DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 and 11-31 are pending in this office action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amendment filed 01/26/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2022/0417780 A1) in view of Hu et al (2024/0040440 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to:
transmit a request to deactivate one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement and collection (QMC) configurations for one or more applications based at least in part on the UE entering power-resource-constrained state (Liu: [0070], [0157], UE transmit a request to suspend QoE measurements based on power saving/power-resource-constrained state); and
receive an indication to deactivate the one or more QMC configurations (Liu: [0070], [0156-[0158]).
Liu does not explicitly disclose receive a configuration of a timer configured to start based at least in part on the UE entering a power-resource-constrained state and transmit the request to deactivate one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement and collection (QMC) configurations based on the timer expiring.
Hu teaches receive a configuration of a timer configured to start based at least in part on the UE entering a power-resource-constrained state and transmit the request to deactivate one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement and collection (QMC) configurations based on the timer expiring (Hu: [0160]; [0244], stops QoE measurements when the timer expires; the timer being related to the UE entering RRC_INACGIVE state/ power-resource-constrained state).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu to receive a configuration of a timer configured to start based at least in part on the UE entering a power-resource-constrained state and transmit the request to deactivate one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement and collection (QMC) configurations based on the timer expiring as disclosed by Hu to provide a system for performing application layer and access stratum measurements (Barac: Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches a UE for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to:
enter a power-resource-constrained state (Liu: [0070], [0157] UE in power saving state); and
transmit, in a quality of experience (QoE) report container, an indication that the UE is in the power-resource-constrained state (Liu: [0066], [0157], UE sending indication of overheating to the network; UE using QoE container to report to network);
transmit a request to deactivate one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement and collection (QMC) configurations for one or more applications based at least in part on the UE entering power-resource-constrained state (Liu: [0070], [0157], UE transmit a request to suspend QoE measurements based on power saving/power-resource-constrained state).
Liu does not explicitly disclose receive a configuration of a timer configured to start based at least in part on the UE entering a power-resource-constrained state and transmit the request to deactivate one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement and collection (QMC) configurations based on the timer expiring.
Hu teaches receive a configuration of a timer configured to start based at least in part on the UE entering a power-resource-constrained state and transmit the request to deactivate one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement and collection (QMC) configurations based on the timer expiring (Hu: [0160]; [0244], stops QoE measurements when the timer expires; the timer being related to the UE entering RRC_INACGIVE state/ power-resource-constrained state).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu to receive a configuration of a timer configured to start based at least in part on the UE entering a power-resource-constrained state and transmit the request to deactivate one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement and collection (QMC) configurations based on the timer expiring as disclosed by Hu to provide a system for performing application layer and access stratum measurements (Barac: Abstract).
Regarding claim 18, Liu teaches a network node for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the network node to:
Receive an indication that a user equipment (UE) is in a power-resource-constrained state (Liu: [0070], [0157] UE in power saving state);
obtain a request to deactivate one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement and collection (QMC) configurations for one or more applications based at least in part on the UE entering power-resource-constrained state (Liu: [0070], [0157], UE transmit a request to suspend QoE measurements based on power saving/power-resource-constrained state); and
output a second indication to deactivate the one or more QMC configurations (Liu: [0070], [0156-[0158]).
Liu does not explicitly disclose receive a configuration of a timer configured to start based at least in part on the UE entering a power-resource-constrained state and transmit the request to deactivate one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement and collection (QMC) configurations based on the timer expiring.
Hu teaches receive a configuration of a timer configured to start based at least in part on the UE entering a power-resource-constrained state and transmit the request to deactivate one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement and collection (QMC) configurations based on the timer expiring (Hu: [0160]; [0244], stops QoE measurements when the timer expires; the timer being related to the UE entering RRC_INACGIVE state/ power-resource-constrained state).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu to receive a configuration of a timer configured to start based at least in part on the UE entering a power-resource-constrained state and transmit the request to deactivate one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement and collection (QMC) configurations based on the timer expiring as disclosed by Hu to provide a system for performing application layer and access stratum measurements (Barac: Abstract).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Liu teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: transmit capability information indicating that the UE is capable of transmitting the request to deactivate the one or more QMC configurations (Liu: [0065], [0147]).
Regarding claims 3 and 20, Liu teaches wherein the request to deactivate the one or more QMC configurations includes one or more application layer identifiers corresponding to the one or more applications, and wherein the indication to deactivate the one or more QMC configurations includes the one or more application layer identifiers (Liu: [0066], [0082], [0111]).
Regarding claims 4 and 21, Liu teaches wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication to deactivate the one or more QMC configurations, are configured to cause the UE to: receive the indication to deactivate the one or more QMC configurations based at least in part on a determination that the one or more applications are low-priority (Liu: [0081]-[0082], [0099]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches wherein the one or more applications are one or more first applications of a plurality of applications that includes one or more second applications, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: provide one or more commands, to the one or more second applications, to generate, during a thermal-resource-constrained state or the power-resource-constrained state, one or more QoE report containers (Liu: [0066], [0070], [0081], [0157]).
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: provide, to the one or more second applications, a second indication that the UE has exited the thermal-resource-constrained state or the power-resource-constrained state (Liu: [0155]-[0156]).
