneously as taught by Ernstrom because it would provide the Hong's method with the enhanced capability of increasing bandwidth and overcome link and node failures [Ernstrom, col. 1, lines 15-34].
As per claim 22, Hong discloses a method of claim 21, further comprising
switching, when the first service plane is faulty, the first traffic from the first service plane to the second service plane [fig. 3A, 3B, col. 2, lines 23-36, col. 3, lines 18-25, col. 8, lines 7-23, col. 12, lines 16-34, col. 21, lines 31-47, switching, when the first service plane is faulty, the first traffic from the first service plane to the second service plane (perform an active/standby switch as a result of a transport failure of a core link)].
Claim(s) 7, 8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong, in view of Zhang et al., (hereinafter Zhang), U.S. Publication No. 2019/0020600.
As per claim 7, Hong discloses the access node of claim 6, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the access node to forward a first packet through the first pseudo wire, and wherein a destination Internet Protocol (IP) address of the first packet is a first address of the first core network device [fig. 3A, 3B, col. 11, lines 25-56, col. 14, lines 55-67, col. 15, lines 54-67, forward a first packet through the first pseudo wire, and wherein a destination Internet Protocol (IP) address of the first packet is a first address of the first core network device (a path selection policy specifies one or more actions for a PE router 16; VPLS module 50 maintains pseudowire tables 56 and MAC tables 58 for each VPLS established by router 50)].
Hong does not explicitly disclose determine, according to a first access control list (ACL) rule, to forward a first packet.
However, Zhang teaches determine, according to a first access control list (ACL) rule, to forward a first packet [paragraphs 0120, 0124, 0205, 0211, determine, according to a first access control list (ACL) rule, to forward a first packet (determine the new destination MAC address for the packet; support stateless services (e.g., access control lists (ACLs)))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the node described in Hong by including determining packet forwarding, according to a first ACL rule as taught by Zhang because it would provide the Hong's node with the enhanced capability of providing failure protection [Zhang, paragraphs 0040, 0120].
As per claim 8, Hong discloses the access node of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the access node to forward a second packet through the second pseudo wire, and wherein a destination IP address of the second packet is a second address of the second core network device [fig. 3A, 3B, col. 11, lines 25-56, col. 14, lines 55-67, col. 15, lines 54-67, access node to forward a second packet through the second pseudo wire, and wherein a destination IP address of the second packet is a second address of the second core network device (a path selection policy specifies one or more actions for a PE router 16; VPLS module 50 maintains pseudowire tables 56 and MAC tables 58 for each VPLS established by router 50)].
Hong does not explicitly disclose determine, according to a second ACL rule, to forward a second packet.
However, Zhang teaches determine, according to a second ACL rule, to forward a second packet [paragraphs 0120, 0124, 0205, 0211, determine, according to a second ACL rule, to forward a second packet (determine the new destination MAC address for the packet; support stateless services (e.g., access control lists (ACLs)))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the node described in Hong by including determining packet forwarding, according to a second ACL rule as taught by Zhang because it would provide the Hong's node with the enhanced capability of providing failure protection [Zhang, paragraphs 0040, 0120].
As per claim 15, Hong discloses the communication system of claim 14,
wherein the access node is further configured, to forward a first packet through the first pseudo wire, wherein a destination Internet Protocol (IP) address of the first packet is an address of the first core network device [fig. 3A, 3B, col. 11, lines 25-56, col. 14, lines 55-67, col. 15, lines 54-67, access node to forward a first packet through the first pseudo wire, wherein a destination Internet Protocol (IP) address of the first packet is an address of the first core network device (a path selection policy specifies one or more actions for a PE router 16; VPLS module 50 maintains pseudowire tables 56 and MAC tables 58 for each VPLS established by router 50)].
Hong does not explicitly disclose determine, according to a first ACL rule, to forward a first packet.
However, Zhang teaches determine, according to a first ACL rule, to forward a first packet [paragraphs 0120, 0124, 0205, 0211, determine, according to a first ACL rule, to forward a second packet (determine the new destination MAC address for the packet; support stateless services (e.g., access control lists (ACLs)))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the system described in Hong by including determining packet forwarding, according to a first ACL rule as taught by Zhang because it would provide the Hong's system with the enhanced capability of providing failure protection [Zhang, paragraphs 0040, 0120].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rustagi et al., U.S. Patent 8,792,501 discloses supporting an active-active multi-homed VPLS site.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469