DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 12 of claim 1, it is believed “extends” should be changed to --extend--.
In line 2 of claim 6, it is believed “withing” should be changed to --within--.
In line 3 of claim 7, it is believed “is” should be removed.
In line 3 of claim 9, it is believed the word --is-- is missing after “wall”.
In line 8 of claim 12, it is believed “withing” should be changed to --within--.
In line 6 of claim 13, it is believed “extends” should be changed to --extend--.
In line 3 of claim 15, it is believed “is” should be removed.
In line 3 of claim 17, it is believed the word --is-- is missing after “wall”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the scissor structure" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hanser et al. (US Pat 5,983,576).
Regarding claim 1, Hanser et al. disclose an expandable structure 10 comprising: a main structure 12 having a front wall and a rear wall; an outer side wall 14, extending between the front wall and the rear wall (see annotated Figure 2 below), the outer side wall 14 movable between a retracted position, adjacent the main structure 12, and an expanded position, away from the main structure 12 (see Figures 1-2); front and rear expansion walls 16, 18 interconnecting, respectively, the front wall and the rear wall of the main structure 12 with the outer side wall 14; and first and second scissor structures 44 positioned within the front wall and the rear wall, respectively, when the expandable structure 10 is in the stowed position (see Figure 11; Col. 4, lines 29-43), wherein the first and second scissor structures 44 are driven to move the outer side wall 14 between the expanded and retracted positions, in the expanded position, the first and second scissor structures 44 extend between the outer side wall 14 and the front and rear walls, respectively of the main structure 12 (see Figure 11; Col. 4, lines 29-43). The scissor structures 44 are connected to the primary support frame 30, which is a rectangular frame disposed within the front wall and rear wall of the vehicle (see annotated Figure 2 below and Figures 3-4; Col. 2, lines 44-49).
Regarding claim 6, Hanser et al. disclose the expandable structure of claim 1, wherein the front and rear expansion walls 16, 18 are stored withing a storage area 16-6, 16-8 formed within respective ones of the front and rear walls (see annotated Figure 2 above, Figures 3-4 and 8; Col. 2, lines 54-57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanser et al. in view of Durand (FR 2554062).
Regarding claim 2, Hanser et al. disclose the expandable structure of claim 1, wherein the front and rear expansion walls 16, 18 each include the scissor structure 44 (see Figure 11; Col. 4, lines 29-43).
Hanser et al. fail to disclose a bellow structure and a pneumatic structure located within the bellow structure, the pneumatic structure operable to fill with air to provide structural support for the expansion walls; and a wall skin providing an outer finish to the expansion walls.
Durand discloses an expandable structure 10 having an outer side wall 24 that moves between a retracted position and an expanded position (see Figures 1-2; Page 1, lines 31-36). A front and rear expansion wall connects the outer side wall 24 to the main structure 10 and includes a bellow structure 18 having a pneumatic structure 20 within the bellow structure 18 to fill with air to provide structural support for the expansion wall (see Figures 1-2; Page 1, line 31-Page 2, line 12). A wall skin 28 is provided for thermal insulation of the wall (see Figures 1-2; Page 2, lines 8-12). The bellow structure 18 also provides excellent thermal insulation (see Page 2, lines 15-16). The expansion walls also include a structural support 30 encased by the bellow structure 18 to provide stability to the outer side wall 24 (see Figures 1-3; Page 2, lines 17-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to encase the first and second scissor structures of Hanser et al. with a bellow structure and provide a pneumatic structure within the bellow structure to fill with air and provide structural support for the expansion walls, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide additional structural support to the expansion walls while also providing thermal insulation, as taught by Durand.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the expansion walls of Hanser et al., as modified by Durand, with a wall skin that provides an outer finish to the expansion walls, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide additional thermal insulation to the expanded structure, as taught by Durand.
Regarding claim 3, Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, disclose the expandable structure of claim 2.
Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, fail to disclose an air pump provided within the expandable structure to provide air into the pneumatic structure.
