Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the communication filed 1/7/2026.
Cancellation of claims 8, 10, and 20, filed 1/7/2026, are acknowledged and accepted.
Amendments to claims 1, 9, and 14, filed 1/7/2026, are acknowledged and accepted.
Cancellation of claims 21-25, filed 8/17/2023, remain in effect.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While Applicant’s recent amendments overcame prior art rejections made under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 in the 10/8/2025 Non-Final Rejection, the amended claims remain susceptible to rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, with added rationale to address the new limitations. Amended claims are argued below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 212969829 U).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses (see FIG. 5, annotated below, ¶s 124-128) a camera module (500), comprising:
a first reflective member (first reflecting prism 532) including a first reflective surface (second internal reflection surface 5324);
a telephoto lens (lens assembly 520) spaced apart from the first reflective surface (second internal reflection surface 5324) in a first direction (“second direction”);
a second reflective member (second reflecting prism 534) spaced apart from the first reflective surface (second internal reflection surface 5324) in a second direction (“first direction”), the second direction (“first direction”) intersecting the first direction (“second direction”); and
a sensor support member (i.e. supporting photosensitive assembly 540) configured to support an image sensor (photosensitive assembly 540),
wherein the second reflective member (second reflecting prism 534) includes a second reflective surface (fourth internal reflection surface 5344) configured to reflect light from the first reflective surface (second internal reflection surface 5324) toward the sensor support member (i.e. supporting photosensitive assembly 540),
wherein the sensor support member (i.e. supporting photosensitive assembly 540) is spaced from the second reflective surface (fourth internal reflection surface 5344) in a third direction, the third direction intersecting each of the first direction (“second direction”) and the second direction (“first direction”), and
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 5 of Wu is annotated to highlight various features)]wherein an axis of the telephoto lens (lens assembly 520) is parallel to the first direction (“second direction”) and to a plane defined by the second direction (“first direction”) and the third direction.
Wu thus discloses the invention substantially as claimed, failing only to disclose wherein the axis of the telephoto lens is perpendicular to the plane defined by the second direction and the third direction. Examiner notes, however, this remaining limitation is trivially satisfied by rotating part of Wu’s camera module 500, including second reflecting prism 534 and the downstream assembly (i.e. filter 550, photosensitive assembly 540), about Wu’s “first direction” – i.e. about annotated FIG. 5’s vertical axis, corresponding to the claimed second direction – by ± π/2. This rotates the labeled third direction to point predominantly into or out of the page, such that the second and third directions form a plane perpendicular to the axis of the telephoto lens.
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wu by rotating/rearranging the aforementioned parts, in order to accommodate different design constraints (sensor locations and connections, spatial constraints, etc.) – since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 2, modified Wu discloses the camera module of claim 1.
Wu further discloses wherein the second reflective member (second reflecting prism 534) further includes a third reflective surface (third internal reflection surface 5342) configured to reflect light from the first reflective surface (second internal reflection surface 5324) toward the second reflective surface (fourth internal reflection surface 5344). (See annotated FIG. 5 above.)
Regarding claim 3, modified Wu discloses the camera module of claim 2.
Wu further discloses wherein the second reflective member (second reflecting prism 534) includes a pentagonal prism. (See annotated FIG. 5 above.)
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Chang and Chou (US 20210266432 A1, hereinafter “Chang”).
Regarding claim 4, modified Wu discloses the camera module of claim 1.
Wu does not disclose the further comprising a stabilizer configured to drive movement of the first reflective member, wherein the stabilizer includes,
a reflective holder configured to support the first reflective member,
a stabilizer housing, and
a first actuator configured to drive the reflective holder to move relative to the stabilizer housing.
Wu and Chang commonly relate to periscopic/light-folding camera modules.
Chang discloses (see FIG. 2D, ¶s 77-82) the further comprising a stabilizer configured to drive movement of the first reflective member (230), wherein the stabilizer includes,
a reflective holder (moving holder 242) configured to support the first reflective member (230),
a stabilizer housing (note that while not explicitly disclosed/illustrated, there must naturally/implicitly be some form of external structure that at least partially encloses/houses the elements disclosed in FIG. 2D and cited here – i.e. to attach first coils 245 (illustrated on the exterior of FIG. 2D) to and provide a fixed reference for magnetic driving motions), and
a first actuator (second driving apparatus 270) configured to drive the reflective holder (230) to move relative to the stabilizer housing.
