Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP- 06145284 to Nishitomi et al.
As to claims 1-8, 14-15, and 18-20, Nishitomi discloses a thermoplastic polyurethane (0016) obtained by reacting block copolymers with molecular weights 2504 or 2499 (0035- 0036, Examples 1 and 4-13) comprising the reaction product of 1500 parts of PTMG (MW 1500) and 1000 parts of epsilon-caprolactone (0035) with diisocyanates and diol chain extenders such as ethylene glycol or 1,4-butanediol (Example 5, 8-10 and 6-9) at an NCO/OH equivalent ratio of 0.95 to 1.05 (Examples, 0028). The reaction is conducted in the presence of dimethylformamide, which acts as solvent and does not have plasticizing effects.
As to claim 2, Nishitomi does not teach the use of plasticizers (See Examples).
As to claims 9-12, Nishitomi discloses suitable diisocyanates including 4,4- diphenylmethane diisocyanate and 1,6-hexamethylene diisocyanate (0026).
As to claims 19-20, Phillips discloses wherein the composition is a thermoplasticpolyurethane, a hot cast polyurethane, a cold cast polyurethane, a microcellular polyurethane foam, or polyurethane adhesive, or 1- or 2-component polyurethane coating, an additive manufacturing or a polyurethane sealant (0041).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-06145284
to Nishitomi et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0002468 to Philips (Previously cited).
As to claims 16-17, Nishitomi discloses a thermoplastic polyurethane or polyureas(0016) obtained by reacting block copolymers with molecular weights 2504 or 2499 (0035-0036, Examples 1 and 4-13) comprising the reaction product of 1500 parts of PTMG (MW 1500) and 1000 parts of epsilon-caprolactone (0035) with diisocyanates and diol chain extenders such as ethylene glycol or 1,4-butanediol (Example 5, 8-10 and 6-9) or diamine chain extenders at an NCO/OH equivalent ratio of 0.95 to 1.05 (Examples, 0028).
Nishitomi does not expressly disclose the diamines in claims 16-17. However, within the same field of endeavor, Philips discloses thermoplastic polyurethanes comprising the reaction of block copolymers of polyethers and caprolactone and diisocyanates with diols or diamines including 4,4-diamino biphenyl (0030).
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to substitute the diamine curing agent of Nishitomi with the diamine curing agent of Philips to reduce cold hardening and based on the tenet wherein it is prima facie obvious to add a known ingredient to a known composition for its known function. See MPEP 2100.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argued that Nishitomi discloses a process that uses dimethylformamide and that the residual solvent molecules of DMF have a plasticizing effect. This alleged plasticizing effect is not supported with evidence. Further, DMF is a well-known solvent in the polyurethane art. DMF is not considered a plasticizer. In polymer processing DMF’s role is to dissolve or swell polymers in order to cast, coat or extrude the polymer into films or coatings. A plasticizer is a chemical added toa polymer to increase its flexibility or workability by reducing intermolecular forces. Plasticizers often migrate into the polymer matrix. DMF, when used, is not incorporated into the PU backbone or matrix in any way.
Copilot search in google:
Is Dimethylformamide a Plasticizer in Polyurethane Processing?
Dimethylformamide (DMF) is not typically classified as a plasticizer in polyurethane (PU) processing, but it does play a key role in PU formulation and application.
In polyurethane manufacturing, DMF is primarily used as a highly polar aprotic solvent to dissolve polyurethane resins, especially for producing PU-based coatings, lacquers, and synthetic leathers www.nbinno.com+1. Its excellent solvency power allows for precise resin application, improved film-forming properties, and controlled evaporation during coating processes www.nbinno.com. This makes it a processing aid rather than a plasticizer.
A plasticizer is a chemical added to a polymer to increase its flexibility, workability, or durability by reducing intermolecular forces. In PU systems, plasticizers are often phthalates, adipates, or other esters that migrate into the polymer matrix. DMF, however, is not incorporated into the PU backbone or matrix in that way; instead, it is used externally to dissolve and apply the resin.
In some cases, DMF can be present as a residual solvent in PU-coated products like synthetic leather, especially if the coating is applied in solution AFIRM Group. This residual DMF is not acting as a plasticizer but as a solvent that may remain after processing.
Summary:
Role in PU processing: Solvent for dissolving PU resins, enabling coating and application.
Not a plasticizer: Does not chemically plasticize the PU matrix; its function is external to the polymer structure.
Potential residue: May remain in finished PU products if not fully removed.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763