Durand discloses an expandable structure 10 having an outer side wall 24 that moves between a retracted position and an expanded position (see Figures 1-2; Page 1, lines 31-36). A front and rear expansion wall connects the outer side wall 24 to the main structure 10 and includes a bellow structure 18 having a pneumatic structure 20 within the bellow structure 18 to fill with air to provide structural support for the expansion wall (see Figures 1-2; Page 1, line 31-Page 2, line 12). A wall skin 28 is provided for thermal insulation of the wall (see Figures 1-2; Page 2, lines 8-12). The bellow structure 18 also provides excellent thermal insulation (see Page 2, lines 15-16). The expansion walls also include a structural support 30 encased by the bellow structure 18 to provide stability to the outer side wall 24 (see Figures 1-3; Page 2, lines 17-21). An air pump (not shown) is positioned in the expandable structure to provide compressed air to the pneumatic structure 20 (see Page 2, lines 21-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an air pump in the expandable structure of Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide compressed air to the pneumatic structure, as taught by Durand.
Regarding claim 5, Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, disclose the expandable structure of claim 2, having an expansion floor member 22 (see Figure 5; Col. 2, lines 62-66).
Hanser et al, as modified by Durand twice, fail to disclose the pneumatic structure provides a seal between the expansion floor member and the front and rear expansion walls with the expandable structure is in the expanded position and the pneumatic structure is filled with air.
Durand discloses an expandable structure 10 having an outer side wall 24 that moves between a retracted position and an expanded position (see Figures 1-2; Page 1, lines 31-36). A front and rear expansion wall connects the outer side wall 24 to the main structure 10 and includes a bellow structure 18 having a pneumatic structure 20 within the bellow structure 18 to fill with air to provide structural support for the expansion wall (see Figures 1-2; Page 1, line 31-Page 2, line 12). A wall skin 28 is provided for thermal insulation of the wall (see Figures 1-2; Page 2, lines 8-12). The bellow structure 18 also provides excellent thermal insulation (see Page 2, lines 15-16). The expansion walls also include a structural support 30 encased by the bellow structure 18 to provide stability to the outer side wall 24 (see Figures 1-3; Page 2, lines 17-21). The bellow structure 18 and pneumatic structure 20 extend in a rectangular profile 16 to provide a seal between the outer side wall 24 and the main structure 10 (see Figure 1; Page 1, lines 31-35; Page 2, lines 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the pneumatic structure of Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, in a rectangular profile to surround the expansion floor member and expansion walls and form a seal when the pneumatic structure is filled with air, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide effective thermal insulation to the expandable structure, as taught by Durand.
Regarding claim 12, Hanser et al. disclose an expandable structure 10 comprising: a main structure 12 having a front wall and a rear wall; an outer side wall 14, extending between the front wall and the rear wall (see annotated Figure 2 below), the outer side wall 14 movable between a retracted position, adjacent the main structure 12, and an expanded position, away from the main structure 12 (see Figures 1-2); front and rear expansion walls 16, 18 interconnecting, respectively, the front wall and the rear wall of the main structure 12 with the outer side wall 14, wherein the front and rear expansion walls 16, 18 are stored within a storage area 16-6, 16-8 formed within respective ones of the front and rear walls (see Figures 3-4 and 8; Col. 2, lines 54-57). A scissor structure 44 is positioned on the front and rear walls, respectively (see Figure 11; Col. 4, lines 29-43).
Hanser et al. fail to disclose a bellow structure and a pneumatic structure located within the bellow structure, the pneumatic structure operable to fill with air to provide structural support for the expansion walls; and a wall skin providing an outer finish to the expansion walls.