(¶ 80: “the first driving apparatus 240 and the second driving apparatus 270 is for driving the first reflecting member 230... it is favorable for obtaining the optical image stabilization of the camera module 200”)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Wu with design aspects of Chang, in order to achieve flexible image stabilization with good structural and driving stability (Chang ¶s 79-84).
Regarding claim 5, modified Wu discloses the camera module of claim 4.
Chang further discloses (see FIG. 2D, ¶s 77-82) wherein
the stabilizer further includes an intermediate holder (supporting member 241) on a rear surface of the reflective holder (moving holder 242), and
the first actuator (second driving apparatus 270) includes a first coil (second coil 273), and a first magnet (second magnet 271).
Wu, modified by Chang as described above, thus discloses Applicant’s invention substantially as claimed, but does not disclose the first coil fixed with respect to the stabilizer housing, and the first magnet combined with the rear surface of the intermediate holder. Examiner finds, however, that these discrepancies only amount to a mere rearrangement of parts – i.e. of Chang’s first coil over to their stabilizer housing (second coil 273 over behind supporting member 241 and onto some implicit external structure, which Examiner had noted in regards to claim 4 above) and Chang’s first magnet over to the rear surface of their intermediate holder (second magnet 271 over to the rear surface of their supporting member 241) (See also annotated FIG. 2D below).
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the combined teachings of Wu and Chang by rearranging the aforementioned parts disclosed by the latter, in order to reduce the number of parts moving relative to each other – since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 2D of Chang is annotated to highlight various features.)]
Regarding claim 6, modified Wu discloses the camera module of claim 5.
Chang also discloses (see annotated FIG. 2D above, ¶s 77-82) the further comprising a second coil (first coil 245), wherein the first coil (second coil 273) is spaced apart from the second coil (first coil 245) in the first direction (F1).
Regarding claim 7, modified Wu discloses the camera module of claim 4.
Chang also discloses (see annotated FIG. 2D above, ¶s 77-82) wherein
the stabilizer further includes a second actuator (first driving apparatus 240) configured to drive the reflective holder (moving holder 242) to move relative to the stabilizer housing, and
the second actuator (first driving apparatus 240) includes a second coil (first coil 245) fixed with respect to the stabilizer housing (as Examiner established previously in regards to claim 4 above), and a second magnet (first magnet 243) on a lateral surface of the intermediate holder (supporting member 241).
Wu, modified by Chang, as described above, thus discloses Applicant’s invention substantially as claimed, but does not disclose the second magnet on a lateral surface of the reflective holder. Examiner finds, however, that the stated discrepancies only amount to a mere rearrangement of parts – i.e. of Chang’s second magnet over to the reflective holder. (See annotated FIG. 2D above)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the combined teachings of Wu and Chang by rearranging the aforementioned parts, in order to reduce the number of parts moving relative to each other – since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Wu (CN 212969829 U) in view of Chang and Chou (US 20210266432 A1, hereinafter “Chang”).
Regarding claim 9, Wu discloses (see annotated FIG. 5 above, ¶s 124-128) a camera module (500), comprising:
a first reflective member (first reflecting prism 532) configured to reflect light received from outside the camera module (500);
a telephoto lens (lens assembly 520) on the first reflective member, the telephoto lens (lens assembly 520) configured to allow light external to the camera module (500) to pass through the telephoto lens (lens assembly 520) before reaching the first reflective member (first reflecting prism 532);
a second reflective member (second reflecting prism 534) configured to reflect light reflected from the first reflective member (first reflecting prism 532); and
a sensor support member (i.e. supporting photosensitive assembly 540) configured to support an image sensor (photosensitive assembly 540) configured to receive light reflected from the second reflective member (second reflecting prism 534),
wherein the first reflective member (first reflecting prism 532) includes a first reflective surface (second internal reflection surface 5324) configured to reflect light to the second reflective member (second reflecting prism 534),
wherein the second reflective member (second reflecting prism 534) includes
a third reflective surface (third internal reflection surface 5342) configured to reflect light reflected from the first reflective surface (second internal reflection surface 5324), and
a second reflective surface (fourth internal reflection surface 5344) configured to reflect light from the third reflective surface (third internal reflection surface 5342) toward the sensor support member (i.e. supporting photosensitive assembly 540).
wherein the first reflective surface (second internal reflection surface 5324) has a first normal line, wherein the second reflective surface (fourth internal reflection surface 5344) has a second normal line,
wherein the third reflective surface (third internal reflection surface 5342) has a third normal line, and the second normal line and the third normal line intersect at one point.