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: transmit a second indication that the UE has exited the thermal-resource-constrained state or the power-resource-constrained state (Liu: [0155]-[0156]).
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches wherein a thermal-resource-constrained state or the power-resource-constrained state is the thermal-resource-constrained state (Liu: [0157]).
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches wherein a thermal-resource-constrained state or the power-resource-constrained state is the power-resource-constrained state (Liu: [0157]).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request to deactivate the one or more QMC configurations, are configured to cause the UE to: transmit a UE assistance information (UAI) message that contains the request to deactivate the one or more QMC configurations (Liu: [0140], [0157]).
Regarding claim 13, Liu teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: obtain the QoE report container from an application (Liu: [0220], [00660], [0081]).
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: provide a command, to the application, to generate, during a thermal-resource-constrained state or the power-resource-constrained state, the QoE report container (Liu: [0220], [00660], [0081], [0157]).
Regarding claim 15, Liu teaches wherein the application is determined to be high-priority (Liu: [0081]-[0082], [0099]-[0100] QFI service like streamlining).
Regarding claim 16, Liu teaches wherein a thermal-resource-constrained state or the power-resource-constrained state is the thermal-resource-constrained state (Liu: [0157]).
Regarding claim 17, Liu teaches wherein a thermal-resource-constrained state or the power-resource-constrained state is the power-resource-constrained state (Liu: [0157]).
Regarding claim 22, Liu teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: obtain a third indication that the UE has exited the thermal-resource-constrained state or the power-resource-constrained state (Liu: [0155]-[0156]).
Regarding claim 23, Liu teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: output the indication that the UE has exited the thermal-resource-constrained state or the power-resource-constrained state to an operations, administration, and maintenance (OAM) server (Liu: [0155]-[0156]).
Regarding claim 24, Liu teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: output, to an operations, administration, and maintenance (OAM) server, the request to deactivate the one or more QMC configurations; and obtain, from the OAM server, the indication to deactivate the one or more QMC configurations (Liu: [0155]-[0157]).
Regarding claim 25, Liu teaches wherein a thermal-resource-constrained state or the power-resource-constrained state is the thermal-resource-constrained state (Liu: [0157]).
Regarding claim 26, Liu teaches wherein the thermal-resource-constrained state or a power-resource-constrained state is the power-resource-constrained state (Liu: [0157]).
Regarding claim 27, Liu teaches wherein the one or more processors, to obtain the request to deactivate the one or more QMC configurations, are configured to cause the network node to: obtain a UE assistance information (UAI) message that contains the request to deactivate the one or more QMC configurations (Liu: [0140], [0157]).
Claims 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2022/0417780 A1) in view of Hu et al (2024/0040440 A1) in further view of Barac et al (WO 2024/177561 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Liu teaches a network node for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the network node to:
obtain, in a quality of experience (QoE) report container, an indication that a user equipment (UE) is in a a power-resource-constrained state (Liu: [0066], [0157], UE sending indication of overheating to the network; UE using QoE container to report to network);
transmit a request to deactivate one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement and collection (QMC) configurations for one or more applications based at least in part on the UE entering power-resource-constrained state (Liu: [0070], [0157], UE transmit a request to suspend QoE measurements based on power saving/power-resource-constrained state).
Liu does not explicitly disclose transmit a configuration of a timer configured to start based at least in part on the UE entering a power-resource-constrained state and transmit the request to deactivate one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement and collection (QMC) configurations based on the timer expiring.
Hu teaches transmit a configuration of a timer configured to start based at least in part on the UE entering a power-resource-constrained state and transmit the request to deactivate one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement and collection (QMC) configurations based on the timer expiring (Hu: [0160]; [0244], stops QoE measurements when the timer expires; the timer being related to the UE entering RRC_INACGIVE state/ power-resource-constrained state).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu to receive a configuration of a timer configured to start based at least in part on the UE entering a power-resource-constrained state and transmit the request to deactivate one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement and collection (QMC) configurations based on the timer expiring as disclosed by Hu to provide a system for performing application layer and access stratum measurements (Barac: Abstract).
Liu in view of Hu does not explicitly disclose but Barac teaches
output, in the QoE report container, to an operations, administration, and maintenance (OAM) server, the indication that the UE is in the power-resource-constrained state (Barac: Fig. 1; [0021]-[0022] NM/OAM receive notification of the state of the UE).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu to output, in the QoE report container, to an operations, administration, and maintenance (OAM) server, the indication that the UE is in the power-resource-constrained state as disclosed by Barac to provide a system for handling QoE measurements (Barac: Abstract).
Regarding claim 29, Liu in view of Hu and Barac teaches wherein the thermal-resource-constrained state or the power-resource-constrained state is the thermal-resource-constrained state (Liu: [0157]).
Regarding claim 30, Liu in view of Hu and Barac teaches wherein the thermal-resource-constrained state or the power-resource-constrained state is the power-resource-constrained state (Liu: [0157]).
Regarding claim 31, Liu in view of Hu and Barac wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: receive capability information indicating that the UE is capable of transmitting the request to deactivate the one or more QMC configurations (Liu: [0065], [0147]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478