Durand discloses an expandable structure 10 having an outer side wall 24 that moves between a retracted position and an expanded position (see Figures 1-2; Page 1, lines 31-36). A front and rear expansion wall connects the outer side wall 24 to the main structure 10 and includes a bellow structure 18 having a pneumatic structure 20 within the bellow structure 18 to fill with air to provide structural support for the expansion wall (see Figures 1-2; Page 1, line 31-Page 2, line 12). A wall skin 28 is provided for thermal insulation of the wall (see Figures 1-2; Page 2, lines 8-12). The bellow structure 18 also provides excellent thermal insulation (see Page 2, lines 15-16). The expansion walls also include a structural support 30 encased by the bellow structure 18 to provide stability to the outer side wall 24 (see Figures 1-3; Page 2, lines 17-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to encase the first and second scissor structures of Hanser et al. with a bellow structure and provide a pneumatic structure within the bellow structure to fill with air and provide structural support for the expansion walls, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide additional structural support to the expansion walls while also providing thermal insulation, as taught by Durand.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the expansion walls of Hanser et al., as modified by Durand, with a wall skin that provides an outer finish to the expansion walls, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide additional thermal insulation to the expanded structure, as taught by Durand.
Regarding claim 13, Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, disclose the expandable structure of claim 12, further comprising: first and second scissor structures 44 positioned within the front wall and the rear wall, respectively, when the expandable structure 10 is in the stowed position (see Figure 11; Col. 4, lines 29-43), wherein the first and second scissor structures 44 are driven to move the outer side wall 14 between the expanded and retracted positions, in the expanded position, the first and second scissor structures 44 extend between the outer side wall 14 and the front and rear walls, respectively of the main structure 12 (see Figure 11; Col. 4, lines 29-43). The scissor structures 44 are connected to the primary support frame 30, which is a rectangular frame disposed within the front wall and rear wall of the vehicle (see annotated Figure 2 above and Figures 3-4; Col. 2, lines 44-49).
Regarding claim 14, Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, disclose the expandable structure of claim 12, having an expansion floor member 22 (see Figure 5; Col. 2, lines 62-66).
Hanser et al, as modified by Durand twice, fail to disclose the pneumatic structure provides a seal between the expansion floor member and the front and rear expansion walls with the expandable structure is in the expanded position and the pneumatic structure is filled with air.
Durand discloses an expandable structure 10 having an outer side wall 24 that moves between a retracted position and an expanded position (see Figures 1-2; Page 1, lines 31-36). A front and rear expansion wall connects the outer side wall 24 to the main structure 10 and includes a bellow structure 18 having a pneumatic structure 20 within the bellow structure 18 to fill with air to provide structural support for the expansion wall (see Figures 1-2; Page 1, line 31-Page 2, line 12). A wall skin 28 is provided for thermal insulation of the wall (see Figures 1-2; Page 2, lines 8-12). The bellow structure 18 also provides excellent thermal insulation (see Page 2, lines 15-16). The expansion walls also include a structural support 30 encased by the bellow structure 18 to provide stability to the outer side wall 24 (see Figures 1-3; Page 2, lines 17-21). The bellow structure 18 and pneumatic structure 20 extend in a rectangular profile 16 to provide a seal between the outer side wall 24 and the main structure 10 (see Figure 1; Page 1, lines 31-35; Page 2, lines 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the pneumatic structure of Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, in a rectangular profile to surround the expansion floor member and expansion walls and form a seal when the pneumatic structure is filled with air, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide effective thermal insulation to the expandable structure, as taught by Durand.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, in view of Okamoto (US Pat 6,565,143).
Regarding claim 4, Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, disclose the expandable structure of claim 2, wherein the bellows, pneumatic structure and wall skin are latched to the outer side wall 14 to deploy the front and rear expansion walls during expansion of the outer side wall 14.
Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, fail to disclose that the bellows, pneumatic structure and wall skin automatically deploy the front and rear expansion walls.
Okamoto discloses an expandable structure having a main structure 7 with an outer side wall 5 movable between a retracted position (see Figure 3a) and an expanded position (see Figure 3b; Col. 4, lines 11-20). The outer side wall 5 automatically deploys bellows 2 and a pneumatic structure 3 when the outer side wall 5 is moved between the retracted position and the expanded position (see Figures 4a-4c; Col. 4, lines 28-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the bellows, pneumatic structure and wall skin of Hanser et al, as modified by Durand twice, to automatically deploy the front and rear expansion walls during expansion of the outer side wall, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Okamoto, to eliminate additional steps and simplify the process of expanding and retracting the expandable structure.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanser et al. in view of Cantin et al. (US PG Pub 2014/0001786).