Wu does not disclose:
wherein the first normal line and a plane intersect at one point, the plane defined by the second normal line and the third normal line, and
wherein an axis of the telephoto lens is perpendicular to the plane defined by the second normal line and the third normal line.
Wu and Chang commonly relate to periscopic/light-folding camera modules.
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 2B of Chang is annotated)]Chang discloses wherein the first normal line and a plane intersect at one point, the plane defined by the second normal line and the third normal line. (See the annotated FIG. 2B below.)
Examiner notes also that the remaining limitation above is trivially satisfied by rotating part of Wu’s camera module 500, including second reflecting prism 534 and the downstream assembly (i.e. filter 550, photosensitive assembly 540), about Wu’s “first direction” – i.e. about annotated FIG. 5’s vertical axis – by ± π/2. This rotates the depicted second and third normal lines to eliminate their horizontal components along Wu’s “second direction”, such that they form a plane perpendicular to the axis of the telephoto lens.
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wu with design aspects of Chang, in order to accommodate different image sensor positions, or more generally, camera module geometries (e.g. for efficient use of space, reduced size, accommodating other structures, etc.).
It would have also been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wu incorporating Chang by rotating/rearranging the aforementioned parts, this done also in furtherance of the objectives stated above – i.e. in order to accommodate different designs (sensor locations and connections, spatial constraints, etc.) – since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 11, modified Wu discloses the camera module of claim 9.
Wu further discloses wherein the second reflective member (second reflecting prism 534) includes a pentagonal prism, and each of the second reflective surface (fourth internal reflection surface 5344) and the third reflective surface (third internal reflection surface 5342) is one of multiple lateral surfaces of the pentagonal prism. (See annotated FIG. 5 above.)
Regarding claim 12, modified Wu discloses the camera module of claim 9.
Wu further discloses wherein the first reflective member (first reflecting prism 532) includes a mirror (second internal reflection surface 5324). (See annotated FIG. 5 above; second internal reflection surface 5324 forms images by reflection, thus functioning as a mirror.)
Regarding claim 13, modified Wu discloses the camera module of claim 12.
Wu, modified by Chang according to the embodiment cited above, does not disclose wherein the first reflective member further includes:
a support surface opposite to the first reflective surface; and
a connection surface connecting the first reflective surface to the support surface,
wherein an acute angle is between the connection surface and the first reflective surface.
Chang, in another embodiment, discloses (see FIG. 1E, annotated below) wherein the first reflective member further includes:
a support surface opposite to the first reflective surface (reflecting surface 131); and
a connection surface connecting the first reflective surface (reflecting surface 131) to the support surface,
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 1E of Chang is annotated to highlight various features)]wherein an acute angle is between the connection surface and the first reflective surface.
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Wu with design aspects of Chang, in order to reduce the size/width of the (first) reflective member.
Regarding claim 14, Wu discloses a camera module assembly (see FIG. 5, annotated above, ¶s 124-128), comprising:
a first reflective member (first reflecting prism 532) including a first reflective surface (second internal reflection surface 5324);
a telephoto lens (lens assembly 520) spaced apart from the first reflective surface (second internal reflection surface 5324) in a first direction (“second direction”);
a second reflective member (second reflecting prism 534) including a second reflective surface (fourth internal reflection surface 5344) spaced apart from the first reflective surface (second internal reflection surface 5324) in a second direction (“first direction”), the second direction (“first direction”) intersecting the first direction (“second direction”);
a sensor support member (i.e. supporting photosensitive assembly 540) spaced apart from the second reflective surface (fourth internal reflection surface 5344) in a third direction, the third direction intersecting each of the first direction (“second direction”) and the second direction (“first direction”); and
an image sensor (photosensitive assembly 540) combined with the sensor support member (i.e. supporting photosensitive assembly 540), the image sensor (photosensitive assembly 540) having a front surface configured to receive light reflected from the second reflective member (second reflecting prism 534),
wherein an axis of the telephoto lens (lens assembly 520) is parallel to the first direction (“second direction”) and to a plane defined by the second direction (“first direction”) and the third direction.
Wu does not disclose:
wherein a normal line of the first reflective surface is parallel to the front surface of the image sensor, and
wherein the axis of the telephoto lens is perpendicular to the plane defined by the second direction and the third direction.
