DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pre-Grant Publication 2003/0199824 to Mahoney et al. (Mahoney hereinafter) in view of US Pre-Grant Publication 2003/0115981 to Stoianovici et al. (Stoianovici)
Regarding claim 1, Mahoney teaches a device (10) for delivering fluid do a user, comprising a reservoir (30), a plunger (204), a threaded lead screw (202), an actuator (214, 220), and a processor (50, see e.g. paragraph 59). Mahoney does not teach that the lead screw is a multi-start lead screw. Stoianovici teaches a ball-worm transmission generally, and particularly teaches a driven gear (200) and a multi-start lead screw (100). Stoianovici teaches that the lead screw may be made multi-start for when high power/low transmission ratios are desired (paragraph 60). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to use a multi-start lead screw as taught by Stoianovici in the device of Mahoney in order to improve its high power and/or low transmission ratio aspects.
Regarding claim 2, Mahoney teaches a worm drive (i.e. the threads of the lead screw) and a ratchet gear (214, see e.g. Fig. 4 and paragraph 75).
Regarding claim 5, Mahoney teaches a restrictor (216) which prevents linear movement of the lead screw (e.g. along the axis of the shape memory actuator 220) but permits rotational movement.
Regarding claim 6, inasmuch as the restrictor contacts and supports the actuator (at 214) and the lead screw (202, at least indirectly), it serves as a bearing surface.
Regarding claim 9, Mahoney teaches a tube nut (208).
Regarding claim 10, in view of Stoianovici, which teaches multiple thread starts, it would have been obvious to use two, three or four starts in the device of Mahoney as these overlap the range disclosed by Stoianovici.
Regarding claim 11, Mahoney teaches a first drive mechanism (220a) and a second drive mechanism (220b). The first (220a) does not rotate the wheel (i.e. an increment of zero) and the second rotates the wheel (one tooth of rotation).
Regarding claim 12, Mahoney teaches that the first mechanism indirectly rotates the lead screw (i.e. by providing a reset of the finger 222) and the second mechanism directly rotates the lead screw (by pulling a tooth with the finger 222).
Regarding claim 13, Mahoney teaches that the lead screw is disposed on a right side of the plunger (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Mahoney teaches that the lead screw is coaxial with the piston (see Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahoney in view of Stoianovici as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US Pre-Grant Publication 2018/0015228 to Stefanov et al. (Stefanov).
Regarding claim 3, Mahoney teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and further teaches a shape memory wire (220) and a spring engaging the pawl (122, “compression or other type”). Mahoney does not teach an ortho-planar spring. Stefanov teaches another medicament delivery device generally, and particularly teaches a locking device (80, 90, 110) including an ortho-planar spring (110). Stefanov teaches that this spring provides an axial bias and thereby allows for locking and unlocking of a linear travel device (paragraphs 70, 83). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to use an ortho-planar spring as taught by Stefanov to the device of Mahoney to provide the desired bias.
Regarding claim 4, Mahoney teaches a finger (222), a ratchet wheel (214), and a locking mechanism (244) at least indirectly fixed to the ortho-planar spring and having a tooth configured to mate with the ratchet wheel. The provision of multiple teeth would be obvious as the mere duplication of the illustrated tooth (244, see MPEP 2144.04 VI. B).
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahoney in view of Stoianovici as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0341036 to Mock et al. (Mock).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Mahoney teaches claim 1 as discussed above. Mahoney does not teach a clutch with a clamping torsion spring. Mock teaches a rotational clutch (320) configured to clamp around a drive shaft in response to a controller signal (paragraph 89) via a torsion spring (1165, paragraph 85). Mahoney teaches that this allows selective actuation of the shaft (paragraph 89). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide a clutch as taught by Mock to the device of Mahoney in order to allow for selective actuation of the leadscrew thereof.
Conclusion
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 22 January 2026