Regarding claim 7, Hanser et al. disclose the expandable structure of claim 1, further comprising an expansion floor section 22 movable to provide a floor surface for the expandable structure in the expanded position (see Figures 5-6; Col. 2, lines 64-67).
Hanser et al. fail to disclose the expansion floor section is disposed substantially vertically in the retracted position.
Cantin et al. disclose an expandable structure having a main structure 110’ and an outer side wall 234 having a floor assembly 232, or “expansion floor member”. In the retracted position, the floor assembly 232 is disposed substantially vertically (see Figures 2A-2E; Paragraph 39). The floor assembly 232 is stored substantially vertically in order to provide space for other features of the expandable structure (see Paragraph 39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the expansion floor member of Hanser et al. in a manner to dispose the expansion floor section substantially vertically in the retracted position, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide space for other features of the expandable structure in the main structure, as taught by Cantin et al..
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al., in view of Garceau et al. (US Pat 9,050,923).
Regarding claim 8, Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al., disclose the expandable structure of claim 7.
Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al., fail to disclose a hidden floor support structure disposed within a floor of the main structure when the expandable structure is in the retracted position, the hidden floor support providing support for the expansion floor section when the expandable structure is in the expanded position.
Garceau et al. disclose an expandable structure 20 having a main structure 22 and an outer side wall 24 movable between a retracted position and an expanded position (see Figures 1-2; Col. 5, lines 1-18). The outer side wall 24 includes an expansion floor section 40 having a plurality of slats 100 attached to the expansion floor section 40 and disposed within a floor of the main structure 22 when the outer side wall 24 is in the retracted position, providing support for the expansion floor section 40 when the outer side wall 24 is in the expanded position (see Figures 4-7; Col. 7, line 36-Col. 8, line 16). The plurality of slats 100 provide additive structural integrity to the outer side wall 24 (see Col. 7, lines 57-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the expansion floor section of Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al., having a hidden floor support structure disposed within a floor of the main structure when the expandable structure is in the retracted position and providing support for the expansion floor section when the expandable structure is in the expanded position, with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure there is sufficient strength to support the weight of the expansion floor section, as taught by Garceau et al..
Regarding claim 9, Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al. and Garceau et al., disclose the expandable structure of claim 8.
Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al. and Garceau et al., fail to disclose the hidden floor support structure is attached to the outer side wall and moves outward from the main structure as the outer side wall is moved into the expanded position.
Garceau et al. disclose an expandable structure 20 having a main structure 22 and an outer side wall 24 movable between a retracted position and an expanded position (see Figures 1-2; Col. 5, lines 1-18). The outer side wall 24 includes an expansion floor section 40 having a plurality of slats 100 attached to the expansion floor section 40 and disposed within a floor of the main structure 22 when the outer side wall 24 is in the retracted position, providing support for the expansion floor section 40 when the outer side wall 24 is in the expanded position (see Figures 4-7; Col. 7, line 36-Col. 8, line 3). The plurality of slats 100 enable the outer side wall 24 to expand and retract smoothly and evenly (see Col. 9, lines 41-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the hidden floor support of Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al. and Garceau et al., to the outer side wall such that it moves outward from the main structure as the outer side wall is moved into the expanded position, with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow the outer side wall to expand and retract smoothly and evenly, as taught by Garceau et al..
Regarding claim 10, Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al. and Garceau et al., disclose the expandable structure of claim 8.
Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al. and Garceau et al., fail to disclose the hidden floor support includes a plurality of slats fitting into and extendable out of slots formed in the floor of the main structure.