Wu and Chang commonly relate to periscopic/light-folding camera modules.
Chang discloses wherein a normal line (i.e. the “first normal line” labeled in annotated FIG. 2B above) of the first reflective surface is parallel to the front surface of the image sensor (image sensor 220).
Examiner notes also that the remaining limitation above is trivially satisfied by rotating part of Wu’s camera module 500, including second reflecting prism 534 and the downstream assembly (i.e. filter 550, photosensitive assembly 540), about Wu’s “first direction” – i.e. about annotated FIG. 5’s vertical axis – by ± π/2. This rotates the labeled third direction to point predominantly into or out of the page, such that that the second and third directions form a plane perpendicular to the axis of the telephoto lens.
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wu with design aspects of Chang, in order to accommodate different image sensor positions, or more generally, camera module geometries (e.g. for efficient use of space, reduced size, accommodating other structures, etc.).
It would have also been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wu incorporating Chang by rotating/rearranging the aforementioned parts, this done also in furtherance of the objectives stated above – i.e. in order to accommodate different designs (sensor locations and connections, spatial constraints, etc.) – since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 15, modified Wu discloses the camera module assembly of claim 14.
Wu further discloses wherein the image sensor (photosensitive assembly 540) includes a charge coupled device (CCD) or a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor (CIS). (See ¶ 109 regarding photosensitive assembly 40 of a first embodiment; note also from ¶ 124: “periscope camera module 500 in the fifth embodiment is substantially the same as that of the periscope camera module 100”.)
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Chang, as applied to claim 14 above, and in further view of Kim et al (WO 2023003129 A1, hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 16, modified Wu discloses the camera module assembly of claim 14.
Modified Wu does not disclose wherein the sensor support member includes an autofocus (AF) device configured to drive the image sensor to move in a direction toward the second reflective surface.
Wu and Kim commonly relate to camera modules.
Kim discloses (see ¶s 33-35, FIG. 1) wherein the sensor support member includes an autofocus (AF) device (actuator 100) configured to drive the image sensor (50) to move in a direction toward the second reflective surface. (See also ¶ 36: “Although not shown in the drawing, it goes without saying that, depending on the embodiment, the actuator (100) of the present invention may further include an AF module… linearly moving the lens or image sensor (50) in the optical axis direction.” – Examiner notes the self-evident fact that, by virtue of moving along the optical path, an image sensor will typical move closer to the elements that came before it; i.e. towards the second reflective member/surface. See also annotated FIG. 5 of primary reference Wu, where moving their photosensitive chip 40 along the optical path automatically satisfies this drive direction.)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Wu with teachings of Kim in order to perform complex motions with the image sensor and provide image stabilization/ autofocusing capabilities in a manner that facilitates device miniaturization (Kim ¶s 9, 20-21).
Regarding claim 17, modified Wu discloses the camera module assembly of claim 16.
Kim further discloses (see ¶s 33-46, 53-75; FIGs. 1-2) wherein the AF device (actuator 100) includes: an AF housing (130); an AF carrier (first/second carriers 110/120) fixedly combined (“mounted” per ¶ 40) with the image sensor (50); and an AF actuator (comprising first/second coils C1/C2 and first/second/third magnets M1/M2/M3) between the AF housing (130) and the AF carrier (first/second carriers 110/120), the AF actuator (first/second coils C1/C2 and first/second/third magnets M1/M2/M3) configured to drive the AF carrier (first/second carriers 110/120) to move relative to the AF housing (130).
Regarding claim 18, modified Wu discloses the camera module assembly of claim 17.
Kim further discloses (see ¶s 33-46, 53-75; FIGs. 1-2) wherein the AF actuator (first/second coils C1/C2 and first/second/third magnets M1/M2/M3) includes: an AF coil (C1, C2) fixed with respect to the AF housing; and an AF magnet (M1/M2/M3) fixedly combined with the AF carrier (110).
Regarding claim 19, modified Wu discloses the camera module assembly of claim 17.
Kim further discloses (see ¶s 33-46, 53-75; FIGs. 1-2) wherein the AF device (actuator 100) further includes a guide ball (first/second balls B1/B2) between the AF housing (130) and the AF carrier (first/second carriers 110/120), and the AF carrier (first/second carriers 110/120) is supported by the guide ball (first/second carriers 110/120).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872