Garceau et al. disclose an expandable structure 20 having a main structure 22 and an outer side wall 24 movable between a retracted position and an expanded position (see Figures 1-2; Col. 5, lines 1-18). The outer side wall 24 includes an expansion floor section 40 having a plurality of slats 100 attached to the expansion floor section 40 and disposed within a floor of the main structure 22 when the outer side wall 24 is in the retracted position, providing support for the expansion floor section 40 when the outer side wall 24 is in the expanded position (see Figures 4-7; Col. 7, line 36-Col. 8, line 3). The plurality of slats 100 enable the outer side wall 24 to expand and retract smoothly and evenly (see Col. 9, lines 41-44). Corner members 62 are positioned on the main structure 22 and have slots 130 in which the plurality of slats 100 are positioned, including in the floor of the main structure 22 (see Figures 5-7, 14-19 and 26; Col. 6, lines 17-23; Col. 8, lines 17-27). The slots 130 act as guides for the plurality of slats 100 (see Col. 8, lines 17-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the hidden floor support structure of Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al. and Garceau et al., as a plurality of slats fitting into and extending out of slots formed in the floor of the main structure, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide a means of guiding the expandable structure while also providing additional support, as taught by Garceau et al..
Regarding claim 11, Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al. and Garceau et al., disclose the expandable structure of claim 8.
Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al. and Garceau et al., fail to disclose a gear structure interconnecting the expansion floor section with the hidden floor support structure, wherein movement of the hidden floor support structure automatically drives rotation of the expansion floor section to move between the expanded position and the retracted position.
Garceau et al. disclose an expandable structure 20 having a main structure 22 and an outer side wall 24 movable between a retracted position and an expanded position (see Figures 1-2; Col. 5, lines 1-18). The outer side wall 24 includes an expansion floor section 40 having a plurality of slats 100, as a hidden floor support structure, attached to the expansion floor section 40 and disposed within a floor of the main structure 22 when the outer side wall 24 is in the retracted position, providing support for the expansion floor section 40 when the outer side wall 24 is in the expanded position (see Figures 4-7; Col. 7, line 36-Col. 8, line 3). A gear structure 102 interconnects the expansion floor section 40 with the plurality of slats 100, wherein movement of the plurality of slats 100 automatically drives rotation of the expansion floor section 40 to move between the expanded position and the retracted position and limits the amount of travel of the expansion floor structure 40 (see Figures ; Col. 7, lines 36-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to interconnect the expansion floor section of Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al. and Garceau et al., to the hidden floor support structure with a gear structure to automatically drive rotation of the expansion floor section between the expanded position and the retracted position, with a reasonable expectation of success, to limit travel of the expansion floor structure and maximize space while also providing support to the expansion floor structure, as taught by Garceau et al..
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, in view of Cantin et al..
Regarding claim 15, Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, disclose the expandable structure of claim 12, further comprising an expansion floor section 22 movable to provide a floor surface for the expandable structure in the expanded position (see Figures 5-6; Col. 2, lines 64-67).
Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, fail to disclose the expansion floor section is disposed substantially vertically in the retracted position.
Cantin et al. disclose an expandable structure having a main structure 110’ and an outer side wall 234 having a floor assembly 232, or “expansion floor member”. In the retracted position, the floor assembly 232 is disposed substantially vertically (see Figures 2A-2E; Paragraph 39). The floor assembly 232 is stored substantially vertically in order to provide space for other features of the expandable structure (see Paragraph 39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the expansion floor member of Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, in a manner to dispose the expansion floor section substantially vertically in the retracted position, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide space for other features of the expandable structure in the main structure, as taught by Cantin et al..
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanser et al, as modified by Durand twice and Cantin et al., in view of Garceau et al..
Regarding claim 16, Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice and Cantin et al., disclose the expandable structure of claim 15.
Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice and Cantin et al., fail to disclose a hidden floor support structure disposed within a floor of the main structure when the expandable structure is in the retracted position, the hidden floor support providing support for the expansion floor section when the expandable structure is in the expanded position.
Garceau et al. disclose an expandable structure 20 having a main structure 22 and an outer side wall 24 movable between a retracted position and an expanded position (see Figures 1-2; Col. 5, lines 1-18). The outer side wall 24 includes an expansion floor section 40 having a plurality of slats 100 attached to the expansion floor section 40 and disposed within a floor of the main structure 22 when the outer side wall 24 is in the retracted position, providing support for the expansion floor section 40 when the outer side wall 24 is in the expanded position (see Figures 4-7; Col. 7, line 36-Col. 8, line 16). The plurality of slats 100 provide additive structural integrity to the outer side wall 24 (see Col. 7, lines 57-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the expansion floor section of Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice and Cantin et al., having a hidden floor support structure disposed within a floor of the main structure when the expandable structure is in the retracted position and providing support for the expansion floor section when the expandable structure is in the expanded position, with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure there is sufficient strength to support the weight of the expansion floor section, as taught by Garceau et al..
Regarding claim 17, Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, Cantin et al. and Garceau et al., disclose the expandable structure of claim 16.
Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, Cantin et al. and Garceau et al., fail to disclose the hidden floor support structure is attached to the outer side wall and moves outward from the main structure as the outer side wall is moved into the expanded position.
Garceau et al. disclose an expandable structure 20 having a main structure 22 and an outer side wall 24 movable between a retracted position and an expanded position (see Figures 1-2; Col. 5, lines 1-18). The outer side wall 24 includes an expansion floor section 40 having a plurality of slats 100 attached to the expansion floor section 40 and disposed within a floor of the main structure 22 when the outer side wall 24 is in the retracted position, providing support for the expansion floor section 40 when the outer side wall 24 is in the expanded position (see Figures 4-7; Col. 7, line 36-Col. 8, line 3). The plurality of slats 100 enable the outer side wall 24 to expand and retract smoothly and evenly (see Col. 9, lines 41-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the hidden floor support of Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, Cantin et al. and Garceau et al., to the outer side wall such that it moves outward from the main structure as the outer side wall is moved into the expanded position, with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow the outer side wall to expand and retract smoothly and evenly, as taught by Garceau et al..
Regarding claim 18, Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, Cantin et al. and Garceau et al., disclose the expandable structure of claim 16.
Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, Cantin et al. and Garceau et al., fail to disclose the hidden floor support includes a plurality of slats fitting into and extendable out of slots formed in the floor of the main structure.
Garceau et al. disclose an expandable structure 20 having a main structure 22 and an outer side wall 24 movable between a retracted position and an expanded position (see Figures 1-2; Col. 5, lines 1-18). The outer side wall 24 includes an expansion floor section 40 having a plurality of slats 100 attached to the expansion floor section 40 and disposed within a floor of the main structure 22 when the outer side wall 24 is in the retracted position, providing support for the expansion floor section 40 when the outer side wall 24 is in the expanded position (see Figures 4-7; Col. 7, line 36-Col. 8, line 3). The plurality of slats 100 enable the outer side wall 24 to expand and retract smoothly and evenly (see Col. 9, lines 41-44). Corner members 62 are positioned on the main structure 22 and have slots 130 in which the plurality of slats 100 are positioned, including in the floor of the main structure 22 (see Figures 5-7, 14-19 and 26; Col. 6, lines 17-23; Col. 8, lines 17-27). The slots 130 act as guides for the plurality of slats 100 (see Col. 8, lines 17-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the hidden floor support structure of Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, Cantin et al. and Garceau et al., as a plurality of slats fitting into and extending out of slots formed in the floor of the main structure, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide a means of guiding the expandable structure while also providing additional support, as taught by Garceau et al..
Regarding claim 19, Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, Cantin et al. and Garceau et al., disclose the expandable structure of claim 16.
Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, Cantin et al. and Garceau et al., fail to disclose a gear structure interconnecting the expansion floor section with the hidden floor support structure, wherein movement of the hidden floor support structure automatically drives rotation of the expansion floor section to move between the expanded position and the retracted position.
Garceau et al. disclose an expandable structure 20 having a main structure 22 and an outer side wall 24 movable between a retracted position and an expanded position (see Figures 1-2; Col. 5, lines 1-18). The outer side wall 24 includes an expansion floor section 40 having a plurality of slats 100, as a hidden floor support structure, attached to the expansion floor section 40 and disposed within a floor of the main structure 22 when the outer side wall 24 is in the retracted position, providing support for the expansion floor section 40 when the outer side wall 24 is in the expanded position (see Figures 4-7; Col. 7, line 36-Col. 8, line 3). A gear structure 102 interconnects the expansion floor section 40 with the plurality of slats 100, wherein movement of the plurality of slats 100 automatically drives rotation of the expansion floor section 40 to move between the expanded position and the retracted position and limits the amount of travel of the expansion floor structure 40 (see Figures ; Col. 7, lines 36-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to interconnect the expansion floor section of Hanser et al., as modified by Durand twice, Cantin et al. and Garceau et al., to the hidden floor support structure with a gear structure to automatically drive rotation of the expansion floor section between the expanded position and the retracted position, with a reasonable expectation of success, to limit travel of the expansion floor structure and maximize space while also providing support to the expansion floor structure, as taught by Garceau et al..
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanser et al. in view of Cantin et al. and Garceau et al..
Regarding claim 20, Hanser et al. disclose an expandable structure 10 comprising: a main structure 12 having a front wall and a rear wall; an outer side wall 14, extending between the front wall and the rear wall (see annotated Figure 2 below), the outer side wall 14 movable between a retracted position, adjacent the main structure 12, and an expanded position, away from the main structure 12 (see Figures 1-2); front and rear expansion walls 16, 18 interconnecting, respectively, the front wall and the rear wall of the main structure 12 with the outer side wall 14; and first and second scissor structures 44 positioned within the front wall and the rear wall, respectively, when the expandable structure 10 is in the stowed position (see Figure 11; Col. 4, lines 29-43), wherein the first and second scissor structures 44 are driven to move the outer side wall 14 between the expanded and retracted positions, in the expanded position, the first and second scissor structures 44 extend between the outer side wall 14 and the front and rear walls, respectively of the main structure 12 (see Figure 11; Col. 4, lines 29-43). The scissor structures 44 are connected to the primary support frame 30, which is a rectangular frame disposed within the front wall and rear wall of the vehicle (see annotated Figure 2 below and Figures 3-4; Col. 2, lines 44-49). An expansion floor section 22 is movable to provide a floor surface for the expandable structure in the expanded position (see Figures 5-6; Col. 2, lines 64-67).
Hanser et al. fail to disclose the expansion floor section is disposed substantially vertically in the retracted position; a hidden floor support structure disposed within a floor of the main structure when the expandable structure is in the retracted position, the hidden floor support providing support for the expansion floor section when the expandable structure is in the expanded position; and the hidden floor support structure is attached to the outer side wall and moves outward from the main structure as the outer side wall is moved into the expanded position.
Cantin et al. disclose an expandable structure having a main structure 110’ and an outer side wall 234 having a floor assembly 232, or “expansion floor member”. In the retracted position, the floor assembly 232 is disposed substantially vertically (see Figures 2A-2E; Paragraph 39). The floor assembly 232 is stored substantially vertically in order to provide space for other features of the expandable structure (see Paragraph 39).
Garceau et al. disclose an expandable structure 20 having a main structure 22 and an outer side wall 24 movable between a retracted position and an expanded position (see Figures 1-2; Col. 5, lines 1-18). The outer side wall 24 includes an expansion floor section 40 having a plurality of slats 100 attached to the expansion floor section 40 and disposed within a floor of the main structure 22 when the outer side wall 24 is in the retracted position, providing support for the expansion floor section 40 when the outer side wall 24 is in the expanded position (see Figures 4-7; Col. 7, line 36-Col. 8, line 16). The plurality of slats 100 provide additive structural integrity to the outer side wall 24 (see Col. 7, lines 57-60) and enable the outer side wall 24 to expand and retract smoothly and evenly (see Col. 9, lines 41-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the expansion floor member of Hanser et al. in a manner to dispose the expansion floor section substantially vertically in the retracted position, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide space for other features of the expandable structure in the main structure, as taught by Cantin et al..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the expansion floor section of Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al., having a hidden floor support structure disposed within a floor of the main structure when the expandable structure is in the retracted position and providing support for the expansion floor section when the expandable structure is in the expanded position, with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure there is sufficient strength to support the weight of the expansion floor section, as taught by Garceau et al..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the hidden floor support of Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al. and Garceau et al., to the outer side wall such that it moves outward from the main structure as the outer side wall is moved into the expanded position, with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow the outer side wall to expand and retract smoothly and evenly, as taught by Garceau et al..
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al. and Garceau et al. twice, in view of Durand.
Regarding claim 21, Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al. and Garceau et al. twice, disclose the expandable structure of claim 20, wherein the front and rear expansion walls 16, 18 each include the scissor structure 44 (see Figure 11; Col. 4, lines 29-43).
Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al. and Garceau et al. twice, fail to disclose a bellow structure and a pneumatic structure located within the bellow structure, the pneumatic structure operable to fill with air to provide structural support for the expansion walls; and a wall skin providing an outer finish to the expansion walls.
Durand discloses an expandable structure 10 having an outer side wall 24 that moves between a retracted position and an expanded position (see Figures 1-2; Page 1, lines 31-36). A front and rear expansion wall connects the outer side wall 24 to the main structure 10 and includes a bellow structure 18 having a pneumatic structure 20 within the bellow structure 18 to fill with air to provide structural support for the expansion wall (see Figures 1-2; Page 1, line 31-Page 2, line 12). A wall skin 28 is provided for thermal insulation of the wall (see Figures 1-2; Page 2, lines 8-12). The bellow structure 18 also provides excellent thermal insulation (see Page 2, lines 15-16). The expansion walls also include a structural support 30 encased by the bellow structure 18 to provide stability to the outer side wall 24 (see Figures 1-3; Page 2, lines 17-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to encase the first and second scissor structures of Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al. and Garceau et al. twice, with a bellow structure and provide a pneumatic structure within the bellow structure to fill with air and provide structural support for the expansion walls, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide additional structural support to the expansion walls while also providing thermal insulation, as taught by Durand.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the expansion walls of Hanser et al., as modified by Cantin et al., Garceau et al. twice, and Durand, with a wall skin that provides an outer finish to the expansion walls, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide additional thermal insulation to the expanded structure, as taught by Durand.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jones (US Pat 6,212,710) discloses an expandable structure having and outer side wall, expansion side walls, and a bellows structure. Hussaini (US Pat 5,248,180) discloses an expandable structure having an outer side wall, front and rear expansion walls, a hidden floor support, a scissor structure, a gear structure, and an expansion floor section. Blodgett, Jr. (US Pat 7,175,219) discloses an expandable structure having an outer side wall, front and rear expansion walls, first and second scissor structures, and a floor. Cornelius et al. (US Pat 1,513,227) disclose an expandable structure having an outer side wall, front and rear expansion walls, first and second scissor structures, and a bellow structure. Few et al. (US Pat 5,570,924) disclose an expandable structure having a main structure, an outer side wall, front and rear expansion walls, a scissor structure, a hidden floor support, and slots in a floor of the main structure. Gerenzy et al. (US Pat 4,981,319) disclose an expandable structure having a main structure, an outer side wall, front and rear expansion walls, first and second scissor structures, and a bellow structure. Ballas (US Pat 3,534,512) discloses an expandable structure having a main structure, front and rear expansion walls, and a bellows structure. Ballay et al. (US Pat 3,629,982) disclose an expandable structure having a main structure, an outer side wall, front and rear expansion walls, a bellow structure, and a pneumatic structure. Gamble et al. (US Pat 3,526,066) disclose an expandable structure having a main structure, an outer side wall, front and rear expansion walls, first and second scissor structure, and an expansion floor section positioned substantially vertical in a retracted position. Pillet (FR 2617449) discloses an expandable structure having a main structure, an outer side wall, front and rear expansion walls, a bellows structure, an expansion floor section, and a hidden floor support.
/VERONICA M CONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612